Limerick Senior Hurling 2018.

Replying To hamstring:  "Can we please end this nonsense now.??
We are playing KILKENNY on Sunday, the aristocrats of hurling. No c/chip win over them since the A.I. final in 1973.
If we play to our potential we have a decent chance. If we play like we did in Ennis we will be totally destroyed. There will be no easing up with these guys, they will fight on their backs to the bitter end, and are capable of beating us,or anyone, in the first 5 minutes or the last 5 minutes. Look at the spine of their team, any 1 of them would walk onto ours.
If we do make it to a semi final well and good, but for ow all that matters in 2pm Sunday in Thurles."
Bang on.Get over the Cats 1st.Big match for Us

meehan82 (Limerick) - Posts: 173 - 10/07/2018 22:44:43    2120577

N Quaid;
S Finn, M Casey, R English;
D Byrnes , D Hannon, D Morrissey ;
D O'Donovan, C Lynch ;
T Morrissey , K Hayes, G Hegarty ;
S Flanagan , A Gillane , G Mulcahy.

I reckon the above may be starting 15 (same selection started against Cork)

beirbua (Limerick) - Posts: 188 - 10/07/2018 23:22:11    2120587

We are playing KILKENNY on Sunday, the aristocrats of hurling. No c/chip win over them since the A.I. final in 1973.
If we play to our potential we have a decent chance. If we play like we did in Ennis we will be totally destroyed. There will be no easing up with these guys, they will fight on their backs to the bitter end, and are capable of beating us,or anyone, in the first 5 minutes or the last 5 minutes. Look at the spine of their team, any 1 of them would walk onto ours.
If we do make it to a semi final well and good, but for ow all that matters in 2pm Sunday in Thurles."
Agree we have a decent chance and a semi appearance would be an achievement.Its to our advantage that KK are out 3 weeks in a row.
Concern for me is having Byrnes and Dec Hannon in the same line as the year progresses, both are easy on the eye as ball players but neither would be considered a good defender and at this level their workrate isn't high enough to compensate for that weakness- the workrate of Lynch, O'Donovan and the 3 HF's is masking the problem most of the time but it's a problem that needs addressing.

LMK2012 (Limerick) - Posts: 15 - 10/07/2018 23:26:33    2120589

I know all knock out champ games are so important and probably next yr I'll be saying the same thing but if we could win on Sunday it'd be massive for this young team the experience of them playing in croker going forward would just be off the scale I'm not jumping the gun thinking of the semi I'm just saying the experience would be huge going forward. I think we have the better players than kk but for us to get over them will take every thing we have as they're so cute even without the ball deep down in their psyche they'll just expect to beat us as they normally do but if we can get to the level of performance that we showed v cork and water ford they'll struggle i think.
I wouldnt be making many changes to team that started v clare i would revert to flanagan at 14 and gillane at 13 but would after 50 min or so be bringing on p casey dowling etc to hopefully finish them off

someday (Limerick) - Posts: 1104 - 11/07/2018 00:43:03    2120598

He did say "If we win..." so not sure how that can be nonsense. I think we all are well aware that's a very big if.

Totally agree with everything else. We will have to fight on our backs and just keep it up from the very start to the very end. In the middle of all the madness and ferocity we will also have to try and keep our composure and maintain the game plan and not revert to just belting the balls to clear the lines or taking shots from impossible angles and distances.

I heard Eddie Brennan last week saying we are a great up and coming team but he felt that KK had more experience at this level and it would be enough to see them over the line. A lot of this is true to be fair. High intensity, controlled aggression, keep the free count down and take the majority of our chances when they present themselves (if there is a goal chance on go for it). KK will bring all of this and more and will bring levels of physicality and intensity some of our players will not have experienced before. I think we have a team capable of beating them but its going to take one hell of an almighty effort. There is a different mindset in this young team i think who don't do hard luck stories or morale victories or put opposing teams on pedestals, i think they will be realistic about the task in hand and confident in their ability to get the job done.

Fitzy01 (Limerick) - Posts: 443 - 11/07/2018 08:38:15    2120613

Replying To Fitzy01:  "He did say "If we win..." so not sure how that can be nonsense. I think we all are well aware that's a very big if.

Totally agree with everything else. We will have to fight on our backs and just keep it up from the very start to the very end. In the middle of all the madness and ferocity we will also have to try and keep our composure and maintain the game plan and not revert to just belting the balls to clear the lines or taking shots from impossible angles and distances.

