Replying To beirbua: "Have 3 tickets for Hogan Lower Stand for Sunday. Section 325. Row WW. Each ticket costs at face value 45 euros. Happy to sell at 40 euros per ticket." No point in advertising on this forum. I tried an exchange on this for the Clare Limerick game but administrators blocked all attempts of mine to send an email address or ph no. In fact I'd be surprised if this gets through.
Seeking_silver (Limerick) - Posts: 411 - 23/07/2018 15:19:40
Replying To Seeking_silver: "No point in advertising on this forum. I tried an exchange on this for the Clare Limerick game but administrators blocked all attempts of mine to send an email address or ph no. In fact I'd be surprised if this gets through." Thanks a lot for that, Seeking Silver. Am on another couple of platforms.
beirbua (Limerick) - Posts: 188 - 23/07/2018 15:33:11
Replying To Seeking_silver: "No point in advertising on this forum. I tried an exchange on this for the Clare Limerick game but administrators blocked all attempts of mine to send an email address or ph no. In fact I'd be surprised if this gets through." I assumed you just didn't want them! Never got those tickets sold in the end so it's a shame we weren't able to contact each other through here.
TreatyBoy (Limerick) - Posts: 112 - 23/07/2018 17:06:40
Replying To TreatyBoy: "I assumed you just didn't want them! Never got those tickets sold in the end so it's a shame we weren't able to contact each other through here." Treaty Boy. Thanks for that offer but the administrators blocked a few messages I was trying to send with my email first then my mobile. I even emailed them directly but they didn't come back to me. They were for a family member who got tickets anyway. Anyway good tickets got in Cusack 308 for myself and the daughter for Sat and Sunday so can't wait now.
Seeking_silver (Limerick) - Posts: 411 - 23/07/2018 23:54:50
Going by posts most now agree that Fitzgibbon will take watching. He has a knack of dropping to the no 12 position in last 10 or 15. From here he plays loose much like Leahy did when introduced for Kilkenny. Most important that he be picked up and not allowed 2 or 3 soft scores. The other player that I'd be concerned about is Harnedy. He often drops out to half forward line to win ball but considering how good our half backline is and Casey's inexperience I'd expect he will spend a lot of time in the edge of the square hoping for high ball. It's vital that we push up on their short puck outs. The last day we got lucky through a combination of heroics from Flanagan and Mulcahy and the sloppiness of Corks backs. We are unlikely to get lucky a second time. If we dont push up then they will use the Clare game as a template and use short puck outs to both launch their running game with the likes of Kearney and more worringly deliver high ball after high ball down on Harnedy from their half back line. Vital that we set the tone and make Nash go long where it will be advantage Byrnes Hannon and Morrissey. Limerick by 2 or 3 possibly more if we can limit Nash to going long.
welpastit (Limerick) - Posts: 740 - 24/07/2018 08:52:21
It has been a good Summer so far but I don't agree with the thinking from some in the county that what we do from here is a bonus. We should be looking to beat Cork. We should be looking to beat Galway/Clare.
Sunday will be a huge battle but one we are ready for. The same applies if we get to the final.
mike03 (Limerick) - Posts: 2000 - 24/07/2018 12:45:12
Replying To welpastit: "Going by posts most now agree that Fitzgibbon will take watching. He has a knack of dropping to the no 12 position in last 10 or 15. From here he plays loose much like Leahy did when introduced for Kilkenny. Most important that he be picked up and not allowed 2 or 3 soft scores. The other player that I'd be concerned about is Harnedy. He often drops out to half forward line to win ball but considering how good our half backline is and Casey's inexperience I'd expect he will spend a lot of time in the edge of the square hoping for high ball. It's vital that we push up on their short puck outs. The last day we got lucky through a combination of heroics from Flanagan and Mulcahy and the sloppiness of Corks backs. We are unlikely to get lucky a second time. If we dont push up then they will use the Clare game as a template and use short puck outs to both launch their running game with the likes of Kearney and more worringly deliver high ball after high ball down on Harnedy from their half back line. Vital that we set the tone and make Nash go long where it will be advantage Byrnes Hannon and Morrissey. Limerick by 2 or 3 possibly more if we can limit Nash to going long." Here we go again... you're not happy with our full back and you have "just the man" to start in his place place him in an All-Ireland semi-final. Think about it. Harnedy roasted us you know where in 2013 munster final that we won and again in 2014 munster final. I was at both with bird's eye view. (See you tube other video of game. )
Casey was done a mighty job at full back in last 3 or or 4 games. That said I will confidently abide in John Kiely's selection for Sunday and welcome you to join me.
