Wexford hurling 2018

Replying To 890202:  "There is no point in saying it was just a bad day at the office. We need to look at why it was a bad day at the office. General stuff like we were flat footed is just rubbish talk. Let's look at just 3 specifics.
1. Are puckouts good enough?
2. Are our corner backs good enough?
3. Does our sweeper offer enough support to the other backs, does he win enough breaking ball and is his delivery of passes good enough? Kilkenny don't play a sweeper system but they were far better at using their extra defender than Wexford were.

Its no use in just saying it was a bad day, that is obvious and we know it was bad. The key thing is why. I've given my ideas why.

And for the information of those who make ridiculous assumptions, I stayed until the very last puck of the game regardless of whether we are winning by 20 or losing by 20. I'll also be at a large number of club games every weekend. In fact on one weekends last summer I attended 9 championship matches. So I've given my views on our problems and what I believe needs to change. Does anyone disagree with the issues I've raised?"
Yes you are giving your opinions why it was a bad day but what are your solutions?
If our corner backs are not good enough who would you play there ?
If puckouts aren't good enough would you like to see Conor o Leary in the goal?
What I am saying is that anybody can list off areas where there are problems but what are your solutions to these problems.
I don't think we should be burying our head in the sand and saying everything is grand but negatively without suggestions how to improve any situation simply doesn't help.

Gaawex (Wexford) - Posts: 46 - 02/04/2018 11:09:58    2090260

Replying To fathermurphy:  "I think we peaked against Galway,we are on a slipery slope now and it may get worse before it gets better,we showed no hunger yesterday with kk winning all the 50/50 balls..i cant see us doing well in the leinster championship..the timing of every match and who we are playing is against us...our first match is against Dublin who we will be favourites and Dublin have yet to show there hand i can see an upset there..we play galway a week before we play kk and kk will have a 2 week break before they meet us....our 2 week brake is before we play offaly!!!."
You make valid points regarding the championship but don't give up on the lads who have given everything so far this year. There'll be no easy games in the championship but i still figure we'll do well and yesterday didn't change that. We are where we are and with the excepion of injuries, the panel is now consolidated.

gminor (Wexford) - Posts: 488 - 02/04/2018 12:48:09    2090284

Replying To 890202:  "There is no point in saying it was just a bad day at the office. We need to look at why it was a bad day at the office. General stuff like we were flat footed is just rubbish talk. Let's look at just 3 specifics.
1. Are puckouts good enough?
2. Are our corner backs good enough?
3. Does our sweeper offer enough support to the other backs, does he win enough breaking ball and is his delivery of passes good enough? Kilkenny don't play a sweeper system but they were far better at using their extra defender than Wexford were.

Its no use in just saying it was a bad day, that is obvious and we know it was bad. The key thing is why. I've given my ideas why.

And for the information of those who make ridiculous assumptions, I stayed until the very last puck of the game regardless of whether we are winning by 20 or losing by 20. I'll also be at a large number of club games every weekend. In fact on one weekends last summer I attended 9 championship matches. So I've given my views on our problems and what I believe needs to change. Does anyone disagree with the issues I've raised?"
"Happy with the overall performance today, and we stood up at the end when it was needed. Excellent all over the field. Simon Donohoe was very good. And the whole half bsck line which is probably the key to winning any game. Midfielders again did excellently while Rory o Connor and conor MacDonald were the two most lively in the forwards with jack o Connor very good in the air again". 

The above paragraph is what you wrote after the Galway game. How has your views changed so much in such a short period of time? Do you even agree with the issues you raised yourself?

gminor (Wexford) - Posts: 488 - 02/04/2018 13:05:53    2090287

On a side note heard a few lads giving out about the lack of stewards at match yesterday and not near enough turnstiles open , said it was very badly organised and the stewards that were there didn't have a clue what was happening​, wasn't at the match just wondering on people's thoughts that were there??

purple2 (Wexford) - Posts: 15 - 02/04/2018 13:20:19    2090291

Lets not throw the baby out with the bath water.
I will address the issues we had with the general organisation in the upgrade thread.
Yesterday was a poor day, we looked tired and leggy and Kilkenny were first to every ball, won every ruck ball.
It was kamikase stuff to allow Cillian Buckley so much free room. He is by far Kilkenny classiest back, why didn't we put somebody to mark him? All the time in the world, for the hour, he made sure the ball going in to TJ Reid, Walsh, Aylward, was a mile away from Shaun Murphy.
Rory O'Connor is such a class act. He also takes a lot of the pressure off McDonald. OK he hit 1 bad free and we need them all, but every time he got the ball he used it well.
I would rather have a stinker in April than one in May. Now time to get on with a few rounds for the clubs, sometimes a change is as good as a rest.
In the league, we beat Galway, Clare, Waterford, Cork, lost to Tipp by 3, lost to Kilkenny twice. That is still superb progress for this team and many of us wanted 1A survival. Credit where it is due to all involved.
A lot done, an awful lot to do before the Dubs roll in to town.

