Limerick Senior Hurling 2018.

as bad as today feels i think it will stand to the team i think if we meet them later in the year we will get the better of them forwards were very poor but this team will come again and are not out of this championship by a long chalk.
this is nothing like 2013, That might be Clare,s big game today. we are a lot better than today, fair play to Clare they were better on the day but i still believe in this team i still think we have been the best team in this Munster championship 2018 and its the first time we have met top quality teams week in week out on league or championship in years. i have no doubt this team will bounce back

Limdreamer (Limerick) - Posts: 84 - 17/06/2018 18:03:54    2112324

Very flat and lethargic today.. Always knew going to ennis wud be tough. While a bit down over it, it also is no harm to bring this young talented bunch down to earth a bit. They were in a high since the league. They have a second chance and i think this defeat will stand to them. I still reckon galway will be the hardest to beat but if KK lose leinster I would not fear playing them at all. Had more fear going to ennis. Wexford should hage enough also for the loser of munster i think so its limerick v KK and wexford V cork for qf. Lim v galway in semi, wex v clare... And we meet clare in final and pay one back!!!!!

luimneachboy (Limerick) - Posts: 242 - 17/06/2018 18:41:41    2112340

First of all congratulations to our Minors for a great result and best of luck to them v Tipp on July 1st.
Congratulations to Clare for an outstanding performance today , out run , out passed , out played and out scored Limerick today.
From the start we looked sluggish and tired , our first touch was poor , Clare's pace and sheer hard work forced frees all day long and Duggan punished us for almost every one , We were poor in front of the posts too , even Dowling right from the start bottled it today Peter Duggan won the shooting competition hands down.
I didn't see the Condon incident so don't know what happened but red card never good.
Bad day at the office for sure but I'm sure after a short break they will be back and extend this season a bit longer , we are still in it I imagine some lessons will have been learned today , why there was such a lack of energy etc ?

jimbob50 (Limerick) - Posts: 100 - 17/06/2018 18:42:15    2112342

I think after today's performance Peter casey will be starting when fit

upthetreatyboys (Limerick) - Posts: 104 - 17/06/2018 18:47:22    2112346

Replying To upthetreatyboys:  "I think after today's performance Peter casey will be starting when fit"
Peter Casey may start and that would be good. Maybe Kyle Hayes should be midfield with Lynch aswell. O Donovan wasn't good enough today. Scored one good sideline and gave Clare a point from another....topped another one.
The short puck from goalie to corner back does not suit limerick. It's fine to go short further out the field to manufacture scores but why play 6'4 inch players if your not going to hit them from puck outs

PeggyShippen (Limerick) - Posts: 300 - 17/06/2018 19:08:09    2112359

Replying To upthetreatyboys:  "I think after today's performance Peter casey will be starting when fit"
Personally I think changing our full forward line was a contributor to our defeat. Id also ask if posters on here think that Barry Nash should be ahead of Murphy and Pat Ryan. Both always contributed when introduced so I cannot see why that was changed today. Think our way back is for our management to admit that they got a lot wrong today. We have been reading about players saying we have our own system we are comfortable with it and we know we can impose it on opponents. Then today from the start we abandon our own system and we try to out Clare Clare by adopting their system. Kiely and Co have been brilliant before today but I think pressure should be taken off the players now and the sideline should admit that they got this one very wrong. Time to stop tinkering around time to go back to what we know and to impose it on others.

welpastit (Limerick) - Posts: 740 - 17/06/2018 19:30:50    2112376

i will back our hurling team kiely and his back room team all the way,our lads are honest hard working and this crop of players have always given their all.hence the great following their getting from our limerick supporters ,but when it comes to the sheer skill of hurling and maken the ball talk, clare are and have been streets ahead of us for a good while,you either have it in the wrists or not.

