Limerick Senior Hurling 2018.

Replying To fainleog:  "You can be sure Dowling will start, after scoring 15pts. today."
That's not a given. 13 of those points were from frees. Good dilemma for management

Westfester (Limerick) - Posts: 979 - 10/06/2018 23:04:24    2109646

Replying To Westfester:  "I think the Cork Tipp draw was the ideal result for Limerick.
I would expect the Clare Limerick match to be a winner take all fixture with the winner joining Cork in the Munster Final and the loser out or at best in 3rd place."
Good to make the top 3. The Ennis game will be the toughest test yet. By the way in my opinion Clare are entitled to their home games and the chance of it being moved is zero.
The new format has meant only one dead rubber game between the two groups. And even then the Galway Dublin game was good quality.

Westfester (Limerick) - Posts: 979 - 11/06/2018 00:33:03    2109673

Replying To Oldtourman:  "I have tried Supervalue and the net and no hope of tickets. Surely this game should be changed to Thurles. The whole idea of Ennis having the capacity to accommodate all those who want to see this game was ludicrous. Congratulations to Limerick on a fine display today and likewise to our friends from Clare. From a Limerick point of view just keep the hype and heads down."
Thurles ? Are you joking ?

Do you understand the home and away arrangement at all? If you havent picked up tickets for this game by now its your own fault. You could have bought them at your leisure at anytime up to yesterday.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2697 - 11/06/2018 02:25:23    2109684

Replying To Westfester:  "That's not a given. 13 of those points were from frees. Good dilemma for management"
Dowling is nailed on.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1197 - 11/06/2018 03:21:43    2109687

Replying To PeggyShippen:  "Tickets very slow on the internet but I got a few for my parents in the east terrace which is behind the goals. It's going to be a great occasion. Clare were atrocious for long periods of today. Tipperarys luck ran out at last , the one day they actually hurled well for long periods. They don't have the athleticism for today's hurling and they were out on their feet at the end.
For Clare Kelly must have a serious look at his striking because his wides were shocking . But Clare will be better the next day and they 'll be very hard to beat. It 'll be some atmosphere in Ennis"
Agreed re Kelly - his striking has been poor. At the end of the day though he is very capable as we all know and can catch fire at any moment.

Strange to think we scored 1-14 in the second half in Thurles yesterday with Kelly fairly anonymous.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2697 - 11/06/2018 04:52:38    2109689

Replying To Oldtourman:  "I have tried Supervalue and the net and no hope of tickets. Surely this game should be changed to Thurles. The whole of Ennis having the capacity to accommodate all those who want to see this game was ludicrous. Congratulations to Limerick on a fine display today. Just keep the hype and heads down."
it wont be changed to thurles its clares home game and anyone that is looking for tickets now dont deserve them....this was well flagged for the last month..i got mine 3 weeks ago as i said after tipp game the clare match will be a sell out....whu didnt you buy them last week????

munsterchamps (Limerick) - Posts: 1138 - 11/06/2018 06:35:17    2109692

Think we need to forget yesterday as soon as possible. I have no doubt that we are better than Waterford but we are not 13 points better if they had their full team. Now it's time to focus on Clare. Three weeks ago I really wouldn't have given Clare a second thought even in Ennis but they have improved. They have replaced Morey with Shanahan and like us they now have a strong combatative half back line. They also have Podge back to his old self and this is a huge bonus. They will start Duggan on Morrissey and this worked v well for them in the latter stages of the league QF. However Morrissey is much improved and even if he doesn't hold Duggan Byrnes will. With the exception of McInerney their full back line is very poor I'd go with Gillane Flanagan and Mul and expect they will do the business if quick ball is played into space. Limerick by 3+ for me.

welpastit (Limerick) - Posts: 740 - 11/06/2018 08:46:11    2109715

Complete performance yesterday. Cian Lynch, Kyle Hayes and Shane Dowling were as good as they've ever been in a Limerick jersey. Dowling was class from frees but his work rate was also much higher and his first touch and ball winning ability was unreal. Surprised that we didnt see Condon or Richie Mac, Our full back line are among the best in the country but if one gets injured who comes on? Hickey will hardly play in that line again and we havnt seen any alternatives since Richie came on against Galway (dont think subs were made against Clare/Tipp in the league?).

