Limerick Senior Hurling 2018.

Agreed, Casey surely in for Hickey. Hard to see where Hickey will fit back in tbh. I would have originally said potentially half back with Byrnes and Hannon but Dan Morrissey has been nicely going about his business and seems to have settled nicely. Long year ahead hopefully though so lots of potential for changes to be made. Looking very promising overall though!!

CamánLads (Limerick) - Posts: 6 - 31/05/2018 12:18:38    2105929

Replying To lowballs:  "Casey will definitely start at full back. That will be the only change to the starting line-up eventhough Hickey is fit if needed. I think Darragh O'Donovan is the right man to close down Fitzgibbon. He is fast and agressive and likes hard work. If we can push up on their puckouts and prevent them from launching their runners from the half back line we have a great chance. We should have the edge physically but this Cork team will take beating and they will have massive support on Saturday which is always a help.

On a side note in relation to the strength of our panel we could select an alternative forward line of: Nash, Downes; Dempsey; Barry Murphy/Ryan; Dowling; Casey. That wouldn't be a bad lineup and it highlights the competition for places. All we need now is for 2 or 3 of our forwards to reach the next level and become 'marquee' players. To win all Ireland's we will need this to happen. We are heading in the right direction."
Lowballs, on what authority or divine wisdom do you make these pronouncements?

"Casey will definitely start at full back. That will be the only change to the starting line-up eventhough Hickey is fit if needed".

PatOLogical (Limerick) - Posts: 1377 - 31/05/2018 12:26:40    2105936

Replying To jimbob50:  "My first post this season , for a long time I had been complaining about playing in 1B and the futility of young talented players having to play against the likes of Kerry , Laois and Antrim , no disrespect intended to those counties, but if we are to win the holy grail then we have to be playing the very best . I put my hand up I was very critical of Kiely and his team last year but this year he came out and much to my delight he made promotion a priority , also last year because he was new to the job he didn't always play the inform players Gillane would be an example , and didn't make changes fast enough when required. This year he deserves huge praise. Congratulations on promotion , many won't agree with me but anything after promotion this year is a Bonus.

I keep reading in the post's about how will we cope with this player or the speed of that player , I want to know how they will deal with us ? This is the strongest most determined and skillful team I've seen in Limerick for a very long time. These lads have won two 21s all Ireland's. Ok that doesn't mean they can do it at senior level I hear you say but what it does mean is these players are used to winning and don't like losing , The new youngsters are getting more and more confident every game , anyone who witnessed the league games v Clare and Galway will know this , we are both dogged and skillful .

So have faith in the teams that are selected and go out and support them I hope to have a long exciting summer ahead. Can't wait for throw in at pairc hi chaoimh."
All very well said and a good mindset ! Worth the the wait for first post.

PatOLogical (Limerick) - Posts: 1377 - 31/05/2018 12:32:11    2105938

Replying To PatOLogical:  "Lowballs, on what authority or divine wisdom do you make these pronouncements?

"Casey will definitely start at full back. That will be the only change to the starting line-up eventhough Hickey is fit if needed"."
I heard the same that casey is in fullback.if true it will hopefully make us stronger.

treaty300 (Limerick) - Posts: 48 - 31/05/2018 14:06:02    2105983

Replying To CamánLads:  "Agreed, Casey surely in for Hickey. Hard to see where Hickey will fit back in tbh. I would have originally said potentially half back with Byrnes and Hannon but Dan Morrissey has been nicely going about his business and seems to have settled nicely. Long year ahead hopefully though so lots of potential for changes to be made. Looking very promising overall though!!"
i like the username , very fitting for this forum .
loads of potential for changes as unfortunately sooner or later we will pick up injuries and need backup in most positions , look at poor old waterford with the players they are missing through injuries and suspensions . i thought the red card was a bit harsh on kevin moran for what he done to Eoin kelly considering what daithi burke done to scanlon of kk and got only a yellow but thats referees for you , ask seanie tobin about refs .
Anyway we will need most of that panel before the round robin is out because of the fatigue factor so most players will get a chance but hopefully not as a result of injury and when they get that chance they had better prove what they can do which is great for limk hurling...

WhipOnTheBall (Limerick) - Posts: 138 - 31/05/2018 15:29:10    2106008

Happy with the team...a win would be huge, as we have seen from the the first two rounds an away win is very hard to come by...

As I said before I think the fixtures have fallen sweetly for us and I expect we will get over the line tomorrow night...

What a panel we have when you see some of the names not in the match day 26.

