Limerick Senior Hurling 2018.

Brendan Cummins had a nice piece in the indo on limerick. Still sees us as Galways main threat.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1197 - 19/06/2018 18:47:58    2113168

Replying To Oldtourman:  "That is the time to get behind this young team, otherwise one is only a bandwagoner."
First time I have ever heard the term bandwagoner. A bit rich suggesting that about someone you never met.

hailorshine (Limerick) - Posts: 70 - 19/06/2018 20:29:31    2113192

Replying To hailorshine:  "First time I have ever heard the term bandwagoner. A bit rich suggesting that about someone you never met."
Well sorry, that was over the top, but some of us, not necessarily you, tend to be either over optimistic or too quick to despair.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4490 - 19/06/2018 21:57:00    2113213

Replying To daveboy:  "Brendan Cummins had a nice piece in the indo on limerick. Still sees us as Galways main threat."
Ditto in same paper a piece by John Mullane. Both Mullane and Cummins are saying that Limerick just could not keep up their ultra high-octane game 3 weeks in a row. Both also saying only a fool would write them off this year.

Cummins is spot-on about the hype and hoopla frenzy - saying a lot of the reaction is knee-jerk. A week ago Limerick were the finished article. This week Clare are the real deal. If Cork beat Clare, the Rebels are then considered Gaillimh's main threat....and on it goes.

Truth is, despite all the noise, there are still about 5 teams in with a chance of winning it.

beirbua (Limerick) - Posts: 188 - 19/06/2018 22:29:32    2113218

Replying To brud:  "Someone on here talking sense. Dowling had to start 100% last Sunday. If we are to meet clare again this year in croke park we will win. I'm 100% confident we will get to croke park this year and it will take a fair performance from a team to beat us in a few weeks. We will be stronger after last Sunday. This team have given us 3 out of 4 fantastic performances in the Munster championship and an outstanding league campaign beating the all-ireland champions in there own backyard. We need to get behind and rally this team going forward not nail them like many on here are doing."
See this is what irks people about limerick and the hype machine. You have juts been beaten by 11 points and here you are stating if we meet again Limerick will win?? You have lost the last 3 championship games v Clare and you think this is an appropriate statement. My old friend DF made the same comment before we played ye in Munster last year. I couldnt believe my eyes.

Now i am not saying ye cant win but to say you will win is silly.

Clare are in a very good position now as from what i can see all the reports continue to talk about how great Limerick are and giving excuses for why they lost rather than how Clare won. Very little is being said about the team that beat ye by 11 scores. This is just the way we want it.

Its like Cummins and Mullane are intentionally doing Limerick a disservice by keeping the hype going. Ye need to move past what the pundits are saying as all that matters is the 75 minute battle on the pitch.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2697 - 19/06/2018 23:21:22    2113231

Replying To daveboy:  "Putting gillane straight in v Clare would have sent a poor message to the squad. Dowling had an excellent game against Waterford and I feel he wasn't as bad as people are making out. He's an easy target. For me he won a lot of ball and had to deal with an extra man on him for large parts. He tired last 20 with out a doubt. Kiely now has no such problems as the Gillane issue and will pick best team available in July. A lot of forwards didn't play well Sunday but I felt Dowling was one of our better ones"
last 20 minutes is a long time to be tired , maybe sub him then for Barry murphy , or stick him at the edge of square and bring on a third man for the full forward line when hegarty came off
unfortunately we couldnt bring pat ryan on as he wasnt on bench and we needed pace at that stage to burn the clare corner backs as they were tiring too . Whats done is done and whats won is won and whats lost is lost and gone forever
( As the song says ) and we have all opinions on what might have worked but we are only hurlers on the ditch and the Management have got it right in most games this year and i think they will again when our lads are rested and ready to have a crack at probably KK . I hope that the team and management dont lose focus for carlow or westmeath and take care of them with no hiccups but i would be very surprised if they did ,
These two teams arent in our class and no disrespect is intended here but at the same time they are a potential Banana skin especially westmeath but if we play anywhere near our capabilities we shouldnt encounter any problems and build for a quarter Final with a full forward line of Gillane , Flanagan and Mulcahy with peter Casey chomping at the bit along with Pat Ryan and Barry Murphy to come on but thats only my opinion . Good to see Peter Casey back for the u 21 s on Thursday and best of luck to all involved against Tipp ...LUIMNEACH ABU

