Kildare V Mayo

Replying To royaldunne:  "At least do a little research before posting lad.
Meath have full go ahead for their 20,000 ALL SEATER stadium to be built funding etc allsorted, for phase 1. actually the Tyrone game was probably last championship game to be played in old pt.
So how does that rebuke your nonsense post??"
Well done to Kildare for standing up for their rights. I sincerely hope the GAA will see sense on this. It is certainly high time a stop was put to the GAA's gallop of putting money before supporters.

Midleton (Cork) - Posts: 644 - 25/06/2018 23:44:05    2115109

Replying To royaldunne:  "
Replying To GreenandRed:  "link

There must be something stirring and this has tipped it off. A lot of angry posts and rightfully so. We're starting to sound like GAA hippies wanting some changes made. Even RoyalDunne is backing Kildare. A beautiful thing."
HAHA. Never thought I'd see the day myself lol.
But someone has to take a stand, we can't continue like this. Rules are rules. Kildare were drawn first, they have home advantage unless they want to change to a venue OF THEIR choosing. They don't.
My one issue with this is mayo, they must stand with a county, it's Kildare this time, but as this mayo team recedes it could be mayo soon."
TBF, Mayo aren't the bad guys in this sorry mess at all and nor should they be painted like ones or guilt tripped into anything.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 25/06/2018 23:46:09    2115110

Replying To royaldunne:  "All mayo need to say is they will be in Newbridge at 7 on Saturday. That's all. Why will they not say that? I will say this again, the gaa don't care about Kildare, but they do care about mayo. The only way to stop this happening in future is if BOTH Kildare and mayo make a stand. They ain't gonna kick mayo out of it, and they can't offer a either a walk over. Put it up to them"
Seeing as your so interested in fair play im wondering were you this animated in 2010 after the joe sheridan goal? In the interest of fair play like. The right thing here is kildare play the game in the venue of their choosing having gained home advantage. Dont think there are many who will disagree with this. But your wrong in your point, Mayo should say nothing for now and stay out of it. Its already a mess. Let kildare and croke park argue it out and sort it. Mayo will play Kildare wherever is decided.

Equineburger (Mayo) - Posts: 30 - 25/06/2018 23:46:58    2115113

The hosts should never ever ever be moved mid tournament regardless, if a screw up has been established take it on the chin till the following season, home advantage is home advantage regardless, let's live in the real world for a moment and in the same breath let's be honest with each other , are Kildares chances improved playing at home yes, should that be taken away from them No , would anyone fare cbetter playing Dublin in Parnell Park than HQ have a look at Dubs hurlers results and you'd know No advantage, Dubs in Parnell would be as formidable , but to sum up first name out of the pot should mean you get to play it we're the he'll you like

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 25/06/2018 23:47:23    2115114

Replying To arock:  "We have listened to many on here speaking of how we have to promote the games, create an atmosphere to enable our sports to compete with all the other sports competing for participation etc. Money unfortunately tuns on the lights, keep the pitches up to scratch and enable the GAA to reinvest in promoting the games at all levels. That was the whole idea behind the Super 8, big crowds, big games, great occasions and then you give us St Conlaith's!! you are having a laugh surely."
A sold out St Conleths for a championshup game is a fantastic atmosphere and as good an sdvertisement fo rthe game as you are going to get, Far better than the tumbleweed blowing around a quarter full croke park, There have been some fantastic qualifier games in Newbridge, notable Kildare v Donegal, Kildare v cavan, Kildare v Tyrone. This is make the rules up as you go by the GAA, to suit the SKY schedule and nothing else #Newbridge or nowhere, Kildare are not going to Croke Park, If the Gaa decide to throw us out so be it

NorthKildare (Kildare) - Posts: 197 - 25/06/2018 23:50:01    2115116

Replying To royaldunne:  "All mayo need to say is they will be in Newbridge at 7 on Saturday. That's all. Why will they not say that? I will say this again, the gaa don't care about Kildare, but they do care about mayo. The only way to stop this happening in future is if BOTH Kildare and mayo make a stand. They ain't gonna kick mayo out of it, and they can't offer a either a walk over. Put it up to them"
RD you are on a hook and can't get off it. Mayo will get an official fixture tomorrow notifying them that they are fixed to play in Croke Park at 7.00 pm next Saturday, they will even get details of exact time to go on to the pitch and what dugout to occupy and which end to kick about at. There will be no mention of Newbridge so why in the name of God should they go there. You seem to think that Cian O'Neill and Rochford (can't recall his first name) phone each other up and arrange the game.

As another poster stated earlier Mayo need to manage this carefully but it has very little to do with them. I am sure there are enough wise heads involved with Mayo to push the diplomatic boat out.

Really your gripe should be with the decision makers in Croke Park. And their obsession with money and Sky.

MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1103 - 25/06/2018 23:52:12    2115117

A lot of chat about all kinds of conspiracies, biases and corruption from the GAA and Sky but the real reason for this mess is our associations age old propensity for ad hoc administration. Literally making it up as the go along.

