Galway Football thread

Replying To Fox.1n.7he.b0x:  "So does that end the debate that Conor Gleeson is a better goalie than Conor Flaherty, and can people stop saying it's time for him to get a chance lost nearly every kick out,"
Conor Flaherty is a significantly better goalkeeper than Conor Gleeson, and that's a change we should have made years ago.

crankyincorofin (Galway) - Posts: 115 - 14/06/2025 21:40:26    2617507

Replying To galway2015:  "Your message is confusing."
Everyone on this forum always look for Fla to be in goal, he got his chance he was shocking I think that should be the debate over,

Fox.1n.7he.b0x (Galway) - Posts: 154 - 14/06/2025 21:45:09    2617509

Replying To Fox.1n.7he.b0x:  "So does that end the debate that Conor Gleeson is a better goalie than Conor Flaherty, and can people stop saying it's time for him to get a chance lost nearly every kick out,"
Such a stupid comment.Get back in your box.This is Conor Flahertys first right championship game and he was under huge pressure.He didn't concede a goal and as far as I can remember Connor Gleeson gave up plenty of kick outs against Derry and Dublin.Connor Gleeson has been given so many chances so when Conor Flaherty has been given as many then you can judge it.Chances are that Connor Gleeson could be back next week.

Alwaysencourage (Galway) - Posts: 481 - 14/06/2025 21:50:58    2617511

Replying To galwayman2:  "Serious second half performance.
Why do we seem so lacking in motivation at times / as was the case in the first half today?
I can't understand it.
Switching the goalie backfired bigtime.
We conceded some amount of scores from wayward restarts.
Tough game awaits next week but fair play to them for standing up in that second half. Huge contributions off the bench today also."
No it didn't.You are comparing a goalkeeper making his debut to a goalkeeper who has had many chances.Conor Flaherty was very assured and didn't concede a goal.Would.love to see you playing your first real championship game in a must win game against the AI champions.I am sure the lad was pretty nervous and will learn alot.

Alwaysencourage (Galway) - Posts: 481 - 14/06/2025 21:54:20    2617512

Replying To WanPintWin:  "Jimmy, JimB, Séamuisín a mhiceo. Sionnach i measc na gcearta.
Nothing lucky about that given, the hole we'd dug for ourselves. 8 points down at half-time, two missed penalties, at least two other missed goal chances, kickouts gone haywire and we still won it."
Armagh left their 3 top scorers off, played in third gear as they topped the table. Lucky goal v Derry, so just take it you've been getting the rub of the green. You won't (didn't) beat Armagh when it matters.

Jimmymark2 (Donegal) - Posts: 14 - 14/06/2025 21:54:28    2617513

Replying To Trump2020:  "I am launching a lawsuit against the Galway Football team for giving me heart attacks every time they play. Seriously though can they do anything THE EASY WAY???"
Nothing easy from now on, players were flat in first half. Finnerty point from penalty actually important but we should b scoring them. We lost to dubs by 1, drew with derry, it shows how important a lad like shane is near the end if a tight match. He wasn't on the pitch in last few minutes in the other 2 games, reason being I'd imagine that he was coming back from injury. The lads showed huge character there to get a result today. With our luck with the draws we will get kerry or donegal. Would have taken that at half time. Well done.

jj19 (Galway) - Posts: 456 - 14/06/2025 21:55:03    2617515

Replying To Fox.1n.7he.b0x:  "Everyone on this forum always look for Fla to be in goal, he got his chance he was shocking I think that should be the debate over,"
He was not shocking.Get over it.

Alwaysencourage (Galway) - Posts: 481 - 14/06/2025 21:55:14    2617516

Replying To Fox.1n.7he.b0x:  "Everyone on this forum always look for Fla to be in goal, he got his chance he was shocking I think that should be the debate over,"
Such rubbish.

Alwaysencourage (Galway) - Posts: 481 - 14/06/2025 21:56:07    2617517

Replying To galway2015:  "Just because you were there doesn't mean you speak for everyone that attended the game. I was there too. Great battling performance in second half, including some great scores, great tackles etc. To make a sweeping statement that our big game players didn't show up just confirms you don't know a whole pile really about football. Not sure why you go support them with such a blinkered view on things."
I didn't speak for everyone, but I'm entitled to an opinion. I'm telling you now, if they didn't turn up in the second half we would have been a laughing stock. But, they showed some pride and I'm delighted, we were bullied and embarrassed in the first half. If anyone thinks otherwise they are coding themselves. Anyways we are in the hat and on the road again next week.

GDL (Galway) - Posts: 832 - 14/06/2025 22:03:28    2617520

Replying To galwayman2:  "Serious second half performance.
Why do we seem so lacking in motivation at times / as was the case in the first half today?
I can't understand it.
Switching the goalie backfired bigtime.
We conceded some amount of scores from wayward restarts.
Tough game awaits next week but fair play to them for standing up in that second half. Huge contributions off the bench today also."
Lord we also missed two penalties so should we drop those players and all the lads that put the ball wide up the other end and didn't win the kickouts in the middle of the field.Young keeper making his real championship debut was going to be nervous.

