Kildare V Mayo

Replying To arock:  "GAA have said it is NOT going to be played there, so if Kildare want to participate in the Super 8 they better turn up at Croke Park. The ground is just not up to scratch and your county board and team coach can grand stand all they like it simply is not fit to host a game of that size."
When was Dublin footballers last game in Parnell Park? When will the next one be? I'd take what you say more seriously if you had a home ground of your own. Hypocrisy at it's highest.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 25/06/2018 22:54:13    2115070

Replying To royaldunne:  "Watching you lose another all ire? I don't really care. What I care about is mayo showing bottle and turning up in Conleth park."
Enough of the mayo bottleing talk royaldunne. Live in meath so know the craic up here well. Do ya not think your attention should be more focused on the many issues meath have than cribbing on hoganstand about mayo being bottlers? What ya reckon?

Equineburger (Mayo) - Posts: 30 - 25/06/2018 22:54:16    2115071

Replying To TheUsername:  "Just my opinion, ive played at the ground and been there i would say well over 100 times.

Roads will be gridlocked, no parking, there is one stand and grassy verges, the stand if it holds 1000 people its doing well, one terrace. The one narrow entrance and exit is straight onto the busy main street and a narrow foot path. Ive been to county finals, OB Cup games in it and its been ropey. It really is an awful venue thats not fit for purpose, if a crowd of 15l-20k turn up it wont be safe its that simple really. The ground isnt fit for purpose or safe in my opinion."
You are talking absolute rubbish as to your description of the ground and its environs. It was fine for 4 League games earlier this year. And as regards a big crowd turning up - have you heard of all-ticket games?? We are allowed to have them down the country as well!

jimski (Kildare) - Posts: 381 - 25/06/2018 22:56:17    2115072

Replying To TheUsername:  "Last time I was there was about 2014.. But would have been in newbridge 100s of times, with club football etc.

There are a couple of steps alright, on facing the stand, I don't know if I'd call it a terrace. There is a crass vege in the corner of the non town facing corner. I watched a OB cup on it not so long ago.

The car park is there alright but it's part of the ground a narrow exit then on to the Main Street.

It's an awful ground and badly needs to be redeveloped. Hope lily Kildare get around to it."
An Garda Síochána don't seem to share your reservations. They gave the go ahead.

joeteor (Donegal) - Posts: 228 - 25/06/2018 23:02:06    2115076

Replying To kildare73:  "When was Dublin footballers last game in Parnell Park? When will the next one be? I'd take what you say more seriously if you had a home ground of your own. Hypocrisy at it's highest."
FYI We have a home ground which far far superior to yours and that is not fit for a Super 8 match so certainly neither is yours end off. Kildare CB invested and went into appalling debt over the hawkfield site instead of investing in your county ground and now yet again you hold the organisation to ransom over that fact. We have all talked here about an exciting promotion of the game and you want to denigrate that effort by hosting in a very very poor field. Parnel Park is well used BTW by all county codes bar the footballers - and there is not a chance the GAA will allow Dublin to build a stadium of its own the same way they won't allow this game to be played - both are a waste of money

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4953 - 25/06/2018 23:04:41    2115077

Replying To jimski:  "You are talking absolute rubbish as to your description of the ground and its environs. It was fine for 4 League games earlier this year. And as regards a big crowd turning up - have you heard of all-ticket games?? We are allowed to have them down the country as well!"
I don't have an axe to grind with Kildare to be honest, I actually have a soft spot for them as I have pals who play for them, Newbridge is a shockingly bad ground though. Hopefully it's gets its redevelopment. I'm actually going to the game, so I hope it's in Croker myself.

Ha ha down the country, I like that one.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4516 - 25/06/2018 23:07:40    2115081

Tyrone V Cavan can be played in Clones. Loads of capacity to hold the crowd there. Very suitable as its the ulster grounds and if Cavan grounds are under reconstruction then Clones is a neutral ground for both.

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 910 - 25/06/2018 23:07:56    2115082

Replying To MillerX:  "I am delighted with Kildare's stand. Home venue.....simple as. If capacity is the issue then "All Ticket" will resolve the issue. The rules cannot be made up as we go along. So Central Council 'take the hit'. And the almighty Sky can bring the game to the multitudes who cannot gain admission, a sort of social contribution by the Moguls.