Come On Ye Boys In Green!
PatOLogical (Limerick) - Posts: 1377 - 24/07/2018 12:48:18
Replying To PatOLogical: "Here we go again... you're not happy with our full back and you have "just the man" to start in his place place him in an All-Ireland semi-final. Think about it. Harnedy roasted us you know where in 2013 munster final that we won and again in 2014 munster final. I was at both with bird's eye view. (See you tube other video of game. )
Casey was done a mighty job at full back in last 3 or or 4 games. That said I will confidently abide in John Kiely's selection for Sunday and welcome you to join me.
Come On Ye Boys In Green!" Where did I say I'm not happy with Casey? Where did I say he should be replaced? Do you speak a different language or something?? I'm simply posting my own views on where I think we need to be careful. As for 2013 Harnedy played in the half forward line for almost all of that game and considering Cork scored a grand total of 15 points I would venture to disagree that any Cork forward roasted any Limerick back. In 2014 both our half backs were taken off one of whom was marking Harnedy and Condon got badly caught by O Sullivan for a late goal. I offer these opinions merely to highlight your inaccuracies and not in any way to promote the inclusion or indeed substitution of any player on next Sunday's team.
welpastit (Limerick) - Posts: 740 - 24/07/2018 13:16:14
I agree Mike03. Transition has been done. I'm sure for the team nothing less than a win will do. You make some good points too Welpastit particularly about pushing up on puck outs. It is the only way to protect the fullback line from aerial bombardment which is always to the advantage of the attacking team. As used to be said in a very different context the backs have to be lucky every time, the forwards only need to get lucky once. Hopefully there can be done sensible discussion of the game on here but the admins have a role to play for that to happen.
Westfester (Limerick) - Posts: 980 - 24/07/2018 13:47:00
Replying To Seeking_silver: "Treaty Boy. Thanks for that offer but the administrators blocked a few messages I was trying to send with my email first then my mobile. I even emailed them directly but they didn't come back to me. They were for a family member who got tickets anyway. Anyway good tickets got in Cusack 308 for myself and the daughter for Sat and Sunday so can't wait now." No problem I'm glad they got sorted in the end. Yeah I have my tickets as well, should be a great game. Feeling more and more nervous about it each day because I feel this team can achieve anything and beat anyone. If I thought we didn't have a hope against cork I'd probably just be excited about having it a go but we have every chance of winning if we perform right.
