https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/september-road-the-long-and-the-short-of-pitches-1.1844127
LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2697 - 19/06/2018 06:13:32 2112948 Link 0 |
The focus Fitzy is simple he doesn't have the mobility to be an inside forward with the system we play. Clare I bet couldn't believe their luck that we selected him. Their corner backs are two of the slowest in the game. Remember what Pat Ryan did to O Connor in the league QF. O Connor won't get it as easy for the rest of the year. Dowling was tailor made for him. We had a system and a team that was working and then we changed it. Our full forward line should have been Gillane Flanagan and Mul. McInerney is top class but the other two should have been ran at all day and then bring on Murphy and Ryan for second helpings with 15 mins to go. There is a lot being made of fatigue and I don't know if it was a factor but it shouldn't be allowed to hide the errors that were made yesterday by the sideline. They need to man up and take the blame for a lot that they got wrong. Also and I know many won't like it but with possibly Walter Walsh Flynn Cooney or even Conlon again in our future we need to look at Richie Mac for full back. If Dowling has a role it could be as a ball winner for Hegarty with 10 mins to go because it seems most agree Dempsey is not the answer here.
welpastit (Limerick) - Posts: 740 - 19/06/2018 07:58:38 2112951 Link 1 |
LRH higgins (Limerick) - Posts: 256 - 19/06/2018 10:48:56 2112984 Link 0 |
Agree with all 'Welpastit' says there. They changed a winning formula. Dowling is a good player but but he slows everything down. Pat Ryan should still be first sub into the corner forward position. There's a long summer ahead if Limerick learn from this. PeggyShippen (Limerick) - Posts: 300 - 19/06/2018 10:49:44 2112985 Link 0 |
Putting gillane straight in v Clare would have sent a poor message to the squad. Dowling had an excellent game against Waterford and I feel he wasn't as bad as people are making out. He's an easy target. For me he won a lot of ball and had to deal with an extra man on him for large parts. He tired last 20 with out a doubt. Kiely now has no such problems as the Gillane issue and will pick best team available in July. A lot of forwards didn't play well Sunday but I felt Dowling was one of our better ones
daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1197 - 19/06/2018 11:42:26 2113003 Link 2 |
A few Clare fans that i met laughed when it was said that its as big as Thurles OR Croke Park . Sometimes youve got to trust your own eyes, the pitch is small and tight
longtermfan (Limerick) - Posts: 120 - 19/06/2018 11:55:59 2113012 Link 0 |
I have to agree with most of that about Dowling and his pace . Gillane should have started on Sunday along with Flanagan and Mulcahy . Dowling done very well against a poor watfd team but Gillane has been doing the business all year . Why change a winning formula of our full forward line who were starting to connect with each other. One time Dowling was played for his free taking but even that has collapsed and this trying to give the man on the moon a sliotar for his collection every time he takes a free dosent make sense to me and he is losing his accuracy because of this . Impact full forward sub would be my place for him as he dosent have the pace for anywhere else and stay on the edge of the square as i think here Dowling can do serious damage . what has Pat Ryan and Barry Murphy done wrong all of a sudden that Barry Nash and David Dempsey are now coming off the bench before them . pat Ryan wasnt even on the bench as far as i know . Those two lads have done really well all year when brought on and this should be continued imo . Dont know if Nash is even fully fit after his injury a few weeks back but i would still bring on the two mentioned lads ahead of him at the moment . Half time we were 4 points down and a wind to play with in the second half so we were in a good position so why play two forwards inside, one of them who wasnt the most mobile . we needed 6 forwards and leave the ball into them fairly sharpish and see where it takes us especially when clare were pulling away and we needed goals . Plant someone at the edge of the square that can catch a sliotar and leave him there to rattle the net or break it down to oncoming runners who could bury it but ball after ball went in to our two man FF line and came straight back out and it looked like we had 10 men on the pitch instead of 14 . Anyway whats done is done now so we have to regroup , refresh and go back to playing the way we done all year and learn from Sunday and most of all play our own game and forget about trying to contain teams and our own system suffer as a result . i would guess we will be playing KK in the quarter Final depending if Galway really want to win Leinster or not and i have a feeling we will rise to that game and overcome the cats . Forget about Sunday and we can still have a big say in this championship and make this great year even better..Keep the Faith...LUIMNEACH ABU . WhipOnTheBall (Limerick) - Posts: 138 - 19/06/2018 12:03:49 2113014 Link 0 |
Gillane was excellent against Tipperary and in every single league game all year. He has been our stand out forward by a country mile. I think dropping him sent out a far worse message to the panel. He was national U 21 player of the year last year and a nailed down All Star based on his displays before Cork game.
welpastit (Limerick) - Posts: 740 - 19/06/2018 12:56:16 2113040 Link 0 |
All great points, Jim bob..well said!
