I just seen the matches in Munster on Sunday Game. That was some match between Cork and Limerick. Going to make our matches look even worse
Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 03/06/2018 22:22:26
Replying To beano: "Alright then maybe not Liam Og. But perhaps the likes of Dunne or Dunbar who we have been told are built for summer ground but yet haven't got a look in so far." Absolutely I think both should be given more game time. What about Shane Tompkins is he ready? It's a big ask to go to kk and win next weekend but we need to keep the heads we are still in the championship regardless. I actually think this new championship will lead to another change in championship format in a few years. We'll see the Munster counties wanting an open championship and an end to the provincial championship which I think would be the way forward. 2 groups with the placing based on where each county finished in that years league.
logger (Wexford) - Posts: 300 - 03/06/2018 23:28:41
Replying To Pinkie: "A year on, still 10 points, no progress. A horrible style of hurling carrying no goal threat whatsoever. 5 against Offaly and probably 5 in the previous 10 matches. That referee was terrible, the physio brigade from Galway stopping the game at every chance, it was a flat, dour, insipid evening. I couldn't wait to get home, sitting for an hour and a half before to get a good seat just adds to the boredom, no offence to the hurlers of St. Kevin's and Allendale. Why can't people buy an assigned seat like every other ground? Wexford Park is very accessible yet we have traffic chaos every time we have a match? It has not been entertaining watching our hurlers this year and that is the reality. When did we last have thrilling exhilarating hurling in front of us? A winning point v Dublin is the highlight of the year probably? Dear god." So you didn't have a good day then, is that what you're saying?
gminor (Wexford) - Posts: 488 - 03/06/2018 23:45:00
Lads, don't panic.
I think Fitzy has his eye on Kilkenny and a Leinster final. And that Leinster final will be very, very different to yesterday if we get there.
It will be a similar team vs Kilkenny. But with a few changes. Matty will pick up Walter anyway, that's for sure. Ryan I think will pick up Reid (which I worry about), but Cody could start Fennelly on the square - although we beat them last year Fennelly destroyed Ryan. If he does I'd say Reck will be given a man marking role on Reid. Dee and Paidi will stay wing backs. Nolan and Foley will be midfield - they are our best midfield I think. I'm unsure about all our corner backs: Firman, Reck, Donohue, Devereux. All seem to give up scores.
The forward line is a bit of a worry. Chin, McDonald and Rory O have to start. I'd put Chin at centre forward on Buckley. He's made for him. And stopping Buckley is key to beating Kilkenny. Everything goes through him. I'd also put Mac on the square and put in high ball on Walsh. Dublin did it with Rushe in there and it caused havoc for Walsh. The day Wexford put Mac on the square and give him plenty of ball is the day we can beat anyone. Rory O has been our best player all year in my opinion and can play wherever he likes.
That leaves two spots. Jacko and Morris don't inspire me always. Jacko is good under high ball but I don't know if he is good enough to justify his lack of scoring threat. Morris seems to battle away but I can't see him ever causing a good team big problems. I'd like to see us bring in Dunne anyway for one of them. He's lightning fast and wins a free whenever a back looks at him. Other than that I don't see any changes.
And don't panic. That Galway game meant nothing. Kilkenny is the one we can judge things on.
icehonesty (Wexford) - Posts: 2574 - 04/06/2018 00:40:17
There is no way in the world Saturday was shadow boxing, etc, etc. Saturday was a team with a system which is ruining our team being completely and absolutely found out. It was the same in the league semi final, shadow boxing this and that Kilkenny came down and hurled the shte out of us. We will be even more tired this weekend, Kilkenny will have had a week off. Saturday was the one to win. I agree that our corner backs give up scores, l and that is because they seem to think their first duty is to attack. Why? I would start Eoin Moore if he is fit. I think he is tight and a defender first of all. Paul Morris was along with Aidan Nolan our best forward on Saturday. He busted a gut and made things happen, while others were shaping around showing off flashy coloured boots. And Kilkenny are not the match to be judged on. Galway are All-Ireland champions so I'm judging by that benchmark. And we were miles away from that level. And judging by the Munster matches, we are miles off the competition too.
Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 04/06/2018 08:43:20
What we learned on Saturday last v Galway is not really any different from what we knew after last years Leinster final. And that was that they are a serious team, physically and in terms of hurling ability. They did exactly the same as last year, smothered us out when we tried to make headway upfront and were content to foul and concede points rather than let us have a clean strike on their goal. Wexford must learn how to combat teams who crowd the space - Waterford did the same in last year's quarter-final. However, this is an ongoing process, a learning curve, and there will be pain along the way. Look at Galway themselves and all the disappointment they have suffered in recent times. When they lost they didn't lose the lessons in defeat. That's what makes great teams.
On Saturday they did to us what we did to Offaly the previous week. An early goal, a sucker punch that shook us mentally, and made us careless and nervy in what we did, particularly early on. We hadn't allowed for that type of start and it affected us. We recovered to some degree, but we saw the old Achilles heal swell again - the concession of too many frees and shooting too many wides. It's not the first time that I've highlighted more than once this year and it has to be addressed fast, as Kilkenny quickly have punished us twice already this year for this flaw in our game. Naturally we will be fired up going onto the hurling field, but perhaps we are a little too fired up at times and this leads to anxiety, over exuberance and carelessness in the tackle. A little more composure is needed all round. That will come with experience.
Of course, we have a relatively young panel. As genuine and loyal Wexford supporters we shouldn't assume that the players as individuals are the finished article. Given the age profile of the squad, we can expect that there will be aspects of their game that they can improve on. No one will be more aware of that than the players themselves and of course the management team. They will know that opponents may have sussed out our style as a team and as individuals, which makes aspects of our play a little predictable. We need to add variety more to our game, I believe given the talent and desire to succeed within the panel that we will get there. If players are not up to it, the management will make the changes. Some of the high profile players seem to come in for more criticism than others for some reason. That's unfair and unwarranted. Such is the nature and unpredictability of sport that you are a hero one week and a villain the next. You are only as good and as bad as your last game. As supporters we have to accept that fact. That same unpredictability is a big part of hurling's excitement and allure - as Brian Cody says 'It's all on the day'.
The crowd became quite muted in the second half last Saturday. Maybe the writing was on the wall, but a team needs the crowd to get behind them when they are behind more than at any time in the game. It's very easy to cheer on the team when they are ahead, but people are like sheep, they react to the crowd around them. That's why children are so inspirational - they never lose their enthusiasm. Of course they haven't developed the self-consciousness of adults and don't particularly care who hears them shouting their team on. C'mon fans -keep the faith and get behind the team at all times.
And so it's on to Saturday. I hope we have learned from the last 2 games v Kilkenny. They are not averaging a lot from play, so if we can keep the free count down we won't be far away. It will be very difficult physically for a fourth week in a row, but if we dwell on that too much it can become a psychological burden and sap our energy levels even more. That's why it's vitally important to start well, because if we are chasing this game in the manner in which we had to in the league semi-final, then we will feel the effects of 4 consecutive weeks more so than if we can stay ahead in this game. Kilkenny will know that, and will try and exploit that. Let's go up there in the belief and with the confidence that we can win, as we did last year in the league. Let's hope we can keep going to the end and play on as Tipp did in their last two matches. Kilkenny are the same - 10 point leads can be turned around.
Let's look no further than Saturday - be it a Leinster final or a provisional All Ireland quarter-final. Hurling can change very quickly in a year. Look at last year, Tipperary appeared unbeatable and on course for another All Ireland before the league final. Davy Fitzgerald is right - it will be a different championship come July. We will have a good break after Saturday so one more big push lads on Saturday. Up Wexford.
Sliotharyslope (Wexford) - Posts: 138 - 04/06/2018 09:19:33
Wexford were beaten by the All Ireland champions and they didnt perform. It was a terrible display but that doesnt make them a bad team or bad players.
Relax and go to Nowlan Park next weekend to see them beat Kilkenny.
Personally i think Davy was naive to completely settle on a team so early. He should be tinkering with that team every week. At the bery least ut would keep the lads on the bench enthusiastic about the opportunity of starting.
The constant fouling and desicions were a joke Saturday i think that was the most disappointing aspect. Did they not know Galway had Canning?
Looking forward to next weekend i would start young firman over donoghue, he was found out badly. Firman done much better denfencively.
Fanning
Devereaux, Ryan, firman
Murphy
Reck, P foley, Jack O' Connor
Nolan KFoley
OKeefe Chin Rory Oconnor
Mac, morris
That would be my team but it wont happen.