I heard Eddie Brennan last week saying we are a great up and coming team but he felt that KK had more experience at this level and it would be enough to see them over the line. A lot of this is true to be fair. High intensity, controlled aggression, keep the free count down and take the majority of our chances when they present themselves (if there is a goal chance on go for it). KK will bring all of this and more and will bring levels of physicality and intensity some of our players will not have experienced before. I think we have a team capable of beating them but its going to take one hell of an almighty effort. There is a different mindset in this young team i think who don't do hard luck stories or morale victories or put opposing teams on pedestals, i think they will be realistic about the task in hand and confident in their ability to get the job done."
Very hard to disagree with Eddie Brennan. Kilkenny will die on the field, Limerick have not faced anything like that all year. The one team that did come out and rough us up was Clare and they beat us all over the field and the sideline. We seem fine when our own game is working but when it is disrupted / breaks down - we have no plan B. Kilkenny will play a more traditional type game and if our backs can hold their own we have a chance but they will swarm us in the tackle and players like Lynch will be bottled up and not given space like Munster teams tend to give. Limerick have it in them to win but they are going to have become men to do so and the dark arts will have to be called on as Kilkenny will use every trick in the book.

e45lotion (Limerick) - Posts: 274 - 11/07/2018 10:22:03    2120638

Replying To beirbua:  "N Quaid;
D O'Donovan, C Lynch ;

I reckon the above may be starting 15 (same selection started against Cork)"
Good lineout.

PatOLogical (Limerick) - Posts: 1377 - 11/07/2018 12:36:26    2120667

Replying To meehan82:  "Bang on.Get over the Cats 1st.Big match for Us"
Let's stop injecting fear NOW!
Come On ye Boys in Green!

PatOLogical (Limerick) - Posts: 1377 - 11/07/2018 12:38:26    2120670

Replying To Fitzy01:  "He did say "If we win..." so not sure how that can be nonsense. I think we all are well aware that's a very big if.

I heard Eddie Brennan last week saying we are a great up and coming team but he felt that KK had more experience at this level and it would be enough to see them over the line. A lot of this is true to be fair. High intensity, controlled aggression, keep the free count down and take the majority of our chances when they present themselves (if there is a goal chance on go for it). KK will bring all of this and more and will bring levels of physicality and intensity some of our players will not have experienced before. I think we have a team capable of beating them but its going to take one hell of an almighty effort. There is a different mindset in this young team i think who don't do hard luck stories or morale victories or put opposing teams on pedestals, i think they will be realistic about the task in hand and confident in their ability to get the job done."
Like this post, in particular " we don't do hard luck stories or morale victories, or putting opposing teams on pedestals" .

We know Brian Cody has been quoted as replying to: "we are told your players would did for you.....Cody's reply : 'I'm not interested in players who will die for me , I want players who will kill for me" .The mindset is common knowledge at his stage as has been retold by former KK stars.

I believe we can out hurl and outpace Kilkenny or Sunday, I am looking for our boys to also be the Boss on the field for 70+ minutes., from now on regardless of the opposition. .

Am also looking to keep ref from being bossed by opposing sideline.

Come On Boys in Green

PatOLogical (Limerick) - Posts: 1377 - 11/07/2018 12:54:50    2120677

Replying To e45lotion:  "Very hard to disagree with Eddie Brennan. Kilkenny will die on the field, Limerick have not faced anything like that all year. The one team that did come out and rough us up was Clare and they beat us all over the field and the sideline. We seem fine when our own game is working but when it is disrupted / breaks down - we have no plan B. Kilkenny will play a more traditional type game and if our backs can hold their own we have a chance but they will swarm us in the tackle and players like Lynch will be bottled up and not given space like Munster teams tend to give. Limerick have it in them to win but they are going to have become men to do so and the dark arts will have to be called on as Kilkenny will use every trick in the book."
We are bigger , stronger and better AND TOO SMART TO BE INTIIMIDATED BY fast Eddies foray into the realm of amateur psychology.

Vintage KK mind games at play here ..same shit as always, different "retired" messenger.

Hope we don't need need Steven Lucey and Seamus Hickey in dressing room again to remind us of fast Eddie's 'Physicality" in 1st 15 minutes or 07 All Ireland. Dare I say , people have "done time" for less.

I believe we can out hurl and outpace the opposition on Sunday, I am looking for our boys to also "Be the Boss" on the field and all that that entails, for 70+ minutes., from now on regardless of the opposition. .

Am also looking to keep ref from being bossed by opposing sideline.

Come On Ye Boys In Green!

PatOLogical (Limerick) - Posts: 1377 - 11/07/2018 13:06:04    2120684

D O'Donovan, C Lynch ;

Good lineout and likely to be the selected 15. Flanagan may start at 14 rather than 13. My only reservation would be Mike Casey and how easily John Conlon was able to get away from him and win several 50/50 balls in Cusack Park. Should we possibly go with a bigger/more physical CB in the forms of Richie Mc or Seamus Hickey or even Richie English who is excellent in the air. I like Casey and believe he is a solid player but KK do have that edge to their playersto do even more damage than Conlon did and as Casey wasn't 100% against him (not solely laying blame on his feet for the loss to Clare) should we gamble with him or even relocate him to another position in defence?