WhipOnTheBall (Limerick) - Posts: 138 - 20/06/2018 08:38:28    2113262

Replying To daveboy:  "If you criticise kiely for not starting gillane v Clare you fail to grasp the ethos of a man trying to put together a panel capable of winning an all Ireland. Gillane relinquished his jersey v cork. He did it out of an act of immaturity and selfishness. He is a nailed on starter imo and will in the AI QF. But he must play his way back into the team or squad morale vanishes. No one is above the standards set by management. Kiely could not start him v Clare esp after the Waterford display. Anyone arguing this point baffles me."
Derek McGrath re introduced Kevin Moran after he got a red against Clare. He would have an understanding of the ethos of which you speak having come closer than any Waterford manager in nearly 70 years to landing the top one. in fact I can't remember any instance of a top player not being automatically reintroduced after receiving a one match ban. I'm not criticising Kiely either until last week he has been brilliant but if we don't analyse our mistakes we won't improve. In 2016 we played Clare in Thurles under TJ. We didn't push up on their puck outs and they went into an unassailable lead. In last 10 mins we pushed up we owned the ball but didn't have enough time to peg them back. Last year we played them in Thirles. Allowed short puck outs and they got a huge lead. For 10 mins we dropped Cian to midfield stopped short puck outs and clawed them back. We then moved back allowed short puck outs and they won handily enough. Cork beat them easily in final. This year Clare put their best ball winner in at full forward and we obliged them by allowing their corner and half backs bring short puck outs to a position where they could launch projectiles into Conlon at the edge of the square. Reason Conlon was so prominent was we allowed them to bring him into the game. If we forced them to go long they can only go to Duggan or even better bring Conlon out to half forward. Is it not reasonable to ask at what point our management will figure out that the way Clare are beaten is by simply pushing up and not allowing them short puck outs?

welpastit (Limerick) - Posts: 740 - 20/06/2018 09:29:11    2113276

Replying To welpastit:  "Derek McGrath re introduced Kevin Moran after he got a red against Clare. He would have an understanding of the ethos of which you speak having come closer than any Waterford manager in nearly 70 years to landing the top one. in fact I can't remember any instance of a top player not being automatically reintroduced after receiving a one match ban. I'm not criticising Kiely either until last week he has been brilliant but if we don't analyse our mistakes we won't improve. In 2016 we played Clare in Thurles under TJ. We didn't push up on their puck outs and they went into an unassailable lead. In last 10 mins we pushed up we owned the ball but didn't have enough time to peg them back. Last year we played them in Thirles. Allowed short puck outs and they got a huge lead. For 10 mins we dropped Cian to midfield stopped short puck outs and clawed them back. We then moved back allowed short puck outs and they won handily enough. Cork beat them easily in final. This year Clare put their best ball winner in at full forward and we obliged them by allowing their corner and half backs bring short puck outs to a position where they could launch projectiles into Conlon at the edge of the square. Reason Conlon was so prominent was we allowed them to bring him into the game. If we forced them to go long they can only go to Duggan or even better bring Conlon out to half forward. Is it not reasonable to ask at what point our management will figure out that the way Clare are beaten is by simply pushing up and not allowing them short puck outs?"
Totally agree with you on not pushing up on puckouts. It was a mistake. I think kiely felt at HT with only 4 down and a good breeze he would be conservative. This was a mistake as you outlined above. It made our HB line redundant. Kiely will learn from it no doubt. The more the week goes on the more I feel this team needed a bit of grounding. The result and it's nature was very circumstantial I do believe and we won't play that poorly or inefficiently again for a long time.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1197 - 20/06/2018 10:02:55    2113285

Replying To welpastit:  "Derek McGrath re introduced Kevin Moran after he got a red against Clare. He would have an understanding of the ethos of which you speak having come closer than any Waterford manager in nearly 70 years to landing the top one. in fact I can't remember any instance of a top player not being automatically reintroduced after receiving a one match ban. I'm not criticising Kiely either until last week he has been brilliant but if we don't analyse our mistakes we won't improve. In 2016 we played Clare in Thurles under TJ. We didn't push up on their puck outs and they went into an unassailable lead. In last 10 mins we pushed up we owned the ball but didn't have enough time to peg them back. Last year we played them in Thirles. Allowed short puck outs and they got a huge lead. For 10 mins we dropped Cian to midfield stopped short puck outs and clawed them back. We then moved back allowed short puck outs and they won handily enough. Cork beat them easily in final. This year Clare put their best ball winner in at full forward and we obliged them by allowing their corner and half backs bring short puck outs to a position where they could launch projectiles into Conlon at the edge of the square. Reason Conlon was so prominent was we allowed them to bring him into the game. If we forced them to go long they can only go to Duggan or even better bring Conlon out to half forward. Is it not reasonable to ask at what point our management will figure out that the way Clare are beaten is by simply pushing up and not allowing them short puck outs?"
Bubbles sent off v limerick in 2016. Didn't get back in team till behind Galway late on in AI semi. Waterford had an enormous injury crisis couple of weeks ago.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1197 - 20/06/2018 10:07:27    2113287

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Well sorry, that was over the top, but some of us, not necessarily you, tend to be either over optimistic or too quick to despair."
Well done Oldtourman

hailorshine (Limerick) - Posts: 70 - 20/06/2018 12:45:57    2113326

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "See this is what irks people about limerick and the hype machine. You have juts been beaten by 11 points and here you are stating if we meet again Limerick will win?? You have lost the last 3 championship games v Clare and you think this is an appropriate statement. My old friend DF made the same comment before we played ye in Munster last year. I couldnt believe my eyes.