Wexboi92 (Wexford) - Posts: 74 - 04/06/2018 09:51:50
Replying To Pinkie: "There is no way in the world Saturday was shadow boxing, etc, etc. Saturday was a team with a system which is ruining our team being completely and absolutely found out. It was the same in the league semi final, shadow boxing this and that Kilkenny came down and hurled the shte out of us. We will be even more tired this weekend, Kilkenny will have had a week off. Saturday was the one to win. I agree that our corner backs give up scores, l and that is because they seem to think their first duty is to attack. Why? I would start Eoin Moore if he is fit. I think he is tight and a defender first of all. Paul Morris was along with Aidan Nolan our best forward on Saturday. He busted a gut and made things happen, while others were shaping around showing off flashy coloured boots. And Kilkenny are not the match to be judged on. Galway are All-Ireland champions so I'm judging by that benchmark. And we were miles away from that level. And judging by the Munster matches, we are miles off the competition too." Munster looks competitive as there is five teams of equal average standard the same as Kilkenny and maybe wexford . Galway on a different level and will wipe the floor with munster just like kilkenny have for the last 20 years. Wexford need natural big forwards of the Quigley and storey mold, more players need a chance to prove them selfs
tonydoranfan (Wexford) - Posts: 550 - 04/06/2018 10:42:52
Replying To Pinkie: "There is no way in the world Saturday was shadow boxing, etc, etc. Saturday was a team with a system which is ruining our team being completely and absolutely found out. It was the same in the league semi final, shadow boxing this and that Kilkenny came down and hurled the shte out of us. We will be even more tired this weekend, Kilkenny will have had a week off. Saturday was the one to win. I agree that our corner backs give up scores, l and that is because they seem to think their first duty is to attack. Why? I would start Eoin Moore if he is fit. I think he is tight and a defender first of all. Paul Morris was along with Aidan Nolan our best forward on Saturday. He busted a gut and made things happen, while others were shaping around showing off flashy coloured boots. And Kilkenny are not the match to be judged on. Galway are All-Ireland champions so I'm judging by that benchmark. And we were miles away from that level. And judging by the Munster matches, we are miles off the competition too." Munster looks competitive as there is five teams of equal average standard the same as Kilkenny and maybe wexford . Galway on a different level and will wipe the floor with munster just like kilkenny have for the last 20 years. Wexford need natural big forwards of the Quigley and storey mold, more players need a chance to prove them selfs
tonydoranfan (Wexford) - Posts: 550 - 04/06/2018 10:44:40
Replying To icehonesty: "Lads, don't panic.
I think Fitzy has his eye on Kilkenny and a Leinster final. And that Leinster final will be very, very different to yesterday if we get there.
It will be a similar team vs Kilkenny. But with a few changes. Matty will pick up Walter anyway, that's for sure. Ryan I think will pick up Reid (which I worry about), but Cody could start Fennelly on the square - although we beat them last year Fennelly destroyed Ryan. If he does I'd say Reck will be given a man marking role on Reid. Dee and Paidi will stay wing backs. Nolan and Foley will be midfield - they are our best midfield I think. I'm unsure about all our corner backs: Firman, Reck, Donohue, Devereux. All seem to give up scores.
The forward line is a bit of a worry. Chin, McDonald and Rory O have to start. I'd put Chin at centre forward on Buckley. He's made for him. And stopping Buckley is key to beating Kilkenny. Everything goes through him. I'd also put Mac on the square and put in high ball on Walsh. Dublin did it with Rushe in there and it caused havoc for Walsh. The day Wexford put Mac on the square and give him plenty of ball is the day we can beat anyone. Rory O has been our best player all year in my opinion and can play wherever he likes.
That leaves two spots. Jacko and Morris don't inspire me always. Jacko is good under high ball but I don't know if he is good enough to justify his lack of scoring threat. Morris seems to battle away but I can't see him ever causing a good team big problems. I'd like to see us bring in Dunne anyway for one of them. He's lightning fast and wins a free whenever a back looks at him. Other than that I don't see any changes.
And don't panic. That Galway game meant nothing. Kilkenny is the one we can judge things on." You're forgetting that under our present system Mac will be double marked. You're also forgetting Paul Morris, along with Rory, were the only starting forwards to score on Saturday. He scored 2 points against the top team in the country and if the other three starting forwards had done likewise we wouldn't have been far away at the end.
gminor (Wexford) - Posts: 488 - 04/06/2018 10:55:39
@gminor I'm not disputing that at all, Morris was decent at the weekend and works really hard. I said between him and Jacko I'd like to see one replaced by Dunne to add pace to the attack. That's all.
