1) Guiney is a ball winner,strong under a high ball,brilliant hurling brain with the ability to carve open defences, wins his own ball and is a more consistent finisher than our current starting forwards. This team is crying out for a focal point to our attack and we simply cannot win possession when its contested as sat night showed.How many long puck outs did we win? 2) Conor mc is the best forward we've produced in a generation. Has everything needed to be top class. He is a player being drowned in our system.Eaten breed is soon forgotten and Mc is sufferering from the extrordinary standards he set himself. 1 v 1 he is as good as any forward in the country. 3) bit harsh on matthew. Yes reid won a few rucks and laid off ball but if you were told before the game reid would only score 0-1 from play and have 7/8 possessions, would you not have been satisfied? Matthew limited reid, contained him and stuck to his task manfully although a few times particularly in the first half i thought he struggled. 4) Firman had a good first half hence his man being taken off ( Scanlon), blanchfield /donnellys fresh legs won some ball off him but ive been impressed with him overal. 5) by setting up with a sweeper we should them too much respect. There was no need to play anextra man against a forward unit that managed a grand total of what 3/4 points from play intheir last championship game. There the most limited of all the teams left, we should of backed ourselves and took them on. We should of made changes when we were in front ,had momentum. Few fresh legs including O keeffe and we would of won that game comfortably. I think our squad is better than what Davy has utilised. Would Moore, deveraux,Mc Govern, Dunne,Tomkins, Donohoe realy weaken what started saturday night? I dont think its a case of not rating our subs with davy,its more of a preferance/loyality for certain players who have had poor years. I think it was more mental fatigue than physical with us, 1 game a week shouldnt of kiled anybody. WE missed the boat in the offaly game,we could of made 6/7 changes that night ,rotated the squad and won comfortably ,we didn't and then lads energy did drop but with better mngt the impact on performance would of been minimal. We made the wrong changes in the wrong positions and took off/ brought on the wrong players saturday night. A game we threw away."]What ball did Guiney win over the years hes been around?? He is this great player who didnt have to be great at all. Poor Paul Morris gets given out about wholesale, yet he has been there good and bad days for 8/9 years. Give me him anyday! Mac has almost got what it takes to be top class. He is missing a key component of top players. Its his decision making, compare him to TJ, who almost always does the right thing with the ball. Blame the system all you want but what I am looking at is what Mac does when he gets the ball, I know he will be on less than usual due to sweeper. Rory O Connor is our best forward by a mile. Angles of running, gets on the front foot to shoot, shoots at the right time. Finally, i think you and many other posters see the sweeper as a super negative tactic, its not. Using it our scoring rate is much higher than it was 4/5 years ago with many of the same team. So this idea that its holding back our team is based on an idea in your head!"]TJ's efforts are aided by the fact he's allowed take as many steps as he deems nessecary..."]This whinging about TJ's steps is a bit much lads! If i was to rate the 3 players who consistantly take steps i would go Conor McGrath, Seamus Harnedy and Liam Ryan. TJ is generally given an extra few because he is being pulled and his hurl held etc. as in any forward who is strong enough to keep moving!"]I actually think he fouls his marker as much if not more than he is been fouled himself bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 13/06/2018 22:45:24 2111326 Link 0 |
Reid is 1 of the best hurlers in the country in an old fashioned hurler kind of way and knows what he can get away with. Hurling is a contact sport. Our younger lads could learn alot from the way he plays. I still think we ve a better team than them and will beat them if we meet them in the SF or Final. Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16782 - 13/06/2018 23:14:27 2111340 Link 0 |
New Ross district has the lowest population and population density of the 4 districts. Especially if you take out New Ross town itself where Rugby and Soccer are very popular. Less people mean less great hurlers per square mile. And yes there is less of a hurling tradition in the district and more of a football 1. But strides are being made and hopefully there ll be more than just MOH in years to come. Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16782 - 13/06/2018 23:26:28 2111344 Link 0 |
1) Guiney is a ball winner,strong under a high ball,brilliant hurling brain with the ability to carve open defences, wins his own ball and is a more consistent finisher than our current starting forwards. This team is crying out for a focal point to our attack and we simply cannot win possession when its contested as sat night showed.How many long puck outs did we win? 2) Conor mc is the best forward we've produced in a generation. Has everything needed to be top class. He is a player being drowned in our system.Eaten breed is soon forgotten and Mc is sufferering from the extrordinary standards he set himself. 1 v 1 he is as good as any forward in the country. 3) bit harsh on matthew. Yes reid won a few rucks and laid off ball but if you were told before the game reid would only score 0-1 from play and have 7/8 possessions, would you not have been satisfied? Matthew limited reid, contained him and stuck to his task manfully although a few times particularly in the first half i thought he struggled. 4) Firman had a good first half hence his man being taken off ( Scanlon), blanchfield /donnellys fresh legs won some ball off him but ive been impressed with him overal. 