A lot of Dubs on here vilifying Kildare for not having a suitable venue. I have a few comments to make on this. The venue meets most of Kildare's needs. The H&S issues are more pronounced when Dublin invade rural venues, how many times have games to be delayed down the country because the Dubs arrive late and some of them drunk,this does not happen with other counties. Finally someone must say it but when Kildare and Meath were kicking the you know what out of Dublin in the Leinster Championship the GAA rowed in with millions to prop you up. But instead of now supporting Kildare the GAA give the cruelest cut of all, taking away their HOME game.

All other counties must take note, Sky and their money are the prime reason for this unsatisfactory situation and will in years to come make more demands and among them will be a Super 12 or 14 and we will have a tiered championship by default, time to call halt.

Stick to your guns Cill Dara."
St Conlaith's is NOT fit to host a Super 8 inter-county match that is the only issue here. If Kildare want compensation I am sure the GAA will arrange it but that shambles of a place is not a fit place to host this game.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4953 - 25/06/2018 23:10:34    2115084

Replying To Equineburger:  "Enough of the mayo bottleing talk royaldunne. Live in meath so know the craic up here well. Do ya not think your attention should be more focused on the many issues meath have than cribbing on hoganstand about mayo being bottlers? What ya reckon?"
Meath have problems? Nothing that is not been addressed, look at u17 and u20 this year. Btw in saying that I'll give you another farce. Both Meath and dubs win all their games in their group. Gaa Has decided to change rules midway and have a open draw for semis pitting they two top in each group against each other. How's that for farce ???
As I said , mayo need to stand alongside Kildare, all the pivoting to Meath is irrelevant. The ball is in mayo court. Stand with Kildare. What's the issue? Call the gaa bluff.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 25/06/2018 23:17:24    2115086

Replying To royaldunne:  "Again the gaa should have that organized, they made a mess up of that too.
Mayo need to have the backbone to stand with Kildare. The balls in your court now, it's not 2010 it's 2018. , if you agreed with Louth then, u should agree with Kildare now. Period"
The ball is 100% not in Mayo's court, this has nothing to do with Mayo. The GAA need to sort this mess out. Mayo are being put in an awkward position here and it's not right that you or the clowns on social media are using this mess to have a cheap pop at Mayo.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11563 - 25/06/2018 23:17:46    2115090

Just read absolute nonsense in the GAA statement, saying the ground in Newbridge wouldnt hold the crowd expected, there is nothing about this in the rules, there is no minimum stadium size

And if you follow this logic why isnt Cavan and Tyrone in Brewster park as Cavan requested, im sure Tyrone would be happy with this and it could accomodate any expected crowd. Why bring two Ulster teams to Leinster?

ky_dub (Kerry) - Posts: 16 - 25/06/2018 23:21:12    2115093

Replying To leitrim4sam:  "Would simply love if not only Kildare turn up in Newbridge but if Mayo turned up there too! Cant give mayo the walkover then either. Even if the game wasn't played just to have the two teams turn up there at 7 in St. Conleth's park - that would be the real two fingers up to the dictators in HQ"
That's my point exactly. Mayo turn up in Newbridge. They won't throw both out.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 25/06/2018 23:22:38    2115094

Replying To arock:  "St Conlaith's is NOT fit to host a Super 8 inter-county match that is the only issue here. If Kildare want compensation I am sure the GAA will arrange it but that shambles of a place is not a fit place to host this game."
This is not a Super 8 match. Even if it was the Rule states 'one home game, one away game and one in Croke Park. My feeling here is that some counties who are lucky enough to have suitable grounds are all that the GAA want. So tough on the rest. It would have been much better had they ensured that all counties were up to scratch before embarking on this 'love in' with Sky.

MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1103 - 25/06/2018 23:25:06    2115096

Replying To yew_tree:  "The ball is 100% not in Mayo's court, this has nothing to do with Mayo. The GAA need to sort this mess out. Mayo are being put in an awkward position here and it's not right that you or the clowns on social media are using this mess to have a cheap pop at Mayo."
All mayo need to say is they will be in Newbridge at 7 on Saturday. That's all. Why will they not say that? I will say this again, the gaa don't care about Kildare, but they do care about mayo. The only way to stop this happening in future is if BOTH Kildare and mayo make a stand. They ain't gonna kick mayo out of it, and they can't offer a either a walk over. Put it up to them

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 25/06/2018 23:26:08    2115098

It is becoming more and more obvious that the majority of people on here that support Kildare are from counties that have poor facilities ie. Navan,Roscommon etc. Maybe Kildare and the rest of ye should invest in your grounds just like Mayo did and ye won't be on moaning when ye lose home advantage. Mayo don't need to get involved in this whole situation.Not our problem.

