Nightspots to hit for All Ireland Weekend

This is especially for the lads living in Dublin.
Just wondering if ye had any ideas of a few lads to hit the bars around Dublin.

usually when up for a match, either we hit Temple bar or go to the Twin Towers(Flannerys & Coppers).
anyone any ideas for other spots for the sat nite as i say it Twin Towers nite for the Sunday nite!

P.S, Don't mention the cattle mart called The Merchant Quay please!

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 10/09/2008 11:17:26    96922

Roddy bolands in rathmines...was there last sat before the hurling final...unreal and open till about 3 too. tis always full of gaa match crowds and full o nurses too........

mayonews (Mayo) - Posts: 254 - 10/09/2008 11:49:18    96955

Kehoes on Sth Anne Street.
Its halfway up Grafton St walking southbound take a left.

Other Contemporary pubs in the Snuffy style!
Alternative: Mulligans.
Alternative: The Palace Bar. Off O'Connell Br straight onto Westmoreland St and take the right turn heading down to 'The Temple Bar Massive' and its on yer immediate right! You might spot Nicky English or Thomas O'Se in there with mates as I often do!

Snufalufagus.....Laochra Gael

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 10/09/2008 11:50:13    96957

Synnott's
Howl at the moon
roddy bolands
the barge

sure go nuts altogether and book a booth in the karaoke bar!

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 10/09/2008 11:59:53    96972

woops: Dicey reilly's is a good spot just down the road from Coppers.... If you want to have a laugh without the fuss McGowans in Phibsborough....

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 10/09/2008 12:01:09    96973

re:
Snufalufagus

Good spot on sports weekend alright.... Owned by a tippman too.

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 10/09/2008 12:04:25    96981

Spot on Snuf. Great places for the jars of black porter.

Also try O' Donoghue's on Merrion Row, just before you come to Baggot Street from the Stephen's Green area. As traditional as traditional comes. There's dust on the dust in there.

3inarow08 (Kerry) - Posts: 2455 - 10/09/2008 12:06:43    96991

avoid
cafe enseine
cacoon

you won't get much gaa talk there....

I was wonce called a peasent in one of those places.... but i did get a good laugh out of it.

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 10/09/2008 12:13:47    97007

the Towers in Ballymun followed by the Blacker in Coolock

Floops (Dublin) - Posts: 1623 - 10/09/2008 12:13:50    97008

JimBoDub is that Dicey Reilys anything like the Dicey o Reilys in Neasden in North London. One Classsssy spot that.

Cheers lads

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 10/09/2008 12:23:19    97021

Woops, there is a place Holymoly was telling me about, The George on Georges St. Dont know it myself but he swears by it. Great decor, friendly staff and very friendly customers! Close to all centre spots too and a 24 hr Spar close by.
Sure what more could u want!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 10/09/2008 12:28:43    97039

Liam haha thanks for that.
I think i will give that place a skip though,not sure why,but my gut instinct tells me to!

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 10/09/2008 12:46:44    97069

Ya can't go too far wrong with Roddy Boland's on All ireland weekend. Sure the craic is mighty.

Yop (Wexford) - Posts: 362 - 10/09/2008 12:47:17    97070

woops: haha maybe not quite...Great big open air drinking garden out the back,.... good atmosphere...but sure if you want a good pint of Guinness then it may not be your man... but if you boys want some eye candy then happy days...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 10/09/2008 12:52:41    97081

Sure why are you going all the way to dublin. The Sportsfield Bar in down town tralee is where you want to be on AI weekend. The barman (a mayo man) singing along while a former kerry footballer plays the box. Now thats what you call AI final weekend entertainment.

Keane16 (Kerry) - Posts: 306 - 10/09/2008 12:55:54    97092

Is Holymoly an Interior Designer or Hairdresser by any chance!

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 10/09/2008 12:55:56    97093

I wasn't the one dying to go in there decked out in their village people gear - you'd want to see him lads. He grew the moustache and all special for the occasion.
I always wondered why Liams favorite bit in the Policae Academy movies was the blue oyster bar clips!!

holymoly (Dublin) - Posts: 757 - 10/09/2008 12:59:41    97100

To be honest i would put more importance on eye candy instead of Guinness!

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 10/09/2008 13:00:07    97101

And whats wrong with Interior Designers exactly?

JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 10/09/2008 13:04:24    97104

woops: Good man.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 10/09/2008 13:05:24    97105