Replying To tirawleybaron: "Most GAA players now start at 5/6 in their clubs. Its something similar in OZ.
So Kobe is starting at least 10 years behind his team mates on the skills of the oval ball. Thats a lot of hours to put in to catch up - and most Irish lads never do.
So they end up being half backs (winning breaks and "tagging" the oppositions best players. Becoming "water carriers" in an inferior game (IMO).
It is a shame for GAA that we lose some of our very best footballers when they chose to be average water carriers on a professional team - unlikely to gain any money outside the sport - as sponsors don't really pay up to be associated with average players." Im sure most fellas would happily carry water if they we're paid to do so and have the professional lifestyle, it beats working for a living. Any young player male or female who gets even half an opportunity to go play in Australia should jump at it, and if it doesn't work out so be it. It's about doing something different with your life. Fair play to them. Anything else is pure begrudgery.
Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 2669 - 11/08/2026 18:13:44
Replying To ORIELMAN85: "Would you start and do a count of how many elite gaelic players go to the AFL. Most players who go are back inside 2 years. Lads spend longer away on college erasmus. Fair play to any lad or lassie that can get a free couple of years enjoying the Aussie life." Im therefore assuming you would encourage youngsters to prioritise soccer and rugby over the GAA too? To increase their chances at the professional life? Fair play to them if they do.
Seniorleague (Galway) - Posts: 277 - 11/08/2026 19:03:29
Replying To Seniorleague: "Im therefore assuming you would encourage youngsters to prioritise soccer and rugby over the GAA too? To increase their chances at the professional life? Fair play to them if they do." He wasnt " encouraging ", just saying fair play to them. Soccer/rugby won't give an Aussie life.
Seanfan (Roscommon) - Posts: 856 - 11/08/2026 20:04:49
Replying To Seniorleague: "Im therefore assuming you would encourage youngsters to prioritise soccer and rugby over the GAA too? To increase their chances at the professional life? Fair play to them if they do." If you have a shot of making it to the big time, it makes perfect sense to concentrate on that sport. You can always come back to gaa if it doesn't work out, have heard of a few clubs getting top notch keepers on board as they didn't quite make the cut in pro soccer, and intermediate/ junior soccer teams tend to have little support or backing so senior gaa with a shot of the county panel is more appealing. I simply don't get the hate against players choosing to pursue an afl career or the clubs that recruit them, it smacks of the same people who never left their home town and are spiteful of those who did
gaelsboy (Leitrim) - Posts: 820 - 11/08/2026 21:51:50
Replying To gaelsboy: "If you have a shot of making it to the big time, it makes perfect sense to concentrate on that sport. You can always come back to gaa if it doesn't work out, have heard of a few clubs getting top notch keepers on board as they didn't quite make the cut in pro soccer, and intermediate/ junior soccer teams tend to have little support or backing so senior gaa with a shot of the county panel is more appealing. I simply don't get the hate against players choosing to pursue an afl career or the clubs that recruit them, it smacks of the same people who never left their home town and are spiteful of those who did" That's exactly what it is.
Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 2669 - 12/08/2026 11:59:02
Replying To gaelsboy: "If you have a shot of making it to the big time, it makes perfect sense to concentrate on that sport. You can always come back to gaa if it doesn't work out, have heard of a few clubs getting top notch keepers on board as they didn't quite make the cut in pro soccer, and intermediate/ junior soccer teams tend to have little support or backing so senior gaa with a shot of the county panel is more appealing. I simply don't get the hate against players choosing to pursue an afl career or the clubs that recruit them, it smacks of the same people who never left their home town and are spiteful of those who did" Absolutely. You are spot on.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 20483 - 12/08/2026 13:28:53
Replying To Viking66: "Absolutely. You are spot on." A player choosing to leave the GAA to pursue a career n the AFL is pretty much the same as a player leaving the gaa to concentrate on soccer or rugby in the hope of securing a professional contract.
For example no one here can doubt your love of hurling, as a hurling man im sure you lament the loss of our young kids to soccer and rugby, and i totally agree with you,but thats kinda begrudgery too isn't it?