Da_Stephenite (Mayo) - Posts: 55 - 25/06/2018 23:26:38    2115099

The last time we had a big draw at home in the qualifiers was Tyrone in 2013. The match was all ticket and there was no problems at all.

Some people may have missed out tickets but such is life.

Roads, paths and car parks we able to take the crowd then so not sure why they wouldn't be able to now. The Gardai are happy for it to go ahead and you'd imagine they'd have a decent grasp on crowd control and health and safety etc.

If it's capped at 7,500 again that's fair enough, Newbridge coped before and I don't see any reason why it wouldn't again.

Moving it based on the number of people who want a ticket is a ridiculous idea, at least the health and safety concerns might usually be well meaning but in this case, with an all ticket game there's no reason why they'd be an issue.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3691 - 25/06/2018 23:28:47    2115100

Replying To yew_tree:  "The ball is 100% not in Mayo's court, this has nothing to do with Mayo. The GAA need to sort this mess out. Mayo are being put in an awkward position here and it's not right that you or the clowns on social media are using this mess to have a cheap pop at Mayo."
Mayo should just show up in Croke Park as advised by the GAA. At least they'd be fulfilling their end of the arrangement.

Don't see any reason why they should take a stand with Kildare on this one, the GAA created the problem by deciding each team in the super 8 would get a home game - they probably just didn't expect this problem to arise before then.

Hopefully Mayo fans will be smart enough to not buy tickets for a match that isn't going ahead.

It's becoming more evident that the GAA are primarily concerned with making money - the best way for Mayo to make a stand on this with Kildare is to just not buy tickets - that's where it will hurt the GAA the most.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3691 - 25/06/2018 23:34:32    2115103

Replying To Da_Stephenite:  "It is becoming more and more obvious that the majority of people on here that support Kildare are from counties that have poor facilities ie. Navan,Roscommon etc. Maybe Kildare and the rest of ye should invest in your grounds just like Mayo did and ye won't be on moaning when ye lose home advantage. Mayo don't need to get involved in this whole situation.Not our problem."
At least do a little research before posting lad.
Meath have full go ahead for their 20,000 ALL SEATER stadium to be built funding etc allsorted, for phase 1. actually the Tyrone game was probably last championship game to be played in old pt.
So how does that rebuke your nonsense post??

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 25/06/2018 23:37:24    2115105

Replying To Da_Stephenite:  "It is becoming more and more obvious that the majority of people on here that support Kildare are from counties that have poor facilities ie. Navan,Roscommon etc. Maybe Kildare and the rest of ye should invest in your grounds just like Mayo did and ye won't be on moaning when ye lose home advantage. Mayo don't need to get involved in this whole situation.Not our problem."
I agree that it is not of Mayo's making but ye have been dragged into an unfortunate situation by the GAA.

Most people here blame the GAA and not Mayo but I think most people are also saying to Mayo that ye need to show some sympathy to the situation Kildare find themselves in.

A walkover gets you into the next round but at what price?

ROYALOPTIMIST (Meath) - Posts: 179 - 25/06/2018 23:38:40    2115106

Replying To TheUsername:  "Just my opinion, ive played at the ground and been there i would say well over 100 times.

Roads will be gridlocked, no parking, there is one stand and grassy verges, the stand if it holds 1000 people its doing well, one terrace. The one narrow entrance and exit is straight onto the busy main street and a narrow foot path. Ive been to county finals, OB Cup games in it and its been ropey. It really is an awful venue thats not fit for purpose, if a crowd of 15l-20k turn up it wont be safe its that simple really. The ground isnt fit for purpose or safe in my opinion."
I'm assuming that they won't be giving 15-20,000 tickets between both counties? I wouldn't say there are going to be up to 10,000 people trying to get into the ground without a ticket.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 25/06/2018 23:43:04    2115108