Limerick Senior Hurling 2018.

Replying To pj_mcmanus:  "I think some of the stuff written about Kilkenny being dirty and referees afraid of Cody and the 'dark arts' is ridiculous. Referencing something Eddie Brennan did 11 years ago and saying he could be locked up for it is a joke, as if to say he shouldn't be allowed commentate on the game because of it. Think of all the dirty strokes Limerick players pulled in the intervening years, think of all the dirty strokes players from every county pulled in the intervening years.
I'm not saying that Kilkenny are angels, they'll mix it to get every advantage they can but all teams will. Cody has an aura and I'm sure can be very intimidating but that comes from years of success. If you think that all top modern inter County referees are afraid of him then it's time to get real.
To be honest, I think that that type of analysis is downright lazy.
Kilkenny will give us plenty on Sunday, but if we are to be serious about being successful then we'll need to give plenty back.
What I will say about Cody and the excellent teams he has managed is that they are exceptionally humble, they wore success very well, never boastful, and they were a privilege to watch over the last 20 years.
Now let's go out and stick it up to them and beat them on Sunday"
100% agree

cityman73 (Limerick) - Posts: 783 - 13/07/2018 20:13:38    2121429

Not long now lads, can't wait for 2pm Sunday.
I agree with skule 111 in relation to tj Reid we simply can't have Hannon getting sucked out to mid field and leaving that space inside , Cian or Darragh must cover back.
Now I was unable to get to the Carlow game the only one I've missed but what pleased me were the Goals , ok there was a poor spell after Kyles goal which cannot happen against KK but five goals is what I like to see ok it was Carlow and not KK but at least the goal scoring mentality is there.
We can talk tactics ,team selection and subs till the cows come home but in my opinion Sunday is all about goals if we are to beat KK , first instinct must be goal not just for the score board but mental dominance. Let's be honest Galway were light years ahead of this KK team but what kept them in the game and mentally strong were those goals.
Those of us who were in croagh pairc the last time we played them up there on torrential rainy day will remember we out hurled them all over the pitch but the difference was two soft goals.
For once we have the players that are capable of getting those goals go for them every opportunity.

Kiely has a tough job not just to pick his best team but more important to make changes if things are not working he has to be ruthless but that's the good thing about having a strong bench.
Flannigan is a fine strong skillful player but he may have lost a little confidence after the Clare game he just didn't seem himself at the 21s match v Tipp , that can happen so I'm hoping his form will be back for this .
Too much was asked of Shane Dowling for the Clare game with a two man full forward line but I feel he still has a lot to offer this Limerick team and I would love to see him start or come on for Mulcahy in this game. Flannigan , Gillane , Dowling would be a strong combination especially with our half forward line running at the defense too. Goals goals goals.

Wish them the very best on Sunday want to see fire and passion from running out on to the pitch till five minutes after the final whistle. Luimneach Abu.

jimbob50 (Limerick) - Posts: 100 - 13/07/2018 20:30:33    2121435

As flagged by a few contributors - it's the team that started against Cork.

1. Nicky Quaid

2. Sean Finn
3. Mike Casey
4. Richie English

5. Diarmaid Byrnes
6. Declan Hannon - Captain
7. Dan Morrissey

8. Darragh O'Donovan
9. Cian Lynch

10. Gearoid Hegarty
11. Kyle Hayes
12. Tom Morrissey

13. Aaron Gillane
14. Seamus Flanagan
15. Graeme Mulcahy

16. Barry Hennessy
17. Peter Casey
18. David Dempsey
19. Shane Dowling
20. Seamus Hickey
21. Richie McCarthy
22. Barry Nash
23. William O'Donoghue
24. Paddy O'Loughlin
25. David Reidy
26. Pat Ryan

beirbua (Limerick) - Posts: 188 - 13/07/2018 21:07:23    2121446

Just seen the Limerick team and I'm not been negative but it's a huge mistake to play Casey, Kilkenny will target him. I know Walsh hasn't been picked on their squad but what price he will line out at full forward on Sunday.
Fennelly will be too strong for Casey and I'm hoping I am wrong.
Other than that the team was easy to pick
Nervous times.

skule111 (Limerick) - Posts: 119 - 13/07/2018 21:09:00    2121447

Skule, Have a bit more faith in Casey

Southeastman (Limerick) - Posts: 22 - 13/07/2018 22:55:57    2121464

Replying To skule111:  "Just seen the Limerick team and I'm not been negative but it's a huge mistake to play Casey, Kilkenny will target him. I know Walsh hasn't been picked on their squad but what price he will line out at full forward on Sunday.
Fennelly will be too strong for Casey and I'm hoping I am wrong.
Other than that the team was easy to pick
Nervous times."
I think our full back line will be fine. In fact, the coordination and organisation back there should have improved as Mike Casey settled into the panel.
The three factors that will dominate the game, IMO, are as follows;

1. How is Limerick's confidence after the Clare & U21 games. If good I have no fear. If Flanagan and Hayes fire then no worries.

2. What effect will the three games in a row have on KK. I spoke to a friend of mine with two all stars from the 90's. He loved playing games on the trot but it did effect the team as a whole. I believe KK will tire mid way through the 2nd half. Peter Casey will come on and shoot the lights out.

3. Will Cody make smarter/quicker changes than Kiley. Kiley made poor decisions V's Clare whereas Cody came back from the brink against Wex and Galway replay.