Gavin94 (Limerick) - Posts: 77 - 11/07/2018 13:28:19    2120701

Replying To Gavin94:  "
D O'Donovan, C Lynch ;

Good lineout and likely to be the selected 15. Flanagan may start at 14 rather than 13. My only reservation would be Mike Casey and how easily John Conlon was able to get away from him and win several 50/50 balls in Cusack Park. Should we possibly go with a bigger/more physical CB in the forms of Richie Mc or Seamus Hickey or even Richie English who is excellent in the air. I like Casey and believe he is a solid player but KK do have that edge to their playersto do even more damage than Conlon did and as Casey wasn't 100% against him (not solely laying blame on his feet for the loss to Clare) should we gamble with him or even relocate him to another position in defence?"
the only ones with a chance of breaking into the team are peter casey and richie mc.....i'm thinking the management will put the clare match down to an off day and possibly go with the same team again.

munsterchamps (Limerick) - Posts: 1143 - 11/07/2018 15:16:11    2120747

Replying To munsterchamps:  "
Replying To Gavin94:  "[quote=beirbua:  "N Quaid;
D O'Donovan, C Lynch ;

Good lineout and likely to be the selected 15. Flanagan may start at 14 rather than 13. My only reservation would be Mike Casey and how easily John Conlon was able to get away from him and win several 50/50 balls in Cusack Park. Should we possibly go with a bigger/more physical CB in the forms of Richie Mc or Seamus Hickey or even Richie English who is excellent in the air. I like Casey and believe he is a solid player but KK do have that edge to their playersto do even more damage than Conlon did and as Casey wasn't 100% against him (not solely laying blame on his feet for the loss to Clare) should we gamble with him or even relocate him to another position in defence?"
the only ones with a chance of breaking into the team are peter casey and richie mc.....i'm thinking the management will put the clare match down to an off day and possibly go with the same team again."]meant to put gillane for dowling.

munsterchamps (Limerick) - Posts: 1143 - 11/07/2018 15:35:41    2120753

Replying To munsterchamps:  "
Replying To Gavin94:  "[quote=beirbua:  "N Quaid;
D O'Donovan, C Lynch ;

the only ones with a chance of breaking into the team are peter casey and richie mc.....i'm thinking the management will put the clare match down to an off day and possibly go with the same team again."]I like Casey as a hurlet but he is not for Sunday as Kilkenny would target him like they targeted Hickey in that All Ireland in 2007.
Richie McCartby has to start and if Casey is picked at full back we will be in troue.
I would also start Peter Casey and Dowling instead of Flanagan and Mulcahy as I feel they will do better off the bench.
We haven't beating Kilkenny in a major game since 1973.
The time to beat them is now and we will see on Sunday if they have what it takes.
I have faith in the players and if Kiely
makes the right calls I believe we will with by at least 4 points.

skule111 (Limerick) - Posts: 119 - 11/07/2018 16:02:55    2120759

We haven't beat Kilkenny in a biv match since 1973, and the time to do it is on Sunday.
It's now time to deliver and we will dee on Sunday if we are good enough. With the right team starting I believe we can beat them.
Richie McCarthy has to start and I would start Peter Casey and Dowling
instead of Flanagan and Mulcahy
ad I feel they would do better coming on with 20 mins to go.
I would play Kyle Hayes alongside Lynch and bring Nash on to the half forward line

But the team I think will be

Quaid
Finn
McCarthy
English
Byrne's
Hannon
Morrissey
Lynch
O Donovan
Morrissey
Hayes
Hegarty
Gillane
Flanagan
Mulcahy

skule111 (Limerick) - Posts: 119 - 11/07/2018 17:05:01    2120775

We'll need to clean up a good few things in defence to have any chance of taking on Kilkenny. Carlow had a big mountain of a lad at half forward who had little hurling ability but caused us all sorts of trouble in the early stages last week. Management team got in Byrnes ear to stay behind him and stop him from catching ball as opposed to attempting to win primary possession himself, which worked in fairness but Kilkenny would have had the game over by the time we figured it out.

Sunday is going to be very very tough, but we must show no fear. We did ourselves great justice down in Nolan Park last year but need to just find that little bit extra to topple them.

Luimneach Abu!!

Please. God.

