Wexford hurling 2018

Replying To Doylerwex:  "Noticing a worry trend of referees victimising us. Even in games we've won"
I wasn't able to make todays game 1st I've missed all year heard on South East radio ref was terrible in last 10 minutes was he bad throughout the game?.. Same ref was giving tipperary soft frees in thurles few week's ago tipp players diving...They did say Kilkenny were better team...

Juan36 (Wexford) - Posts: 9 - 11/03/2018 16:24:30    2083396

Replying To Doylerwex:  "Noticing a worry trend of referees victimising us. Even in games we've won"
Ha,ha, what goes around comes around. I never thought that I would cheer Kilkenny on against Wexford but for the completely biased treatment dealt out to Meath V Carlow earlier today in Trim by Wexford referee
Gearoid McGrath. A complete joke of a performance. And that was at least the second time that that fellow rode us. So as I said now you know how we feel as well so take it.

MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1119 - 11/03/2018 16:37:15    2083402

Replying To MillerX:  "Ha,ha, what goes around comes around. I never thought that I would cheer Kilkenny on against Wexford but for the completely biased treatment dealt out to Meath V Carlow earlier today in Trim by Wexford referee
Gearoid McGrath. A complete joke of a performance. And that was at least the second time that that fellow rode us. So as I said now you know how we feel as well so take it."
1. Gearoid McGrath is actually a Dubliner working and living in Wexford. Perhaps there was some of that Dublin-Meath rivalry in his sub-conscious.

2. I can only assume your following of GAA succeeds the "Boylan era" as there is no way a Meath man can pontificate about refereeing decisions given the reputation they had in the 80s and 90s.

beano (Wexford) - Posts: 1502 - 11/03/2018 17:31:12    2083432

Replying To beano:  "1. Gearoid McGrath is actually a Dubliner working and living in Wexford. Perhaps there was some of that Dublin-Meath rivalry in his sub-conscious.

2. I can only assume your following of GAA succeeds the "Boylan era" as there is no way a Meath man can pontificate about refereeing decisions given the reputation they had in the 80s and 90s."
That put him back in his box Beano!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16567 - 11/03/2018 18:26:02    2083490

Apart from the strange but becoming consistent lack of intensity we showed in the 1st half again I thought the younger lads did very well today. Firman especially. It wasnt great quality hurling throughout but Cody did have more of his championship 15 out on the pitch than we did.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16567 - 11/03/2018 18:30:45    2083496

Replying To MillerX:  "Ha,ha, what goes around comes around. I never thought that I would cheer Kilkenny on against Wexford but for the completely biased treatment dealt out to Meath V Carlow earlier today in Trim by Wexford referee
Gearoid McGrath. A complete joke of a performance. And that was at least the second time that that fellow rode us. So as I said now you know how we feel as well so take it."
Great to see intelligent well thought out comments on here. You are a credit to your county and a true Gael.

Gaawex (Wexford) - Posts: 46 - 11/03/2018 18:59:28    2083521

3 things to take from today, was at the game haven't seen it yet on tv

- despite the result our spirit and fitness levels are exactly where they should be

-unlike ourselves Kilkenny heavily reliant on a few core players,outside of Reid, walsh & Buckley & leahy in the 1st half they were average today

- James mcgrath better not be near another Wexford game after today, some horrendous calls near the end.

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 11/03/2018 19:14:02    2083531

Replying To Gaawex:  "Great to see intelligent well thought out comments on here. You are a credit to your county and a true Gael."
It was DoylerWex who started the rant. If you dish it out you should be prepared to take it.

MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1119 - 11/03/2018 19:20:59    2083537

Happy with today's result and performance- we really have the beating of Kilkenny now and would have beaten them with our best team! Some of the second string were good eg Cathal Dunbar worked extremely hard. Half forward line were cleaned out and we really missed chin here especially in the first half.

They showed great heart and spirit to not let Kilkenny run away with it and hung in tip the final minute. Conor Mac should have had a few frees and Jacko over played the ball a couple of times instead of taking his own score. We are still over turning possession too often and clearing aimless ball to the opposition.

Paudie Foley's free taking was phenomenal and kept us in the game he needs to replace Chin on long range frees now. Both Foley's and Liam Ryan excellent.

