Galway Football thread

Replying To facethepuckout:  "Seems to be a fact that in Galway / Mayo/ Roscommon derbies, the away team comes out on top most times. We seem to have more joy in Salthill/Tuam/Castlebar than the Hyde."
The match on Saturday night could have gone either way and I would not be one bit surprised if we meet again in the championship. If Galway and Roscommon both qualify for the Connacht final where will the match be played: The Hyde or Pearse Stadium?

Mayo supporters seem to be losing the run of themselves again after young Kobe McDonald got a couple of scores against an already beaten and demotivated Monaghan team at the weekend. They are now backed down to 7/1 for the All Ireland while Galway are 12/1 and Roscommon are 66/1. Mayo have probably to beat Roscommon and Galway to win Connacht and thereby get a better championship draw. Can't see that happening myself!

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 849 - 24/02/2026 14:40:31    2658369

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "PJ and squad will be as wise as Solomon after a few more seasons, absorbing all these 'learnings'."
I take your point and agree I did not want to be harsh on McDonagh in his 4th league appearence but he should have taken his point. I am concerned about our defence is fitzy our best option at FB? The likes of Hernon & O Flaherty & Molloy are not strong enough defensively look at hernon for Smith goal so naive. MCGrath is struggling the last year or 2 which is a concern. Any word on McDaid? I wont even ask about Comer & Walsh.

Eire89 (Galway) - Posts: 470 - 24/02/2026 14:44:04    2658373

Replying To letsgetgoing:  "The match on Saturday night could have gone either way and I would not be one bit surprised if we meet again in the championship. If Galway and Roscommon both qualify for the Connacht final where will the match be played: The Hyde or Pearse Stadium?

Mayo supporters seem to be losing the run of themselves again after young Kobe McDonald got a couple of scores against an already beaten and demotivated Monaghan team at the weekend. They are now backed down to 7/1 for the All Ireland while Galway are 12/1 and Roscommon are 66/1. Mayo have probably to beat Roscommon and Galway to win Connacht and thereby get a better championship draw. Can't see that happening myself!"
"Mayo supporters seem to be losing the run of themselves" - meanwhile you're already asking us where a Connacht Senior Football Championship Final between Galway and Roscommon will be played and telling us what price Roscommon are for the All-Ireland Senior Football Championship.

Dmoa95 (UK) - Posts: 1 - 24/02/2026 14:57:12    2658378

Replying To letsgetgoing:  "The match on Saturday night could have gone either way and I would not be one bit surprised if we meet again in the championship. If Galway and Roscommon both qualify for the Connacht final where will the match be played: The Hyde or Pearse Stadium?

Mayo supporters seem to be losing the run of themselves again after young Kobe McDonald got a couple of scores against an already beaten and demotivated Monaghan team at the weekend. They are now backed down to 7/1 for the All Ireland while Galway are 12/1 and Roscommon are 66/1. Mayo have probably to beat Roscommon and Galway to win Connacht and thereby get a better championship draw. Can't see that happening myself!"
LOL we are not loosing the run of ourselves. What are you on about ? Funny your giving out aboyt Mayo ones on a Galway thread..... it's outsiders building us up as per usual .
Also kobe is a star and everyones knows it
It's more like you lot the Rossies who are loosing the run of yoursevles like talking aboyt a possible AI this year I mean really when ye have not won a championship match in croker since 1982 .......

S1234 (Mayo) - Posts: 853 - 24/02/2026 15:06:28    2658379

Replying To JimB1991:  "The penny is finally dropping."
That forwards aren't up to it? Scored 0-21 in terrible conditions so not the best of matches to be making that statement. Defensively is where Galway need the most work under these new rules, under the old rules is was solid Defensively that allowed Galway reach to recent All-Ireland finals first and foremost.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3852 - 24/02/2026 15:22:05    2658381

It would be in Hyde Park. Played in Pearse Stadium last year in Connacht semi final.

galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1362 - 24/02/2026 15:29:58    2658386

There's no distinction between Connacht champions and runners up in the new system for the championship draw, one you make a provincial final you're seeded and if you don't you're not.

otgarom (Mayo) - Posts: 6 - 24/02/2026 16:01:00    2658398

Replying To S1234:  "LOL we are not loosing the run of ourselves. What are you on about ? Funny your giving out aboyt Mayo ones on a Galway thread..... it's outsiders building us up as per usual .
It's more like you lot the Rossies who are loosing the run of yoursevles like talking aboyt a possible AI this year I mean really when ye have not won a championship match in croker since 1982 ......."
Yer completely losing the run of yerselves. There were seven pages in the Western People today all about Kobe McDonald. Seven pages in the local paper.....that's nuts.

