So ourselves and kilkenny both named unchanged teams I.e. dummy teams bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 08/06/2018 22:11:57 2108823 Link 0 |
Same team named . Doesn't make sense to name same team 4 weeks on the trot lads. Expect Davy to have a few things up god sleeve maybe a few positional switches and 1 or 2 named on bench may start who knows . Afinestick (Wexford) - Posts: 999 - 08/06/2018 22:17:32 2108824 Link 0 |
Id say both managers might change 1 or maybe 2 players if any at all.......
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15794 - 09/06/2018 07:04:12 2108849 Link 0 |
No wonder we are running flat..same team again...
fathermurphy (Wexford) - Posts: 330 - 09/06/2018 12:35:20 2108910 Link 0 |
Lads i just saw the betting wex at nearly 3/1? Surely worth a punt? I'd give ye a right chance someday (Limerick) - Posts: 1104 - 09/06/2018 13:15:45 2108919 Link 0 |
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15794 - 09/06/2018 21:37:09 2109115 Link 0 |
Devastated after that. Maybe I'm wrong gave us absolutely nothing and was atrocious. We only needed one more score and some of his his brutal decisions cost us place in the Leinster final. Great credit to The lads battled all the way. We can have an impact on this championship yet !!! Afinestick (Wexford) - Posts: 999 - 09/06/2018 21:52:00 2109125 Link 0 |
We probably would have drove the frees wide anyway. That game was there for the taking. The missed frees alone killed us. TJ scored every one in the second half. Why did we launch puck out down on the half forward line for 15 minutes straight with kilkenny winning every one of them. Our forwards didnt make enough runs or work hard enough in the second half.
Wexboi92 (Wexford) - Posts: 74 - 09/06/2018 22:29:04 2109158 Link 0 |
Awful hard luck in the end after a sublime first half and relinquishing a commanding lead. Cody and co got the tactics right in the second half as their team got much tighter and improved their accuracy. The Kilkenny subs made a big impact in comparison to ours which would continue to raise concerns with regards the strength and depth of our panel going forward. The tired legs must surely have been an issue as the game wore on too. Deisewexican (Waterford) - Posts: 30 - 09/06/2018 22:33:09 2109161 Link 0 |
So gutted after that we should of won it... fair play to the lads they played there heart out but there legs gave way in the end... we were brilliant in first half but kk took over in half back line in second half fair play to them... just a couple of points I would like to make... I think that game will stand to us and we can be a different team in July when we won't be playing every week which I think is a absolute disgrace the gaa are a joke these men are amatuers who have to do a days work at the end of the day.... referee i thought was poor at times some of the soft frees kk got while we seem to have to work harder to get one... Conor mac gets no help from refs he gets mauled by Walsh and deegan in first half constantly... as for deegan don't Get me started and can't wait for the day he wil be lying on the broad of rhis back... best of luck to kk in Leinster final and could cause Galway a few problems... hopefully we can kick on in July and get to a semi final gannett83 (Wexford) - Posts: 317 - 09/06/2018 23:16:02 2109194 Link 1 |
Ah lads stop going on about the ref, the last few frees he gave to Wexford were not frees at all, they were incredibly soft. He was bad all round. 16 wides tells it's own story. Our sweepers continued inability to perform the basic skills of jab lifting and striking, and our best forwards inability to pass the ball to those in a better position, and our professional captains inability to get stuck in when the going gets tough, are all far more worrying to me than having a couple of soft frees given against us. 890202 (Wexford) - Posts: 1278 - 09/06/2018 23:48:33 2109203 Link 0 |
Surprised that Matthew O'Hanlon was left on Reid for the 2nd half...he was clearly in serious trouble after 15-20 mins...Reid was allowed to do what he wanted and conducted the KK comeback. Chin, who by that stage was contributing very little up front, might have been a better option to try and contain him... Our subs are so weak by comparison with most of the other top teams. wexford1997 (Wexford) - Posts: 88 - 10/06/2018 00:35:04 2109223 Link 0 |
that was so disappointing.we had our chances and kilkenny took all of theirs. perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 10/06/2018 08:03:49 2109247 Link 1 |
To be honest with you. I dont think any team will look forward to playing ye.Who ever ye meet. Plus i dont like the new championship fore mat. If they even played to games and then give a week or 2 break. But unlucky it was a great tough game. I hope will stand to both teams.
