Nicky was the hero yesterday. What a flick. One of the all time great saves.
brud (Limerick) - Posts: 943 - 30/07/2018 16:26:17 2127583 Link 0 |
I know that it didn't matter in the context of the result of the game but how did the last Cork goal go in? Did it deflect of someone? Dealer (Limerick) - Posts: 837 - 30/07/2018 16:33:13 2127584 Link 0 |
I also thought Seamus Hickey played his part yesterday in extra time. Kept close tabs on Luke Meade. Some posters here had written him off. brud (Limerick) - Posts: 943 - 30/07/2018 16:36:11 2127585 Link 1 |
Well done to all players management and backroom team. Yet again they have showed composure and maturity beyond their years. Even with time and the scoreboard against us everyone had belief in there own ability and of those around them. No signs of panic were shown at all. A credit one and all. For me to stand there after the game with tears in my eyes just highlighted the pride this bunch of players has given to every Limerick man woman and child. I cant think what I'll be like in 3 weeks time.... but here's hoping I might be able to change my username. A massive thanks to all involved and let the scramble for tickets begin. anotheryear (Limerick) - Posts: 51 - 30/07/2018 17:24:04 2127602 Link 0 |
I am sorry but If you watch the whole match again , in normal time Hannon was destroyed.
skule111 (Limerick) - Posts: 119 - 30/07/2018 19:33:37 2127631 Link 0 |
Rubbish Hannon caught a mountain of ball yesterday and nearly always found a man
longtermfan (Limerick) - Posts: 120 - 30/07/2018 21:07:50 2127657 Link 0 |
Rubbish. You need to watch the game again. He sat right in front of our fullback line and cut out the world of ball aimed for Horgan. It allowed Lehane a bit of freedom but it worked. Hannon was actually the best of our 3 in the halfback line on the day. Our 2 half backs didn't have the greatest of games. They will both improve no doubt for the final.
brud (Limerick) - Posts: 943 - 30/07/2018 23:39:33 2127707 Link 0 |
Rubbish. You need to watch the game again. He sat right in front of our fullback line and cut out the world of ball aimed for Horgan. It allowed Lehane a bit of freedom but it worked. Hannon was actually the best of our 3 in the halfback line on the day. Our 2 half backs didn't have the greatest of games. They will both improve no doubt for the final.
brud (Limerick) - Posts: 943 - 30/07/2018 23:40:00 2127708 Link 0 |
I'd hate to be marking Dowling in training over the next 3 weeks. I'd say there be some timber broke in training. Kevin Downes will be like a raging bull mad to make a point. Also Paddy o Loughlin who was dropped from 26 yesterday. brud (Limerick) - Posts: 943 - 30/07/2018 23:43:53 2127714 Link 0 |
I copied this post from the national from.. Actually a very good idea, IMO. PatOLogical (Limerick) - Posts: 1377 - 31/07/2018 01:01:43 2127718 Link 0 |
I agree Lohan, Clare have had our number for a while and I wouldnt feel confident against them. they dont suit I think and clare feel confident against us plus we may be favorites in that game. Against galway they'd have the mentality of 'let's have a craic of the champs' but against clare I fear there would be more pressure and doubts. Plus to lose to Clare in final would make me sick haha blackspot91 (Limerick) - Posts: 1055 - 31/07/2018 08:57:04 2127740 Link 0 |
I would also agree but they only thing going in our favour if it was Clare is that we would have the motivation of being well beaten by them before and lessons would have been learned. We will also learn a lot from seeing them play again before the big day. As i said before the game i think Clare have a right chance of beating Galway and i see no reason why they can't do it this time around. There is very little between any of the three remaining sides, the media were making out Galway to be untouchable but they do have weaknesses and they can be beaten. They have without doubt the best full and center backs in the country but who comes in if they get\already are injured. Also their half backs can be got at. Shane O'Donnell is turning into a better hurler (taking his own points) than i thought he was and Peter Duggan is having a savage year. Looking forward to Saturday and best of luck to our Clare neighbours. Fitzy01 (Limerick) - Posts: 444 - 31/07/2018 11:44:48 2127799 Link 0 |
