Kildare V Mayo

Replying To roundball:  "A lot of chat about all kinds of conspiracies, biases and corruption from the GAA and Sky but the real reason for this mess is our associations age old propensity for ad hoc administration. Literally making it up as the go along.

How is it in 2018 the GAA doesn't have an agreed set of criteria (capacity, facilities etc) for venues for fixtures at each stage of the championship? Kildare should have been made aware at the start of the season that St. Conleth's wouldn't be deemed suitable for a round 3 qualifier. Instead it seems they find out a few hours after they get a home draw against a county with huge travelling support.

This is not a conspiracy. It's plain old fashioned incompetence."
I don't see how people can really believe Sky were involved in this. If they were then why would Kildare and Cavan have been given the chance to nominate neutral grounds before Croke Park was decided on? I believe Cavan agreed to Croke Park over Brewster Park once they knew it would be a double header - open to correction on that though.

The problem though isn't that Conleth's is incapable of holding a 3rd round qualifier, it's that it's incapable of holding one involving Mayo.

"Had Kildare drawing anyone other than Mayo at home it is likely that Newbridge would have been acceptable as a venue."

It would have been laughable (although maybe not as laughable as the current situation) had the GAA come out at the start of the year and decided certain home grounds were only acceptable on the basis that the visiting teams had lower support bases.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3691 - 26/06/2018 10:43:36    2115229

It's ridiculous for people on here to expect Mayo to refuse to play in Croke Park. If the Mayo County Board did this they would effectively getting their team thrown out of the Championship for a dispute between GAA headquarters and Kildare.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1413 - 26/06/2018 10:46:14    2115230

I would say the GAA are worried with this happening before the Super 8's begin. I'm sure they had Croke Park/ Pairc ui Caoimhe etc. penciled in for many matches in this regardless of the stated position of teams getting 1 home match, 1 away match and 1 at a neutral venue.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1413 - 26/06/2018 10:53:01    2115239

Fair play to Kildare for standing up to the money men.
There are two issues for the GAA here.
1. Devising a competition that allows for teams to have home advantage and then for no unforeseen reason (well there shouldn't be any way) taking that advantage away from them. The line in the Kildare Co board statement where the CCCC asked "to provide an alternative venue" says a lot about the attitude they have for Kildare. Where did they expect them to suggest it be played, Two Mile House or somewhere. They knew that Newbridge was the only option that Kildare had. This would not be allowed happened had Breffni park been available for the Cavan

2. Every county should have a stadium capable of hosting a match for this competition and clarity given before the competition started

On a related issue (open to correction on this but...), it seems that the Donegal v Dublin and Kerry v Galway "neutral" venue matches are fixed for Croke park TBC. Then the following week they all go on the road against the qualifying teams. Not much reward for winning their provincial titles there then. surely they should be at home the second week as the last match of the super 8s may well be meaningless for them

Ya couldn't make it up

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1067 - 26/06/2018 11:00:25    2115241

20 years ago this would have probably been played in Newbridge.

But health and safety wasn't as front and centre back then. It is now. Kildare fans will tell you themselves that a fair bit of work needs to be done to get that ground up to spec for such a large attendance.

The GAA are expecting 18-20 to show up and in this day and age they can't risk anyone getting hurt. They won't do it. Full stop.

So maybe it has something to do with getting a big game into Croke Park to appease sponsors and broadcasters (big money involved) that's just logical, nothing conspiracy theory about it.. big games in Croke Park is the reason why Sky paid scores of millions and why sponsors want to spend millions attaching themselves to the GAA.

It's the biggest and most attractive asset to offer these companies.

But really again the main factor is health and safety and the GAA top brass are not going to risk their neck making a call that could possibly result in someone getting hurt. They are taking the easier and safer option.

One that will not risk the association getting sued and themselves the actual decision makers getting the sack!

They will go with the option with less risk for a multitude of reasons.