How is it in 2018 the GAA doesn't have an agreed set of criteria (capacity, facilities etc) for venues for fixtures at each stage of the championship? Kildare should have been made aware at the start of the season that St. Conleth's wouldn't be deemed suitable for a round 3 qualifier. Instead it seems they find out a few hours after they get a home draw against a county with huge travelling support.

This is not a conspiracy. It's plain old fashioned incompetence.

roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 25/06/2018 23:56:15    2115118

Rather then give Mayo a bye maybe Longford should be reinstated.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4516 - 25/06/2018 23:56:49    2115119

Replying To TheUsername:  "Just my opinion, ive played at the ground and been there i would say well over 100 times.

Roads will be gridlocked, no parking, there is one stand and grassy verges, the stand if it holds 1000 people its doing well, one terrace. The one narrow entrance and exit is straight onto the busy main street and a narrow foot path. Ive been to county finals, OB Cup games in it and its been ropey. It really is an awful venue thats not fit for purpose, if a crowd of 15l-20k turn up it wont be safe its that simple really. The ground isnt fit for purpose or safe in my opinion."
Its been well over 10 years since there were grassy verges, and it is terraced all around, you mustn't have been there in a while, Its not a great stadium, and there are plans in place to develop it, but it can comfortably and safely hold 10 to 12k and generate a great atmosphere

NorthKildare (Kildare) - Posts: 197 - 26/06/2018 00:05:31    2115122

Replying To ky_dub:  "Just read absolute nonsense in the GAA statement, saying the ground in Newbridge wouldnt hold the crowd expected, there is nothing about this in the rules, there is no minimum stadium size

And if you follow this logic why isnt Cavan and Tyrone in Brewster park as Cavan requested, im sure Tyrone would be happy with this and it could accomodate any expected crowd. Why bring two Ulster teams to Leinster?"
Simple. SKY have all the broadcasting equipment set up in Dublin so it suits them to bring Kildare, Mayo, Tyrone and Cavan there. It's Croker, the big, professional show off stadium and SKY want to project that image. If people don't think this is a GAA/SKY conglomeration and alliance they are naive. The GAA have side stepped the existing rules and fairness to accommodate SKY. Any hogwash about health and safety issues in Kildare are just that, rhubarb.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9818 - 26/06/2018 00:08:41    2115125

Replying To yew_tree:  "The ball is 100% not in Mayo's court, this has nothing to do with Mayo. The GAA need to sort this mess out. Mayo are being put in an awkward position here and it's not right that you or the clowns on social media are using this mess to have a cheap pop at Mayo."
Agreed. It's not Mayo's fault or responsibility.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9818 - 26/06/2018 00:11:11    2115126

Meath have full go ahead for their 20,000 ALL SEATER stadium to be built funding etc allsorted, for phase 1. actually the Tyrone game was probably last championship game to be played in old pt.
That is great for Meath to be getting a 20k seater stadium.... no doubt ye will have capacity in the near future to host Dublin in the Leinster Championship so!!!

Da_Stephenite (Mayo) - Posts: 55 - 26/06/2018 00:15:56    2115127

I stand wholeheartedly with Kildare GAA in this issue. The GAA sets the rules therefore they should implement them as per the rule book. As Kildare was the first team out of the hat then as per the rules it's a home draw.

Reading Kildare GAA's statement it seems that they have approval from all the necessary bodies that is the Garda, Health & Safety Executive etc to hold the game at St Conleth's in Saturday at 7pm.

Are we getting to a situation where the GAA has no regards for it's own rules? I feel that the Croke Park hierarchy' are getting further and further removed from the clubs and county boards. If they have no regard for the players and management how can they expect to receive it. Respect is a two way street.

Derry played Kildare in the 1st round of the qualifiers and they brought with them a large travelling support. The cost of travel, match ticket is expensive for supporters of all counties. So, are the GAA sticking two fingers up to the Kildare supporters with this decision.

Let's us not forget, it's the countless men and w women who volunteer their services to club and county on a daily basis that makes the GAA so special. Without us the GAA is nothing. It is time for for Croke Park to lay their cards on the table and tell it's members that Sky is priority number 1 and everything else is secondary.

If this decision is not reversed I will never step foot upon the hollow turf of a GAA ground again and U hope others will follow. It's time to give the game back to the real Gaels if Ireland.

Kildare May the force be with you!

