Limerick Senior Hurling 2018.

Replying To brud:  "Cork will beat clare in the Munster final. After the Munster final a fresh Wexford team will await ye in the Quarter final. I actually think ye won't win another game this year. Limerick will get to Croke Park this year. Wait and see."
That is a statement that will come back on you, Clare are improving and in Kelly and Conlon have 2 top players well able to score.
I can see Cork losing to Clare and Wexford are overated and either Cork or Clare will beat them.
As for Limerick we will have to get our act together on and off the sideline. Kiely made changes on Sunday that my Sister wouldn't have made.
How can you bring on a back for a corner forward when you are 5 points down. Didn't he realise we had the same number of players on the field as Clare. It was painful to watch and anyone who I have been talking to couldn't believe what was happening.
Limerick will have to start Richie full back the next day because if Casey is played, he will be destroyed.
I don't know if Hayes will be suspended.
The team I would pick if all fit
Quaid
Finn
McCarthy
English
Byrne's
Hannon
Morrissey
Lynch
Hayes
Morrissey
Hegarty
Nash
Gillane
Flanagan
Mulcahy

skule111 (Limerick) - Posts: 119 - 21/06/2018 21:40:16    2113652

Just back from Thurles , another bad day at the office , right from the get go there was a lack of energy and confidence ,in fairness Tipp were very good winning the puck outs , winning the ball from every ruck and were much more efficient in front of goal , nothing seemed to go Limericks way tonight even a penalty awarded just before half time came back off the cross bar. just one of those nights.
Maybe a little bit of a hangover from last Sunday too.
A tough week but weeks like this make the good days all the sweeter , it was nice to see decent support for both teams in Thurles tonight.
Onwards and upwards Limerick.

jimbob50 (Limerick) - Posts: 100 - 21/06/2018 22:53:13    2113665

Replying To skule111:  "That is a statement that will come back on you, Clare are improving and in Kelly and Conlon have 2 top players well able to score.
I can see Cork losing to Clare and Wexford are overated and either Cork or Clare will beat them.
As for Limerick we will have to get our act together on and off the sideline. Kiely made changes on Sunday that my Sister wouldn't have made.
How can you bring on a back for a corner forward when you are 5 points down. Didn't he realise we had the same number of players on the field as Clare. It was painful to watch and anyone who I have been talking to couldn't believe what was happening.
Limerick will have to start Richie full back the next day because if Casey is played, he will be destroyed.
I don't know if Hayes will be suspended.
The team I would pick if all fit
Quaid
Finn
McCarthy
English
Byrne's
Hannon
Morrissey
Lynch
Hayes
Morrissey
Hegarty
Nash
Gillane
Flanagan
Mulcahy"
Would love to see Nash kick on from his performance levels at under21 level. Just hasn't happened yet.

sidelineview08 (Limerick) - Posts: 75 - 21/06/2018 22:56:42    2113666

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Look LRH
Clare beat Limerick and Clare in 93 and then Tipp absolutely wiped the floor with them in the Munster Final, beating them by far more than 11 points, yet the following Summer Clare knocked Tipp out of the Munster Championship. They were then the hottest of hot favorites to win the Munster title of 94. No less a pundit than Michael Keating was asked if Limerick, their Munster Final opponents, had any chance of victory in the final, he gave a less than ringing vote of confidence. 'They have a better chance than Tipp, I suppose' he said- not great encouragement, considering Tipp were already knocked out. Even the most ardent Limerick supporters faced that game with trepidation, yet Limerick swept Clare aside and led by 16 points,(25 to 9) with a few minutes remaining. Did Clare lose heart after a second disastrous final showing- not at all. They comprehensively beat Limerick the following year and almost true to form Limerick reversed that result the following year.
You said it would be almost certain that Clare should beat Limerick if they meet again as Clare had won the last three games involving these counties. Well Limerick beat Clare in 73,74,75 and 76 and it did not stop Clare beating them in 77. It should also be noted that Clare have only beaten Cork once,even it was an All Ireland Final, in this decade- does this mean they are outsiders against the rebels in the Munster Final?
My point is every young team, and some not so young, has had days like Limerick had last sunday. It us how they deal with this setback is important."
Pleae actually read my post.

