Oh blessed rosary of all that's holy!! Gavvygavgav (Dublin) - Posts: 383 - 14/07/2018 22:03:46 2121797 Link 1 |
Exactly. It's remarkable that it has to be explained jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 14/07/2018 22:03:49 2121798 Link 1 |
We conceded 6+ short kick outs and Dublin got around 4 points from that( missing one and misseda resultant 45. Could easily have been 3/4 goals
ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 14/07/2018 22:06:38 2121800 Link 0 |
If Kerry are playing with a sweeper designed to snuff out an attack and mount a counter then why would any team play into that trap? Naïveté. Gavvygavgav (Dublin) - Posts: 383 - 14/07/2018 22:11:48 2121811 Link 0 |
Wasn't the best of matches; but Donegal still have a great chance coming out on top, shame their missing McBrearty oakleafersir (Derry) - Posts: 808 - 14/07/2018 22:11:51 2121812 Link 1 |
Dublin were entitled to play and hold the ball if they are good enough to do it, which they were. Now the black card must have been taken out of the rule book. Black cards should have been given to two Dublin players, one to the corner back after 5 mins (off the ball) and the other when a Dublin player grounded the Donegal player in second half when in a one to one situation close to goals. As usual the analysis was very poor just looking at the obvious. browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 14/07/2018 22:17:01 2121815 Link 5 |
We have being using the 'keep ball' in certain games for a while now. It works whether you like it or not. I've said previously that we're not as potent as we were so we're going to play to our strengths. That's what champions do. realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8759 - 14/07/2018 22:18:52 2121818 Link 2 |
Well he grabbed at my knee before he did it first. Though it was a joke but after a while I wasn't so sure considering the lads behaviour as the half went on.
joeteor (Donegal) - Posts: 230 - 14/07/2018 22:20:49 2121819 Link 1 |
Really enjoyable game I thought so I do not understand some of the negativity esp if u compare to the Ros v Tyrone game. The first half was largely nip and tuck with some bad wides and decision making on both sides. The changing point in the game was the glorious opportunity Jamie Brennan gave up which Dublin converted into a goal straight from the restart. I thought in general play despite some bad wides Brennan was excellent and he is going to be some player. I have said before he really reminds me of Kevin McMennamin with his direct style and I thought he ripped the Dubs defense to shreds sometimes tonight. I think with more experience and confidence gained his finishing and sometimes decision making will improve which will make him some partner for Paddy McB in years to come. I have seen big improvements in both from league to championship already so expect that to continue. panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2863 - 14/07/2018 22:38:02 2121830 Link 0 |
Tyrone have it all to play for next Saturday in Omagh .. a win and their superior point difference would guarantee a top two finish. Best teams won today. Feel a little sympathy for Donegal playing two away games without their leading scorer and playing Roscommon in the only game they are likely to be competitive in (Hyde Pk).
Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 607 - 14/07/2018 22:49:37 2121834 Link 1 |
Well done Jimbo, spot on with Donegal 0-16 and 5 point winning margin. What are your predictions for Sunday's double header. ? Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 607 - 14/07/2018 22:54:23 2121839 Link 0 |
Donegal in a very difficult position now. Very much need Dublin to win in Omagh next week but there's every chance Tyrone will get something. Thought they were very impressive tonight and home advantage counts for a lot. benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1429 - 14/07/2018 22:55:58 2121840 Link 3 |
Pure gibberish , you must be asleep when every team that plays Dublin were getting multiples of the amount of frees awarded to Dublin. Cop on and try seeing it on an unbiased basis. Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2313 - 14/07/2018 23:09:36 2121846 Link 3 |
It happened only last year when Dr Crokes played out the last chunk of the game against Slaughtneil doing the exact same thing. The comments from the Kerry supporters on this same forum at the time was that it was Slaughtneil's job to come out and try to get the ball off them, and they were absolutely right. Slaughtneil were down to 14 which made it harder, but they didn't push out. Nobody likes to see this stuff, but there's one to stop it, and that lies with the opposing team. WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2336 - 14/07/2018 23:11:17 2121847 Link 4 |
Donegal seemed happy with a 5/6 point defeat. 14 or 15 men behind the ball at times in the last 10/15 times watching Dublin play keep ball. Who should get criticised? The team at arms length or the one needing to claw back a deficit.... or maybe neither? In my opinion the team at arms length and looking comfortable shouldn't be the ones chastised.....in my opinion. Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 14/07/2018 23:17:00 2121850 Link 3 |
I don't know why your comment was red thumbed there but whatever....
Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 14/07/2018 23:29:16 2121858 Link 3 |
I think you're pretty delusional if you think Dublin were in second or third gear. Thankfully you're past your peak with Brogan, Connolly etc coming to the twilight of their careers, and being replaced by players not of the same exceptional ability. We will see when we meet again. You clearly have a dislike of Ulster given with the exception of the last few years Ulster teams have usually turned you over on the big occasions, which have been many. Fair play to Dublin for bagging a glut of All Ireland's rather than the usual one or two a decade ( We've no interest in football from the time of the hedge schools), given all the advantages you have. TBH, country people living in Dublin should reduce involvement and contribution to the Dublin football at club level. You're well within reach of a few other teams now.
DonegalAtlantic (Donegal) - Posts: 117 - 14/07/2018 23:31:03 2121859 Link 2 |
The team playing 14/15 men behind the ball and being happy with a 5/6 point defeat, Yeah??
Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 14/07/2018 23:31:59 2121860 Link 5 |
So every free you got was justified of course, right?? Dublin's opposition frees are always spot on of course....
Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 14/07/2018 23:34:04 2121861 Link 5 |
Why did Declan set up with nearly the whole team behind the ball and be settled with the 5 point defeat?
Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 14/07/2018 23:48:43 2121868 Link 0 |