@Pinkie I know testing yourself against the best is important, but the Kilkenny game is different. This one is for all the marbles. And even though it was All-Ireland champions Galway, it wasn't as important a game as Kilkenny is. There is no safety net. Lose and we don't reach the Leinster final, which must have been what the team set as a goal alongside retaining Division 1 status.
icehonesty (Wexford) - Posts: 2574 - 04/06/2018 17:02:22
Replying To tonydoranfan: "Munster looks competitive as there is five teams of equal average standard the same as Kilkenny and maybe wexford . Galway on a different level and will wipe the floor with munster just like kilkenny have for the last 20 years. Wexford need natural big forwards of the Quigley and storey mold, more players need a chance to prove them selfs" Agree 100 % I think we would hold our own against any of the Munster teams except perhaps a fully fit Waterford. Galway are peaking now and have no injuries. They have an extra few years of defensive cuteness and strength and conditioning over us and all the other top 8 currently bar Waterford and Tipp. Still think we've too many players who arent as cute or composed as Galway or Waterfords 1st team. But hopefully experience will help them develop this. The sweeper debate is a red herring. We only conceded 1-23. Our main problem is the bad wides. We had 14 I think last day. Waterford didnt have 1 in the 1st half against Tipp. Like some of the other posters noted this is down to composure under pressure. Hopefully big game experience will improve this part of our play too. We're not shite, our systems not shite, and our players arent shite. Rome wasnt built in a day and it was only 3 or 4 years ago any of the then top 8 looked at us as an easy draw. Even Offaly saw us that way. Composure, cuteness and core strength will improve in all our players given time. Div 1a should help also. We could do with a few more backs especially in the panel to add competition but we have good players coming through. We need supporters to support also. Disappointing when lads leave before the final whistle.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15713 - 04/06/2018 17:35:13
Replying To Viking66: "Agree 100 % I think we would hold our own against any of the Munster teams except perhaps a fully fit Waterford. Galway are peaking now and have no injuries. They have an extra few years of defensive cuteness and strength and conditioning over us and all the other top 8 currently bar Waterford and Tipp. Still think we've too many players who arent as cute or composed as Galway or Waterfords 1st team. But hopefully experience will help them develop this. The sweeper debate is a red herring. We only conceded 1-23. Our main problem is the bad wides. We had 14 I think last day. Waterford didnt have 1 in the 1st half against Tipp. Like some of the other posters noted this is down to composure under pressure. Hopefully big game experience will improve this part of our play too. We're not shite, our systems not shite, and our players arent shite. Rome wasnt built in a day and it was only 3 or 4 years ago any of the then top 8 looked at us as an easy draw. Even Offaly saw us that way. Composure, cuteness and core strength will improve in all our players given time. Div 1a should help also. We could do with a few more backs especially in the panel to add competition but we have good players coming through. We need supporters to support also. Disappointing when lads leave before the final whistle." Couldn't agree more.
The whole "the sweeper is our problem rhetoric"is lazy analysis following on from what the traditionalists say in the media, it's a buzz world statement.
Our only recent success to data against Kilkenny for example has been as a result of using that system yet people just want to get rid of it???
Our shooting is a problem even after the start Galway got the other night we had the opportunities within the next few minutes to get within 2 points but hit some poor wides which is becoming a feature of our play unfortunately.
A lot of our wides are bad wides, easy scores we should be getting, id be more concerned if we weren't actually making opportunities for scores, that's when we have concerns over our system. But missing easy scores sals our confidence, you can see it throughout the team, you can even see it in the crowd.
A couple of changes are in order though, chin is giving us nothing at wing forward, back to midfield could work wonders for him imho. In the league Kevin Foley played a bit at sweeper and pushed up into the half back line where his long range shooting and distribution were a huge plus, again id like to se us try that.