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 02/04/2018 13:32:59    2090292

Replying To gminor:  ""Happy with the overall performance today, and we stood up at the end when it was needed. Excellent all over the field. Simon Donohoe was very good. And the whole half bsck line which is probably the key to winning any game. Midfielders again did excellently while Rory o Connor and conor MacDonald were the two most lively in the forwards with jack o Connor very good in the air again". 

The above paragraph is what you wrote after the Galway game. How has your views changed so much in such a short period of time? Do you even agree with the issues you raised yourself?"
Gminor I know what I wrote, why didn't you quote it? Or indeed why don't you look at what I highlighted as issues after the Tipp, Clare and Kilkenny games in the group stage?

It was a good performance against Galway. Unfortunately the good performance by Donohoe that day has been the exception rather than the rule over the last year unfortunately.
The half back line was good against galway and was generally decent throughout the league. I never mentioned the half back line as being an issue did I?
The midfielders have been excellent. Rory o Connor has been excellent and McDonald has been steadily improving. I didn't say either of them were an issue did I? And Jack o Connor was good in the air, but he had a bag game yesterday, but yet again I didn't say this was an issue did I?

I think if you take all of what I said rather than just a selective quote then you'll see I have been very consistent in highlighting our issues regardless of whether we happened to win the game or not.

890202 (Wexford) - Posts: 1278 - 02/04/2018 13:33:50    2090294

Yesterday was one to forget apart from Rory O Connor's performance and Conor Mc showing what he can do if he gets the right ball close to goal.
That said this years league has shown how far this young team have progressed. At the start of the year we would have taken a league semi final appearance.
Hopefully we will have a few more options back on the panel by championship time. We are definitely stronger than this time last year and have more top level hurling under our belts.
Time now to get the club championship up and running before they go back in to prepare for championship.

Gaawex (Wexford) - Posts: 46 - 02/04/2018 14:16:50    2090309

Funnily enough i agree with both sides of the tit for tat going on at the minute. Yes we were bad and flat and any other negative buzz word with no real meaning you can think of but I can also see the big picture and huge progress we have made. I am a feet on the ground man and I did not expect a win yesterday, i believe we can beat Kilkenny but lets be honest lads too many people in wexford thought because we got a few wins against them over the last year we have passed them out. Not yet, at best we are level with them in my opinion.

There are issues and weaknesses in our team/squad but i think we dont have the answers for them. Fanning is our best keeper! Who would replace donahoe that would improve on him? I do feel we need to look at our sweeper but that time may now have passed!

The big issue for me yesterday apart from a general lack of intensity and how flat footed we were is how we set up on their puck outs in each half!!

First half they had the wind and mainly went long(why wouldnt they?) and we pushed up 15-15 leaving no sweeper or cover. Almost invited them on and left space in the shooting ares. Why?

Second half they were against the wind, probably wanted to go short and we didnt push up. Why? We also managed to fill the full forward line and for some reason leave buckley as the free man on 3 occasions at least!! This really baffled me!!

All in all we have had a very good start to the year and are improving. As for where we are i think Tipp and Galway are the best 2 and lim, clare, cork, waterford, kk and us could all beat each other any day. Hopeful for some big days in the summer!

hurler101 (Wexford) - Posts: 471 - 02/04/2018 14:41:14    2090328

Wexford were very leggy and looked tired. Either we blew our load against Galway (Psychologically or physically) or we over trained during the week. I have never seen them in any game in the last 15 months, second to the ball as much as they were against KK.
Cody's style of play is that every player must be up for the fight for every ball and Wexford en masse were not as hungry as KK. Very strange to see given our past history and with a big home Wexford crowd. Therefore I think it's unfair to single out any player for analysis because with the exception of a 19 year old as they all looked well off their normal high standards.
IMHO, they are allowed a bad day at the office every now and again without being pillared for it.

