Monaghan GAA thread

Replying To conjack76:  "2 from 2 for the U20's"
And a BIG improvement in effort and efficacy from the team compared to the insipid performance vs Antrim. Big test next week vs Derry.

TearsIn85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 194 - 28/03/2024 13:28:01    2534297

Replying To Farney:  "Drew would be a good goalkeeper. he would at least be safe under a high ball!!"
Really? Always thought him poor under high ball

veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 390 - 28/03/2024 13:36:49    2534298

Replying To Farney:  "Drew would be a good goalkeeper. he would at least be safe under a high ball!!"
Vinny also. Put him in goals - player manager.

muckla (UK) - Posts: 366 - 28/03/2024 13:40:41    2534300

Replying To TearsIn85:  "And a BIG improvement in effort and efficacy from the team compared to the insipid performance vs Antrim. Big test next week vs Derry."
Big improvement but still made it hard on themselves. Defence outstanding.

ORIELMAN85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 121 - 28/03/2024 14:47:33    2534333

Replying To ORIELMAN85:  "Big improvement but still made it hard on themselves. Defence outstanding."
Great to pull the game out of the fire at the end.

Shooting was atrocious in the second half but at least its something for them to improve on.

shaggylegend (Monaghan) - Posts: 1928 - 28/03/2024 17:27:46    2534355

Rory back for cavan game

Farney#1 (Monaghan) - Posts: 6 - 28/03/2024 17:51:12    2534359

Replying To Farney#1:  "Rory back for cavan game"
Heard that , trained with them yesterday

stoneygrey (Monaghan) - Posts: 213 - 31/03/2024 09:03:08    2534747

tomas galligan back for cavan

breffnibluewhite (Cavan) - Posts: 454 - 31/03/2024 17:51:36    2534827

I haven't placed a bet for 4 years.
They dangled a carrot at me by sending me a free 20 euro about5 years ago.
I turned that 20 into 19500.
They stopped taking bets from me.
I talked to Joe on liveline about this.
The sad stories that people rang Joe about suicides because of betting was so heartbreaking and thought provoking
When your losing they would stop you betting.

Anything in relation to betting I'm writing this.

The same bookies are now excepting bets for naming the ulster championship finalists.

One bet they have is

MONAGHAN V CAVAN At 150/1.

I doubt this will be the two in the final.

30 mins ago they were taking bets on. this.

I think that bet will be a winner !!!!!!!!!!!!!

Shannonview (Leitrim) - Posts: 72 - 01/04/2024 18:04:41    2535040

Can anyone enlighten us cavan monaghan nostalgia. Big week. 2001, vintage Dermot mc cabe

222 (UK) - Posts: 694 - 01/04/2024 19:20:18    2535056

Replying To 222:  "Can anyone enlighten us cavan monaghan nostalgia. Big week. 2001, vintage Dermot mc cabe"
Beggan taking 13 steps back in 2013… one of the worse decisions I ever seen

veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 390 - 01/04/2024 21:26:05    2535077

Guess who's back

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1058 - 01/04/2024 22:45:50    2535086

Replying To Eddie the Exile:  "Guess who's back"
Said it a few days ago

Farney#1 (Monaghan) - Posts: 6 - 02/04/2024 07:09:36    2535104

Marty Mone

breffnibluewhite (Cavan) - Posts: 454 - 02/04/2024 10:21:32    2535127

I heard Tommy was back, but then he lost 2 fingers on a carpentry job...those were the days..

moodoo (Monaghan) - Posts: 441 - 02/04/2024 11:02:09    2535142

Replying To moodoo:  "I heard Tommy was back, but then he lost 2 fingers on a carpentry job...those were the days.."
Was that when fermanagh did a job on us

222 (UK) - Posts: 694 - 02/04/2024 11:14:42    2535143

Replying To 222:  "Was that when fermanagh did a job on us"
No week of Kerry game in 07.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1799 - 02/04/2024 12:48:39    2535167

Replying To seanie08:  "No week of Kerry game in 07."
What a team!

Dessie Mone, Viney Corey, Damien McArdle, McQuaid, JP Mone, Big Dick Clerkin, E Lennon, Gollogly, P Finlay, Damien Freeman, R Woods, Tommy Freeman.