No score from our half forward line was a poor return

Rory o Connor seemed lethargic and looked to be holding his knee I hope he is not injured again - but today was a huge challenge for him physically and he was taking hard hits.

Huge task vs Galway next week however I would give us a chance. Although the fact we didn't take this match seriously has resulted us in getting the AI champs while Kilkenny are pretty much guaranteed semi after drawing Offaly

Yellow (Wexford) - Posts: 589 - 11/03/2018 19:32:34    2083551

Replying To Yellow:  "Happy with today's result and performance- we really have the beating of Kilkenny now and would have beaten them with our best team! Some of the second string were good eg Cathal Dunbar worked extremely hard. Half forward line were cleaned out and we really missed chin here especially in the first half.

They showed great heart and spirit to not let Kilkenny run away with it and hung in tip the final minute. Conor Mac should have had a few frees and Jacko over played the ball a couple of times instead of taking his own score. We are still over turning possession too often and clearing aimless ball to the opposition.

Paudie Foley's free taking was phenomenal and kept us in the game he needs to replace Chin on long range frees now. Both Foley's and Liam Ryan excellent.

Rory o Connor seemed lethargic and looked to be holding his knee I hope he is not injured again - but today was a huge challenge for him physically and he was taking hard hits.

Huge task vs Galway next week however I would give us a chance. Although the fact we didn't take this match seriously has resulted us in getting the AI champs while Kilkenny are pretty much guaranteed semi after drawing Offaly"
Personally doesn't bother me we're playing galway, we'll learn more than we would playing offaly. Also the winners of us and galway are playing kk or offaly potentially we could have the cats again in 2 wks

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 11/03/2018 19:46:01    2083570

Replying To MillerX:  "It was DoylerWex who started the rant. If you dish it out you should be prepared to take it."
Have you any comment to make about the hurling today? Did you think it was a good match?
What do you think of the sweeper system?
Did you think TJ Reid was a deserving man of the match?
We love a good auld discussion about hurling down in Wexford.
Starting a post with ha ha after a team is beaten is a bit childish don't you think?

Gaawex (Wexford) - Posts: 46 - 11/03/2018 19:50:31    2083573

Replying To wexico15:  "3 things to take from today, was at the game haven't seen it yet on tv

- despite the result our spirit and fitness levels are exactly where they should be

-unlike ourselves Kilkenny heavily reliant on a few core players,outside of Reid, walsh & Buckley & leahy in the 1st half they were average today

- James mcgrath better not be near another Wexford game after today, some horrendous calls near the end."
We are very reliant on a small few players too. Without Ryan, 2 Foley's and Chin we would be a very very weak team.

890202 (Wexford) - Posts: 1278 - 11/03/2018 19:54:50    2083578

Replying To Yellow:  "Happy with today's result and performance- we really have the beating of Kilkenny now and would have beaten them with our best team! Some of the second string were good eg Cathal Dunbar worked extremely hard. Half forward line were cleaned out and we really missed chin here especially in the first half.

Huge task vs Galway next week however I would give us a chance. Although the fact we didn't take this match seriously has resulted us in getting the AI champs while Kilkenny are pretty much guaranteed semi after drawing Offaly"
Are you seriously happy with that Performance? I thought Dunbar was poor, along with Harry Kehoe who just falls over any time he is near the ball.
None of the lads brought in for this game were very impressive at all, and we still have the sweeper problem. I'd be pretty concerned heading into the championship particularly if any of our best 15 get injured. Without The two Foley's and Liam Ryan we would have been destroyed today

890202 (Wexford) - Posts: 1278 - 11/03/2018 19:59:25    2083581

Replying To Gaawex:  "Have you any comment to make about the hurling today? Did you think it was a good match?
Starting a post with ha ha after a team is beaten is a bit childish don't you think?"
No point even entertaining there likes. Ignore them and have a debate with people worry debating with...

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 11/03/2018 20:01:39    2083584

I suppose it would be better to play Galway in a quarter final at home than in a neutral venue in a semi.

Galway Kilkenny then tipp/ limerick/ Clare would be a great fortnight of hurling alright

One point from this year is that even when we are not playing well we are very hard to beat and nobody has hammered us this year

Will guiney and chin be fit for Sunday?