Looking forward to next weekend in Ennis, it will be interesting to see if both teams start with their strongest 15. David Riedy hasnt got a look in yet and Pat Ryan wasnt used at the weekend, they might be under pressure from Peter Casey and Gillane who will surely get back in at some stage. Could Graeme Mul be under pressure from Gillane? Will Dowling keep his place? Some great selection headaches to have!

McFan88 (Limerick) - Posts: 449 - 11/06/2018 09:17:14    2109727

Absolutely thrilling game yesterday. At least the game against Clare isn't a dead rubber. Thankfully we are guaranteed an All Ireland series. Not sure who I would start in the Full Forward line vs Clare after the last game, Flanagan was a bit quite but his off the ball movement was immense - he was contantly a free man and would have slotted in a goal or 2 given the chance. Mul has been on fire this championship and given consistent performances each game. Gillane has been superb besides the incident vs Cork. Dowling was like a new man yesterday, his control/passing/workrate were superb and it appeared to me as if his pace improved. Perhaps Dowlings performance does merit him to start vs Clare. Already have my tickets bought and looking forward to the game.

Gavin94 (Limerick) - Posts: 77 - 11/06/2018 10:03:11    2109758

Replying To Gavin94:  "Absolutely thrilling game yesterday. At least the game against Clare isn't a dead rubber. Thankfully we are guaranteed an All Ireland series. Not sure who I would start in the Full Forward line vs Clare after the last game, Flanagan was a bit quite but his off the ball movement was immense - he was contantly a free man and would have slotted in a goal or 2 given the chance. Mul has been on fire this championship and given consistent performances each game. Gillane has been superb besides the incident vs Cork. Dowling was like a new man yesterday, his control/passing/workrate were superb and it appeared to me as if his pace improved. Perhaps Dowlings performance does merit him to start vs Clare. Already have my tickets bought and looking forward to the game."
you have 2 full forward lines which is better

mulcahy dowling flanagan

or

casey gillane nash

serious options.

munsterchamps (Limerick) - Posts: 1138 - 11/06/2018 10:12:27    2109762

Apparently ye have taken all our tickets!! Its going to be more like a home game for limerick than Clare!!

Just for the laugh (and get myself into trouble) im gonna have a go at picking a combined 15;
1.Touhy 2.Finn 3.McInerney 4.English 5.Byrnes 6.Cleary 7.Morrissey 8.Galvin 9.Lynch 10.Duggan 11.Kelly 12.Hegarty 13.Gillane 14.Conlon 15.O'Donnell.
Flanagan deserves a place to be fair but I dont know who to take our for him. Hannon/cleary was 50/50 to be honest albeit very different players..

hurlingexpert (Clare) - Posts: 1941 - 11/06/2018 11:04:10    2109807

Replying To hurlingexpert:  "Apparently ye have taken all our tickets!! Its going to be more like a home game for limerick than Clare!!

Just for the laugh (and get myself into trouble) im gonna have a go at picking a combined 15;
1.Touhy 2.Finn 3.McInerney 4.English 5.Byrnes 6.Cleary 7.Morrissey 8.Galvin 9.Lynch 10.Duggan 11.Kelly 12.Hegarty 13.Gillane 14.Conlon 15.O'Donnell.
Flanagan deserves a place to be fair but I dont know who to take our for him. Hannon/cleary was 50/50 to be honest albeit very different players.."
You would start Tuohy in goals ahead of Quaid? How many times has Tuohy dropped the ball or made huge mistakes. I wouldn't put any Clare player into our starting 15 we dont need them. Luimneach abu!!!