I never ever said we would definitely beat ye if we met ye again. In fact i said there is every chance ye would win.

My gripe is that Clare are not getting any credit from some lads here. Some even state that Clare will definitely be beat if Limerick meet them again. I am only trying to make a point out of how crazy it is for someone to state that after we have just won by 11 points.

For the record, i am trilled Cork beat Waterford the last day because - we owe ourselves a chance at redemption for last years Munster final which, like the ye against us, we played into their hands and played on their terms. Secondly, i didnt want Limerick in the final as imo after Ennis, a wounded Limerick was a more difficult oppoent for us than Cork.

I dont want any hassle between Clare and Limerick here just mutual respect. I respect Limerick but am getting tired of lads here stating that the only Limerick lost was because they didnt turn up or if we play Clare again we will definitely beat them.

My comment on the fact we have won the last 3 championship games was only used to emphasies why the comment on Limerick definitely going to beat Clare the next day was a silly comment. It was not referring tl why Clare will definitely win. Pleas reread what i said.

I honestly wish ye best of luck for the season though not against Clare.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2697 - 21/06/2018 23:31:51    2113673

fair play to this clare guy
im allways to see ye suceed against cork or tipp
theve enough won as far as im concerned

boarts (Limerick) - Posts: 67 - 22/06/2018 10:38:16    2113708

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Pleae actually read my post.

I never ever said we would definitely beat ye if we met ye again. In fact i said there is every chance ye would win.

My gripe is that Clare are not getting any credit from some lads here. Some even state that Clare will definitely be beat if Limerick meet them again. I am only trying to make a point out of how crazy it is for someone to state that after we have just won by 11 points.

For the record, i am trilled Cork beat Waterford the last day because - we owe ourselves a chance at redemption for last years Munster final which, like the ye against us, we played into their hands and played on their terms. Secondly, i didnt want Limerick in the final as imo after Ennis, a wounded Limerick was a more difficult oppoent for us than Cork.

I dont want any hassle between Clare and Limerick here just mutual respect. I respect Limerick but am getting tired of lads here stating that the only Limerick lost was because they didnt turn up or if we play Clare again we will definitely beat them.

My comment on the fact we have won the last 3 championship games was only used to emphasies why the comment on Limerick definitely going to beat Clare the next day was a silly comment. It was not referring tl why Clare will definitely win. Pleas reread what i said.

I honestly wish ye best of luck for the season though not against Clare."
Not everyone here is Clare Bashing as you would have read from my last post , Yee deserved yeer victory fair and square , yee were the better side on the day , end of story ... we might meet yee again with a bit of luck before the summer is out and we might get our chance at Redemption ...guys on here stating that yee wont win another game are only trying to wind you up i would say so take no notice...

WhipOnTheBall (Limerick) - Posts: 138 - 22/06/2018 10:55:39    2113711

Replying To WhipOnTheBall:  "Not everyone here is Clare Bashing as you would have read from my last post , Yee deserved yeer victory fair and square , yee were the better side on the day , end of story ... we might meet yee again with a bit of luck before the summer is out and we might get our chance at Redemption ...guys on here stating that yee wont win another game are only trying to wind you up i would say so take no notice..."
In case there is any confusion , that post was meant for LohansRedHelmet ....

WhipOnTheBall (Limerick) - Posts: 138 - 22/06/2018 15:45:13    2113759

Replying To WhipOnTheBall:  "Not everyone here is Clare Bashing as you would have read from my last post , Yee deserved yeer victory fair and square , yee were the better side on the day , end of story ... we might meet yee again with a bit of luck before the summer is out and we might get our chance at Redemption ...guys on here stating that yee wont win another game are only trying to wind you up i would say so take no notice..."
I'm not trying to wind up anyone. I just don't believe Clare will win another game this year. I fancy Cork for the Munster final. Simple as. Cork have too much speed and firepower. When Clare lose the Munster final they will then meet a fresh Wexford team that will be too physical for Clare and Davy will have them too fine tuned for Clare. My overall prediction is Clare won't win another game and it will be a Galway/Cork final this year with Galway to win by 4/5 points.

brud (Limerick) - Posts: 943 - 22/06/2018 17:43:33    2113776

Thanks mate

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2697 - 23/06/2018 13:58:41    2113885

11 points is a fair beating in anyone's book. The fatigue argument only goes so far.