I think this Wexford team would be a different prospect with 2 weeks in between games. However we won't get that in the Championship with the way the draw is set up.
The learning for management, is to get that preparation right during those back to back games over 4 weeks because clearly they didn't get it right for the KK match.

For what it's worth, well done to the hurlers for staying up in Division 1a.

Punter72007 (Wexford) - Posts: 318 - 02/04/2018 15:10:39    2090337

I thought rugby fans were a bit tetchy when it came to any sort of criticism of their sport, but it appears segments of the hurling fraternity are just as bad. There hasn't been any personal criticism of any player, and anything that has been brought up that was negative, has been highlighted many times before. I don't see how people can get so touchy about what at the end of the day is an analysis of the game. Haven't seen anything outlandish being mentioned at all.

beano (Wexford) - Posts: 1502 - 02/04/2018 17:33:22    2090383

Jesus lads to must negativity on this for me like we had a good campaign it was all about staying in division 1 which we did we beat a Galway team with 11 starters from there all ireland winning team... I do agree with some point do like for a team that is playing 7 defenders we concede to much frees... I thought reck should of been put on Aylward the minute he came on as he has the pace to match him..on fanning his puckout reached the half forward line in the first half against the wind o Learys don't even reach there With the wind... fanning kept us in the game like in the first half of the Walsh cup final which half of the negative posters on this probably were not even at.... it's up to the half forward line to win the ball which we didn't do that... on our team we have never once under dunne or Davy have a full strength panel to choose from due to injury's of players leaving or being dropped James breen was a big loss yesterday.... on the championship I agree it wil be very difficult to get to a Leinster final this year as Dublin wil be very tough then we go to a improving Offaly in there back yard which won't be easy... if we beat them we could scrape into a all ireland quarter final as Galway at home and then going to kk away while kk wil have a 2 week break while we wil have one will take a massive effort....for me we shouldn't even be thinking about Galway and kk Dublin is such a massive game for us it's essential we win if we don't we are chasing straight away

gannett83 (Wexford) - Posts: 322 - 02/04/2018 18:54:21    2090402

Replying To beano:  "I thought rugby fans were a bit tetchy when it came to any sort of criticism of their sport, but it appears segments of the hurling fraternity are just as bad. There hasn't been any personal criticism of any player, and anything that has been brought up that was negative, has been highlighted many times before. I don't see how people can get so touchy about what at the end of the day is an analysis of the game. Haven't seen anything outlandish being mentioned at all."
what galls people is certain posters only appearing after a defeat.i agree with you,the reaction is not bad,but some people only come on here to criticise when the hurlers lose.
posters who havent posted over the previous matches now suddenly appear?does that not seem coincidental to you?

i work near wexford park,i did not make the match,but i heard from 2 people who i would say are "in the know" that wexford had trained hard this week as kilkenny will have had 2 weeks off before the match in nowlan park,so davy wanted to try out with a more heavy legged team.

re championship,we need to target winning the first 3 games,and then we can go to nowlan park and throw the kitchen sink at them.a win v dublin is absolutely vital now,they will be better than they were in the league,with the cuola contingent back.i am confident we can have a really good championship.win v dublin and offaly and we are in to a quarter final,but do not rule out shocks in this new structure.

looking forward to the club rounds now,i will get to more of them hope.

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 02/04/2018 19:14:11    2090412

i also wonder,what has conor firman did wrong or is he injury?i thought he was outstanding in the earlier round where i seen him?
i thought he was more solid than deveraux or reck

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 02/04/2018 19:23:41    2090416

Replying To beano:  "I thought rugby fans were a bit tetchy when it came to any sort of criticism of their sport, but it appears segments of the hurling fraternity are just as bad. There hasn't been any personal criticism of any player, and anything that has been brought up that was negative, has been highlighted many times before. I don't see how people can get so touchy about what at the end of the day is an analysis of the game. Haven't seen anything outlandish being mentioned at all."
Has anyone disagreed that we had a stinker yesterday? I think the point been made is that we should be judged off our 7 league games not just yesterday, someone here said we'll be underdogs against Dublin in 7 wks which I find a bit extreme, yes they've the cuala players and rushe to come back but they've alot of ground to make up. At least half of our team had there worst performance of the league yesterday and kk were very clearly highly motivated right at pitch of intensity and we looked tired and heavy legged for whatever reason. We reminded me of tipp in last years league final when galway blew them away. Teams in all sports have off days, just look at man city getting knocked out of the fa cup by Wigan.