Limerick__73 (Limerick) - Posts: 73 - 11/06/2018 11:21:05    2109831

thanks be to god ive my tickets got.will head for ennis very early to give support to minors.i always thought clare game was going to decide who got out in munster,except i had tipp before cork.will be a melting pot in cusack park and what a match to look forward to.home advantage will probably give clare a 2 point start but with this limerick team they are never dead.great selection headache for kiely,dowling or gillane?i myself would start dowling and with 25 to go bring in gillane to really stretch the clare full back line.i also think clare will try and stretch our full back line and with podge looking back to his best he might cause a few problems.midfield could be huge as all 4 know one another so well from college.cian has been outstanding but donovan has added steel to our midfield and is chipping in with vital scores..our half forward line have been immense and workrate like i havnt seen in years..best of luck to all involved with limerick and hopefully a munster final place after next sunday.

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2505 - 11/06/2018 11:29:44    2109839

Replying To beirbua:  "Apologies, Whip on the Ball, you got it right - Dowling in for Flanagan. Will be interesting to see if he stake frees. Will also be interesting to see how fit and mobile he is. The condition of all players used so far this year has been superb. If Shane has moved up a notch as well, he will be real handful.

Delighted to see Nash on the bench. Himself, Pat Ryan and Barry Murphy are all excellent impact options up front.

Whilst we are a fast rising force, Déise will be dangerous as they are good and are at last chance saloon.
Another potential Munster thriller in store. Luimneach abú!"
No need to apoligise , we are all just having a go at who we think may come on or go off , i am just glad the move worked out well with Dowling scoring 15 points and looking very sharp and hungry . Amazing what competition for places can do , i said it on the way to the match that i felt Dowling would put in a big performance to more or less say to kiely that you should be starting me and Dowling has certainly put his hand up for next weekend and has given jk a selection headache .
if Gillane and Dowling start who then would take the frees as i think Mul might be touch and go to start and Flanagan would complete the trio for the Full Forward Line ,, i personally would put Dowling on them if this happens given the experience he has under pressure cooker games but either of them are capable ...Back to yesterdays match it was a fantastic effort by our lads and the tempo was top class for the throw in .
Left a few goals after us but good to see players finally running at defences and having a pop at scoring goals unfortunately we didnt score the goals but we still won comfortably but i dont take any massive joy in knocking waterford out as they are like ourselves knocking on the door along time .
The confidence in the team is building week by week and it will take some effort from clare to beat us next sunday if we carry on where we left off from the Tipp , cork and watfd games... , should be some battle but i am confident we can do it and have a crack at cork in the Muns Final but the most important thing for me is we are still in the All Ire Series and who knows how far we can go ..Great Stuff Limk , keep it up

WhipOnTheBall (Limerick) - Posts: 138 - 11/06/2018 11:30:39    2109840

Replying To munsterchamps:  "you have 2 full forward lines which is better

mulcahy dowling flanagan

or

casey gillane nash

serious options."
Definitely, both have been exceptional but I would guess that with Gillane back that Kiely will revert to his first choice of Gillane, Flanagan and Mul.

Gavin94 (Limerick) - Posts: 77 - 11/06/2018 11:37:11    2109847

Replying To CTGAA10:  "thanks be to god ive my tickets got.will head for ennis very early to give support to minors.i always thought clare game was going to decide who got out in munster,except i had tipp before cork.will be a melting pot in cusack park and what a match to look forward to.home advantage will probably give clare a 2 point start but with this limerick team they are never dead.great selection headache for kiely,dowling or gillane?i myself would start dowling and with 25 to go bring in gillane to really stretch the clare full back line.i also think clare will try and stretch our full back line and with podge looking back to his best he might cause a few problems.midfield could be huge as all 4 know one another so well from college.cian has been outstanding but donovan has added steel to our midfield and is chipping in with vital scores..our half forward line have been immense and workrate like i havnt seen in years..best of luck to all involved with limerick and hopefully a munster final place after next sunday."
Great post and very accurate about the full forward question. I do think one other consideration is the full back position. I think Mike Casey has been immense since he came into the squad but it looked as though he was having difficulty with Maurice Shanahan when Shanahan came on at half time. I think maybe we should still stick with Casey but keep an eye on how he performs.

