Aodh Ruadh club notes

March 23, 2021

Saturday night is Texas Hold 'em night

There's a great buzz ahead of the Aodh Ruadh Bord na nÓg Online Texas Hold 'em Poker Night this Saturday. The online gameplay is powered by Pokerstars and after the great craic we had at the dry run last weekend we're mega excited ahead of the real deal this Saturday. Entry is €30, with the action getting under way at 8pm. Book your seat on our Klubfunder.com page. 

Avail of reduced membership fees

Our club membership deadline of 31st March is closing in. The club has decided this year in consideration of the impact of Coronavirus on the 2020 playing season, as a once-off, we will be giving a reduction on memberships paid between now and 31st March. Details of the amended membership fees are as follows:  

Members born from 2009 to 2021 inclusive - €10.  

Members born from 2003 to 2008 inclusive - €20.  

Senior playing Adults - €50.  

Non-playing Adult members - €35.  

Family memberships (including all children under 18) - €100.  

The GAA has given clubs rebates on last year's fees and Aodh Ruadh have decided to pass on this rebate to all our club members. This is in appreciation of your continued support for the club and all the fund-raising activities undertaken to date and into the future. The reduction is available on all memberships paid prior to the 31st March 2021 deadline. Membership can be paid online at our Klubfunder page, or at our club lotto stand outside Centra this Saturday. Members who have already paid their 2021 membership will be contacted to arrange a refund of excess monies paid.

Monthly club meeting 

The monthly Aodh Ruadh club executive meeting will take place, via Zoom, this Thursday at 9pm. To receive the link for the meeting, please text Lisa on 085-1061456. Any apologies or AOB should be sent to Lisa by 3pm this Wednesday.

Condolences

It was with great sorrow that we learned of the passing of Club Vice President Alan Kane in the early hours of last Tuesday, just a few months shy of his 76th birthday. An authentic legend not only of Aodh Ruadh, but Donegal football, his passing will be felt right across the county and beyond. After making his Ulster championship debut against Antrim in 1970, he was between the posts as Donegal brought home our first ever Anglo Celt cup in 1972 and played a major role in securing our second Ulster triumph in 1974. He had a glittering club career, most notably with the all-conquering Ballyshannon / Bundoran combination of St Joseph's. He resurrected camogie in Aodh Ruadh in the 1980s, enjoying great success. Then in 1992 he was one of the founding members of Ladies football in the club and was part of the management team as we won our only senior ladies county title in 1995. He was inducted into the Aodh Ruadh Hall of Fame in 2002. Our thoughts are with Wife Patricia, Daughters Fiona, Frances and Grainne, Son, Pauric, Brothers Teddy and Jim, the wider family and their all friends. Thank you to all who turned out for our guards of honour on Thursday.

We also extend our condolences to the family of Hugh John McGonigle on his passing last week. Hugh John would have lined out for Aodh Ruadh in the 1950s. Our sincere sympathies go to his wife Marie, sons and daughters, Michelle, Hugh John Jr, Michael, Declan, Karl and Diane; his sister Mary, and to his many relatives and friends. May he rest in peace.

Ar dheis Dé go raibh a anam uasal. 

Card payments

The club are delighted to announce we now have a facility to accept debit and credit card payments. This means you will now be able to pay for your lotto and club membership by card at the lotto stand outside Centra on Saturdays. It's a timely addition with club membership available now at specially reduced rates up until 31st March.

Ballyshannon Bingo     

We had another smashing night of bingo on Friday with €2,100 in prizes scooped up. Congratulations to our house winners on the night: Emma Knott, Maureen Regan, Sharyn Joyce, Donna Canavan, Phyllis Crowe, Katie McLoughlin, Nicole Brennan, Rosaleen O'Brien, Ellen McGloin and Joyce Proudfoot. Our €650 snowball survived and rises now to €700, helping bring our prize pot over the €2,100 mark. This Friday we will be back broadcasting to the world from Bingo HQ via Zoom. If you haven't already played, you can find full details on the Ballyshannon Bingo Facebook page. Books are available to buy on our Klubfunder.com page right now. Remember, if you don't have access to a printer, Mary in A Novel Idea will be happy to print your book for a small fee.