Looking at the league as a whole both foleys, Ryan,Rory O'Connor have all been superb. A few lads have mixed the good and bad but they dont need us to point that out they know that themselves. On the championship we should be just taking it 1 game at a time, 4 games in 4 weeks is a tall order but not an impossible one, Dublin won Leinster in 2013 playing 5 weekends in a row( 2 replays along the way). Hopefully the more contensed nature of this year's league taught us some lessons regarding recovery and training amounts between matches in what will be a demanding Leinster campaign.

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 02/04/2018 19:53:42    2090420

Replying To 890202:  "
Replying To gminor:  ""Happy with the overall performance today, and we stood up at the end when it was needed. Excellent all over the field. Simon Donohoe was very good. And the whole half bsck line which is probably the key to winning any game. Midfielders again did excellently while Rory o Connor and conor MacDonald were the two most lively in the forwards with jack o Connor very good in the air again". 

The above paragraph is what you wrote after the Galway game. How has your views changed so much in such a short period of time? Do you even agree with the issues you raised yourself?"
Gminor I know what I wrote, why didn't you quote it? Or indeed why don't you look at what I highlighted as issues after the Tipp, Clare and Kilkenny games in the group stage?

It was a good performance against Galway. Unfortunately the good performance by Donohoe that day has been the exception rather than the rule over the last year unfortunately.
The half back line was good against galway and was generally decent throughout the league. I never mentioned the half back line as being an issue did I?
The midfielders have been excellent. Rory o Connor has been excellent and McDonald has been steadily improving. I didn't say either of them were an issue did I? And Jack o Connor was good in the air, but he had a bag game yesterday, but yet again I didn't say this was an issue did I?

I think if you take all of what I said rather than just a selective quote then you'll see I have been very consistent in highlighting our issues regardless of whether we happened to win the game or not."
Youve 3 main issues. Fanning and Puckouts. Surely thats also an issue with the catchers. And if you want Mark dropped are Conor s puckouts any better? Or perhaps youve spotted some1 at a club game and youre not telling us. Secondly the full back line. Yes we seem to have problems there. Yes Firman looks a good prospect. Reck an even better 1. Byrne looked decent watching the u21s last year. But devereux and donohue have bags of senior experience and both looked ok in some matches in the league. The younger lads might struggle worse up against the top physically big corner forwards in a big match. Breen was a good man marker in the kk borderline illegal kind of way but he has a farm to run. We can't sign a coupla cornerbacks like a soccer club. Obviously as you go to loads of club matches every weekend you would know if there was any1 else. Youve failed to suggest any1. So surely a man of your knowledge can come up with a few suggestions on how devereux and donohue can improve instead of running them down the whole time. Thirdly rory o is the answer to the free taking problem. Part of the problem also has been the workload. Davys style requires a huge physical effort especially from the half backs and half forwards all of whom looked very leggy and tired against kk. All 6 are top players though and Im sure will look sharper come championship. Nolan and Chin looked slow too possibly injured. You dont have to run lads down. We ce the best squad of players weve had since the mid 90s. Main problem for the 2 corner backs was they more often than not had 2 or even 3 kk players running at them because the middle 8 were too tired to keep up with tracking back their runners.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16577 - 02/04/2018 20:23:39    2090430

Replying To perfect10:  "i also wonder,what has conor firman did wrong or is he injury?i thought he was outstanding in the earlier round where i seen him?
i thought he was more solid than deveraux or reck"
I agree 100 percentage, taught young firman was very good. My biggest concern with the league was that Davy didn't try enough players after we were safe after beating Clare. Like outside of Harry kehoe, Dunbar, Dunne and devereux the rest of the panel hardly got a look in(if he taught there werent good enough then why have them in panel). I think we need to freshen things up, hopefully thompkins, guiney, Liam og, colm kehoe, Moore can get back from injuries and really strengthen the Squad. It is really in depth with a squad that we miss Doran, Breen and shore from the panel this year. However it was a good league campaign, big crowds, some great hurling from the team and Davy doing a good job on the line in general. Well done everyone, regroup and polish up on a few bits and go hard at championship now which is all that really matters. an all ireland semi final spot would be a big target( development wise)from last year