Gavin94 (Limerick) - Posts: 77 - 11/06/2018 11:44:02    2109856

Replying To Gavin94:  "Definitely, both have been exceptional but I would guess that with Gillane back that Kiely will revert to his first choice of Gillane, Flanagan and Mul."
i was just wondering how wide is cusack park as this might determine if mul starts as he needs space to run into with his blistering pace rather than high balls raining down on top of him as was the case for years .
Would Kiely not consider Gillane , Dowling and Flananagan to start in the Full forward line or is it a case of Gillane or Dowling ?
Some Big decisions for JK and his management team and great options on the bench . Good to see Nash get a bit of game time yesterday aswell although he could have come on a bit sooner imo to get into it . Come early next sunday Lads to shout on a wonderful minor team aswell ..

WhipOnTheBall (Limerick) - Posts: 138 - 11/06/2018 11:54:07    2109863

Wonderful result yesterday that leaves Limerick in a great position. Talking of switching the game to Thurles is ridiculous. Clare are entitled to their home games just like us. In fact, Ennis might even suit Limerick more than Clare because of our size and physical power. Also if I was a Clare supporter, I would be worried about the elation after winning yesterday and how it might affect their performance next week.

The best thing for Limerick is to continue to stay below the radar. The optimism and hype in the county is starting to rise and we need to control it because it never goes well for us when we allow "optimism" to pervade excessively. Maybe we got lucky that our match was not live on TV and all the focus was on Tipp - Clare?

I expect that Limerick will go the Ennis and will win because I believe that we're the better team but I won't be crying into my milk if we get overturned and end up in a quarter final after a decent break (and what will probably be a turkey shoot against a Joe McDonagh team). The worst case scenario is that we lose the Munster final which puts you under pressure for a quarter final shortly afterwards.

Bottom line is that Ennis is not the knock out the championship game that it's getting hyped up to be and Kiely might even make a few changes to freshen up the starting XV on that basis. It will be fascinating to see how he goes about it but I reiterate that I expect Limerick to win.

Finally - the future for Limerick is very bright. I'm not impressed by Cork or KK (despite their 9 lives) so the opportunity for counties outside the traditional top 3 to win an All Ireland is there similar to the 90's. Clare need to do it soon if they are going to because they have nothing coming through from underage. Wexford are limited. We saw their U21 team in 2015 and it wasn't good enough so there's very chance that Limerick and Galway will be the primary contenders in the immediate future.

I know I should heed my own words and stop daring to dream. One match at a time and let's not lose of run of ourselves. But dreaming is an unconscious thing and the dream is of a Limerick captain with a cup in his hands on the steps of the Hogan Stand saying the works "Ta alan athas orm". The mortality rate in the county will explode if it happens.

Dealer (Limerick) - Posts: 837 - 11/06/2018 12:07:48    2109882

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Thurles ? Are you joking ?

Do you understand the home and away arrangement at all? If you havent picked up tickets for this game by now its your own fault. You could have bought them at your leisure at anytime up to yesterday."
I agree that home advantage is huge. Going to Thurles for Clare v Limerick is unnecessary. I know many people from Clare who would prefer all Clare championship games in Limerick. Cusack Park could be dangerous on Sunday with 19,000 supporters. It was a sardine tin with 11,000 a few years ago. I'm looking forward to going to Ennis though..

PeggyShippen (Limerick) - Posts: 300 - 11/06/2018 12:34:54    2109906

Replying To Limerick__73:  "You would start Tuohy in goals ahead of Quaid? How many times has Tuohy dropped the ball or made huge mistakes. I wouldn't put any Clare player into our starting 15 we dont need them. Luimneach abu!!!"
Sour bitter head on You in fact Touhy hasent made a single mistake this year and i have seen Crusheen & Clare so many times and cant remember any of these alleged howlers

Sunday will tell a tale for Clare & Limerick

clooney (Clare) - Posts: 982 - 11/06/2018 15:13:27    2109998