Dublin and Kildare cruise through to Leinster minor football decider

May 12, 2022

Kildare will face Dublin in the Leinster MFC final on May 18th

Dublin and Kildare will contest this year’s Leinster minor football championship final after winning their respective semi-finals last night.

Dublin scored a 2-13 to 2-4 victory over Offaly in Tullamore, where Joe Quigley’s goal had helped them to lead by six points at the half.

Dave Reynolds’s team kept the Faithful County at bay for the second half-hour and they’d be 10 up by the time David Mulqueen hammered in their second goal early in injury-time.

In Newbridge, Kildare were comfortable in their 2-18 to 0-10 defeat of Wicklow to advance to the provincial decider.

Ben Loakman’s helped the Lilywhites hold a commanding 1-11 to 0-2 lead in the first-half and Killian Browne found the Wicklow net early in the second-half to kill off the game as a contest.

Dublin and Kildare are now set to square off for the Leinster title this Wednesday, May 18th at MW Hire O'Moore Park, Portlaoise (throw-in 7.30pm).

Most Read Stories