Kildare V Mayo

Fair play to Kildare for taking a stand. I'd be fairly certain the shills in HQ that made this decision have never played GAA before and probably cant even name one Kildare player.

TrimJim (Meath) - Posts: 24 - 26/06/2018 05:47:49    2115149

There is no onus on Mayo here ONeill was very clear to separate that from the issue of Kildare's right to the home game.
I'm not sure why some Dubs on here are so passionate about denying the wrongdoing of the GAA in this, although it's one particularly loud one so unfortunately he gets himself a lot of air time on forums like this. It's good to see so much support from genuine GAA people even from Mayo supporters.
Sky Sports are having the suits change rules here no question about that. It's commercial that's as straightforward as it gets and it is underhand and outside of the competition rules,

jonno (Kildare) - Posts: 261 - 26/06/2018 05:50:06    2115150

This saga is a damn site more entertaining than watching football , who is going to blink first? David v Goliath....possible casualties? I am rooting for a W/O ,that would create more drama than the drivel on the field..

murrax (Wexford) - Posts: 90 - 26/06/2018 06:03:07    2115151

Boils my blood that some guys sitting in a board room in london are dictating where our games can and cannot be played. Time to boycott Sky i think.

11jm11 (Kildare) - Posts: 367 - 26/06/2018 06:57:51    2115153

Very impressed by Kildare's stance on this. The GAA set the rules and they never informed Kildare prior to the championship that they couldn't host home games.

They then introduce the cover all excuse 'health and safety reasons' but provide no specifics. We all know that this is about money. They'll get a bigger crowd in Croke Park for a double header and Sky Sports can televise both games back to back. That's what this is really about, Sky and ticket sales.

I really hope Kildare don't back down. It's a huge boost to Newbridge to get this game.

I know it isn't their fault and I won't be criticising them at all but I would love to see Mayo, Tyrone and Cavan all backing Kildare's stance. This is about fairness and supporting neighbourimg communities, and I for one will be backing Kildare to the hilt. The GAA should be a socialist, volunteer, community based organisation and money or Sky shouldn't dictate.

HighKings (Meath) - Posts: 271 - 26/06/2018 07:31:56    2115154

Kildare are 100% correct in their position, they were drawn out first and should have a home game in Newbridge, we were put in the same position in 2014 semi final replay v Kerry and last year v Cork, both games were played in the 'neutral' venue of Limerick, Mayo co board and management were like sheep, said nothing just done what the GAA told them even though thousands of supporters were objecting to the venue as it was too close travel wise for the opposition. Kildare are right and should stick it out, if the GAA refuse to change and on Saturday give Mayo the victory without kicking a ball Kildare should bring it through the courts. Mayo team keep your mouths shut, this is a battle between Kildare and the GAA and has nothing to do with us. Also I am surprised Cavan are allowing their home match in Croke Park, their venue in Cavan is unplayable at the moment but surely Enniskillen or Clones would be a better venue for the fans

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 26/06/2018 07:38:49    2115155

Mayo people must be wondering where all these calls for solidarity were when they were dragged to Limerick for that replay...

roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 26/06/2018 07:48:01    2115156

Replying To Dubsfan28:  "
Replying To royaldunne:  "[quote=GreenandRed:  "link

There must be something stirring and this has tipped it off. A lot of angry posts and rightfully so. We're starting to sound like GAA hippies wanting some changes made. Even RoyalDunne is backing Kildare. A beautiful thing."
HAHA. Never thought I'd see the day myself lol.
But someone has to take a stand, we can't continue like this. Rules are rules. Kildare were drawn first, they have home advantage unless they want to change to a venue OF THEIR choosing. They don't.
My one issue with this is mayo, they must stand with a county, it's Kildare this time, but as this mayo team recedes it could be mayo soon."
TBF, Mayo aren't the bad guys in this sorry mess at all and nor should they be painted like ones or guilt tripped into anything."]It's not guilt tripping. It's standing up to gaa. You and I both know that only mayo can stop this, and force the gaa into a climb down, tbh there is only 4 counties who the gaa care about. Dubs Kerry mayo and Tyrone, the rest can take a run and jump as far as hq are concerned. Kildare will get the headline etc. but it won't make a bit of difference as next year will be the same. Only a different county. However if Mayo stands shoulder to shoulder with Kildare it ends now. That's why so many people are encouraging mayo to make a stand.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 26/06/2018 07:56:40    2115157

Replying To ROYALOPTIMIST:  "This situation is not of Mayo's making so they are within their rights to say nothing and let Kildare take all the heat.

I suppose from our experience of 2010, my feeling would be that at least they could come out and say they understand Kildare's position and that if the GAA want the game played in Newbridge they have no issue with that.

There is a danger if they do not appear to be sympathetic to Kildare's position and Kildare get kicked out, that there will be a backlash against Mayo and that would be unfortunate.

I have great respect for this Mayo team and I hope they fulfill their potential and win an All Ireland but I think they will lose a lot of goodwill if they are seen to advance on the back of Kildare being kicked out.

They need to be careful how they manage this situation even though it is no fault of theirs."
just like Meath when they would not give Louth a replay stay out of it

mayo_123 (Mayo) - Posts: 251 - 26/06/2018 08:09:55    2115161

If Mayo had anything in them, they would release a statement stating that they also will be travelling to Newbridge

MuineachanAbu (Monaghan) - Posts: 660 - 26/06/2018 08:13:45    2115162

Well done to Kildare, dig in on this one and don't budge, it does also highlight the potential issue with the super 8 venue selection. Either the Gaa were incompetent and didn't consider all potential venues or they were just flat out lying when they said all teams would get 1 home game.