All to play for and cannot wait. Funny thing is - again, I find myself saying "we will know how this limerick team really is after this one".

Seeking_silver (Limerick) - Posts: 411 - 14/07/2018 08:27:56    2121490

Would love to see Seamus Hickey come on same time as Ritchie Hogan and mark living s*** out of him. Hickey owes KK a few good belts from 2007.

Seeking_silver (Limerick) - Posts: 411 - 14/07/2018 08:32:09    2121491

Not sure if we have picked right man at full back. I'm fairly sure that both he and McCarthy would be able for Fennelly but can't see Clare winning so we need to get our head round finding a marker for Glynn sooner rather than later. Funnily enough the nearer we get to the game the more confident I am. This really is an average KK team even allowing for the Cody factor. They keep inter changing forwards from one game to the next which is a dead give away that lot of the players being switched are just not up to it. As for their two wing backs they are also v limited. Limerick by 4+ would be even more were it not for Cody

welpastit (Limerick) - Posts: 740 - 14/07/2018 09:17:27    2121496

Replying To brud:  "Well that's the first bit of my prediction correct. As for your prediction, I'll say no more.
Davy Fitz will be rubbing his hands tonight awaiting clare in thurles."
Ahem

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2697 - 14/07/2018 17:13:11    2121606

Replying To brud:  "Well that's the first bit of my prediction correct. As for your prediction, I'll say no more.
Davy Fitz will be rubbing his hands tonight awaiting clare in thurles."
Well Brud. Anymore top notch predictions for us or is time to give some credit where credit is due.

Dec82 (Clare) - Posts: 242 - 14/07/2018 17:16:00    2121607

10200 at the match today. That's an awful indictment.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1197 - 14/07/2018 17:29:02    2121611

Replying To daveboy:  "10200 at the match today. That's an awful indictment."
I know....very bad!

Better have 20,000 limerick lads leave disappointed! S

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2697 - 14/07/2018 17:51:00    2121625

Why so sensitive Clare lads? Surely Brud can post his opinion on his own county's page.

welpastit (Limerick) - Posts: 740 - 14/07/2018 18:22:27    2121635

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "I know....very bad!

Better have 20,000 limerick lads leave disappointed! S"
Class response. Do you have to be over 18 to post on this or what's the story?

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1197 - 14/07/2018 18:59:05    2121666

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "I know....very bad!

Better have 20,000 limerick lads leave disappointed! S"
In all fairness to the Clare supporters the ladies final at Wimbledon was on the same time. Understandable

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1197 - 14/07/2018 19:07:36    2121672

The very best of luck to all players and management of Limerick senior hurling squad on Sunday. We can put up all the comments we like, but ye alone can do the job. It's a bit like the weather this year, something special is on the horizon. Go get them we owe them one.

aloneitstands (Limerick) - Posts: 76 - 14/07/2018 22:26:59    2121820

Replying To Seeking_silver:  "I think our full back line will be fine. In fact, the coordination and organisation back there should have improved as Mike Casey settled into the panel.
The three factors that will dominate the game, IMO, are as follows;

1. How is Limerick's confidence after the Clare & U21 games. If good I have no fear. If Flanagan and Hayes fire then no worries.

2. What effect will the three games in a row have on KK. I spoke to a friend of mine with two all stars from the 90's. He loved playing games on the trot but it did effect the team as a whole. I believe KK will tire mid way through the 2nd half. Peter Casey will come on and shoot the lights out.

3. Will Cody make smarter/quicker changes than Kiley. Kiley made poor decisions V's Clare whereas Cody came back from the brink against Wex and Galway replay.

All to play for and cannot wait. Funny thing is - again, I find myself saying "we will know how this limerick team really is after this one"."
Agreed.. I think our fullback line will do fine. I blv this is a good post. Win lose or draw we have to go along with Kiely's call even when he doesn't select the favorite of a few. Win lose or draw at 4 pm I will say he has brought us on light years and out of the desert already this year. By the way , nice campaigning again by a few on here.
And last but not least one more time ,
Let's boss Kilkenny during the game and commiserate with them afterwards. Love to be able to say , "great game cats, , take heart lads, ye'll be back"
And let's hope the ref gets to do his job without undue influence.

Come on Ye Boys In Green!!

PatOLogical (Limerick) - Posts: 1377 - 14/07/2018 23:23:10    2121855

Replying To welpastit:  "Why so sensitive Clare lads? Surely Brud can post his opinion on his own county's page."
It was a bitter comment having a go at Clare after Clare / Limerick followed up by another go praising himself after the Cork game. He deserves to be called out.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2697 - 15/07/2018 01:02:31    2121888

Best of luck tomorrow Limerick lads. I don't want KK winning the toss for the rest of my life, they have enough.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2697 - 15/07/2018 01:03:45    2121889

Went to P ui C yesterday. Clare showed well but was like a challenge match. There was an echo around the ground even tho the lower south was reasonably full.
The 10,000 crowd was egg in the face of the CCC. Pairc ui Caoimh proobably lost money with that small attendance. It should have been a double header in Thurles yesterday.
Rumour has it that it was to be a double header in Cork but KK didn't want to go to Cork - the chairman of the CCC is a KK man.

Hopefully we will get a bigger attendance today and limerick supporters get behind this great bunch

Seeking_silver (Limerick) - Posts: 411 - 15/07/2018 08:11:29    2121920