Thats a good point woops. Theres plenty of good Guiness in Kerry but not alot of eye candy.
Keane16 (Kerry) - Posts: 306 - 10/09/2008 13:06:30
PRRRRRRRROOOOOOOCCCCCCCTTTTOORRRRRRRR!!!
Move it! Move it! Move It!
Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12494 - 10/09/2008 13:07:56
You'd want to see JC dancing to careless whisper that night lads - with a fella wearing a mayo jersey with BB on the back!! Some other fella wearing another Mayo jersey with WB on it looked fierce jealous.
As for that drag queen in the Meath jersey with a picture of Graham Geraghty on it with the slogan "Loyal 2 My Royals" singing barbara streisand songs, just makes me think how dreadful these Hoganstand nights out are!!
holymoly (Dublin) - Posts: 757 - 10/09/2008 13:12:43
Holymoly remember when Snuf turned up in his Thelma and Louise Tshirt and light blue MC Hammer pants ? We thought it was theme night, but no...... you cant touch this! Asked the DJ for a bit of Terence Trent Darby but they refused him and played the Vengaboys instead Never saw Thelma and Louise move like that! I honestly thought he was gonna make a move on that mirror! Myself and Indian RMD nearly collapsed with the laughter.
Young Man........
Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 10/09/2008 13:40:47
Remember it well Holy -
And I'm never gonna dance again Guilty feet I've got no rythm Though it's easy to pretend I know you're not a fool. Should've done better than to cheat a friend And waste the chance that I've been given So I'm never gonna dance again The way I danced with you ......
Are you sure it was a bloke though? I was sure it was just your normal rugged Mayo woman. But I thought your rendition of the Communards 'Don't Leave Me This Way' was the high point of the night!! Agree though that going on the lash after our Lodge meetings can be fraught with danger. But we can't go to Coppers anyway - sure the players aren't safe there!
JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 10/09/2008 13:42:19
Seriously though lads, you've got to do the holymoly tour of nightspots for the night before All-Ireland final day. Your best bet is to start in the middle of town and make your way out of it depending on whereabouts you're staying
Start off point - the Mercantile. No problems getting in, no real talent but its the first of many so get a few into you
Pub 2 For those of you staying southside, make your way up around the corner for O'Neills Northside, across Dame Street for the Foggy Dew By now you should be up to pint 3 or 4, so you're not in stupid dancing mode but you're already humming a few tunes to yourself and want other people to know what you're singing
Pub 3 Southside - forget Dakota, not for us GAA types and the clientelle, keep going to the hairy lemon. The music is class, the pints are good and there's a good mixture of all walks of life. Talent starts to improve as your standards start to drop Northside - Eamon Dorans. Time to start rocking out. Nice place to chance your arm with girls who are in touch with their musical side. Just say that you think that Coldplay really touch your soul and your in like Flynn
Pub 4 Ah yes this is when things get interesting Southside - You now have a choice, you can either go across the road to break for the border and stay there for the rest of the night (your standards will be so low you'll have anything in there and the women in there will not disappoint) or you can keep the party bus going - head for Flannerys on Camden street. Yes it will be wedged and you will be drunk beyond belief but the craic will be mighty and everyone is your friend in there Northside - Like the southsiders, you have a choice, hit one of the many nightclubs in Temple Bar or keep going north for some of the late bars across the liffey. While you make up your mind, head into the Temple Bar or the auld Dubliner just to keep it real
Pub 5 Southside - You're now well oiled, fierce thick with the drink and ready for anything. Who needs fancy dublin nightclubs when Coppers is only around the corner. It wouldn't be a real night before the all-ireland drinking session if you didn't go there and found yourself fighting over 1 taxi at 4 am with about 100 people you'd be letting your county down. Would recommend walking toward Rathmines and knock into some of the little indian restaurants there that are still doing take away at 4.30 am (including wine and beer)
Northside - There's only one place to go - Traffic (I wonder is it still there) and then straight downstairs to Spirit. Let yourself go mental, be that person who is singing ballads on the dance floor drinking a pint while everyone else is dancing to some european rave music that sounds like a car alarm. When kicked out you can either wait for the luas to come 3 hours for 3 hours (if you're staying out on the westside) or get stuck into the scrap at the top of O'Connell street taxi rank
Ah yes, the night before the All-Ireland final is truly a great pi** up
holymoly (Dublin) - Posts: 757 - 10/09/2008 13:47:16
Don't go to Cooper face jacks. Its like the wild west in there.