But if they don't even consider Newbridge capable of hosting a 3rd round qualifer how are we supposed to believe that they're they capable of hosting a potential Super 8 game. The Gaa have shot their credibility again here.

Anyway be interesting to see how this develops, Mayo's reaction will also be interesting because they're in an unenvious position here. Do they stand with Kildare, which wouldn't really be in their interests, although I believe the good will would serve them well, or do they just turn up in Croker and accept the walkover? I mean it's a place in the next round injury free!

Ultimately you'd hope that the Gaa will have this sorted by then and neither team will be forced to make very difficult decisions, but don't hold your breath folks.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 26/06/2018 08:23:50    2115163

Replying To border Gael:  "Tyrone V Cavan can be played in Clones. Loads of capacity to hold the crowd there. Very suitable as its the ulster grounds and if Cavan grounds are under reconstruction then Clones is a neutral ground for both."
Yes completely agree..no need for Tyrone and Cavan to be playing in croke pk

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 26/06/2018 08:30:32    2115165

This is a very entertaining week in GAA, a chance finally for the grassroots to call a halt to the unchecked progression into professionalism in all but name. And it isn't some small county board they are up against, it is Kildare, and I sincerely hope that Cill Dara stands firm.
It is nothing to do with Mayo and it is unfortunate they are dragged into it, because if it was really a health and safety issue this game would be fixed for 4 or 5pm to allow Mayo fans to be home at a reasonable time.

spiritofeslin (Leitrim) - Posts: 136 - 26/06/2018 08:40:47    2115167

i hope kildare don't relent, time that counties start taking on the PAID croke park bigwigs who are content to bypass the democratic process to enable to get their greasy little mits on SKY money. Wouldn't it be great if Mayo came out and backed Kildare? what would the GAA do, then? throw both of them out?

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 1063 - 26/06/2018 08:49:13    2115172

Why are people going on about Mayo?

Nothing to do with Mayo, they will play wherever they are asked to play, the same as the Dubs to be fair when their games are being moved.

This is something g totally separate and it's about time that the GAA started going back to what made the organization great which was always fairness above money

At the moment the mantra is we will be fair unless of course we have an opportunity to make a shed load of money by not being fair.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1504 - 26/06/2018 08:49:14    2115173

i think the gaa are going to have to back down here,good on kildare for standing up to them.
if i was waterford,wicklow,etc i would have said "the games are going ahead in aughrim or walsh park,and we do not care how you deal with it".
good to see counties standing up to the gaa.

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 26/06/2018 08:50:34    2115174

Replying To Dubsfan28:  "I'm assuming that they won't be giving 15-20,000 tickets between both counties? I wouldn't say there are going to be up to 10,000 people trying to get into the ground without a ticket."
Exactly, this kind of stuff about people trying to get in is nonsense. If it's an all ticket match and you don't have a ticket, you don't go, this isn't Liverpool fans trying to get into the stadium in Istanbul for the Champions League final, it's a qualifier match to get into the next round of qualifiers. "Mayo bring a big support", of course they do - when the tickets are available!

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 26/06/2018 09:08:30    2115179

Replying To royaldunne:  "Meath have problems? Nothing that is not been addressed, look at u17 and u20 this year. Btw in saying that I'll give you another farce. Both Meath and dubs win all their games in their group. Gaa Has decided to change rules midway and have a open draw for semis pitting they two top in each group against each other. How's that for farce ???
As I said , mayo need to stand alongside Kildare, all the pivoting to Meath is irrelevant. The ball is in mayo court. Stand with Kildare. What's the issue? Call the gaa bluff."
Nothing to do with Mayo. They, like Dublin, play where they are told.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 26/06/2018 09:11:27    2115180

This is the start of things to come. It's my opinion the GAA have a long term plan which involves elite and secondary competitions. Like other sports decisions on times and venues are made for a variery of reasons but commercial is usually the main consideration, for both the organisations and the media. The GAA will not compromise on the decision to play the double header in Croke Park. To do so would open up the possibility of protests further down the road. It's also unlikely the GAA alone made the decisions on where and when fixtures take place - the media would have a say on it I'd imagine especially if there is an interest in covering games. Sadly for Kildare they have a decision to make - turn up and play the game in Croker or allow Mayo to enter the 4th round draw. I hope Kildare take a stand and refuse to play it at Croker but as the week goes on they may realise the GAA will be move on it's decision. Also this whole episode could have longer term effects - Kildare may have grounds to take an appeal to the DRA and beyond. Kildare had permission from the Garda and it would be interesting to see if Kildare could argue competition rules were broken.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 26/06/2018 09:25:06    2115182

At the end of the day the Top Brass in the Gaa should have stated before the draw the Kildares venue wasn't suitable .
They didn't . Newbridge was good enough for Kildare home league games in Div 1.
I really hope the Kildare stick to their guns.
Same goes for Cavan they entitled to nominate their home venue as Breffni is under redevelopment.
But money talks within the Gaa and always has.
Just wondering with the GPA backing Kildares decision where does that leave things?

Inaroundehouse (Cavan) - Posts: 975 - 26/06/2018 09:26:52    2115183