Yellow (Wexford) - Posts: 589 - 11/03/2018 20:17:58    2083598

Replying To 890202:  "We are very reliant on a small few players too. Without Ryan, 2 Foley's and Chin we would be a very very weak team."
Wouldn't agree with ya, yes Chin is our talisman most teams have 1 or 2 but we overran clare in the 2nd half without him. Different players have delivered at different stages e.g Dunne getting 2-2 against waterford. As I mentioned I think kk are too very reliant on Walsh, Buckley & reid

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 11/03/2018 20:22:39    2083602

Right lads was at the games today and would like to make a few points... for start thought I ref was poor in the last few mins where I thought we should of had 3 frees... kk lads will never go away and wil be a force come the summer when Paul Murphy Colin fennelly and hogan return and I can see the makings of a good championship team there... as regards Wexford I think we got a good physical test today off kk which I knew we would... as regards the performance I think we did well in fighting back but some of ball we delivered at times to Dunbar and o Connor was poor in the first time I would of loved to see Mac pushed in and the 2 of them either side of him.. thought the 2 Foley's are having outstanding league campaigns and did well today along with devereax Ryan o hanlon and Rory o Connor... next week we need to get the match ups right this time against Galway as I think we might struggle with the physicality of there forwards... as regards our team I would go with fanning. Reck Ryan firman Murphy foley o hanlon o keefe foley Nolan guiney mac chin Morris a and Rory o Connor

gannett83 (Wexford) - Posts: 322 - 11/03/2018 20:43:31    2083613

Have we sorted our freetaker problems or is one game not enough to judge it on?
In fairness P Foley hit some excellent long ones today. I had suggested on here back in January that it might be worth trying him on them. He hits them for his club and was fairly consistent on them last year I hear. That said being a freetaker is a bit like being a goalkeeper. You can be a hero one day and have supporters calling for you to be stripped of the jersey if things go wrong on another day.
I thought Kevin Foley was excellent today. He has great strength for a man of his size and works very hard.
Liam Ryan and Willie Devereax were also going well.
Damien Reck went well when he came on.
Rory O Connor I think hurls better when played in around the wing forward position. He was being hit hard today but in fairness he is well able to take it and I'm looking forward to seeing him over the next few years. I think he has potential to be one of the best.
Looking forward to next week. If we have Chin back and Nolan for the full game we will be in with a good chance.

Gaawex (Wexford) - Posts: 46 - 11/03/2018 20:48:25    2083620

Fair play to Wexford today, were beaten but showed that we can compete with this KK team and sets up one hell of a championship game in a few months time! 2 great saves from Birdy O Leary and a thought he was very impressive. Don't think Harry Kehoe or Aaron Maddock are up to it unfortunately, had hoped that we see more subs earlier today with championship coming week after week we will lose some players to Injury and the panel is very important. Impressed with Firman and I think he nailed on starter at this stage, a real find. Thought O Keeffe had a nightmare today, first touch was terrible. 2 Foleys really stood up to the fight today. Rory O Connor doesn't still look right but today's game will help him get up to speed.Galway are beatable as Limerick shown today but we will need to be at full strength. Free taking was great today, Imagine if this was as good as today in league games to date?

Tox73 (Wexford) - Posts: 185 - 11/03/2018 21:07:06    2083631

Replying To Gaawex:  "Have you any comment to make about the hurling today? Did you think it was a good match?
Starting a post with ha ha after a team is beaten is a bit childish don't you think?"
Did not see your game today was traveling from our early league game to a club game and normally
I would always hope Wexford would beat Kilkenny but today I really did't care after the performance of a referee who had Loch Garman after his name as he had been anything but fair to us.

Sweeper, I hate the system but we all will have to adopt as it is here for a while to come. It should however be a bit easier to counteract it in hurling than in football as scored can be got from further out. Where it spoils the game is when a team "needs a goal" late on then it makes it much more difficult to get.

Wexford? I think you will get a clearer picture of where you stand next Sunday. Presently it is difficult to know what Galway are up to but by all accounts they wanted to win today and didn't. Listen if yees beat a less than a near full Galway team you still won't be sure ye stand but this year is the most important year in Wexford's development. There can be no more 8 or 9 point losses in the championship as in the present era teams don't last too long without considerable freshening up of the panel. Still I think Wexford should be able to do that from your recent u-21s. Success however is never a given.

MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1119 - 11/03/2018 21:21:06    2083644