StandingBear (Limerick) - Posts: 257 - 23/06/2018 17:40:42    2113918

It's as simple as this. Clare had their homework done and stopped us playing - what ever type of play we tried. Our puckouts were numbered by Clare short or long. They must have been thrilled when we made change of Ritchie for Mulcahy - and we had the very strong breeze in the 2nd half???
Personally, I would have swapped Gillan for Dowling at HT.
Clare totally neutralised or mid field in the first half. When Galvin and Kelly started getting on top in the 2nd we had no answer for them.

Clare backs bullied our forwards all afternoon- especially off the ball. They wouldn't let them move and pushed them out. I don't think Reidy is as innocent as everyon says. Heard reports that he ran across Byrnes but got a nice flick into his chest at the same time. Cuteness, unlike Condon.

IMO management deffo got it wrong with the HT change. Or halfback line (apart from Dan Morrissey) had no urgency about them and tapped the ball around like we were 10 pts up. When the Clare tactics had eventually wore us down we didn't have the energy to keep going and they went for the jugular. Final score probably not a true reflection of the game but was a true reflection of the last 6 minutes.

Seeking_silver (Limerick) - Posts: 411 - 24/06/2018 00:03:49    2114081

Replying To StandingBear:  "11 points is a fair beating in anyone's book. The fatigue argument only goes so far."
Well it is a big margin of defeat, but Clare were beaten by 8 points by Cork, at a neutral venue in 2013, and they came back and won an All Ireland. I am not saying Limerick are going to repeat Clares achievement, but we should not be over pessimistic either.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4490 - 24/06/2018 09:15:29    2114111

Replying To daveboy:  "Bubbles sent off v limerick in 2016. Didn't get back in team till behind Galway late on in AI semi. Waterford had an enormous injury crisis couple of weeks ago."
Bubbles has played hot and cold and may not have been playing well enough in training anyway.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4490 - 24/06/2018 09:24:05    2114113

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Well it is a big margin of defeat, but Clare were beaten by 8 points by Cork, at a neutral venue in 2013, and they came back and won an All Ireland. I am not saying Limerick are going to repeat Clares achievement, but we should not be over pessimistic either."
You are right OTM there is no need for pessimism but every need to learn from our mistakes lest we are doomed to repeat them. Think about it Pat Ryan played a role in all the league knock out games and the first two championship games Reidy did not yet Reidy was on panel and Ryan not. Shot puck outs already well documented but just look at it this way. Clare start Conlon at full forward with a clear game plan of getting him on as much ball as possible. We then facilitate that by letting them bring short outs to almost midfield from where they can launch ball after ball down on top of him. To make matters even worse we then play a sweeper to help mark him when if we pushed up on puck outs we would simply have cut off his supply. Talk about ludicrous. As if that's not enough we play Dowling who is slow on one of their slow corner backs. Pat O Connor couldn't believe his luck. We really couldn't have done more to lose that game. Now we need to learn from our mistakes and move on.

welpastit (Limerick) - Posts: 740 - 24/06/2018 09:37:14    2114117

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Bubbles has played hot and cold and may not have been playing well enough in training anyway."
Bubbles in 2016 along with callinan was top 5 forwards in the country. I remember clear as day the talk leading up to that AI semi was should bubbles start or not and the large majority of pundits said tipp should not start him due to his rash and selfish red card. He came on as a sub and won the game for them and they destroyed kk in the final with bubbles outstanding. My point is man management of these situations can reinforce morale in a camp and also refocus the player himself. No doubt kiely got a few things wrong v Clare tactically and he being the man he is would be the first to admit it. But not starting gillane imo was the right call.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1197 - 24/06/2018 10:36:33    2114139

