Leitrim GAA thread

Replying To southleitrim_mafia:  "Unfortunately I don't agree with you on them not having the quality of player to lock down B McN. Their midfielder Cathal Hynds is a very good midfielder and I can see him being tasked to lock Barry out. I don't believe he will get the room he did last week. He should still chip in with 2 or 3 points that being said.

Hopefully I am wrong and he scores another 12 points."
If he plays the entire game I'll be expecting at least 20

SeanMacDiarmada (Leitrim) - Posts: 433 - 19/02/2026 15:22:51    2657335

Like ourselves, Antrim are in too competitive a province to make an impact in championship so the league is their best chance of success, surprised they are going so poorly. Expect them to put up a challenge but if morale is poor then it may be a case of damage limitation and we will get the crucial win.
Expect us to beat Longford and Tipp then see where we are at vs Carlow and the permutations to get us promoted, assuming we don't slip up, if we do then it's game over. Be some achievement to go straight back up considering how meekly we went down last year but a new team needs time to gel

gaelsboy (Leitrim) - Posts: 730 - 19/02/2026 16:13:19    2657341

Replying To gaelsboy:  "Like ourselves, Antrim are in too competitive a province to make an impact in championship so the league is their best chance of success, surprised they are going so poorly. Expect them to put up a challenge but if morale is poor then it may be a case of damage limitation and we will get the crucial win.
Expect us to beat Longford and Tipp then see where we are at vs Carlow and the permutations to get us promoted, assuming we don't slip up, if we do then it's game over. Be some achievement to go straight back up considering how meekly we went down last year but a new team needs time to gel"
I would expect Leitrim to take Antrim and Tipp, but Longford could be a surprise packet. They haven't been going too well recently, but the last day out they put up 1-27 above in the Glens of Antrim. That's some scoring by any standards, especially away from home.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2450 - 19/02/2026 17:43:16    2657357

Replying To foreveryoung:  "I would expect Leitrim to take Antrim and Tipp, but Longford could be a surprise packet. They haven't been going too well recently, but the last day out they put up 1-27 above in the Glens of Antrim. That's some scoring by any standards, especially away from home."
Id say it depends how their next game goes and if they've as ny chance of promotion, if they are out on the reckoning we will take them if we have our best men fit.
If we make it out, I ponder will the team give div 3 a rattle or mass dropoffs/ retirements like we did last year. If so then we will never actually progress.

gaelsboy (Leitrim) - Posts: 730 - 20/02/2026 14:24:16    2657485

Too early to talk about club championship? Just a month out from the start of the league and I expect all clubs have been out for a number of weeks.

How do we think teams will get on? Any team to suprise?

OnTheBall1234 (Leitrim) - Posts: 1 - 20/02/2026 14:30:41    2657489

Replying To OnTheBall1234:  "Too early to talk about club championship? Just a month out from the start of the league and I expect all clubs have been out for a number of weeks.

How do we think teams will get on? Any team to suprise?"
It is for some. Have been told some of the smaller clubs aren't back yet and haven't even a manager in place, with most clubs back since January and no spring league to warm up with, we could see the smaller clubs sink lower, lucky not lower than division 3.
When was the last time a first team dropped to junior B? My money is on it happening this year, Marys and Mohill are resourced enough to stay in junior A, so a once proud senior/ intermediate side will end up down in the social championship.

gaelsboy (Leitrim) - Posts: 730 - 20/02/2026 22:55:22    2657576

Another great win for the hurlers!

moros (Roscommon) - Posts: 1275 - 21/02/2026 16:05:04    2657649

Replying To moros:  "Another great win for the hurlers!"
Yes, and away from home again. Building up a bit of momentum, it seems. Onward and upward!

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2450 - 21/02/2026 19:27:01    2657680

Best of luck to the Leitrim lads today. A win is vital today , nothing else will do, but I'd be very wary of Antrim who are not going well but surely have a huge game in them and traditionally we've struggled with their physicality especially. Can't be relying on McNulty to bail us out every day, he'll be closely watched from now on so we have to be at it from the start today. Last weekends comeback will be for nothing if we don't back it up today. I'm very worried about this game ,we always struggle when expected to win ,I'd gladly take any sort of win today.