cats34 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 14 - 10/06/2018 08:22:01 2109253 Link 0 |
I would concur over the soft frees issue. I think I counted five over the course of the game where you'd be thinking how it's even a free at all. But the lack of variancy from our puck-outs was the glaring issue. Absolutely cleaned out in the second half when they were delivered down the right wing, and every one they caught drew cheers from the crowd. It was if Kilkenny were motivated by winning every ball. Not once though did we play it down the other wing where Chin was or more importantly play short puck-outs and work it through the lines to take the sting out of the game. beano (Wexford) - Posts: 1494 - 10/06/2018 08:48:53 2109260 Link 0 |
I think you have hit the nail on the head.. in the second half shaun Murphy missed a clean pick up 4 times which resulted in 3 kilkenny ppints either directly or through a foul. Blaming the ref is a cop out. Kilkenny like galway last week brought an intensity to the second half we couldn't match ( due to tiredness... maybe) and again big players failed to go up a gear. I still think we have a shot at an all Ireland semi if we avoid one or two teams from munster but with our panel and our very low scoring rate (we scored the exact same as the footballers yesterday) I can't see past that wexcore (Wexford) - Posts: 740 - 10/06/2018 09:48:20 2109275 Link 0 |
if i have learned one thing in my life,great players make things happen. perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 10/06/2018 09:50:14 2109276 Link 0 |
Hard luck to the all players and management. Punter72007 (Wexford) - Posts: 318 - 10/06/2018 13:13:36 2109366 Link 0 |
Hard luck yesterday. We ran out of legs in the second half but it was Wexford who beat Wexford yesterday. Very bad wides in the second half and even one of them would have been enough. Its still all to play for thats for sure. Keep the heads up lads all not yet lost far from it. lochgarmanabu (Wexford) - Posts: 1022 - 10/06/2018 13:29:20 2109375 Link 0 |
Ok so we've enjoyed some success in gaining promotion and consolidating in division 1A and now we want more. Thats how sport goes. The big difference is at half time and early into the second half all eyes were on Brian Cody and his backroom team. Wexford 9 up and cruising so who was going to win out. I cant help thinking that while employing a sweeper system has worked in making us hard to beat yesterday was one of those days that being brave might have gotten us over the line. By brave I mean we had an opportunity yesterday to throw a spanner into the works for Cody by going 15 on 15 and driving it home. Are we a one trick pony? its beginning to feel like Davy is in my view. A couple of years ago after a draw in Ennis Davy brought his AI champs to the Park and when they were getting on top in the second half and got a goal we went straight up the field Rory Jacob played a long fast ball onto the edge of the square Mc caught it and stuck it into the net and within a minute we had cancelled out Clares goal. Now before I get accused of a Mac love in lets think about the changes the chap has had to make to adapt to the new system we now play to. Hes built his physical strength up, improved his sprint speed and something he gets very little credit for is his vision and lay off team play. Hes been accused of being a one trick pony himself but the facts are even though form has slipped his work rate and professionalism have always been top class. Thats why Davy picks him. Mac and Guiney's arrival on the senior scene were very similar but the difference is the character of the individual and attitude towards making it for Wexford. Regarded by many as one of the best in Ireland under a ball on the edge of the square we now have a player whose effect we have completely nullyfied by allowing him to be double marked even when we are on top in games. Every ball the man goes for is a physical battle with 2 and sometimes 3 defenders before the ball even arrives. I dont care how fit you are but at that level to be able to sustain the hits for 70 plus minutes would be next to impossible. So the sweeper does a job at one end but with a man less to aim for up front whats the alternative? Shots from mid to long range are great when they go over but a wide ball is a dead ball which gives the advantage back to the opponents. Northcountyman (Wexford) - Posts: 59 - 10/06/2018 13:32:32 2109377 Link 0 |