Wexford hurling 2018

Replying To goreyll:  "anyone know when we will find out the venue, time etc for the preliminary quarter-finals?"
Its away to the loser of the Carlow Westmeath game.
It will be at least a 12-15 point win over which ever team it is. The key thing from that game is to avoid picking up any injuries.
Then its a neutral venue v Cork or Clare.

hurlorhurley (Wexford) - Posts: 1660 - 18/06/2018 09:37:59    2112519

Replying To hurlorhurley:  "Its away to the loser of the Carlow Westmeath game.
It will be at least a 12-15 point win over which ever team it is. The key thing from that game is to avoid picking up any injuries.
Then its a neutral venue v Cork or Clare."
We'll need to be on our game whoever we meet, Dr Cullen Park is a tricky place to go to or Mullingar. I'd expect us to beat either but if we take it lightly or are slightly off our game it could be an uncomfortable afternoon for us.

logger (Wexford) - Posts: 309 - 18/06/2018 11:13:53    2112575

you would have to wonder why that draw was made,it could be said that either team might not want to win joe mcd cup if they fancy playing wexford over limerick

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 18/06/2018 11:33:07    2112585

Replying To logger:  "We'll need to be on our game whoever we meet, Dr Cullen Park is a tricky place to go to or Mullingar. I'd expect us to beat either but if we take it lightly or are slightly off our game it could be an uncomfortable afternoon for us."
Offaly are better than Carlow or Westmeath and we beat them into a pulp.
We will be playing a team who lost their target for the season.
An easy afternoon is in prospect

hurlorhurley (Wexford) - Posts: 1660 - 18/06/2018 11:44:32    2112589

Replying To hurlorhurley:  "Offaly are better than Carlow or Westmeath and we beat them into a pulp.
We will be playing a team who lost their target for the season.
An easy afternoon is in prospect"
i wouldnt bet on it.it might be their 'save our season' time.

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 18/06/2018 13:40:43    2112640

Replying To perfect10:  "i wouldnt bet on it.it might be their 'save our season' time."
Absolutely i wouldn't be taking any of these teams for granted. They have absolutely nothing to loose.

logger (Wexford) - Posts: 309 - 18/06/2018 14:23:34    2112660

Approach it like the offaly game get the business done early and empty the bench

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 18/06/2018 15:09:52    2112678

Heard the seniors played the under 21s in a challenge last week anyone hear how the game went ?

Afinestick (Wexford) - Posts: 999 - 18/06/2018 16:06:15    2112706

Replying To Afinestick:  "Heard the seniors played the under 21s in a challenge last week anyone hear how the game went ?"
Well

hurlorhurley (Wexford) - Posts: 1660 - 18/06/2018 16:41:26    2112726

Derek McGrath has stepped down as Waterford manager... lot of people think he could end up in Wexford next year if Davy goes...for me I'm not to sure still a sweeper man

gannett83 (Wexford) - Posts: 322 - 18/06/2018 21:17:45    2112865

Replying To perfect10:  "you would have to wonder why that draw was made,it could be said that either team might not want to win joe mcd cup if they fancy playing wexford over limerick"
Thats nonsense perfect 10 course theyll want to win it. And it wouldnt matter to them who they play afterwards itll all be bonus territory for either of them.....

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16814 - 18/06/2018 22:00:57    2112893

Replying To perfect10:  "i wouldnt bet on it.it might be their 'save our season' time."
For sure perfect 10 wed be a big scalp for either of them....

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16814 - 18/06/2018 22:02:00    2112894

Replying To MyOhMi:  "Very disappointed with Davy and his line - 9 points up at one stage and we couldn't see it out .. so we whinge blaming the ref for this and that ...

Frees
I've said it before and I'll say it again - all the top teams are winning games on frees alone ... TJ Reid is the prime example .. We have two very decent free takers in Rory O' Connor and Paidi Foley ... Rory is out of his comfort zone outside 65 meters ... He starts to push his stroke for extra distance and thus sacrifice's accuracy ... Paidi Foley is a natural long range taker .. So why wasn't he told to take all the long range frees instead of us missing 4/5 of them before he took over ..