OakGael (Derry) - Posts: 293 - 26/06/2018 00:20:02    2115129

Replying To royaldunne:  "Meath have problems? Nothing that is not been addressed, look at u17 and u20 this year. Btw in saying that I'll give you another farce. Both Meath and dubs win all their games in their group. Gaa Has decided to change rules midway and have a open draw for semis pitting they two top in each group against each other. How's that for farce ???
As I said , mayo need to stand alongside Kildare, all the pivoting to Meath is irrelevant. The ball is in mayo court. Stand with Kildare. What's the issue? Call the gaa bluff."
You may not have noticed in your fascination for Meath and Dublin but there were THREE groups not two. As for Croke Parks latest cock up Kildare hold your ground 90% of supporters are behind you. The Sky influence is clearly there as well after the Wexford Kilkenny farce but then headquarters will do everything for Murdochs outfit. It makes you wonder????

jobber (Westmeath) - Posts: 1701 - 26/06/2018 00:33:56    2115131

What is phase 1of the new stadium going to consist of...an 8000 seater stadium that one day may be a 20000 seater stadium that ye won't even get to use that often since ye play all the majority of your Leinster matches in Croker.Not that Meath get to play many matches in the championship these days anyway!!

Da_Stephenite (Mayo) - Posts: 55 - 26/06/2018 00:38:24    2115132

Replying To arock:  "St Conlaith's is NOT fit to host a Super 8 inter-county match that is the only issue here. If Kildare want compensation I am sure the GAA will arrange it but that shambles of a place is not a fit place to host this game."
With all due respect, but Dublin GAA have benefited tremendously from the money the GAA has pumped into Croker to the point where it is now ye're official home venue as far as the Super 8s are concerned. No other county has benefited so directly with this expenditure, so have some decency and hold your whisht when it comes to criticizing other counties home stadia. We are, after all, supposed to be an amateur sport and not every county can afford or should be expected to supply a stadium that matches the needs for a game or two that it might, or might not, have to host one year to the next, depending on whether or not they make it to a certain stage of the championship and who they then draw as an opponent.

If kildare's home stadium consisted of a cow shed (up to health and safety standards of course!) that could house 50, then so be it.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3148 - 26/06/2018 00:45:35    2115133

So we have our latest big controversy in the GAA. I'm with Kildare all the way on this one!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8753 - 26/06/2018 00:49:51    2115134

Replying To arock:  "FYI We have a home ground which far far superior to yours and that is not fit for a Super 8 match so certainly neither is yours end off. Kildare CB invested and went into appalling debt over the hawkfield site instead of investing in your county ground and now yet again you hold the organisation to ransom over that fact. We have all talked here about an exciting promotion of the game and you want to denigrate that effort by hosting in a very very poor field. Parnel Park is well used BTW by all county codes bar the footballers - and there is not a chance the GAA will allow Dublin to build a stadium of its own the same way they won't allow this game to be played - both are a waste of money"
So your County ground is not up for for purpose, a situation your county board is happy to let slide, but you berate other counties for not having THEIR grounds up to scratch......Like I said, gross hypocrisy. FYI we are not in debt, cleverclogs, sp you are wrong there too! Plus there's a €6m renovation on its way to St.Conleth's, but you probably call that a waste of money too because it's not something Dublin would do. No, better to use the ground everyone paid for. Lastly we ain't holding anyone to ransom, we are going by the rules laid down for the competition. Rules that were quoted again just before the draw, first drawn get the home game. You can't change your own rules just because you don't like how the draw turned out! If anything Kildare are the ones being held to ransom and it won't wash. For the good of other counties too, this situation needs to come out on Kildare's side. We won't move, as you say.....end of!!

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 26/06/2018 01:08:12    2115135

Well done to Cian O Neill & the Kildare County Board on taking a rightful stance, the whole country is behind you. Cian O Neill spoke calmly, eloquently & articulately this eve on RTE staying the facts. The GAA are a sham, makey up rules & competition, home advantage was only ever a fallacy on this whole Super 8's. The arrogance of the statement made by Fergal Mc Gill this eve beggars belief, I hope Kildare stand their ground, I hope some sort of demonstration is held outside Croke Park, I would travel to support a demonstration. It's past time Croke Park & it's paid officials were reined in by the Grassroots. Duffy, O Fearghail, Ryan, Mc Gill et al introduced a format & obviously haven't planned or made contingency for anything. The whole thing is a farce. The elephant in the room here in this situation is Sky who are dictating matters. The sell out to Sky by O Fearghail & Duffy has led to these situations, Sky are wagging the tail. Please oh please Kildare do not cave in, we all need to take a stance.

Uimhir.a.3. (Galway) - Posts: 409 - 26/06/2018 01:27:55    2115139

I admire the stance taken by the Kildare county board on this issue. Someone needs to stand up to the Powers that be putting money before the rules.

However I don't admire the state of the ground in Newbridge and the lack of county board action in relation to that. Its great to see the county board taking a hard stance on this issue but I hope they take an even harder stance on trying to upgrade newbridge from its current condition into something a bit more pleasant.

Its not good enough that a county let their main ground fall so far behind in terms of facilities. The stand is steep and uncomfortable and quite small. The other side has a terrace which doesn't even go the whole way along the side line and there is very little room behind both goals. I reckon a safe capacity would be about 7000-8000

890202 (Wexford) - Posts: 1278 - 26/06/2018 02:19:44    2115141