Nightspots to hit for All Ireland Weekend

Holy Moly - Class post, many, many happy memories in all of the spots mentioned...am heading home this weekend, will take in as many of the aforementioned pubs as possible

What about Messr Maguires?? Is it still going strong, started many a Saturday session in there...

Bermuda Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 106 - 10/09/2008 14:46:25    97253

Rio Bingo, the city west will be be a damp squid on the Sunday nite!!!!!
woops , 10/09/2008 at 14:28

Don't mind him Rio - it's nowhere near the sea. Now if ye lose it might be a bit of a damp squib alright!

JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 10/09/2008 14:46:40    97255

City centre it is then chaps!!!!

Woops i was waiting on the cute kerry hoor to come back with a comment like that!! Where's the Kerry boys staying so i can go to a real party???

Rio Bingo (Tyrone) - Posts: 788 - 10/09/2008 14:47:14    97256

Burlington hotel,
Not too keen on going on going to the team hotel afterwards,too much throwing shoulders into fellow county ppl(yes women get shouldered out of the way too!!
prefer to drink the night away in town ,then finish the night away in flannerys,coppers

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 10/09/2008 15:05:08    97281

There is a good place called lapellos. I think its on dame street. Nice friendly girls in there

whiterbannnas (Mayo) - Posts: 2441 - 10/09/2008 15:34:04    97329

Was in McGowans in Phibsboro on All Ireland eve 2005 - brilliant atmosphere, full of Kerry and Tyrone fans, good natured banter and pints galore

Shinners (Longford) - Posts: 496 - 10/09/2008 19:37:36    97549

celtic bar on talbot st.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 10/09/2008 22:22:11    97617

Lads where do yis go on Sunday mornings before the game for a bit of craic and banter. Mahers and Quinns are too crowded and dont open too early. Any suggestions?

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 10/09/2008 22:50:38    97633

Kennedys....just beside Fagans.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 11/09/2008 09:49:52    97726

Cavan Slasher you can come into the Royal Dublin Hotel on O' Connell Street with me! Upstairs has a big early bar and will be full of the Kingdom's finest sons! They also replay last year's final on the big screen and there's plenty of seating there. Make sure to wear your Cavan or Tyrone jersey so that I can spot you.

3inarow08 (Kerry) - Posts: 2455 - 11/09/2008 09:55:35    97731

lol floops, can just imagine some lad with the thickest kerry accent walkin into the towers!!!! the place go quiet.

holy , how can ya recommend some to go to eamon dorans, that just wrong. radio city where ya wanna go or the vaults, wont be much gaa talk but ya can wreck it

lino_de_legend (Dublin) - Posts: 816 - 11/09/2008 12:15:15    97894

Jimbodub, was in Kennedy's a few times. Good craic alright and not too crowded.
3inarow08, was in the Royal Dublin before the semi-finals but not upstairs. I might call in to see kerry people watching the Cork demolition last year but it was painful to watch at the time and has'nt improved with age imo. If i meet you i will buy you a pint as i am a very generous Cavanman.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 11/09/2008 13:39:27    98027

women = Club 92

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4678 - 11/09/2008 14:33:06    98078

Cavan_Slasher

98027 i am a very generous Cavanman.
__________________________________________________________________________________________

I've never met one of these before. What are they like? They're meant to be very rare.

Loyal2TheRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 4522 - 11/09/2008 14:39:08    98088

Cavan_Slasher

i am a very generous Cavanman.
__________________________________________________________________________________________

Loyal2TheRoyal

I've never met one of these before. What are they like? They're meant to be very rare.
_____________________________________________________________________________________________

Oh they are a very rare species indeed. They are almost extinct at this stage unfortunately. I remember me aul lad telling me about how he met one of them years ago. This lad used to even buy the odd pint and everything. Alas, much like the corncrake, this species of cavanman has died away over the years

whiterbannnas (Mayo) - Posts: 2441 - 11/09/2008 14:54:36    98114

Not a bother Cavan Slasher!

(Joke) - Let me buy the first round in case they don't take pound notes! :)

3inarow08 (Kerry) - Posts: 2455 - 11/09/2008 14:56:14    98121

No problems 3inarow08, i have plenty of 50 euro notes i got handy off soft Meath and Mayo lads at work when they did'nt win their provincial titles. They even gave me odds about it. Fools and their money are easily parted as the saying goes.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 11/09/2008 18:27:01    98358

the hideout is a good spot to go the morning before the match, its good craic!
the night before if your determined to go to coppers, go early to get your stamp, then leave and head to dicey's or somewhere, come back later to coppers and you'll be able skip the queue with your stamp! it was mental last sat before the hurlin all-ireland....a waste of time!cant believe so many people could be bothered waiting in a queue to get in, sure the night would be over and ya'd be sober before you'd get in!! mcgowans in phibsboro is good craic and its easier to get taxis home after! the barge is good too, and roddy bolands in rathmines!

caman (Longford) - Posts: 31 - 11/09/2008 19:23:51    98386

the south pole inn should be hoppin sunday night

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 11/09/2008 22:01:14    98451

Well lads where did ye get too?
Was in Flannerys on Sat night meself!
Success!

Rio did you go down to Lucan village for some culture like I told ya?

Snufalufagus.....Laochra Gael

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 23/09/2008 14:03:36    105606