well done Sunday to all concerned what a pleasure to be there met two of the 73 players there and rekindled my fond memory of that famous day 45 years ago when we got fine and wet but who cared read an article today by Gary Kirby whoes opinion i would value regards the press night I have been at all the games this year bare one and the management and players stayed out on the field to meet their supporters to sign autographs and take snaps There should be no press night before the final as Gary said it would be a drain on the players in the lead up to what might be a chance in a life time to win the big prize and what a different night we would have if we had Liam back in Limerick and then have your big happy night in The Gaelic Grounds We can do it this time if we handle it right ,TRUST KIELY AND CO . Getup80 (Limerick) - Posts: 61 - 31/07/2018 14:35:56 2127883 Link 2 |
wow what a day to be in croke park.think i went through every possible emotion in the near 100 minutes..saw harnedy with ball in hand and said its game over,then nicky produced an outstanding save.when we were the 6 down i was never to worried,this team have a never say die attitude and are never beaten.they have managed also to bring along a lot of supporters with the way they are playing,even a lot of neutrals like this team.our bench is superb and every change management have made this year has worked..looking forward to another great day on the 19th provided i can lay my hands on those priceless tickets..thanks to all involved last sunday. CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2539 - 31/07/2018 17:02:14 2127935 Link 0 |
Lads as a Cork fan congrats on the win sunday and the best of luck in the final.Gutting to come out the wrong side but ye deserved it over the 90 minutes.Your subs bench was the difference in the end,Dowling and Casey were immense whereas we had absolutely nothing and brought players back on for extra time who could hardly walk.Had good craic with your supporters in the stand also.Ye might aswell go and win it now. Onthedouble (Cork) - Posts: 1 - 31/07/2018 19:38:41 2127994 Link 3 |
First I'd like to congratulate the Limerick players and management team on a brilliant win on Sunday. Limerick subs showed hurling is more than a 15 man game now, I think our subs made the bigger impact and that made a big difference to the out come of the game. DUALSUPPORT (Limerick) - Posts: 1038 - 31/07/2018 21:37:48 2128030 Link 1 |
Woooooooooooooooooooooohoooooooooooooooooooooooooo what a day on sunday youngmunstersman (Limerick) - Posts: 80 - 01/08/2018 00:17:12 2128083 Link 0 |
Hoping that it's Galway we play in the final. Playing Clare would mean that the pre-match hype, which is going to be ridiculous anyway, will go up above the level of insanity. Facing Galway, with whom we have very little history, would allow us to think of the final as a hurling match, albeit a fairly unique one. If we have to play Clare it becomes something far more than a game of hurling. It becomes an event with repercussions for the losing players and supporters that will last for decades. Losing to Galway would at least allow us to use the experience of being in the final to build for 2019 and the early years of the next decade . Losing an All-Ireland final to Clare would leave traumatic scars that might never heal, especially when we are likely to be reminded of it every single day for the next year and much further beyond. Also, the thought of a victorious cavalcade of Clare supporters' cars coming off the motorway to weave their way down Limerick's O'Connell Street on the night of August 19th would be too much provocation for many to withstand passively. GerO.Racle (Limerick) - Posts: 47 - 01/08/2018 16:23:49 2128299 Link 0 |
Wouldn't put it past a few to have a cavalcade through Ennis either if Limerick win.
Dealer (Limerick) - Posts: 837 - 01/08/2018 17:14:50 2128311 Link 0 |
I'm suprised at how little has been mentioned about hegarties performance. Immense. When was the last time a Limerick half forward did that much damage. 3 spectacular scores. If a tipp or galway forward played like that people would be on their knees. Won frees, won an amount of ball, set up a goal chance. It's crazy that 2 other limerick players were higher in the pecking order for man of the match. And it's not so long ago that people were questioning his hurling ability or his position on the field. blackspot91 (Limerick) - Posts: 1055 - 02/08/2018 02:30:10 2128398 Link 0 |