We will be under pressure Saturday night, 4 weeks on the trot coming in after a loss is tough. But if we get a ref that's not overly fussy in giving frees all night at the slightest tackle and we start converting even half our wides into scores we will really rattle them.
tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1498 - 04/06/2018 19:22:33
Big performance needed on Saturday . Galway game was a big wake up call we still have a bit to go . We need to see a few changes . Firman at corner back . Dunne needs to come into forwards to add pace. Would like to see Tomkins start but can't see that happening. Would question a couple of things by management. Why is Davy telling everyone we have no chance . That's bound to effect the players mentality going into the game . Also was speaking to one of the players who said they had one of their toughest training sessions of the year the morning after the Offaly game . That is just stupid in my opinion and may be a reason why we were so flat on Saturday.
Afinestick (Wexford) - Posts: 999 - 04/06/2018 20:03:37
Very disappointing and frustrating to see Wexford shoot them selves in the foot once again on Saturday by electing to play against the wind in the 1st half....this is the 3rd/4th time this has happened now in last 3 years or so. It happened during Liam dunnes tenure and he rightly got stick for it....does experience not show management the futility of playing against the wind in the 1st half The wind usually drops during the course of evening games and this happened once again on Saturday. Having trained like dogs for the last 7/8 months I find it puzzling that management makes things harder for us and don't show a bit of common sense in these situations....we're not talking about rocket science or anything
wexford1997 (Wexford) - Posts: 88 - 04/06/2018 21:39:12
Replying To wexford1997: "Very disappointing and frustrating to see Wexford shoot them selves in the foot once again on Saturday by electing to play against the wind in the 1st half....this is the 3rd/4th time this has happened now in last 3 years or so. It happened during Liam dunnes tenure and he rightly got stick for it....does experience not show management the futility of playing against the wind in the 1st half The wind usually drops during the course of evening games and this happened once again on Saturday. Having trained like dogs for the last 7/8 months I find it puzzling that management makes things harder for us and don't show a bit of common sense in these situations....we're not talking about rocket science or anything" Agree about the wind. The worst example was the qualifier against Cork. In fairness to Davy hes a Clare man. Hes unlikely to understand the mysteries of the wind at Wexford park. And for some reason its harder to understand at the town end. I've never seen so many wides by visiting teams at any other end of any ground in the country. Even our own lads dont seem to be great shooting into that end. The training during the week before the Galway game doesnt surprise me. Maybe he wanted us a little flat. I still think he did the same before the KK league semifinal but maybe Im thinking too much. We ll see how sharp we are Saturday in Nowlan Park.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15713 - 04/06/2018 22:12:57
Throw off the shackles sat night, go 15 on 15. Start thompkins, colm kehoe, Dunbar, firman etc...we have nothing to lose.go for it chin centre foward , Mac at edge of square. Is there any chance guiney might be back after the kk game? Anyone in the know on him.
hunting (Wexford) - Posts: 1130 - 04/06/2018 22:17:36
Replying To hunting: "Throw off the shackles sat night, go 15 on 15. Start thompkins, colm kehoe, Dunbar, firman etc...we have nothing to lose.go for it chin centre foward , Mac at edge of square. Is there any chance guiney might be back after the kk game? Anyone in the know on him." Have you gone mad or is that sarcasm?? Hard to tell when there is no tone but its ridiculous enough to be sarcasm!
hurler101 (Wexford) - Posts: 471 - 04/06/2018 22:27:37
i honestly can't believe what is posted on here.to suggest that Davy trained the lads to lose the 2biggest games we have had in the park,and it is all part of some bigger plan for the team to be flat,is nothing short of comical. i could understand Galway with their depth of talent doing that,but do people really think wexford want to be going to Kilkenny to get into Leinster final? afinestick Davy said they only trained once last week,so somebody is lying..... the difference between now galway beat us and galway beat kk is kk died with their boots on and went down fighting and trying to win the game.we went down with a whimper and had absolutely no plan to try get a goal of two.feck it we might as well have been bet by another 10 points trying to win the match,I think Davy is more about saving davys face at times instead of saying " sheep or a lamb".at least try to win the match.what was it einstein said about insanity?
perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 04/06/2018 22:37:39
Replying To hunting: "Throw off the shackles sat night, go 15 on 15. Start thompkins, colm kehoe, Dunbar, firman etc...we have nothing to lose.go for it chin centre foward , Mac at edge of square. Is there any chance guiney might be back after the kk game? Anyone in the know on him." Dunno bout Guiney but weve a Leinster final place to lose. Id like to be going up to Croke Park again next month!
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15713 - 04/06/2018 22:45:05