5) by setting up with a sweeper we should them too much respect. There was no need to play anextra man against a forward unit that managed a grand total of what 3/4 points from play intheir last championship game. There the most limited of all the teams left, we should of backed ourselves and took them on. We should of made changes when we were in front ,had momentum. Few fresh legs including O keeffe and we would of won that game comfortably. I think our squad is better than what Davy has utilised. Would Moore, deveraux,Mc Govern, Dunne,Tomkins, Donohoe realy weaken what started saturday night? I dont think its a case of not rating our subs with davy,its more of a preferance/loyality for certain players who have had poor years. I think it was more mental fatigue than physical with us, 1 game a week shouldnt of kiled anybody. WE missed the boat in the offaly game,we could of made 6/7 changes that night ,rotated the squad and won comfortably ,we didn't and then lads energy did drop but with better mngt the impact on performance would of been minimal. We made the wrong changes in the wrong positions and took off/ brought on the wrong players saturday night. A game we threw away."]What ball did Guiney win over the years hes been around?? He is this great player who didnt have to be great at all. Poor Paul Morris gets given out about wholesale, yet he has been there good and bad days for 8/9 years. Give me him anyday! Mac has almost got what it takes to be top class. He is missing a key component of top players. Its his decision making, compare him to TJ, who almost always does the right thing with the ball. Blame the system all you want but what I am looking at is what Mac does when he gets the ball, I know he will be on less than usual due to sweeper. Rory O Connor is our best forward by a mile. Angles of running, gets on the front foot to shoot, shoots at the right time. Finally, i think you and many other posters see the sweeper as a super negative tactic, its not. Using it our scoring rate is much higher than it was 4/5 years ago with many of the same team. So this idea that its holding back our team is based on an idea in your head!"]TJ's efforts are aided by the fact he's allowed take as many steps as he deems nessecary..."]This whinging about TJ's steps is a bit much lads! If i was to rate the 3 players who consistantly take steps i would go Conor McGrath, Seamus Harnedy and Liam Ryan. TJ is generally given an extra few because he is being pulled and his hurl held etc. as in any forward who is strong enough to keep moving!"]I actually think he fouls his marker as much if not more than he is been fouled himself"]Sorry, add Paudie Maher to that list. I think you are a bit blinkered when it comes to TJ. hurler101 (Wexford) - Posts: 471 - 13/06/2018 23:50:08 2111349 Link 0 |
and james breen wont be.and proper order.
perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 14/06/2018 08:40:18 2111375 Link 0 |
why have st martins conceded all their league hurling matches any one know? perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 16/06/2018 16:54:22 2112143 Link 0 |
between players on county teams and doing exams they only have seven players avaible to play
gusseraneman (Wexford) - Posts: 521 - 16/06/2018 17:28:40 2112156 Link 0 |
It's a flimsy excuse really. I'm sure there are other clubs with a much smaller pick or conveyor belt of talent coming through that are in a similar boat, but still try to field a team. Because players want to play games. I'll have no sympathy for them should a couple of newcomers get caught cold thrown into the deep end come championship time. beano (Wexford) - Posts: 1503 - 17/06/2018 12:55:25 2112242 Link 0 |
what sort of excuse is that,nobody available due to exams since march? perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 17/06/2018 15:38:30 2112267 Link 0 |
It's the losers of Clare or Cork we'll have in the quarter final once we can beat carlow or westmeath bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 17/06/2018 15:57:54 2112280 Link 0 |
So its going to be Cork or Clare in the QF if we get by Westmeath or Carlow. Id far rather be playing either of them than Waterford tbh think we have a great chance of making a semi ...... Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16782 - 17/06/2018 16:08:24 2112284 Link 0 |
So its going to be Cork or Clare in the QF if we get by Westmeath or Carlow. Id far rather be playing either of them than Waterford tbh think we have a great chance of making a semi ...... Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16782 - 17/06/2018 16:19:33 2112287 Link 0 |
After today's results, it looks like we'll have Clare or Cork in the all Ireland quarter final. This must surely give us a great opportunity to get to a semi final, having beaten Clare as Ireland champions in 2014 and Cork in 2016 for the first time in 50 years in the championship (with half the team out injured that day). We should have nothing to fear, it's the same team bar Rory O'Connor and Damien Reck. Bring it on! castletownman (Wexford) - Posts: 262 - 17/06/2018 16:48:27 2112298 Link 0 |
I think what today's results in Munster show more than anything that the gap between the chasing pack is the width of a cigarette paper. Any team can beat the other on any given day. beano (Wexford) - Posts: 1503 - 17/06/2018 18:17:20 2112329 Link 0 |
limerick are more than capable of losing their heads from here on.....they have history when they hit croker. perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 17/06/2018 18:38:28 2112337 Link 0 |
Dont think we have to look as far as Limerick for lads who lose their heads on the big occasions .....
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16782 - 17/06/2018 20:16:02 2112395 Link 0 |
Hope quarters are not in thurles. Yellow (Wexford) - Posts: 589 - 17/06/2018 20:34:33 2112407 Link 0 |
Agreed and then to send a letter around to clubs explaining why they had to give walkovers is a joke. Our own club had to scrim and scrap players together to fulful fixtures being from a very small club.
alwaysasub (Wexford) - Posts: 509 - 17/06/2018 21:18:25 2112421 Link 0 |
I reckon quarter is in thurles either way, wouldn't bother me personally. Would see the Munster final as a complete 50-50 game myself and wouldn't fear either of them we beat cork when we had a depleted team in thurles in 2016 we're well capable of doing it again. With the exception of galway who have looked imperious so far it looks wide open, if Jake morris had taken that goal chance for tipp last week clares year could be over that's how small the margins are. As I said everyone except galway has shown flaws so far, limerick were impressive up to today,weather today was tiredness after 3 weeks out in a row, an off day or simply a reality check after been built up is hard to tell there likely quarter final against kilkenny or galway will answer that question. 1 glaring stat from the new format is of the teams out 3 or 4 weekends in a row the record is 1 win 1 draw 10 loses, hardly a coincidence. bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 18/06/2018 00:18:28 2112470 Link 0 |
anyone know when we will find out the venue, time etc for the preliminary quarter-finals? goreyll (Wexford) - Posts: 164 - 18/06/2018 08:11:25 2112491 Link 0 |