Clare are in a very good position now as from what i can see all the reports continue to talk about how great Limerick are and giving excuses for why they lost rather than how Clare won. Very little is being said about the team that beat ye by 11 scores. This is just the way we want it.

Its like Cummins and Mullane are intentionally doing Limerick a disservice by keeping the hype going. Ye need to move past what the pundits are saying as all that matters is the 75 minute battle on the pitch."
Cork will beat clare in the Munster final. After the Munster final a fresh Wexford team will await ye in the Quarter final. I actually think ye won't win another game this year. Limerick will get to Croke Park this year. Wait and see.

brud (Limerick) - Posts: 943 - 20/06/2018 14:15:46    2113356

Bad day at the Office in Ennis but I don't think we have become a bad team overnight. A Munster title would have been nice but I think tiredness was a major factor. All managers were going on about rotating there teams with the new system but none of them actually did this. If you look at the games where teams were playing for the third week in a row there was a significant drop in performance
Cork V Limerick - Cork third game, out of it for most of second half against 14 men
Tipp V Waterford - Tipps 3rd game, their worst game of all four, only rallying at the end.
Waterford V Limerick - Waterford's 3rd game. out of game from start to finish
Limerick V Clare - Limerick significantly poorer than previously outings.

Although these players may train professionally they still have to work and physical and mental fatigue has been a major factor.

journeyman (Limerick) - Posts: 141 - 20/06/2018 14:29:55    2113362

Replying To brud:  "Cork will beat clare in the Munster final. After the Munster final a fresh Wexford team will await ye in the Quarter final. I actually think ye won't win another game this year. Limerick will get to Croke Park this year. Wait and see."
I dont even know what to say to that. Lose by 11 points, beat all over the park and your still that confident. Fairplay buddy, i like your style.

Dec82 (Clare) - Posts: 242 - 20/06/2018 19:16:38    2113429

Replying To journeyman:  "Bad day at the Office in Ennis but I don't think we have become a bad team overnight. A Munster title would have been nice but I think tiredness was a major factor. All managers were going on about rotating there teams with the new system but none of them actually did this. If you look at the games where teams were playing for the third week in a row there was a significant drop in performance
Cork V Limerick - Cork third game, out of it for most of second half against 14 men
Tipp V Waterford - Tipps 3rd game, their worst game of all four, only rallying at the end.
Waterford V Limerick - Waterford's 3rd game. out of game from start to finish
Limerick V Clare - Limerick significantly poorer than previously outings.

Although these players may train professionally they still have to work and physical and mental fatigue has been a major factor."
That is a really fair point re third day out an certain fatigue had a part to play but arguably Tipp's best performance of the year was against us and that was their 4th day out. Same with Waterford. They were pipped by Cork in the closing minutes in a performance as good if not better than their game v Tipp so really it is more complex than that I think.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2697 - 21/06/2018 02:05:15    2113484

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "That is a really fair point re third day out an certain fatigue had a part to play but arguably Tipp's best performance of the year was against us and that was their 4th day out. Same with Waterford. They were pipped by Cork in the closing minutes in a performance as good if not better than their game v Tipp so really it is more complex than that I think."
Tipp lost that game at home. Only team to lose at home. They tired very badly in last 10 mins. It was knockout hurling for them also so that elevated them. I agree with you re it being more complex. Limerick going to ennis fatigue definitely played a part but I think mentally they were not ready partly due to fatigue but partly due to already qualifying from Munster. When it's knockout in mid July they'll be a lot better prepared for the match.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1197 - 21/06/2018 09:41:24    2113503