Alwaysencourage (Galway) - Posts: 481 - 14/06/2025 22:06:07    2617522

Replying To Alwaysencourage:  "Such a stupid comment.Get back in your box.This is Conor Flahertys first right championship game and he was under huge pressure.He didn't concede a goal and as far as I can remember Connor Gleeson gave up plenty of kick outs against Derry and Dublin.Connor Gleeson has been given so many chances so when Conor Flaherty has been given as many then you can judge it.Chances are that Connor Gleeson could be back next week."
Armagh make it difficult on kickouts, they leave little option wen they press. Conor flatherty should have plsyed more games in league. He has more ball skills that Gleeson imo. Certainly a few kickouts went over the sideline but the lad will learn from it. He will have learnt more today than all the A vs Bs all year. Gleeson a fine keeper too.

jj19 (Galway) - Posts: 456 - 14/06/2025 22:09:00    2617523

Replying To ozbound:  "Have a look back at my posts and tell me anything I said about the 1st half was incorrect or about the 2nd half for that matter? Is this Galway team playing well consistently and playing with a pace and energy for full games? Is Kelly the answer at 6? I think that looking at that 1st half display, derry match and dublin match people have a right to have questions."
Unsure as to why you feel this post is directly related to anything you have said. Lots of anger when we should be supporting the group of lads to learn from any mistakes and push forward.

WarriorG125 (Galway) - Posts: 4 - 14/06/2025 22:13:11    2617526

Replying To Jimmymark2:  "Armagh left their 3 top scorers off, played in third gear as they topped the table. Lucky goal v Derry, so just take it you've been getting the rub of the green. You won't (didn't) beat Armagh when it matters."
Ah give it a rest for 24 hours will ya.

Alwaysencourage (Galway) - Posts: 481 - 14/06/2025 22:15:18    2617529

Replying To Jimmymark2:  "Armagh left their 3 top scorers off, played in third gear as they topped the table. Lucky goal v Derry, so just take it you've been getting the rub of the green. You won't (didn't) beat Armagh when it matters."
Your another wum from God knows where, you're not from Donegal anyway.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 3252 - 14/06/2025 22:16:19    2617530

Replying To jj19:  "Nothing easy from now on, players were flat in first half. Finnerty point from penalty actually important but we should b scoring them. We lost to dubs by 1, drew with derry, it shows how important a lad like shane is near the end if a tight match. He wasn't on the pitch in last few minutes in the other 2 games, reason being I'd imagine that he was coming back from injury. The lads showed huge character there to get a result today. With our luck with the draws we will get kerry or donegal. Would have taken that at half time. Well done."
Absolutely no easy games and we are away and all the potential teams we could meet are long journeys.Nothing easy at all.

Alwaysencourage (Galway) - Posts: 481 - 14/06/2025 22:16:29    2617531

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Your another wum from God knows where, you're not from Donegal anyway."
Point out where I am wrong ? Fair play to you for moderating this forum and I am from Donegal, check yourself with God.

Jimmymark2 (Donegal) - Posts: 14 - 14/06/2025 22:36:34    2617546

Replying To Alwaysencourage:  "Such a stupid comment.Get back in your box.This is Conor Flahertys first right championship game and he was under huge pressure.He didn't concede a goal and as far as I can remember Connor Gleeson gave up plenty of kick outs against Derry and Dublin.Connor Gleeson has been given so many chances so when Conor Flaherty has been given as many then you can judge it.Chances are that Connor Gleeson could be back next week."
Not his first championship game my friend, why will Gleeson be in goals next week even you can see that! It didn't work we tried and we go back to a more safe option, don't get me wrong I don't think Gleeson is the answer but he's better than fla, it just annoys me everyone here harps on fla has to start and when he does he nearly ends our year,

Fox.1n.7he.b0x (Galway) - Posts: 154 - 14/06/2025 22:38:03    2617548

Good win today guys, but it is really hard to know where this Galway team is at.

On paper they should be one of the favourites for SAM, but I just dunno....

Luck of the draw in the next round of course, so that will have a massive bearing of who goes through.

Anyway, best of luck for the rest of the Championship.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4303 - 14/06/2025 22:38:08    2617549

Replying To Alwaysencourage:  "Ah give it a rest for 24 hours will ya."
Safe home always encourage.

Jimmymark2 (Donegal) - Posts: 14 - 14/06/2025 22:38:45    2617550

I'm very positive after this evening. Group of death and we only lost 1 game.
Subs today made a huge impact, O'Flaherty carried really well, Conroy won the free at the end, Hernon was very good, Sweeney had an impact.
Fitzgerald now vital to this team, very good defender.
Finnerty and Walsh Box Office at times, Finnerty is in the form of his life, Paddy Burns is a top defender and had to be moved off him early.
Matthew Thompson, my god lads how good has this guy become over a short space of time.
Anyone giving out about the keeper, Rafferty was class but even had a couple of meltdowns. My one grip le about the change was that he warmed up carrying ball and shooting into the goal against the breeze, I had presumed he would play the role Rafferty plays. Can't remember him on the ball once out of goal.

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 519 - 14/06/2025 23:02:15    2617559