Seniorleague (Galway) - Posts: 277 - 12/08/2026 18:57:10
Replying To gaelsboy: "If you have a shot of making it to the big time, it makes perfect sense to concentrate on that sport. You can always come back to gaa if it doesn't work out, have heard of a few clubs getting top notch keepers on board as they didn't quite make the cut in pro soccer, and intermediate/ junior soccer teams tend to have little support or backing so senior gaa with a shot of the county panel is more appealing. I simply don't get the hate against players choosing to pursue an afl career or the clubs that recruit them, it smacks of the same people who never left their home town and are spiteful of those who did" Its totally understandable imo for supporters of any sport to be disappointed to see talent lost to other sports. And i dont think those who do leave really face that much criticism either. Most people are very supportive.
And the GAA as much as we love it simply cant offer anyone the big time so as such should we encourage kids to focus on sports that can?
Seniorleague (Galway) - Posts: 277 - 12/08/2026 19:06:16
Replying To Bon: "Im sure most fellas would happily carry water if they we're paid to do so and have the professional lifestyle, it beats working for a living. Any young player male or female who gets even half an opportunity to go play in Australia should jump at it, and if it doesn't work out so be it. It's about doing something different with your life. Fair play to them. Anything else is pure begrudgery." I dont think ive heard anyone say that Kobe should'nt take whatever opportunity is presented to him.
In Ireland, we have a historic in built notion that the grass is always greener somewhere else.
The reality we currently live in, is that a superstar GAA player (which Kobe now is) has opportunities here at home, within and outside the sport. If it was purely a financial decision, Kobe would likely make more money via marketing, branding, social media (see Simone Bilas) in Ireland as the best GAA player in the country, than as an average Aussie Rules player who isnt even Austrailian. If he gets to the top of the sport, thats a different story. But only Jim Sytnes has achived that in the 100's of players who have tried.
Good luck to Kobe - but it is an absolute shame that Ireland Inc and the GAA cant keep the biggest sports star of 2026, and likely biggest sports star over the next 10 years in Ireland.
Instead, we will have to watch him play wing back, chasing average Aussie players around a field, getting hit off the ball on a regular basis. Aussie rules is a lot of things, but a game of skill it is not.
THe €200k a year he might get to (if he gets to Conor McKennas level) could be surpased in sponsorship in 2027 if he stayed at home.
Of course, 12 months ago, when he agree to go to St Kilda, none of this potential was available to him in Ireland.
His rookie salary in Aus in his first year is the same as a a Games Promotion Officer salary at home (€25,000 to €35,000). Add endrsements on top of that (which Rookies in Aus dont get) and he is already out of pocket going to Aus.
As for the famed Aussie lifestyle - unless your in the Gold coast or Syndey swans, its not really all that.
St Kilda has nice weather in summer, but the rest of the time its Irish weather. Great place for pints (or even pots) - not what an AFL player is allowed to do though.
In Kobes case, he wants to live as a professional for a while, so let him follow his dream. He is entitled to do that.
But make no mistake, the financial incentive to stay at home, as the biggest talent in his preferred sport, is far greater that what he will earn in Aus playing wing back on an everage team. St Kilda have been poor ever since Nick Riewoldt retired.
I genuinely think that he will make it as a professional AFL player. But I also believe he would be the best GAA player of this generation if he stayed. The outside sport earning power of being the best player in one sport and an average player in another is huge.
If he gets to Pearce Hanley's level (peaked at 37th best player in Afl) - approx €5m earned in his AFL career - then good luck to him. But I still think there is more than that to be made (and much longer in life) as being the main man here in Ireland.
Now if he decided to get all serious and keep to himself (like most GAA players do) afraid to give the opposition a quote to motivate themselves - then there is noting to be earned from social media (i.e David Clifford and his 90,000 followers). Be yourself and post a few stories, sell a few apps and a very good living is possible, even after retirement.
tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 2031 - 14/08/2026 12:49:22
Replying To tirawleybaron: "I dont think ive heard anyone say that Kobe should'nt take whatever opportunity is presented to him.
In Ireland, we have a historic in built notion that the grass is always greener somewhere else.