Enjoy the game lads

noexpert (Limerick) - Posts: 91 - 01/06/2018 09:09:01    2106165

Best of luck to all on Saturday. Happy with the team and looking forward to a great game.

Hopefully Mulcahy can keep the form going. In fairness against Tipp he looked sharp and snappy and our most confident points shooter. We have a powerful team who will hopefully be relentless and physically impose themselves on this skillful Cork side. Keep the wide count down and be a bit more disciplined about concessions of frees (Horgan simply wont miss) and we can come out of the rebel county with a win. Cork as always will be confident of winning, the big difference this time around is our guys will be heading down just as confident they will be on the winning side.

Fitzy01 (Limerick) - Posts: 443 - 01/06/2018 10:52:08    2106208

Replying To Fitzy01:  "Best of luck to all on Saturday. Happy with the team and looking forward to a great game.

Hopefully Mulcahy can keep the form going. In fairness against Tipp he looked sharp and snappy and our most confident points shooter. We have a powerful team who will hopefully be relentless and physically impose themselves on this skillful Cork side. Keep the wide count down and be a bit more disciplined about concessions of frees (Horgan simply wont miss) and we can come out of the rebel county with a win. Cork as always will be confident of winning, the big difference this time around is our guys will be heading down just as confident they will be on the winning side."
Best of luck to both Limerick teams in Cork tomorrow evening.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4501 - 01/06/2018 11:23:38    2106218

Why I like John Kiely and will go with his line outs and calls:

Says it all...

"We won't be getting ahead of ourselves, I can guarantee that no one is looking beyond this weekend. Anything can happen on any given night - it just takes a moment of lapse of concentration or a moment of brilliance and it can turn the whole thing on its head," said Kiely.

"We will take it from minute to minute - it sounds simplistic but you can't tell what can happen because these games take on a life of their own."

Best of Luck on The Banks.
Come on Ye Boys in Green! In

PatOLogical (Limerick) - Posts: 1377 - 01/06/2018 13:34:50    2106259

Stand tickets sold out for the game. Looks like 30,000+ which will be great to see.

Happy with team selection, Casey was excellent when he came on against Tipperary and deserved his chance. Training matches during our week off were excellent and the competitive nature of all the Panel is nice to see they are all fighting for a place so nobody can take there foot off the pedal or they will be out.

BillyDekid (Limerick) - Posts: 26 - 01/06/2018 15:35:37    2106303

Which terrace is allocated to Limerick supporters or will there be just the one terrace open?

CamánLads (Limerick) - Posts: 6 - 01/06/2018 16:42:57    2106318

Replying To BillyDekid:  "Stand tickets sold out for the game. Looks like 30,000+ which will be great to see.

Happy with team selection, Casey was excellent when he came on against Tipperary and deserved his chance. Training matches during our week off were excellent and the competitive nature of all the Panel is nice to see they are all fighting for a place so nobody can take there foot off the pedal or they will be out."
There should be tickets for the South Stand Upper and the north Stand. I got three good tickets in the North Stand Wednesday. It's only on sky sports Aerna
Can't wait.

Seeking_silver (Limerick) - Posts: 411 - 01/06/2018 17:53:32    2106329

Cork obviously selected Brosnan because they know we will push up on their puck outs and they will have to go long. He has the size to compete but is not particularly strong. They will try to keep puck outs away from Byrnes so he should move in to the middle as much as he can to narrow Nash's options. If we totally cut out short puck outs I really can't see Cork winning anything like enough possession to win this. Limerick by 5 +.

welpastit (Limerick) - Posts: 740 - 02/06/2018 07:47:56    2106400

This has all the ingredients to be a cracking contest. Cork gave home advantage but are out 3rd weekend in a row.
Limerick's confidence is high but they are still shirt of experience at this level.
Both teams have pace and quality in abundance.
I can see both teams creating a lot of chances so the team that converts the most of theirs is likely to come out on top.
It's all on the day in this one.

Westfester (Limerick) - Posts: 980 - 02/06/2018 11:44:25    2106437

All things considered that's a fantastic result... Losing Hannon, then Gillane to a stupid red i thought we were finished.
Super character out of Limerick..