whatsleftref (Limerick) - Posts: 28 - 17/06/2018 20:08:25    2112388

Replying To PeggyShippen:  "Peter Casey may start and that would be good. Maybe Kyle Hayes should be midfield with Lynch aswell. O Donovan wasn't good enough today. Scored one good sideline and gave Clare a point from another....topped another one.
The short puck from goalie to corner back does not suit limerick. It's fine to go short further out the field to manufacture scores but why play 6'4 inch players if your not going to hit them from puck outs"
Donovan looked way off the pace and looked empty from early in the second half. I think the big issue coming out of the round robin is our indiscipline. Two red cards in two away games isn't good enough. The manner in which we got them is most worrying. Both were off the ball and in front of the officials. I hope Kiely takes this one more seriously than he took Gillanes one. He needs to take a stand on it imo. We are being punished heavily on the free count too.
All in all it was a very disappointing end to the round robin and it is worrying how easily we lost our composure and, in some cases, gave up on the game especially when there was so much at stake. They were playing for a Munster final spot but you wouldn't have thought it. The decision at half time was baffling. If you need a back we had three forwards who are more comfortable at that end of the field but we were struggling to get a foothold in the game and had the advantage of the wind in the second half. I think the sending off rattled them and led to this poor decision. Our bench isn't as good as we think it is either.
I think we are looking at Galway in a quarter final. I presume that will be in Thurles and that will suit us. I think we are good enough to beat them but they are improving too and we need to handle expectation better. We didn't deal with that today and Clare did. They were up for it and we weren't.
Hopefully this was a blip and not a sign that nothing much has changed mentally.

Tadhgmacda (Limerick) - Posts: 99 - 17/06/2018 20:16:01    2112394

Replying To Tadhgmacda:  "Donovan looked way off the pace and looked empty from early in the second half. I think the big issue coming out of the round robin is our indiscipline. Two red cards in two away games isn't good enough. The manner in which we got them is most worrying. Both were off the ball and in front of the officials. I hope Kiely takes this one more seriously than he took Gillanes one. He needs to take a stand on it imo. We are being punished heavily on the free count too.
All in all it was a very disappointing end to the round robin and it is worrying how easily we lost our composure and, in some cases, gave up on the game especially when there was so much at stake. They were playing for a Munster final spot but you wouldn't have thought it. The decision at half time was baffling. If you need a back we had three forwards who are more comfortable at that end of the field but we were struggling to get a foothold in the game and had the advantage of the wind in the second half. I think the sending off rattled them and led to this poor decision. Our bench isn't as good as we think it is either.
I think we are looking at Galway in a quarter final. I presume that will be in Thurles and that will suit us. I think we are good enough to beat them but they are improving too and we need to handle expectation better. We didn't deal with that today and Clare did. They were up for it and we weren't.
Hopefully this was a blip and not a sign that nothing much has changed mentally."
Why was Condon ever brought on anyway, surely Seamus Hickey or Ritchie McCarthy was a far better option

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4490 - 17/06/2018 20:29:29    2112403

Replying To PeggyShippen:  "Bad day at the office for the management. To leave Dowling on and take Flanagan off was shocking. Flanagan should have been started full and Gillane in the corner. Dowling doesn't have the wheels for Championship. Over all Clare were way sharper. Morrisseys were both good. Sobering to see how limited some of the forwards were. Both Hegarty and Hayes looked like they were backs filling in today...and that's what they are. They haven't the nous for the forwards."
I thought Dowling showed well compared with many others. He was winning ball and working hard. Not sure why you would single him out when there were far worse. Dan Morrissey was one of the few who went well I thought. Cian Lynch worked hard but things didn't roll for him.