The reality we currently live in, is that a superstar GAA player (which Kobe now is) has opportunities here at home, within and outside the sport. If it was purely a financial decision, Kobe would likely make more money via marketing, branding, social media (see Simone Bilas) in Ireland as the best GAA player in the country, than as an average Aussie Rules player who isnt even Austrailian. If he gets to the top of the sport, thats a different story. But only Jim Sytnes has achived that in the 100's of players who have tried.
Good luck to Kobe - but it is an absolute shame that Ireland Inc and the GAA cant keep the biggest sports star of 2026, and likely biggest sports star over the next 10 years in Ireland.
Instead, we will have to watch him play wing back, chasing average Aussie players around a field, getting hit off the ball on a regular basis. Aussie rules is a lot of things, but a game of skill it is not.
THe €200k a year he might get to (if he gets to Conor McKennas level) could be surpased in sponsorship in 2027 if he stayed at home.
Of course, 12 months ago, when he agree to go to St Kilda, none of this potential was available to him in Ireland.
His rookie salary in Aus in his first year is the same as a a Games Promotion Officer salary at home (€25,000 to €35,000). Add endrsements on top of that (which Rookies in Aus dont get) and he is already out of pocket going to Aus.
As for the famed Aussie lifestyle - unless your in the Gold coast or Syndey swans, its not really all that.
St Kilda has nice weather in summer, but the rest of the time its Irish weather. Great place for pints (or even pots) - not what an AFL player is allowed to do though.
In Kobes case, he wants to live as a professional for a while, so let him follow his dream. He is entitled to do that.
But make no mistake, the financial incentive to stay at home, as the biggest talent in his preferred sport, is far greater that what he will earn in Aus playing wing back on an everage team. St Kilda have been poor ever since Nick Riewoldt retired.
I genuinely think that he will make it as a professional AFL player. But I also believe he would be the best GAA player of this generation if he stayed. The outside sport earning power of being the best player in one sport and an average player in another is huge.
If he gets to Pearce Hanley's level (peaked at 37th best player in Afl) - approx €5m earned in his AFL career - then good luck to him. But I still think there is more than that to be made (and much longer in life) as being the main man here in Ireland.
Now if he decided to get all serious and keep to himself (like most GAA players do) afraid to give the opposition a quote to motivate themselves - then there is noting to be earned from social media (i.e David Clifford and his 90,000 followers). Be yourself and post a few stories, sell a few apps and a very good living is possible, even after retirement." He's 18. He gets his chance to go abroad and play a new sport, get paid, get an education and make a name for himself. Here he's Kobe, All Ireland winner, Ciaran Mac's son. When we don't continue doing well he'll get grief from some, same as his Dad got some grief from some Mayo 'supporters'. It's rare that a player can leave when he's reached the top. Extremely rare that he can do it when he's 18.
GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 8703 - 14/08/2026 13:24:28
if these figures from another discussion are correct the AFL are getting a great deal off the GAA. The GAA are spending millions in coaching etc and the best go to AFL. Not sure what the GAA can do but you would think the AFL would try show some good will towards the GAA.
Where the Money Goes (2025 Redistribution Highlights) Reported reinvestments include: - **€28 million** - Games development and player welfare - **€19.9 million** - Team grants and distributions to counties/players - **€15.2 million** - Coaching and games development - **€9.4 million** - Player welfare (overlaps with the broader development figure)
combo (Galway) - Posts: 45 - 16/08/2026 15:08:56
Replying To combo: "if these figures from another discussion are correct the AFL are getting a great deal off the GAA. The GAA are spending millions in coaching etc and the best go to AFL. Not sure what the GAA can do but you would think the AFL would try show some good will towards the GAA.
Where the Money Goes (2025 Redistribution Highlights) Reported reinvestments include: - **€28 million** - Games development and player welfare - **€19.9 million** - Team grants and distributions to counties/players - **€15.2 million** - Coaching and games development - **€9.4 million** - Player welfare (overlaps with the broader development figure)" Players are amateurs so free agents to go where they will. If the International games were still running the GAA might be able to persuade the AFL to make some kind of voluntary contributions.