Puckouts
It too was highlighted on the Sunday Game .. We spent the 2nd half lamping puck outs on top of the KK half back line and I don't think we won one ... You can blame fatigue etc for this but surely if something isn't working someone needs to make a call ... The first half we probably retained possession from all our puckouts

Changes
We looked at MOH chasing TJ Reid for way too long .. People told me TJ Reid did no damage ... He did untold damage in the 2nd half .. Surely some change could of been made - even switch MOH with Liam Ryan ... Blanchfield did alot of damage on Firman but no change was forthcoming ... Chin didn't strike a ball for last 30 minutes and clearly was injured / fatigued / tired ... No change from the line on any of these places ..

Decision Making
In the first half we seem to make all the correct decisions ... 2nd half was complete opposite ... Conor Mc gave two prime examples when he failed to off load a pass and decided to shoot himself twice and drive wide .. Critical times in the game and reality is prob cost us at least a draw at the end ... There was times when TJ Reid was bottled up and instead of panicking or shooting he drove the ball back out the field ... possession regained

Reality is we probably better off with the route we now have in the All Ireland series ... Its a pity as I think we had the beating of Kilkenny and the first half was as good as a performance as I've seen from Wexford in a long time .. But for some reason in the 2nd half we stopped working as hard .. especially in our forwards .. too many KK lads won 50 / 50 balls .. The atmosphere in Nowlan Park was unbelievable ... and it was a great day out and great game .. Games like this show what makes the GAA special .. But I for one hope this new format stays .. It needs fine tuning maybe with teams playing 4 weeks in a row or maybe team management need to bring in some strategy for player / squad rotation ...

Now any chance of a round of local championship in the next 2 weeks :-)"
Good overview of the game,9pts up missed frees bad mgnt from the line(yet sone of your suppirters blame the ref,especially the number1 whinger davy)also credit our lads for doing what they do best(never giving in)

Firecherry (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1 - 18/06/2018 22:23:40    2112911

Replying To gannett83:  "Derek McGrath has stepped down as Waterford manager... lot of people think he could end up in Wexford next year if Davy goes...for me I'm not to sure still a sweeper man"
Wouldn't be thinking about next year yet we're more than capable of getting to an all Ireland semi final this year with a bit of luck along the way maybe 1 step further

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 18/06/2018 22:23:53    2112912

Replying To hurlorhurley:  "Well"
Want to elaborate on it?

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 18/06/2018 23:05:52    2112935

Replying To perfect10:  "you would have to wonder why that draw was made,it could be said that either team might not want to win joe mcd cup if they fancy playing wexford over limerick"
I think the wexford/limerick game is just a bonus for them there main aim this year would be to challenge for the joe mcdonagh

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 18/06/2018 23:07:46    2112937

Replying To hurlorhurley:  "Well"
Excellent contribution fair play

Afinestick (Wexford) - Posts: 999 - 19/06/2018 00:00:01    2112941

Replying To Afinestick:  "Excellent contribution fair play"
Cheers

hurlorhurley (Wexford) - Posts: 1660 - 19/06/2018 10:08:36    2112971

Replying To wexico15:  "I think the wexford/limerick game is just a bonus for them there main aim this year would be to challenge for the joe mcdonagh"
Agreed Limerick and Wexford will both win by at least 12 -15 points, all eyes will be on the Wexford v Cork/Clare and Limerick v Kilkenny (Can't see Galway losing Leinster final) games.
Probably a double header in Thurles I'd imagine or they might bring us all to Cork again provided that Cork are not involved.

hurlorhurley (Wexford) - Posts: 1660 - 19/06/2018 10:11:50    2112972

i really hope double header,saturday afternoon matches are a joke.

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 19/06/2018 12:41:37    2113033