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "That is a really fair point re third day out an certain fatigue had a part to play but arguably Tipp's best performance of the year was against us and that was their 4th day out. Same with Waterford. They were pipped by Cork in the closing minutes in a performance as good if not better than their game v Tipp so really it is more complex than that I think."
This third day out , 4 th day out conversation is getting tiresome now , yes we looked a beaten docket long before the final whistle and we looked sluggish and tired but at the end of the day yee were much sharper and played cuter hurling than us and deserved yeer victory and this talk that yee will go no further is just nonsense .
Clare have a good team and a clare supporter in Dan o Connells pub after the game said to me that " Clare were Back " , i told him that yee never went away and i believe that and i think yee will have a say yet in this championship so i dont know why people think otherwise on here , so congratulations on yeer well deserved victory and best of luck for the rest of the AI Series , but i am more concerned with Limerick and that flat performance , if players are tired then replace them as we are supposed to have a very strong squad and plenty good subs , Were the players were mentally tired also and possibly the fact they were in the latter stages of the AI Series and werent going to be knocked out if they lost fed into their heads , they are only human after all and trying to hold jobs down etc but if we are to be successful on the hurling field then We need to lose this attitude and try and win every game no matter whats at stake and be ruthless in every match
. i still think we should have played with 3 in the FF line in the second half aswell as stopping the short clare puckouts but that game is gone and this is only my opinion and hopefully kiely and co will learn from this as he is a much wiser man than me and i am sure he and the team will get it right the next day out and this loss might be a blessing in disguise to bring everyone back down to earth . ( although it didnt feel like that walking out of cusack park on sunday ) ,
So onward and upward and get back to doing what we did all year and we can certainly beat KK should we end up playing them in the Quarter Finals AND who knows where the year might take us . Luimneach Abu .
Bye the way the Clare Supporters i was drinking with after the match were very gracious in victory and didnt kick a man when he was down unlike other county supporters i have encountered after matches so fair play to them for that ...

WhipOnTheBall (Limerick) - Posts: 138 - 21/06/2018 11:20:43    2113532

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "See this is what irks people about limerick and the hype machine. You have juts been beaten by 11 points and here you are stating if we meet again Limerick will win?? You have lost the last 3 championship games v Clare and you think this is an appropriate statement. My old friend DF made the same comment before we played ye in Munster last year. I couldnt believe my eyes.

Its like Cummins and Mullane are intentionally doing Limerick a disservice by keeping the hype going. Ye need to move past what the pundits are saying as all that matters is the 75 minute battle on the pitch."
Look LRH
Clare beat Limerick and Clare in 93 and then Tipp absolutely wiped the floor with them in the Munster Final, beating them by far more than 11 points, yet the following Summer Clare knocked Tipp out of the Munster Championship. They were then the hottest of hot favorites to win the Munster title of 94. No less a pundit than Michael Keating was asked if Limerick, their Munster Final opponents, had any chance of victory in the final, he gave a less than ringing vote of confidence. 'They have a better chance than Tipp, I suppose' he said- not great encouragement, considering Tipp were already knocked out. Even the most ardent Limerick supporters faced that game with trepidation, yet Limerick swept Clare aside and led by 16 points,(25 to 9) with a few minutes remaining. Did Clare lose heart after a second disastrous final showing- not at all. They comprehensively beat Limerick the following year and almost true to form Limerick reversed that result the following year.
You said it would be almost certain that Clare should beat Limerick if they meet again as Clare had won the last three games involving these counties. Well Limerick beat Clare in 73,74,75 and 76 and it did not stop Clare beating them in 77. It should also be noted that Clare have only beaten Cork once,even it was an All Ireland Final, in this decade- does this mean they are outsiders against the rebels in the Munster Final?
My point is every young team, and some not so young, has had days like Limerick had last sunday. It us how they deal with this setback is important.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4490 - 21/06/2018 15:14:45    2113586

Replying To Dec82:  "I dont even know what to say to that. Lose by 11 points, beat all over the park and your still that confident. Fairplay buddy, i like your style."
Have you ever known teams who recovered after a heavy defeat? I would particularly refer to how your own county responded in 93 and 94. Offaly in 98 would also come to mind

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4490 - 21/06/2018 15:19:04    2113587

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Have you ever known teams who recovered after a heavy defeat? I would particularly refer to how your own county responded in 93 and 94. Offaly in 98 would also come to mind"
Oldtourman I too expect us to recover our earlier form but I think to be fair to the Clare lads we would be miffed too if we had won as they did and they were as dismissive of our win as we all have been of theres. Think it's better for all concerned if the players management and fans stop looking for excuses and just take our beating. Better to let the quarter final performance do our talking for us.

welpastit (Limerick) - Posts: 740 - 21/06/2018 18:23:22    2113622

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Have you ever known teams who recovered after a heavy defeat? I would particularly refer to how your own county responded in 93 and 94. Offaly in 98 would also come to mind"
I fully expect Limerick to recover and i hope they do, its good for the championship to have teams like Clare and Limerick getting to croke park. I was only being a bit sarcastic towards brud because his comment was fairly childish. Im not that naive to think that Limerick couldn't beat Clare with a few to spare if we met again. Its hurling, thats why i love it.

Dec82 (Clare) - Posts: 242 - 21/06/2018 19:39:08    2113631