Replying To welpastit:  "You are right OTM there is no need for pessimism but every need to learn from our mistakes lest we are doomed to repeat them. Think about it Pat Ryan played a role in all the league knock out games and the first two championship games Reidy did not yet Reidy was on panel and Ryan not. Shot puck outs already well documented but just look at it this way. Clare start Conlon at full forward with a clear game plan of getting him on as much ball as possible. We then facilitate that by letting them bring short outs to almost midfield from where they can launch ball after ball down on top of him. To make matters even worse we then play a sweeper to help mark him when if we pushed up on puck outs we would simply have cut off his supply. Talk about ludicrous. As if that's not enough we play Dowling who is slow on one of their slow corner backs. Pat O Connor couldn't believe his luck. We really couldn't have done more to lose that game. Now we need to learn from our mistakes and move on."
I agree with a lot you said here. I do feel kiely just played it conservatively at half time being Only 4 points down with the wind in the second half. It was understandable at the time for me but it didn't work out and back fired badly for all the reasons you mentioned. He will learn a lot from it. The players looked mentally and physically not at it that day so it could be a lesson well learned and a shot in the arm for all involved for the rest of the year. We'll know in a few weeks time.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1197 - 24/06/2018 10:42:16    2114140

Watching the Senior players getting beaten up a stick on Thursday night was very disturbing. The night before all the Cork seniors playing U. 21s shone.

StandingBear (Limerick) - Posts: 257 - 24/06/2018 22:01:31    2114383

Replying To StandingBear:  "Watching the Senior players getting beaten up a stick on Thursday night was very disturbing. The night before all the Cork seniors playing U. 21s shone."
A bit unfair to say that. Some of those u21s have given the county great days out over the past 3 years. Tipperary won the minor in 2016 so it was obvious they were going to be a force especially in thurles in there backyard.

brud (Limerick) - Posts: 943 - 24/06/2018 22:47:50    2114416

Replying To Seeking_silver:  "It's as simple as this. Clare had their homework done and stopped us playing - what ever type of play we tried. Our puckouts were numbered by Clare short or long. They must have been thrilled when we made change of Ritchie for Mulcahy - and we had the very strong breeze in the 2nd half???
Personally, I would have swapped Gillan for Dowling at HT.
Clare totally neutralised or mid field in the first half. When Galvin and Kelly started getting on top in the 2nd we had no answer for them.

Clare backs bullied our forwards all afternoon- especially off the ball. They wouldn't let them move and pushed them out. I don't think Reidy is as innocent as everyon says. Heard reports that he ran across Byrnes but got a nice flick into his chest at the same time. Cuteness, unlike Condon.

IMO management deffo got it wrong with the HT change. Or halfback line (apart from Dan Morrissey) had no urgency about them and tapped the ball around like we were 10 pts up. When the Clare tactics had eventually wore us down we didn't have the energy to keep going and they went for the jugular. Final score probably not a true reflection of the game but was a true reflection of the last 6 minutes."
You heard reports? What a load of waffle.

Did you see the incident? I doubt you did because if you did you would not have seen Reidy run across anyone. Both players were looking at the play not at each other - Byrnes walked into Reidy and hit the ground.

Heard reports...........thats a good one alright.

Reidy's card has been rescinded and thats the end of it.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2697 - 25/06/2018 02:35:58    2114472

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "You heard reports? What a load of waffle.

Did you see the incident? I doubt you did because if you did you would not have seen Reidy run across anyone. Both players were looking at the play not at each other - Byrnes walked into Reidy and hit the ground.

Heard reports...........thats a good one alright.

Reidy's card has been rescinded and thats the end of it."
Hope discipline improves. last two senior games and under 21, Limerick had a player red carded. If that continues, it will be difficult to win.

cutter (Limerick) - Posts: 36 - 25/06/2018 15:27:21    2114741