Fitzy01 (Limerick) - Posts: 433 - 17/06/2018 20:34:03    2112406

Replying To PeggyShippen:  "Peter Casey may start and that would be good. Maybe Kyle Hayes should be midfield with Lynch aswell. O Donovan wasn't good enough today. Scored one good sideline and gave Clare a point from another....topped another one.
The short puck from goalie to corner back does not suit limerick. It's fine to go short further out the field to manufacture scores but why play 6'4 inch players if your not going to hit them from puck outs"
Exactly. Antony Nash is a master of the short puck out, yet we negavated this with just two fleet footed forwards. Then we bring on Dowling who simply cannot move and utterly failed to close down their short puck outs.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4490 - 17/06/2018 20:35:40    2112408

Replying To Tadhgmacda:  "Donovan looked way off the pace and looked empty from early in the second half. I think the big issue coming out of the round robin is our indiscipline. Two red cards in two away games isn't good enough. The manner in which we got them is most worrying. Both were off the ball and in front of the officials. I hope Kiely takes this one more seriously than he took Gillanes one. He needs to take a stand on it imo. We are being punished heavily on the free count too.
Hopefully this was a blip and not a sign that nothing much has changed mentally."
Sorry I think we are looking at Kilkenny in a quarterfinal not Galway!

Tadhgmacda (Limerick) - Posts: 99 - 17/06/2018 20:48:39    2112413

Good enough to beat Galway in Thurles ??? Really ?
Love your optimism but after today's performance I am struggling to share it but hope you are right.

jimbob50 (Limerick) - Posts: 100 - 17/06/2018 20:50:47    2112414

I felt today we were a lot less direct than in the other 3 games. We over did it with the tippy tappy passing compared to our performance in the other 3 games. I have massive respect for our manager and the system but I felt today we got a few little things wrong. We can learn and drive on and maybe the possibility of a Quarter final clash with the Cats in thurles might be just what this team needs.

brud (Limerick) - Posts: 943 - 17/06/2018 21:17:23    2112420

Replying To Fitzy01:  "I thought Dowling showed well compared with many others. He was winning ball and working hard. Not sure why you would single him out when there were far worse. Dan Morrissey was one of the few who went well I thought. Cian Lynch worked hard but things didn't roll for him."
Well now Tom Morrissey got three points from play and seemed to be of the few Limerick players who won balls in rucks, so I felt he played OK too. I also thought it was a bad decision to take off Seamus Flanagan when we did, as other were playing much worse at the time.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4490 - 17/06/2018 21:19:38    2112423

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Exactly. Antony Nash is a master of the short puck out, yet we negavated this with just two fleet footed forwards. Then we bring on Dowling who simply cannot move and utterly failed to close down their short puck outs."
Exactly Mulcahy and Flanagan excelled against Cork. Surely Dowling should have gone before Mulcahy. Kiely n co really need to put their hands up here

welpastit (Limerick) - Posts: 740 - 17/06/2018 21:27:00    2112427

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Sorry lads but Diarmuid Byrnes should be ashamed of himself! Disgusting"
Blame the ref not Byrnes not a red but elbow straight into chest when not extpecting it probably winded dosent go down unless hurt....easy post stupid comments here like he dived look again...praise when winning lose one game and get slated tired today not at the races that happens...

championselect (Limerick) - Posts: 32 - 17/06/2018 21:28:56    2112428

id be critical of management with the halftime change.id like to have seen limerick put pressure on clare with 6 forwards.thought it showed a lack of belief in the backs.from the missed free at the start i always felt limerick were struggling.clare backs were very good and apart from tom none of the others made any headway.when the extra space was there galvin and kelly played great stuff.have to compliment dan again at half back,thought he really took the game to clare.its not over yet and maybe a break might do some of these fellas good,it might also dampen some over the top reaction from some supporters.it was a bad day but i expect a huge response from the panel.management may have to make big calls in next few weeks which wont be popular with some players.

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2505 - 17/06/2018 21:29:51    2112430

People need to remember the most important stat from this championship is that the home team win at a 70% rate. From now on its all neutral venue's.

brud (Limerick) - Posts: 943 - 17/06/2018 21:43:14    2112434

Very disappointing performance both on the field and on the sideline today. This Clare team are seriously physical and driven. No great surprise that they won their 2 home games.
Not making excuses as I think that even at their best Limerick probably would not have won in Ennis but it is a fact that all four teams that played four successive weeks were beaten in their last game.

Westfester (Limerick) - Posts: 979 - 17/06/2018 22:01:05    2112442