Is that unfair on Kildare = Yep

Is it the logical decision based on modern variables = Yep

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 26/06/2018 11:04:24    2115243

Kildare shouldn't budge on this but like the username and mesamis said, I feel they will ultimately play the game and travel to croke park on Saturday.

With that in mind, if they do, any sympathy Kildare are getting will disappear fairly quick I reckon. you're trying to make a stand here so follow through with it and don't be bullied or bribed into giving up home advantage.

It'll be a serious bottle job from here if Kildare take to the field in Croker

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 26/06/2018 11:06:11    2115245

I think a full house in newbridge would have a great atmosphere as opposed to a mostly empty croke park, it will be interesting to see how this plays out, Carlow laois and Wicklow have had to give up home advantage in the last few years.

Barrowsider (Carlow) - Posts: 1710 - 26/06/2018 11:13:43    2115249

As others have said, i do expect Kildare to fulfill the fixture in Croke Park, and if they do, they are making a show of themselves, and in particular Cian O'Neill.

PK57 (Louth) - Posts: 1661 - 26/06/2018 11:28:31    2115258

Replying To mayo_123:  "this is not about mayo what so ever it's kildare and gaa mayo have been through this before in an all Ireland semi final so if mayo turn up in croke park they are perfectly right it's not their fault where match is played"
What All Ireland semi were Mayo drawn out to play at home in ?

KildareKelly (Kildare) - Posts: 593 - 26/06/2018 11:32:24    2115263

Replying To jimbodub:  "20 years ago this would have probably been played in Newbridge.

But health and safety wasn't as front and centre back then. It is now. Kildare fans will tell you themselves that a fair bit of work needs to be done to get that ground up to spec for such a large attendance.

The GAA are expecting 18-20 to show up and in this day and age they can't risk anyone getting hurt. They won't do it. Full stop.

So maybe it has something to do with getting a big game into Croke Park to appease sponsors and broadcasters (big money involved) that's just logical, nothing conspiracy theory about it.. big games in Croke Park is the reason why Sky paid scores of millions and why sponsors want to spend millions attaching themselves to the GAA.

But really again the main factor is health and safety and the GAA top brass are not going to risk their neck making a call that could possibly result in someone getting hurt. They are taking the easier and safer option.

One that will not risk the association getting sued and themselves the actual decision makers getting the sack!

Is it the logical decision based on modern variables = Yep"
why would 18-20 thousand show up if only 8 or whatever it is thousand that Newbridge can hold sells out in an all ticket game? Hardly that many numptys that would go to a sold out game with no ticket?
The All Ireland Final hosts roughly 80 thousand i am sure if able to get a ticket 300 thousand would like to go but we dont all travel to drumcondra like eejits trying to get in.
Make game all ticket for what ever Newbridge can hold. If your lucky you will get a ticket if not its on tv. Simple as

Cuckoosinging (Roscommon) - Posts: 992 - 26/06/2018 11:35:39    2115267

Stay strong Kildare! They are absolutely right to insist on playing at home and i hope every county board in the country comes out and backs their stance, including Mayo. Cian O'Neill spot on this morning, this is a football competition. It is all about the footballers, if less people can see the game that is inconvenient for them, but the integrity of the competition should not be compromised.

shorona (Sligo) - Posts: 126 - 26/06/2018 11:39:19    2115268

Replying To jimbodub:  "20 years ago this would have probably been played in Newbridge.

Is it the logical decision based on modern variables = Yep"
Spoken like a true dub........Waffle. The draw was made...kildare are home....you sell tickets and when all tickets are sold that's it. Tough luck if you havmt got one. People aren't getting lifted over the turnstiles or barging through gates like Hillsborough......what are you even going on about. Sure didnt kildare host Tyrone only a few years ago in conleths. Im not surprised the dubs are siding with the gaa on this, or probably everything considering they have gift wrapped your current success....but don't be talking drivle

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 981 - 26/06/2018 11:45:59    2115273

Replying To Barrowsider:  "I think a full house in newbridge would have a great atmosphere as opposed to a mostly empty croke park, it will be interesting to see how this plays out, Carlow laois and Wicklow have had to give up home advantage in the last few years."
I 100% agree with you

But we're not the ones making the call on health and safety grounds with probably multiple other factors lobbed in that we wouldn't be aware of..

