i was at the game and recorded it to watch again during the week so i presume you are talking about the commentary on rte but i tuned in to the sunday game last night and i also got the same vibe off the sunday game pundits . liam sheedy spoke briefly about how well limerick done but then there was a major discussion about how poor tipp were and eddie brennan went into all sorts of reasons why tipp lost the match and not about how limerick won the match . As regards des Cahill and his dyed hair he thinks that limerick are only making up the numbers and it came as a major surprise to him that we won but anyway whats new with the media , if we win an All ire they will still be discussing how the other team never showed up and thats why we won . Back to the match itself , it was a dogged and brave performance by all involved from Backs to Forwards and glad to see the likes of Mulcahy finally getting the ball that suits him so he can exploit his ability . High Ball into him is no good as was the case when himself and seanie tobin were a partnership. Byrnes played cute passes yesterday when he won ball and resisted the temptation to go for long range points and also had the bottle to score the frees and 65 when the pressure was on . someone said to me that kyle hayes didnt do much but he kept pauric maher quiet and that was enough even though Maher tried his best to bully him all day starting with the Handshake at the start . i think Hickey is our biggest concern for that full back spot and gave away too many frees although james Mcgrath ( ref ) could have put on a tipp gersey in the first half and gave tipp some soft frees to keep them in the game . The wides in the first half were shocking as were the ones at the end of the game so we need to cut down on these bigtime and be more clinical in front of goal . i think this team have no fear and dont panic even when we concede goals and thats a very positive sign of a young side so there is loads of positives to take from yesterday but we are only one quarter way through but a great start . well done to the minors aswell to get the ball rolling with their great win... i am a very happy and proud limerick man today and the future looks rosy,.. any sign of Premier Gold today ? WhipOnTheBall (Limerick) - Posts: 138 - 21/05/2018 15:34:08 2102692 Link 3 |
firstly great win tipp may have been poor but have to give limerick credit.....fought tooth and nail for every ball...plenty room for improvement but i can see confidence soaring after that win....id love to see a fullfowrd line of casey, gillane and graham mul ....graham is playing well because he is getting great supply. bk to tipp i said it saturday that mick ryan was playing with fire by leaving breen the 2 mahers and barrett off....it backfired.... munsterchamps (Limerick) - Posts: 1143 - 21/05/2018 15:37:55 2102696 Link 0 |
you wont see premier gold here again till about 2023..... munsterchamps (Limerick) - Posts: 1143 - 21/05/2018 15:47:15 2102701 Link 2 |
Yes , My initial comments were about Donal O'Grady discounting us at every turn on RTE, but agree with you also re Des Cahill, Liam Sheedy (in fairness Sheedy did give us credit) but Fast Eddie was another who "simply could not believe Tipp's bad performance on the day" as opposed to Limerick's fighting spirit. He was probably being conciliatory to Liam Sheedy who was sitting beside him. Eddie would probably have fulsome praise for Limerick if Ollie Moran were sitting to his right on Sunday Game. That's what people of Eddie's ilk do. I still haven' t forgiven Eddie for the mugging he gave to a 19 year year old l Hickey in the 2007 All -Ireland- jabbing hurley through HIckey's helmet into his face. in the first 15 minutes. He did the same to to Steven Lucey. All was edited out of subsequent replays. "Mugger Eddie" does not deserve to be in a position to comment on anybody's style of play -shame on RTE. Great performance by both our minor and senior panels , yesterday! Well done!! Another Proud Limerick man today. Come On Ye Boys In Green! . PatOLogical (Limerick) - Posts: 1377 - 21/05/2018 16:15:54 2102717 Link 2 |
I don't thinking fighting spirit won us the game yesterday. We were able to take tipp on hurling man for man. We didn't bully them to get the win like in 07. We actually outhurled them yesterday and anyone that was at the league semi a few weeks ago could see that. I was critical of kiely at the start of the league but his shown his worth. Hopefully we can back up yesterdays performance again Saturday week. brud (Limerick) - Posts: 943 - 21/05/2018 16:56:25 2102730 Link 1 |
Yes Eddie really didn't give much praise to Limerick but he doesn't rate Limerick so that's why I'd say. There's only one way to fix that and that's by beating Kilkenny up in Croke Park. Liam Sheedy is top class and is always magnanimous in defeat. PeggyShippen (Limerick) - Posts: 300 - 21/05/2018 17:21:23 2102737 Link 1 |
You have just written off Hickeys Senior County Hurling Career?? Limerick Co Board have a PRO and IT manager to liaise with media & Declan Hannon happens to be the Limerick Captain. I would be very surprised if Hickey doesn't feature in the rest of this munster campaign. Why are you all so concerned about the punditry. They have all said Limerick are an up and coming team. Tips performance was a bigger surprise and more sensational for the media. The more we can keep under the spotlight the better IMO If any of you want a "patt on the back" go to off the ball live on YouTube. Brilliant few minutes about Limerick today. Seeking_silver (Limerick) - Posts: 411 - 21/05/2018 17:58:13 2102749 Link 1 |
I would right off Hickey as a fullback and featuring again there for Limerick,that is for sure. I think he could do a job on the wing if push came to shove but he 'll always give away soft frees , always look like he's skating on ice and land on his derriere. Saying all that he was very good last year but he wasn't fullback PeggyShippen (Limerick) - Posts: 300 - 21/05/2018 18:09:05 2102752 Link 0 |
Exactly. Last thing we need is a bit of hysteria creeping in about a great limerick preformance. It was functional, very good in part but nothing exceptional. Tipp were in the main, very poor by their standards and we possibly could have beaten them by 10 + Main thing is to back it up by a clinical team preformance beating a decent Cork team at home. The punditry don't rate us because to be honest we've done nothing in this county for a long time that warrants praise. We're certainly an up and coming team, no doubt about it and what Eddie Brennan etc thinks is irrelevant. He and his ilk are only impressed by silverware. All that said John Mullane was full of praise on the radio for us yesterday. skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1107 - 21/05/2018 18:30:40 2102756 Link 0 |
Agreed the limerick fighting spirit tag sells us short. Yes it is important but it should be a given for anyone who wears the jersey and it was on Sunday. Tactics skill and performance of the players had a lot to do with it. Cian lynch Darragh o Donovan Byrnes gillane hannon etc etc are all extremely skilful and technical hurlers. The less attention we get the better, stay under the radar and let our hurling do the talking. Let the talk of cork Tipp Clare etc continue all the better for us.