TreatyBoy (Limerick) - Posts: 112 - 24/07/2018 13:52:41
Replying To beirbua: "Thanks a lot for that, Seeking Silver. Am on another couple of platforms." Id be happy to buy two from you if they are still available,if not no problem cheers, it appears that what is left in centra are all pretty poor seats. cheers
iomaintluimni (Limerick) - Posts: 20 - 24/07/2018 14:12:57
This is what i think needs to happen for us to win on sunday lads. Flanagan needs to be our talisman up there and needs to be taking every opportunity he gets,tall order i know . His last couple of games have shown me that his movement on and off the ball is exemplary much like seamie callinane couple of years back for tipp but his touch and finishing does not always match that. He needs few scores early on to settle him. Hannon has not played against this cork half forward line yet this year for any reasonable amount of time, his position as we all know is vital on the field and if he has even an ok game that could be our downfall, lehane has a habit of sticking his head down and bulling through on opponents ,hannon needs to match him out cute him and outman him. Hannons distribution needs to be spot on too, watching the kk match i feel he needs to improve on this. Key player hope he performs especially since his last outing up there. We will need him to. Same goes for morrisey and byrnes but id have more faith in them as they have been doing it non stop all year. I am quite happy with our full back line and would not swap them for love nor money, murmurings of richie mccarthy and tom condon are fair enough as they have been good servants,but these players are nowadays just cover for injury i know some might not see it that way but it is what it is. Cian Lynch needs to have a monster game in midfield and needs to outshine his opposite number fitzgibbon whom i think has been a serious candidate for young hurler of the year up to now. Lynch has skill in abundance but some of his decision making leaves me baffled, i think he tries to do too much sometimes when on the ball and not enough of the simple things,however off the ball i cant fault him whatsoever so he needs this and more against a cute little operator in midfield,if we can curtail fitzgibbon to a point or two it will go along way. Tom morrisey just needs to do what he keeps doing, A leader of men! hegarty needs to be more efficient with his scoring for me,can be hot and cold and takes stupid pot shots when others are better placed so i hope he has his head screwed on fully,serious athlete with serious potential. Gillane needs to be on point more now than ever. I hope he can ,its alot of pressure on young shoulders and i hope this week management are keeping him grounded and ready. Full forward line needs goals and mulcahy and casey if introduced need to be sharper against cork, no point getting into position to score and not goaling,i mean its hard enough to get it up there, ruthlessness is needed in order for us to win and announce ourselves . Both of these players are massive for limerick,mulcahy is playing hurling of his life. Can we do it,yes, will we do it...yes! limerick by 4. LUIMNEACH ABU rant over lol
iomaintluimni (Limerick) - Posts: 20 - 24/07/2018 15:01:17
Replying To iomaintluimni: "Id be happy to buy two from you if they are still available,if not no problem cheers, it appears that what is left in centra are all pretty poor seats. cheers" Hi Iomáint Luimní Tickets are sold. Sorry about that. (Anyway the lads were saying there is no way we could arrange a handover through the forum). Well done on the posts. Luimneach abú!
beirbua (Limerick) - Posts: 188 - 24/07/2018 22:32:41
Any idea of a pub in Kings cross London that would be showing the hurling on saturday evening ? Not to travel very far :)
frseamus (Kerry) - Posts: 21 - 24/07/2018 22:41:56
Replying To iomaintluimni: "This is what i think needs to happen for us to win on sunday lads. Flanagan needs to be our talisman up there and needs to be taking every opportunity he gets,tall order i know . His last couple of games have shown me that his movement on and off the ball is exemplary much like seamie callinane couple of years back for tipp but his touch and finishing does not always match that. He needs few scores early on to settle him. Hannon has not played against this cork half forward line yet this year for any reasonable amount of time, his position as we all know is vital on the field and if he has even an ok game that could be our downfall, lehane has a habit of sticking his head down and bulling through on opponents ,hannon needs to match him out cute him and outman him. Hannons distribution needs to be spot on too, watching the kk match i feel he needs to improve on this. Key player hope he performs especially since his last outing up there. We will need him to. Same goes for morrisey and byrnes but id have more faith in them as they have been doing it non stop all year. I am quite happy with our full back line and would not swap them for love nor money, murmurings of richie mccarthy and tom condon are fair enough as they have been good servants,but these players are nowadays just cover for injury i know some might not see it that way but it is what it is. Cian Lynch needs to have a monster game in midfield and needs to outshine his opposite number fitzgibbon whom i think has been a serious candidate for young hurler of the year up to now. Lynch has skill in abundance but some of his decision making leaves me baffled, i think he tries to do too much sometimes when on the ball and not enough of the simple things,however off the ball i cant fault him whatsoever so he needs this and more against a cute little operator in midfield,if we can curtail fitzgibbon to a point or two it will go along way. Tom morrisey just needs to do what he keeps doing, A leader of men! hegarty needs to be more efficient with his scoring for me,can be hot and cold and takes stupid pot shots when others are better placed so i hope he has his head screwed on fully,serious athlete with serious potential. Gillane needs to be on point more now than ever. I hope he can ,its alot of pressure on young shoulders and i hope this week management are keeping him grounded and ready. Full forward line needs goals and mulcahy and casey if introduced need to be sharper against cork, no point getting into position to score and not goaling,i mean its hard enough to get it up there, ruthlessness is needed in order for us to win and announce ourselves . Both of these players are massive for limerick,mulcahy is playing hurling of his life. Can we do it,yes, will we do it...yes! limerick by 4. LUIMNEACH ABU rant over lol" In 'his last outing up there' Declan Hannon scored five points from play. If any other Limerick forward had played half as well, we would have whipped Kilkenny that day also.
Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4501 - 24/07/2018 23:03:15
Replying To Oldtourman: "In 'his last outing up there' Declan Hannon scored five points from play. If any other Limerick forward had played half as well, we would have whipped Kilkenny that day also." realized that afterwards. it was a rant afterall. Luimneach abu
iomaintluimni (Limerick) - Posts: 20 - 24/07/2018 23:11:40
Replying To frseamus: "Any idea of a pub in Kings cross London that would be showing the hurling on saturday evening ? Not to travel very far :)" Good thread here https://forum.ybig.ie/gaa-pubs-in-london_topic52304.html
Sounds like there should be a few. Cock Tavern in Euston sounds like quite the place! Hope there will be plenty of Limerick support there on Sunday.
ancientrush (Limerick) - Posts: 24 - 24/07/2018 23:24:25
I hope the lads play the ref right in this game. I sound like a pure begrudger now but the couple of games ( particularly against Clare) I felt Patrick Hogan puts his head down and starts charging at back and sometimes flops to the ground. Unfortunately more often than not the ref gives a free in even though the back has literally just stood his ground. Another ref would give a free out. Like the ref in the Leinster final. I feel Horgan is a master of manufacturing frees. In fairness if he was one of ours I'd probably be lauding him. Anyway for me the realwinning of this is in midfield. Right now Fitzgibbon is shading it over Can Lynch. Although lynch is super at getting the dirty ball which people often underestimate. But as a combination Lynch andO'Donovan are better than Cooper and Fitzgibbon combined. Also I firmly believe if we are even Steven down the straight our bench is stronger. In summary limerick by 3
Mads (Limerick) - Posts: 368 - 25/07/2018 09:56:12
Replying To Mads: "I hope the lads play the ref right in this game. I sound like a pure begrudger now but the couple of games ( particularly against Clare) I felt Patrick Hogan puts his head down and starts charging at back and sometimes flops to the ground. Unfortunately more often than not the ref gives a free in even though the back has literally just stood his ground. Another ref would give a free out. Like the ref in the Leinster final. I feel Horgan is a master of manufacturing frees. In fairness if he was one of ours I'd probably be lauding him. Anyway for me the realwinning of this is in midfield. Right now Fitzgibbon is shading it over Can Lynch. Although lynch is super at getting the dirty ball which people often underestimate. But as a combination Lynch andO'Donovan are better than Cooper and Fitzgibbon combined. Also I firmly believe if we are even Steven down the straight our bench is stronger. In summary limerick by 3" I agree with you cute out Cronin in 2013 got about 5 undeserved frees got Dillon Booked & probably cost him an all star
Have to be come to the ball playing Horgan with ball in hand nearly impossible to stop
You have a good bench Peter Casey especially hope ye don't let ocassion slip.
clooney (Clare) - Posts: 988 - 25/07/2018 13:28:32
Just heard that Seamus harnedy is out with a hamstring injury
Lakewood (Limerick) - Posts: 7 - 25/07/2018 14:02:14