Click this link to buy a SINGLE BOOK for €10.

Click this link to buy a DOUBLE BOOK for €15.

A reminder of the overhauled the delivery schedule for Ballyshannon Bingo books. They will be now be delivered in line with the following schedule:

All books bought before 3pm Wednesday will be emailed early on Thursday morning.

All books then bought up to 3pm Thursday will be emailed early Friday morning.

All books bought before noon on Friday will be emailed after lunch.

Remaining books sales by 3.30pm will be emailed by 6pm on Friday evening.

It is very important players enter the email address they need the book to be sent to. Late changes are problematic and we cannot guarantee they will be facilitated.

Look forward to seeing you all again this Friday evening!

Time to return your National Club Draw Tickets       

The Officers of our Park / Development Committee are in negotiation to finalise contract arrangements for the construction of a new sand-based playing field at Father Tierney Park. We are making a direct appeal to those holding national draw tickets to intensify their selling effort and to return as many sold tickets as possible over this weekend to David McLoone, Tom Daly or Michael Daly. Text any of these organisers if you want to leave your returns for them to pick up. For those not living locally, a call or e-mail to any one of the organisers or a purchase online via our Klubfunder page is an option. Alongside the very substantial grant-aid secured for this project, there is a significant funding gap which we are trying to narrow. The success of this fund-raising effort is down to what club members and players do for this project, at an individual level. The sum of the parts is greater than the whole! Please redouble your efforts over the coming week or so. Thanks to those who have helped so far.

Garda vetting reminder    

Our Children's Officer, Paul Tuohy, reminds all club members involved with the club's teams in any capacity that they must complete their Garda Vetting as soon as possible in order to be permitted to undertake their role in 2021. The vetting system has now gone online and is more streamlined. It can be accessed at gaa.flowforma.com. Two forms of identification are requested during the vetting process. People can either scan and upload direct their documentation directly or they can take a picture on their phone and send this to Paul Tuohy or Lisa McTernan, who will then process this as appropriate. If you have any other issues or would like assistance, please contact an executive member of your relevant sub-committee.

Covid Restrictions   

The only activity permitted at either Father Tierney Park or Páirc Aoidh Ruaidh during the current Level 5 restrictions is the use of the Fitness Trail and Walkway at Páirc Aoidh Ruaidh. There is no exception to this restriction for anyone.

Give the ladies a lift with your Lidl shop     

There has been a great response to the Lidl club rebate initiative which offers clubs the opportunity to raise up to €20,000 by using the Lidl Plus app. Huge thanks to everyone who has supported us with their shop so far. If you haven't already signed up, it works like this. You download the app on to your mobile phone, follow the prompts, and then select the club you want to support - in our case Aodh Ruadh Atha Seannaigh. Then whenever you spend over €30 in store and scan your Lidl Plus card you earn a stamp. Spend over €60 you earn two stamps, and so on. Collect six stamps and submit your completed stamp card by Sunday, April 11th. Users can submit multiple completed stamp cards.  

Best wishes

Best of luck to Niall McCready and Aidan Murray who were recently named in the Naomh Bríd management team.

Aodh Ruadh lotto   

There was no winner of last week's Aodh Ruadh Lotto jackpot of €6,600. The winning numbers drawn were 5, 7, 9, 13, 14 and 18. The two lucky dip winners of €25 each were Bryan McGuinness and Niamh Lawless. Thanks to Aaron Neilan and Darragh Flood Dolan for doing the draw, and thanks and to all who played the lotto last week. The next draw is for a jackpot of €6,700 on Sunday at 9pm. Tickets are available in Kernan's Spar and Pearse O'Neill's. You can play also play the lotto online. Log onto klubfunder.com and then search for and select Aodh Ruadh Ballyshannon. Users can now avail of the auto-renew option to play the same line every week until they decide to stop when they pay using Stripe. Give it a go, you never know! 

The lotto team for McCosker’s Centra on Saturday is: JUVENILE HURLERS.   

Most Read Stories