Clash-of-da-ash (Galway) - Posts: 927 - 10/09/2008 13:47:20
stay away from temple bar.i was there last week.vodka coke + pint of larger 18.50.
daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 10/09/2008 14:06:57
Is that the real Holy or a fake....or were u drunk writing this? Eamon Dorans on the northside....? When did they move????!!!!
Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 10/09/2008 14:10:30
re: JayoCluxton
Sorry didn't mean to insult you, I've a cowshed at home that needs a bit of work any tips would be welcome!
Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 10/09/2008 14:10:44
Heading north from Dame Street Liam
holymoly (Dublin) - Posts: 757 - 10/09/2008 14:18:28
Tell me this buddies.........I'm staying in the City West. How far out of centre am I and is the hotel any good for a session?? The Tyrone team are staying there so if they win it'll be an amazing nite but in general what's the story?
Rio Bingo (Tyrone) - Posts: 788 - 10/09/2008 14:19:37
Rio, ure practically in Kildare! Ure closest pub is Browns Barn which is grand but very isolated. Head into Rathcoole maybe but not exactly town. U will find it hard to get a cab to come out for u. And it will cost a bomb into town from there! Ure wayyy out. Maybe get a cab to Clondalkin Village or Tallaght Village. Not bad spots. Citywest is one soul less place I can tell u. Brother lived there, couldnt get out of there quick enuff.
Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 10/09/2008 14:25:15
Sky rockets in sight..........afternoon delight...............
Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 10/09/2008 14:27:52
Rio Bingo, the city west will be be a damp squid on the Sunday nite!!!!!
woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 10/09/2008 14:28:10
Rio Bingo:
it'll cost you about 35 squid to get a taxi into or out of the city center there's a bus stop outside the hotel pretty sure the bus runs straight to the city center. The nightlink runs to rathcoole the 69N I think but think it stops fairly close to citywest hotel too.
There a decent pub in rathcoole and also brown's barn in citywest would be that lively but nothing else much other than that.
Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 10/09/2008 14:28:34
Hag - it depends on what breed of cows you're keeping. If you have a few friesans I would be looking at using black and white colours to blend in the rich animal coat texture - a nice b/w fabric on your milking stool would really complement the shed too. You can also pick up some nick b/w accessories handy enough.
If its red heifers I'd recommend the terracotta colours which are really in vogue at the moment and are hugely flexible in terms of their use - you could even get matching curtains and pelmets if you want. They will also greatly complement the more natural brown colours that are often prevalent in hay sheds. Hope this helps!
JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 10/09/2008 14:29:12
Whoooaaahhh! Hold on there lads! Those are me 'pullin' clothes and they aint ever let me down yet!
I have only started dancin ever since Timberland made it OK for men to dance. My own personal style is that of Rick Asley
'Never gonna give you up Never gonna let you down Never gonna turn around and desert you....!!'
Snufalufagus.....Laochra Gael
Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 10/09/2008 14:33:13
Thats shocking Daytona. Last All Ireland w/e I ws out on the tear in Dublin I only pain 7.65 for the same round! Mind you it was 1995!
JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 10/09/2008 14:43:20
Rio,
Yer best thing to do is leave Saggart and come down towards Lucan and see Irelands most beautiful village nestled in the heart of the Liffey Valley!.....when were not flooded out of it!! We may not have won the tidy towns but one time we came first in South Dublin and third overall behind Skerries and Lusk and the village won 200eu worth of Berger paint!!!......No joke!
Birthplace of Irelands greatest military commander. Birthplace of Snufalufagus Birthplace of Gaelic Games defenders (dont do fancy Dan forwards in Lucan, only eat them!).
Stop up at the club house at the 12th Lock on the way to the village and see the young 'defenders only' in training as you enjoy a pint!
Enjoy yer stay!!
Alternatively, just have a jar in Saggart village, its a nice quiet spot! Just make sure us Sarsfields lads arent playing thier St. Marys lads on the same day or there will be the usual 'local derby' row between us!! For a small place they have some great footballers!
You could also go up to An Poitin Stil' in Rathcoole!.....hurling only village!.....'Commercials CLG'!
Snufalufagus.....Laochra Gael
Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 10/09/2008 14:44:46