Seanfan (Roscommon) - Posts: 856 - 16/08/2026 16:07:42
Replying To combo: "if these figures from another discussion are correct the AFL are getting a great deal off the GAA. The GAA are spending millions in coaching etc and the best go to AFL. Not sure what the GAA can do but you would think the AFL would try show some good will towards the GAA.
Where the Money Goes (2025 Redistribution Highlights) Reported reinvestments include: - **€28 million** - Games development and player welfare - **€19.9 million** - Team grants and distributions to counties/players - **€15.2 million** - Coaching and games development - **€9.4 million** - Player welfare (overlaps with the broader development figure)" Why would you think that AKA?
GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 8703 - 16/08/2026 16:24:59
Replying To Seanfan: "Players are amateurs so free agents to go where they will. If the International games were still running the GAA might be able to persuade the AFL to make some kind of voluntary contributions." Do you think players,as free agents, should be allowed to transfer clubs?
Seniorleague (Galway) - Posts: 277 - 16/08/2026 16:38:42
Replying To Seanfan: "Players are amateurs so free agents to go where they will. If the International games were still running the GAA might be able to persuade the AFL to make some kind of voluntary contributions." I think its great the players have a chance to play Aussie rules. I didnt know most of the GAA funding goes into coaching so i never understood the problem. I thought most the money was going back into the grass roots facilities but its seems only 5million does. If the GAA is putting so much much into coaching and the elite end up in Australia I cant understand the difficult position the GAA are in. A player like Kobe is the type of returns on big investment the GAA is hoping for because he brings in millions to the GAA throughout a career. The players are right to leave imo
combo (Galway) - Posts: 45 - 16/08/2026 16:45:51
Replying To Seniorleague: "Do you think players,as free agents, should be allowed to transfer clubs?" Club players switching clubs is done in accordance with the rules of the organisation of which they are members. Going off to another organisation is a totally different thing altogether.
Seanfan (Roscommon) - Posts: 856 - 16/08/2026 17:25:38
Replying To Seanfan: "Club players switching clubs is done in accordance with the rules of the organisation of which they are members. Going off to another organisation is a totally different thing altogether." Sure but just out of curiosity do you think they should be allowed to change clubs,if its what they want?
Seniorleague (Galway) - Posts: 277 - 16/08/2026 18:34:54
Replying To Seniorleague: "Sure but just out of curiosity do you think they should be allowed to change clubs,if its what they want?" Check the rules in the T.O. I suspect my opinion isn't mentioned!
Seanfan (Roscommon) - Posts: 856 - 16/08/2026 18:58:10
Replying To tirawleybaron: "I dont think ive heard anyone say that Kobe should'nt take whatever opportunity is presented to him.
Now if he decided to get all serious and keep to himself (like most GAA players do) afraid to give the opposition a quote to motivate themselves - then there is noting to be earned from social media (i.e David Clifford and his 90,000 followers). Be yourself and post a few stories, sell a few apps and a very good living is possible, even after retirement." The bottom line is that it's a fantastic opportunity for any young guy or girl to turn down, if he never makes a bob out of it or makes a name for himself there. It's about an experience. How many people get the opportunity to go to Australia play a bit of ball and get paid to do so, and not have to work on a building site or some other menial carry on. If it doesn't work out it so be it, at least you go and try these things. Life's too short to not take opportunities that are handed to you.
Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 2669 - 16/08/2026 19:47:50
Replying To Bon: "The bottom line is that it's a fantastic opportunity for any young guy or girl to turn down, if he never makes a bob out of it or makes a name for himself there. It's about an experience. How many people get the opportunity to go to Australia play a bit of ball and get paid to do so, and not have to work on a building site or some other menial carry on. If it doesn't work out it so be it, at least you go and try these things. Life's too short to not take opportunities that are handed to you." So if a guy is playing for a junior club and a senior club offers him a fantastic opportunity to join them and compete at a higher level and win trophies hed never win at his own club,im assuming you'd wish him well in leaving the junior club.
Seniorleague (Galway) - Posts: 277 - 16/08/2026 21:25:14