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1109 - 02/06/2018 20:46:35    2106558

Watched game again on telly. Can't believe the analysis. Pundits who inexplicably predicted a Cork win praising Cork for coming back from 3 points down. Meyler saying he was proud of his team and 2 or 3 times saying they nearly won it. Let's call it as it is they played a team who lost their captain after 10 mins who had only 14 men for almost 50 mins and they were at home. Time this element of the emperors new clothes was exposed about this Cork team. They were taken to the cleaners by Limerick we are miles better than them. Heroes all but Graham Mulcahy was phenomenal. He gave the phrase emptied the tank a new meaning.

welpastit (Limerick) - Posts: 740 - 03/06/2018 06:29:03    2106639

What a performance tonight. I have so much to say but don't know where to start. Firstly, I'm glad for Gillane that we didn't lose. It was a stupid thing to do.
Our two U21 stars became men last night. What a game from both Flanagan & Hayse.
The entire team were brilliant and to draw against 15 players who are brilliant at the short passing game was one of the best displays I've seen from any sports team in a long time. I thought there was no possibility of staying with Cork for 3/4 or the game.
However, my stand out performance of the night and my MOTM was Graham Mulcahy. He turned the game after the sending off. His work rate, blocking & tackling was phenomenal.i think that without his experience up there our young team may not have coped so well? Imagine, Cork had Mark Coleman free and Nash's puckouts were in serious trouble. Graham & Seamus ran their legs off. I watched game back this morning and the look of frustration on Nash's face looking for options was comical yet brilliant for us. Great credit to all the lads and the management. Two major blows early in the game and they were unlucky to be beaten.
On a final note on this glorious Sunday morning, James Owens was poor. Maybe I'm paranoid but he was never going to let Cork lose that game? Cork got some easy frees. Pat Ryan's attempt at goal near the end should have been a penalty. His hurley was grabbe as he was pulling. Apparently, the Ritchie English incident should have been a straight red..... I could go on.

Seeking_silver (Limerick) - Posts: 411 - 03/06/2018 10:07:03    2106661

Replying To welpastit:  "Watched game again on telly. Can't believe the analysis. Pundits who inexplicably predicted a Cork win praising Cork for coming back from 3 points down. Meyler saying he was proud of his team and 2 or 3 times saying they nearly won it. Let's call it as it is they played a team who lost their captain after 10 mins who had only 14 men for almost 50 mins and they were at home. Time this element of the emperors new clothes was exposed about this Cork team. They were taken to the cleaners by Limerick we are miles better than them. Heroes all but Graham Mulcahy was phenomenal. He gave the phrase emptied the tank a new meaning."
Well said. Thought SKY sports were so boarding and scripted after what Independent.ie said was "arguably one of the greatest Munster Hurling Championship games of all time". You would think Ollie Canning and Jamie's had just got out of bed and someone told them the result. As for Rachel Wyse - come on Sky sports can you not do any better. She's just reading from the script and it may as well be crricket that was on.
Oh how I would love to have heard Loughnane, Mulcahy and Sheflin after that one!!

Seeking_silver (Limerick) - Posts: 411 - 03/06/2018 10:14:58    2106664

Replying To welpastit:  "Watched game again on telly. Can't believe the analysis. Pundits who inexplicably predicted a Cork win praising Cork for coming back from 3 points down. Meyler saying he was proud of his team and 2 or 3 times saying they nearly won it. Let's call it as it is they played a team who lost their captain after 10 mins who had only 14 men for almost 50 mins and they were at home. Time this element of the emperors new clothes was exposed about this Cork team. They were taken to the cleaners by Limerick we are miles better than them. Heroes all but Graham Mulcahy was phenomenal. He gave the phrase emptied the tank a new meaning."
I didn't see the TV coverage but your analysis is as far off as what you describe from them.
Some of the hurling from Cork yesterday especially their first touch and forward movement was as good as you will ever see. Kearney and Lehane got some unbelievable scores.
Why wouldn't a manager be proud of his team after an epic game like that?
I was there but saw no one being taken to the cleaners and if the game was played again next week there probably wouldn't be more than a score in it again.
Someone said on here, after the analysis of the Tipp game focussed on Tipp being poor, that the more the attention stayed off this young Limerick team the better.
Yesterday was a great game and a great result in the circumstances. We might have to get used to good results from this team so we should try to deal with them with some grace. Anyway slating your opponent only demeans the achievement because if a team is miles better and takes the opposition to the cleaners then with 15 or 14 they should be winning.
Try to focus on the positives WPI otherwise you sound like some kind of disillusioned fan picking negatives out of Limerick's best day out in Cork in 22 years.

Westfester (Limerick) - Posts: 980 - 03/06/2018 10:23:03    2106667

Every player did well after the sending off but Graeme Mulcahy and Seamus Flanagan were on a different level both in attack and as 1st line of defence.

Westfester (Limerick) - Posts: 980 - 03/06/2018 10:31:14    2106676