We all know it wasn't a good match. Both teams seemed more afraid to lose, than to go for it. The longer it went on, the more tense it got. I think an early goal would have done wonders for the game. WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2321 - 13/05/2018 20:58:54 2100202 Link 2 |
Well done Galway on a deserved win. Mayo and May don't seem to mix... our lads looked like they hadn't done much shooting practice either. It wasn't a great game for the neutral, and I felt a sense of it not going our way from once Kevin Mc's first free came back off the upright. For all the criticism people are inclined to throw at it, the Galway defensive tactics didn't yield a single goal chance that I can recall. It may be poxy to watch, but it works when (unlike the Dubs), the opposition don't look to create their scoring chances in the middle, 25m to 35m out. Keeping the ball is all very well, but Mayo were often taking shots from very poor positions, and spurning them when the chance might have been a better percentage one. Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 13/05/2018 21:30:41 2100210 Link 0 |
Apologies no offence intended. Nothing wrong with my memory though. I do expect Galway to win it from here, I think they have improved from last year and today will bring them on further. I'd be happy to be proven wrong.
GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2113 - 13/05/2018 21:46:37 2100212 Link 0 |
Best of course to Tom Parsons. Also a mention for Paul Conroy. Another really good guy. Hope both injuries are not serious. kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1973 - 13/05/2018 21:52:20 2100216 Link 0 |
Just seen Parsons injury, does not look good what so ever. Hoping for a healthy and speedy recovery to him. oakleafersir (Derry) - Posts: 808 - 13/05/2018 22:12:33 2100227 Link 0 |
I suppose we will see how things work out later in the year. I think people are under estimating sligo. But Galway would be favourites.
ros1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1211 - 13/05/2018 22:26:30 2100241 Link 0 |
Yes best wishes to both especially Parsons looked very nasty
ros1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1211 - 13/05/2018 22:28:16 2100243 Link 1 |
Galway look the real deal. Playing within themselves and winning in castlebar is no mean feat. Serious options off the bench as well. If they hope to beat Dublin they will need to improve up front. salvador (Roscommon) - Posts: 439 - 13/05/2018 22:35:44 2100249 Link 1 |
I wouldn't be as confident of Mayo reaching the super 8. Can see the draw Mayo in omagh or Clones!!!! Qualifiers will be more difficult this time round.
jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 13/05/2018 23:03:44 2100275 Link 0 |
Maybe people are being a bit too hard on DOC - He was pulled by the left arm by a Galway player and was unbalanced as he freed himself from that tackle and came up against Conroy. I feel it was a reflex action to put up his arm to protect himself from the on-coming tackle. I doubt if he intended to catch Conroy in the face and inflict the damage he did. It had to be a red card though.
neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 13/05/2018 23:30:09 2100290 Link 1 |
Game is in Salthill.
Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2384 - 14/05/2018 00:29:36 2100309 Link 0 |
Comer literally ran right past Barrett 3 or 4 times in the first half and kicked 0-2. Only reason he was quieter after half-time is that Mayo went very defensive themselves and there was a pile of bodies around Comer after that. And Higgins standing in front of him.
Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2384 - 14/05/2018 00:32:20 2100310 Link 1 |
No don't Mayo making the Super 8's. Get Cavan or the losers of Tyrone Monaghan away the next time and their goose will be cooked
PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 2018 - 14/05/2018 02:11:20 2100315 Link 1 |
I have to say, I thought the best team lost. I realise that a local derby rarely brings out the best in teams and Tyrone v Monaghan could be every bit as bad next week but I thought Galway were all over the shop. They were absolutely clueless in attack, their defence was shocking. How can you leave Cillian O'Connor free on the 45 with an extra man is beyond me. I was really hoping that Galway would have seen the error of their ways in the league final, which they totally left behind them, and been a bit more adventurous. But the only conclusion I drew from yesterday was that Galway are no threat to Dublin as long as they pin themselves to the cult of Paddy Tally. FootblockREF (Monaghan) - Posts: 569 - 14/05/2018 06:59:48 2100322 Link 2 |
I have to say this; it was highlighted earlier in the season Jonny Cooper dying and play acting when he wasn't touched and rightly so no place in the game for that I absolutely hate it but again yesterday we had; clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 14/05/2018 07:52:31 2100328 Link 8 |
Oh another day and another poor mayo performance, fair play to Galway they deserved to win yeasterday but I feel that was a lost opportunity for Mayo to at least take the perceived easier route where we would be required to play less games if we advance that far. The qualifiers will again prove a minefield unless the mayo player pull up their socks and start to do the business and play their matches in a way I know they are capable of. We are potentially staring at the abis again for the third year in a row you only get so many chances to come back from it I fear there will be a sting in the tail for us this year. Really going to be a massive loss without parsons the other midfielders in the squad will need to step up. Hopefully Tom will make a full recovery. Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 14/05/2018 08:06:09 2100331 Link 0 |
Clueless in attack? all 6 starting forwards scored, we played against a 13 man defence in the second half, our subs all contributed massively. Mayo shot 10 terrible wides, I mean shocking. We had more possession overall in the game, so get your facts right.. Granted it was a poor game but in a big derby game, that doesn't matter..
Belclare1 (Galway) - Posts: 1626 - 14/05/2018 08:44:55 2100342 Link 4 |
One of the worst games of football I was ever at (and I've been at a few). Really dejected after that...we shouldn't be loosing to Galway three years in a row. yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11576 - 14/05/2018 08:55:56 2100345 Link 0 |
Watch the clip again on Youtube https://youtu.be/hnWa2hwaV4Y One angle makes it look as you say but the second angle shows he smashed his elbow into Conroys face. It looked very calculated, far from accidental. Wouldn't surprise me if there was a broken jaw or teeth missing after that. I love hard hitting games but somethings I have little time for. Flying elbows to the face are really dangerous and should get a long ban. Tackle on Lee Keegan (Colm Boyle did something similar in the same game) was another type that has crept into the game i.e. shoulder hip into the face. Really dangerous stuff. Players have to go to work on Monday. We are a great country for making excuses for people. he didn't mean it, it was accidental ........ We need our priorities straight and player safety should be top of list. Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1921 - 14/05/2018 09:21:42 2100361 Link 2 |
I agree with all of this, including any such behaviour by our own players yesterday. The only way this stuff will be stamped out is if it's consistently called out, particularly by people from their own county. Unfortunately, there's little chance of that happening from the people who matter, and I understand their reasons. People love to give out about refs, but rarely criticise the players who make their job almost impossible through play-acting and faking. Yesterday's game wasn't the worst for it thankfully, but it needs to be highlighted in any case. WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2321 - 14/05/2018 09:30:02 2100366 Link 2 |