Fitzy01 (Limerick) - Posts: 443 - 21/05/2018 23:51:00 2102860 Link 0 |
it's interesting to hear several pundits say we've the best panel in the country. but their question is do we have the x factor in the starting 15 to go all the way. blackspot91 (Limerick) - Posts: 1055 - 22/05/2018 04:07:48 2102867 Link 0 |
I agree. Take the pressure completely off the players and go in under the radar. Let the media talk about tipp and how bad they played. This completely suits limerick 100%. The best way to respond to media pundits etc is to go down to cork Saturday week and claim victory. Once the 2 Casey's come into the starting 15 limerick have a right strong outfit. brud (Limerick) - Posts: 943 - 22/05/2018 09:44:39 2102910 Link 0 |
The very, very last thing that Limerick needs now is a ton of positive publicity. As a county, we don;t handle it very well. There is an enormous passion underneath Limerick hurling and whenever there is a chink, it explodes (both negative and positive). We need to keep our heads down and focused on our next game. We don't want or need praise from media/pundits and need to stay below the radar as much as possible. If Lar Corbett identified Ritchie English as a weak link, then it says a lot about him as a pundit. Ritchie is the 2015 national U21 player of the year and a Fitzgibbon winner. I'd like to see him at full back with Casey in the corner as i think that's the full back line sorted for the next 5 years. I doubt that Nicky English would agree with Corbetts assessment as he was talking up Limerick very strongly before the start of the championship. Dealer (Limerick) - Posts: 837 - 22/05/2018 13:29:21 2103004 Link 1 |
I listened to that interview with Lar, great hurler but the interview was almost comical at times especially the start where they played the voicemail he left for Colm Parkinson while up at a fair in the North. The media love a marquee name to grab the headlines like a Pat Horgan, Seamus Callinan or Tony Kelly, we currently have a collection of really talented hurlers but currently no marquee name who stands out from the rest for them to grab. I was listening to John Mullane at times on the radio on one ear while at the match and his excitement and enthusiasm was refreshing, honest and genuine. Give "Diarmuid Byrnes the man of the match, give him the Ballon d'or..." was one of his typical quotes :) Fitzy01 (Limerick) - Posts: 443 - 22/05/2018 15:40:23 2103048 Link 0 |
We have a decent team made up of skilled and committed players. However we could blow it, based on number of wides we are hitting, we are also giving away silly frees in scorable areas. Seamus Hickey gave away a couple of silly frees and Tipp duly converted. Hickey might as well have tapped the ball over his own bar. Great win all the same. Green army now decends upon the Banks of my own lovely Lee. Its great that we have a week off players can rest, injuries and niggles can be attended to. We will be fresh and eager to go. paddyG (Galway) - Posts: 90 - 22/05/2018 17:06:13 2103073 Link 0 |
Seeking In relation to Seamus Hickey, If he is the best man for a position at the time that is fine. However back in 71, when Tony O'Brien, a man who had been a fine player, but was then at the autumn of his long career, was selected it cost us a Munster and probably an All Ireland. There should be no room for sentiment at this level. Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4501 - 22/05/2018 17:08:18 2103075 Link 0 |
Maybe Lar Corbett was drinking some of that Vodka he is selling before the interview because he obviously wasnt thinking clearly ...lol
WhipOnTheBall (Limerick) - Posts: 138 - 22/05/2018 18:25:59 2103094 Link 0 |
Anyone who has been at even 2 or 3 games this year would have known Seamus wasn't doing it at fullback. It was most unfair on him to persist and we are lucky to have survived last Sunday with him there. Surely this failed experiment is now at an end and certainly not before time. Hickey may well win a place further out the field but his days at 3 simply must be over. welpastit (Limerick) - Posts: 740 - 22/05/2018 18:57:57 2103102 Link 0 |
I was surprised that Shane Dowling did not get some time last Sunday. The wides that Limerick fainleog (Limerick) - Posts: 602 - 22/05/2018 20:21:01 2103110 Link 1 |
How can U complain about Dowling not getting a run Sunday when We won.There is a lot of quality players on that panel now and John shows a lot of faith in them.Shane will get his chance like everyone else.Kiely and this group of lads got Us out of 1B which we couldn't do so with all the Nap lads over the years.Before it was harder to get off the panel than it was to get on It,those days are gone.JK has competition for places and unless Ur good enough U will not be on this team. Great to see Casey and Dempsey getting a run though.Looking forward to seeing P Casey in a green Jersey again. LIMERICK ABU meehan82 (Limerick) - Posts: 173 - 22/05/2018 21:14:17 2103120 Link 1 |