TanCanRan (Galway) - Posts: 328 - 24/02/2026 16:51:31    2658408

Any hyperbole about Kobe McDonald since Sunday has come from outside Mayo i.e. RTE, Off The Ball and even the official gaa Instagram. Genuinely haven't heard one Mayo pundit even talk about him. Yet everyone says Mayo will lose the run of themselves now.

Roscommon were the team celebrating wildly after a league win last weekend, not Mayo.

MayoDan (Mayo) - Posts: 510 - 24/02/2026 17:27:30    2658417

Replying To TanCanRan:  "Yer completely losing the run of yerselves. There were seven pages in the Western People today all about Kobe McDonald. Seven pages in the local paper.....that's nuts."
I don't know how that young man can cope with the pressure and expectation being heaped on him after the recent college final which his team lost he was surrounded by reporters totally ignoring the winner's

minor77 (Galway) - Posts: 297 - 24/02/2026 17:35:04    2658418

Replying To Dmoa95:  ""Mayo supporters seem to be losing the run of themselves" - meanwhile you're already asking us where a Connacht Senior Football Championship Final between Galway and Roscommon will be played and telling us what price Roscommon are for the All-Ireland Senior Football Championship."
He did say if, that's a valid question. Very few people would in reality have much between mayo and Roscommon in connacht championship.

Did he not give the other prices as a comparison? That is such a disingenuous thing of you to say to pick out only the ros price. the intention was to show that mayos are "losing the run" by the betting odds. In reality, league has little bearing on the latter stages of championship - especially last year when a relegated team and a team from div 2 made semi final.
Since neither mayo or Roscommon made it out of groups last year, it would be very unrealistic if one of them had much closer odds.
I keep on referencing reality since some of ye clearly don't live there.

systematic (Galway) - Posts: 247 - 24/02/2026 18:40:39    2658439

Replying To TanCanRan:  "Yer completely losing the run of yerselves. There were seven pages in the Western People today all about Kobe McDonald. Seven pages in the local paper.....that's nuts."
Seriously????

Seanfan (Roscommon) - Posts: 380 - 24/02/2026 18:50:25    2658442

Replying To S1234:  "LOL we are not loosing the run of ourselves. What are you on about ? Funny your giving out aboyt Mayo ones on a Galway thread..... it's outsiders building us up as per usual .
It's more like you lot the Rossies who are loosing the run of yoursevles like talking aboyt a possible AI this year I mean really when ye have not won a championship match in croker since 1982 ......."
You're not losing the run of yourself because you never had it in the first place. If we never saw you again on the Galway thread it would be too soon, yourself and the 1991 weaincear.

Crashingwaves (Galway) - Posts: 292 - 24/02/2026 18:56:38    2658444

Replying To otgarom:  "There's no distinction between Connacht champions and runners up in the new system for the championship draw, one you make a provincial final you're seeded and if you don't you're not."
Which is a daft system and HQ effort to make provincial titles less important.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3852 - 24/02/2026 19:00:48    2658445

That's something else alright. Mayo for Sam is in full flow now and really only Mayo can stop Mayo now.

Drax_the_destroyer (UK) - Posts: 694 - 24/02/2026 19:04:15    2658446

Replying To JimB1991:  "The penny is finally dropping."
You fancy yourself as an explainer, so explain your obsession with Galway to us.

Crashingwaves (Galway) - Posts: 292 - 24/02/2026 19:18:36    2658447

There wasn't 7 pages about Kobe

Cumann1 (Mayo) - Posts: 120 - 24/02/2026 19:39:40    2658449

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "Last six away league games for Galway W2 D2 L2 points 6

Last six home league games W2 L4 points 4

On another note why was that game scheduled for a Saturday night under lights when not streamed or televised? Surely the sensible option was to play it Sunday at 2pm and in Tuam stadium. Galway chairperson Paul Bellew said before the league that Tuam wouldn't be big enough to host league games, was room in Tuam for the 6,048 that turned up to Salthill on Saturday."
How many spectators is Tuam allowed to have by safety regulations? even allowing for the fact that 90% of them would be out in open under the elements.

backtooldwall (Galway) - Posts: 217 - 24/02/2026 19:53:59    2658452