hunting (Wexford) - Posts: 1150 - 02/04/2018 20:51:37    2090433

Replying To wexico15:  "Has anyone disagreed that we had a stinker yesterday? I think the point been made is that we should be judged off our 7 league games not just yesterday, someone here said we'll be underdogs against Dublin in 7 wks which I find a bit extreme, yes they've the cuala players and rushe to come back but they've alot of ground to make up. At least half of our team had there worst performance of the league yesterday and kk were very clearly highly motivated right at pitch of intensity and we looked tired and heavy legged for whatever reason. We reminded me of tipp in last years league final when galway blew them away. Teams in all sports have off days, just look at man city getting knocked out of the fa cup by Wigan.

Looking at the league as a whole both foleys, Ryan,Rory O'Connor have all been superb. A few lads have mixed the good and bad but they dont need us to point that out they know that themselves. On the championship we should be just taking it 1 game at a time, 4 games in 4 weeks is a tall order but not an impossible one, Dublin won Leinster in 2013 playing 5 weekends in a row( 2 replays along the way). Hopefully the more contensed nature of this year's league taught us some lessons regarding recovery and training amounts between matches in what will be a demanding Leinster campaign."
Yesterday was disappointing yes but the big positive is that Kilkenny have had to show their hand a bit early in the year to beat wexford, they were very impressive and played to championship pace, unlike other years we will learn more from yesterday's big loss that from a win come the summer.. we now know what to expect from the cats and to be honest I don't thing they will have a lot more in the tank.
Chin nolan reck were not fully fit and when Rory o gets to full fitness he will be like an animal!!.
Negitives in the standard of donahoe and devereux and jack o in the forwards, jack o very limited at wing forward as he has no right hand.
Hope fully guiney can sort out his problems as what a talent, we very short of natural scoring forwards, are Dunbar kehoe and dunne up to this standard???
But as Cody said after match that today's match will have no bearing on summer in nolan park..
Wexford abu

tonydoranfan (Wexford) - Posts: 550 - 02/04/2018 20:56:10    2090434

This whole 'how many club matches do you attend?' counter-arguement is silly. Like it could be applied to well over half of those who attend Wexford's matches. Work/family commitments may inhibit the casual fan going to club matches and it definitely shouldn't be used as a means to denigrate one's opinion of the game.

For what it's worth, I would wager a bet that I watch more club games than anyone else here and if I was asked to come up with better corner backs than what's currently there excluding Darren Byrne I would volunteer Patrick O'Connor, Eoin Molloy (on the panel without seeing game-time) and Kevin Sheridan (wing-back for his club to be fair but handy). People tend to forget that Eoin Moore is currently injured as well and would be ahead of the two lads in the pecking order. Its a shame that there is some issue between Davy and Andrew Kenny too as he is one of the most naturally gifted backs in the county.

beano (Wexford) - Posts: 1502 - 02/04/2018 20:56:58    2090435

Replying To perfect10:  "i also wonder,what has conor firman did wrong or is he injury?i thought he was outstanding in the earlier round where i seen him?
i thought he was more solid than deveraux or reck"
Reck is one of the best up and coming talents in the model of Rory o
Stupid post from a man you does not go to matches, firman like his cousin a fine talent but probably needs a few years to mature

tonydoranfan (Wexford) - Posts: 550 - 02/04/2018 21:13:05    2090440

"Breen was a good man marker in the kk borderline illegal kind of way but he has a farm to run. We can't sign a coupla cornerbacks like a soccer club. Obviously as you go to loads of club matches every weekend you would know if there was any1 else. "
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 55 - 02/04/2018 20:23:39

right,well if you know anything about the club scene or otherwise,you would have to answer me how james breen is running a farm from the usa?the last i heard he is gone there for 6 months.people are right for pointing out that we might not have tried enough players,i would have liked to see more of mick o regan as he would be a huge addition to the footballers but has got no game time with the hurlers.

i do not like ott criticsim but i do not feel the criticsm here has been ott,it is valid to say "can or could we do better".

i agree beano,i get to the odd club match,am working often during the inter county matches,"how many club matches you attend" seems to be the mantra for weather you can comment or not?i often get to see half an hour of a match on my break from work if there is 1 in wexford park,or if i am passing a ground i might see who is playing.

people are often working when matches are on,and many others have family commitments,not everybody can go to every match like viking66..........

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 02/04/2018 21:21:45    2090443