Unlimited_LK (Limerick) - Posts: 128 - 11/07/2018 17:52:26    2120783

For me, Dowling should start at 14 ahead of Flanagan who seems to have lost some confidence of late or maybe other teams have copped onto his strengths/weaknesses. Dowling is a big game player and has seldom left the side down.
He was outstanding in this corresponding fixture last year. Got no game time V Carlow last Saturday and if he's been scapegoated for the horror=show in Ennis its plain wrong. I actually thought that he busted his gut that day, his only blemish being the 2 fairly easy frees that normally he'd score blindfolded.

hamstring (Limerick) - Posts: 318 - 11/07/2018 23:47:46    2120855

Replying To hamstring:  "For me, Dowling should start at 14 ahead of Flanagan who seems to have lost some confidence of late or maybe other teams have copped onto his strengths/weaknesses. Dowling is a big game player and has seldom left the side down.
He was outstanding in this corresponding fixture last year. Got no game time V Carlow last Saturday and if he's been scapegoated for the horror=show in Ennis its plain wrong. I actually thought that he busted his gut that day, his only blemish being the 2 fairly easy frees that normally he'd score blindfolded."
i am tempted to agree with you as regards Dowling at 14 instead of Flanagan who is struggling for form of late . He had some shocking wides against carlow and seems to be lacking a bit of confidence and also would he be up for the dirty treatment sorry physical treatment he is going to get from the KK backs . if Dowling and Gillane plays then who will take the frees is another question i suppose .
if Dowling plays he needs to stay on the edge of the square as he has no pace but great hurling skill and let the nippy corner forwards do the running out to the wings to give a target for our outfield players and let the outfield players deliver low ball in rather than high ball as that is bread and butter to kk backs and our corner forwards arent the biggest in the world i.e mul and casey with the exception of gillane. , as we have a decent bench i expect changes then in this line with 15 or 20 minutes to go and i expect Mul to start ahead of Casey who will definitely come on but if Casey starts then Mul will prob come on . Hope to see Pat Ryan on Bench aswell and Barry Murphy who have both made an impact when introduced as subs but there are only so many players on the starting day panel and how do you accomadate them all and pat Ryan and B Murphy seems to have gone down the pecking order but i am also not convinced by Barry Nash of late and he needs to up his game big time if introduced as he has not impressed me yet but sunday is coming and he might have a stormer hopefully .
When and if our forwards etc get in around goal they need to go for goal and stop taking the handy point . kk will do it given the chance so we need to be more ruthless in front of goal . The ground is rock hard at the moment so a low bouncing shot is almost impossible to save and we dont need to be 5 yards out to let one rip off the surface , 3 points is hard work to get when a goal will give you the same outcome so if there is half a chance then have a crack at it is what i say .
Disipline is key also as tj Reid wont miss too many placed balls and he can keep kk in a game on his own with frees so hopefully we will also have a strong Ref who wont be bullied or intimidated because its kk . Cool heads are required if the game is tight with 5 to go and self belief will play a part here and our lads need to have the confidence to finish the game out and not be looking back on another moral victory .
we have the players to go on and get the KK monkey off our backs and put an end to the stat that we havent beaten them in a championship match since we last won the All Ire in 73....luimneach Abu

WhipOnTheBall (Limerick) - Posts: 138 - 12/07/2018 09:57:00    2120895

Replying To hamstring:  "For me, Dowling should start at 14 ahead of Flanagan who seems to have lost some confidence of late or maybe other teams have copped onto his strengths/weaknesses. Dowling is a big game player and has seldom left the side down.
He was outstanding in this corresponding fixture last year. Got no game time V Carlow last Saturday and if he's been scapegoated for the horror=show in Ennis its plain wrong. I actually thought that he busted his gut that day, his only blemish being the 2 fairly easy frees that normally he'd score blindfolded."
Couldn't agree more. Dowling has taken an incredible amount of flak for the Clare match - if he hadn't missed the frees it would've been one of his best ever games for Limerick in terms of workrate. He was second only to Morrissey in the forwards. Mulcahy had a poor first half and was taken off, Flanagan had a nightmare (no mention of it in most quarters!), Kyle Hayes had his worst game for Limerick and Hegarty was not at his best. Gillane and Dempsey were poor when they came on. I'd be very slow to write Dowling off - I think he has a massive amount to offer (probably from the bench on Sunday along with Peter Casey, serious options to have).

McFan88 (Limerick) - Posts: 450 - 12/07/2018 10:29:01    2120910

I think the 2 single biggest issues that have to be addressed for Limerick to win are how you deal with TJ and Cillian Buckley.
1. Who is going to man mark TJ? - If you don't have a man marker and leave Declan Hannon in the free centre back role he's been playing to date TJ will destroy ye.
2. Is Kyle Hayes going to play center forward in the roving style he has been playing? I think you need an out an out attacker to trouble cilian Buckley and keep him occupied. If not he is the launch point for Kilkennys attacks and is like a magnet to loose ball if he is left free to read the game and pick up breaks.

From the outside looking in I would put Morrissey on Reid for the whole game and start Tom Morrissey centre forward as he appears to be your best scoring forward at present.

LarryOBrother (Wexford) - Posts: 412 - 12/07/2018 11:15:29    2120929