PatOLogical (Limerick) - Posts: 1377 - 19/06/2018 13:06:41 2113047 Link 0 |
Typical limerick supporters reading some of the above posts. Hindsight they know everything. If kiely dropped Dowling after his performance against Waterford and we lost to clare still then kiely would have been hung out to dry. Dowling had to start and Gillane left us down against Cork with a silly moment of madness. How could Dowling be dropped after his performance against Waterford? Silly to even suggest this. If his dropped next day then fair enough but kiely couldn't drop him last Sunday. brud (Limerick) - Posts: 943 - 19/06/2018 13:14:55 2113049 Link 4 |
Batman ,I blv you are replying to the wrong post as I did not bash Tom Condon, which appears to be what you are insinuating. I agree what he did was silly , but as more often than not we see only the reaction and not the provocation. (what caused Tom to react as he did?) . Am a big fan of Tom Condon's "steely resolve" and attribute what he did to the heat of battle. While I don't Condone his his "blown lid" yesterday, overall I would like to think and I have probably said this before, his no nonsense physicality/toughness /approach is being adopted by the team as a whole especially this year. He He has been rightly punished and I look forward to seeing his teak toughness him back in the Green and white as soon as possible. Come On Ye Boys In Green!! PatOLogical (Limerick) - Posts: 1377 - 19/06/2018 13:28:53 2113055 Link 1 |
That is the time to get behind this young team, otherwise one is only a bandwagoner.
Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4490 - 19/06/2018 13:53:27 2113061 Link 0 |
You are dead right about Ritchie. The Kilkenny Full Forward was held scoreless from play below in Nowlan Park last year, as in 11 months ago, and Ritchie led the line that day.
Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4490 - 19/06/2018 13:56:15 2113062 Link 2 |
Labelling Dowling as one of the main reasons why we were so poor is just simply incorrect imo. People love to criticise him and he seems to be held to different standards than others. You could have played Flanagan at full forward, you could have put Joe Canning in there either way we would still have lost with the way the rest of the team performed. Did Mulcahy, Flanagan, Hegarty, Hayes work harder and play better than him, i honestly don't think so, i'm not saying he is a world beater by any means and will have to work hard to keep his place but i do think it is unfair to single him out over others. There were failings in all lines of the field. Also i wouldn't say Gillane was dropped, I would say Dowling held his place after playing very well against Waterford while Gillane was suspended. Fitzy01 (Limerick) - Posts: 433 - 19/06/2018 14:49:30 2113084 Link 1 |
Not hindsight Brud said Gillane should be started in a post after Waterford game. He has been immense as a target man and a scorer all year. How can playing well in one game put a player in front of a player who has been our stand out forward all year? Especially since that one game was so one sided against a depleted team. You are right in one sense there is no point in looking for a pound of flesh. We are where we are important thing is how we go forward and surely now our full forward line needs to be Gillane Flanagan and Mul. Peter Casey might push Mul. Thursday will be interesting from that perspective be interesting to see if Casey has found his magic of old.
welpastit (Limerick) - Posts: 740 - 19/06/2018 15:14:15 2113090 Link 0 |
Our best front line (in the absence of Casey at the moment ) is Mul, Flanagan and Gillane. beirbua (Limerick) - Posts: 188 - 19/06/2018 16:34:23 2113133 Link 1 |
I must say Limerick looked a bit flat on Sunday. skule111 (Limerick) - Posts: 119 - 19/06/2018 17:01:36 2113144 Link 0 |
If you criticise kiely for not starting gillane v Clare you fail to grasp the ethos of a man trying to put together a panel capable of winning an all Ireland. Gillane relinquished his jersey v cork. He did it out of an act of immaturity and selfishness. He is a nailed on starter imo and will in the AI QF. But he must play his way back into the team or squad morale vanishes. No one is above the standards set by management. Kiely could not start him v Clare esp after the Waterford display. Anyone arguing this point baffles me.
daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1197 - 19/06/2018 17:10:04 2113146 Link 4 |
Someone on here talking sense. Dowling had to start 100% last Sunday. If we are to meet clare again this year in croke park we will win. I'm 100% confident we will get to croke park this year and it will take a fair performance from a team to beat us in a few weeks. We will be stronger after last Sunday. This team have given us 3 out of 4 fantastic performances in the Munster championship and an outstanding league campaign beating the all-ireland champions in there own backyard. We need to get behind and rally this team going forward not nail them like many on here are doing.
brud (Limerick) - Posts: 943 - 19/06/2018 18:08:28 2113157 Link 1 |
What's with the negativity and criticism of players and management when Sunday morning the same poster's and national commentators were hailing us as the biggest challengers to Galway. Could it not be the fact that we were just tired and gassed by playing our 3rd game in a row-every other team in the country gave their worst performance in their 3rd game in a row and we were no different. Our game is based on very high work rate and we just didn't have this on Sunday and if your tired you rush your clearance, you snatch at things, you fall of tackles you misplace passes and shots- we did all this so those who said we could win Liam last week and are now writing us off need to put into perspective how many games we played in 3 weeks. I think Kiely now has a chance to tweek the team after this defeat and get us fresh and right for the next challenge which we are capable of meeting and doing very well in. updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 899 - 19/06/2018 18:29:43 2113164 Link 1 |