I would like to see Kildare get home advantage but can also understand the thinking behind the GAAs decision making here.

It's all well and good having a strong opinion on this but perhaps if you were in the decision making end of things perhaps you'd have to ignore your own personal opinions and play the safe hand when you know all the factors ?

The GAA have got more and more health and safety conscious and this plays directly into that.

Do I want to see Kildare get home advantage = yes

Can I see the logic in the GAAs decision = yes

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 26/06/2018 11:47:17    2115275

Replying To PK57:  "As others have said, i do expect Kildare to fulfill the fixture in Croke Park, and if they do, they are making a show of themselves, and in particular Cian O'Neill."
Depends if it's the senior team or 15 lads called down from the Hogan Stand by O'Neill 5 minutes before throw in though no?

I'd happily take any punishment that comes our way for failing to fulfil this fixture; no competitive games next year, demotion to the league, whatever.

I've a feeling holding firm on this will get fans behind the players and management more than any run to the Super 8's would have done.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3691 - 26/06/2018 11:52:05    2115279

Every single Summer we have a situation like this flare up. Be it contested scores, venue, suspensions etc. And its always handles terribly and dragged out with a media circus along with it. Never learn.

As someone already mentioned this is a result of the ad hoc approach to venues more so than money making Grab All conspiracies. With Breffni unavailable an opportunity was spotted to lump them all into Croke Park.

As much as I support Kildare in holding their ground I think back channel negotiation is need. Put out a statement where they reiterate their disagreement but in interest of the game will play in CP but also come out of it with a guarantee to fund a new stadium. As Trump would say, the art of the deal.

RoyalBadger (Meath) - Posts: 571 - 26/06/2018 11:54:19    2115282

Replying To BigJohn.6_8:  "I think if Mayo come out and stand with Kildare the Gaa will be caught on this one.

Mayo are in an awkward spot tho to be fair.

Portlaoise might be a good compromise"
I think if the GPA advise all its teams left in the Championship to support Kildares decision then the GAA top brass will have to back down or we won't have a Chanpionship.
Do whatever it takes to get the decision overturned.

Inaroundehouse (Cavan) - Posts: 975 - 26/06/2018 11:58:05    2115283

Replying To southmeathgael:  "Spoken like a true dub........Waffle. The draw was made...kildare are home....you sell tickets and when all tickets are sold that's it. Tough luck if you havmt got one. People aren't getting lifted over the turnstiles or barging through gates like Hillsborough......what are you even going on about. Sure didnt kildare host Tyrone only a few years ago in conleths. Im not surprised the dubs are siding with the gaa on this, or probably everything considering they have gift wrapped your current success....but don't be talking drivle"
I'm not siding with either side

Just trying to look at it from both sides

I'd much prefer if Kildare would just get home advantage without all the fuss

But because of the fuss I'm just trying to understand the GAAs decision making and why they would be playing hard ball

So go easy with the ranting chief. Spoken like a true culchie

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 26/06/2018 12:03:27    2115292

Groupspeak is strong in the GAA hierarchy at the moment
Dissent will not be tolerated

valley84 (Westmeath) - Posts: 1903 - 26/06/2018 12:04:04    2115293

Is there anywhere at St. Comleth's park that would be a greater safety risk than being in the upper tiers in croke park??? #vertigo

shorona (Sligo) - Posts: 126 - 26/06/2018 12:05:00    2115294

Either way I'll be shouting for Kildare

Hope it works out for them regardless of where it's played. Hope they win and if that's in Newbridge after holding their ground

I'll fecking applaud them.

Just think there's something obviously more at play

Why not try to understand the entire argument and reasoning before going all in on one side.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 26/06/2018 12:08:52    2115296