JimmyNail (Leitrim) - Posts: 328 - 22/02/2026 11:14:13    2657744

Leitrim hurlers with a fantastic win. Ros hurlers and footballers winning the weekend. Let's hope we see Leitrim beat Antrim today to put them near the top of their division.

moros (Roscommon) - Posts: 1275 - 22/02/2026 12:07:49    2657755

Left with a mountain to climb again. Can't keep doing this and expecting to get away with it. Antrim will be niggly and physical and flood players back and try and frustrated us, very disappointing

JimmyNail (Leitrim) - Posts: 328 - 22/02/2026 14:52:42    2657786

It was nice while it lasted, hard to see promotion this year. I hope this group of lads stick together as we need them to if we've any hope of progressing.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 1835 - 22/02/2026 15:25:39    2657798

Replying To JimmyNail:  "Left with a mountain to climb again. Can't keep doing this and expecting to get away with it. Antrim will be niggly and physical and flood players back and try and frustrated us, very disappointing"
Disappointed for youse

moros (Roscommon) - Posts: 1275 - 22/02/2026 15:41:53    2657804

Replying To gaelsboy:  "Like ourselves, Antrim are in too competitive a province to make an impact in championship so the league is their best chance of success, surprised they are going so poorly. Expect them to put up a challenge but if morale is poor then it may be a case of damage limitation and we will get the crucial win.
Expect us to beat Longford and Tipp then see where we are at vs Carlow and the permutations to get us promoted, assuming we don't slip up, if we do then it's game over. Be some achievement to go straight back up considering how meekly we went down last year but a new team needs time to gel"
Expecting to beat Longford and Tipp....ye got hammered by a team who got hammered themselves last week!!

Oddball (Roscommon) - Posts: 1012 - 22/02/2026 15:44:37    2657808

Replying To JimmyNail:  "Left with a mountain to climb again. Can't keep doing this and expecting to get away with it. Antrim will be niggly and physical and flood players back and try and frustrated us, very disappointing"
Found today. Over reliant on mcnulty to dig us out and wasn't happening 2 weeks in a row

gaelsboy (Leitrim) - Posts: 730 - 22/02/2026 15:59:49    2657818

As I said before, you should never look past an Ulster team. To be honest, I see little to no improvement in this Leitrim side, and I'd argue they've actually gone backwards under Poacher. The only real positive has been McNulty's ability to score from distance. Defensively, we've been all over the place all season, and nothing seems to have been done to address it. Going forward, our play is slow and often very pedestrian.
I'm trying not to be overly negative because it's a young squad, but it's hard to see many positives. We struggled again against Waterford and should really have been beaten by London - a team Wicklow defeated by 16 points today. It's difficult to see us winning any of our remaining three games if we continue playing such slow, negative football.

Leitrim_12 (Leitrim) - Posts: 86 - 22/02/2026 16:18:21    2657821

The first half was shocking by Leitrim, couldn't get any chances and couldn't win any kickouts either throughout the game

Leitrimman010 (Leitrim) - Posts: 4 - 22/02/2026 18:11:59    2657860

Hugely disappointing ,we never looked like getting back into it second half, we were never going to come back two weeks in a row, conceded way too much again, that's a recurring problem. Any chance we had of promotion is gone , I hope we can finish the league strongly and get a couple of results but not too hopeful after today. Very good support there today unfortunately little to cheer for

JimmyNail (Leitrim) - Posts: 328 - 22/02/2026 18:22:35    2657871

Made the trip down today. Very disappointed with ye!!even when Antrim tried 2 start a row ye had no1 to shut them up. No fight in ye!! Looks like a bottom half finish 4ye

Zucker (Leitrim) - Posts: 172 - 22/02/2026 18:33:18    2657880

Very disappointed with today's result but realistically would promotion do us any favours with the squad we currently have. I think our goal for the next 2/3 years is to try build a squad than can put together a few respectable results in Connacht and a tailteann cup run to the quarters and then maybe the confidence will grow and we can aim to stay in mid division 3 for a few years.

I think the biggest difference between now and the likes of 2019/2024 is that we had a squad filling with players dominating the club championships. I don't think that's true of the current squad.

Hatchetman76 (Leitrim) - Posts: 39 - 22/02/2026 18:59:06    2657890