Darren Hughes off the bench. Conor McManus dropped for the game and playing at half back up to that game!

MrPBoylan (Monaghan) - Posts: 112 - 02/04/2024 15:23:06    2535209

Posting for the craic here lads, hope ye are all well:
Both sets of teams and supporters are indeed very unsure, leading to a very low key build-up. Everyone is afraid to say anything! Also the prospect of entering a stacked side of the draw where a good beating from Tyrone, Derry or Donegal awaits, sort of leads to the idea that the Monaghan game is pretty irrelevant. I would have the opposite view- at least win this one for Christ's sake and give us something to gnaw on for the year. You can't beat Monaghan often enough or by enough.
Starting 15's on both sides are very unclear due to injuries and form. The Beggan story is a distraction- to be fair I don't think the man will be able to slot directly into a championship team so I doubt he will feature on Sunday. So the more important personnel issues lie elsewhere. For Cavan, if Faulkner doesn't start at 100% match fit we are up against it. Agree midfield is a big issue but then again so it is for Monaghan. Hughes and Mohan are not exactly to be feared in there. Killian Clarke has been coasting for a while but surely he will be able to keep Mohan out of the game. James Smith holds the key for Cavan. He scores as much as Lynch from play and really needs to be on the ball. Start him away from Monaghan's best man markers- Hughes and Lavelle- and make them change up to counter. The idea has to be to get Lavelle moving out of full back and Smith can force that. The 3rd quarter bursts that Cavan have shown in the league have been led by Holla and Gerry Smith - I would hold Tiarnan Madden until the 50th minute to add some threat at that point.
Big worry is where will scores come from. 2 goals needed and nobody to get them. Lynch needs more involvement from play- he should get his chance if they can occupy Lavelle - Wylie and the O'Toole lad are slow and give away plenty of frees.
From across the dyke, the worries seemingly are for Bannigan, Hanlon, McAnespie, and Dessie Ward. That's a serious quartet of players i fairness to them, so their availability will probably tip the scales either way. Woods was sent off in their last league game and faces suspension- he is more of a panel player but can cause damage. If 3 of those 5 are available suddenly Monaghan look strong enough but without they have no depth in the panel.
My hunch is that Monaghan are very tight lipped but have genuine injury problems. Rushing one or two back won't help them.
In that case, a Cavan team that taps into that age-old belief that our worst can beat Monaghan's best will prevail by an unexpected 3 or 4 points. They are brittle lads, we are Cavan.

MadgeKing (Cavan) - Posts: 493 - 03/04/2024 08:56:44    2535320

Replying To MadgeKing:  "Posting for the craic here lads, hope ye are all well:
Both sets of teams and supporters are indeed very unsure, leading to a very low key build-up. Everyone is afraid to say anything! Also the prospect of entering a stacked side of the draw where a good beating from Tyrone, Derry or Donegal awaits, sort of leads to the idea that the Monaghan game is pretty irrelevant. I would have the opposite view- at least win this one for Christ's sake and give us something to gnaw on for the year. You can't beat Monaghan often enough or by enough.
Starting 15's on both sides are very unclear due to injuries and form. The Beggan story is a distraction- to be fair I don't think the man will be able to slot directly into a championship team so I doubt he will feature on Sunday. So the more important personnel issues lie elsewhere. For Cavan, if Faulkner doesn't start at 100% match fit we are up against it. Agree midfield is a big issue but then again so it is for Monaghan. Hughes and Mohan are not exactly to be feared in there. Killian Clarke has been coasting for a while but surely he will be able to keep Mohan out of the game. James Smith holds the key for Cavan. He scores as much as Lynch from play and really needs to be on the ball. Start him away from Monaghan's best man markers- Hughes and Lavelle- and make them change up to counter. The idea has to be to get Lavelle moving out of full back and Smith can force that. The 3rd quarter bursts that Cavan have shown in the league have been led by Holla and Gerry Smith - I would hold Tiarnan Madden until the 50th minute to add some threat at that point.
Big worry is where will scores come from. 2 goals needed and nobody to get them. Lynch needs more involvement from play- he should get his chance if they can occupy Lavelle - Wylie and the O'Toole lad are slow and give away plenty of frees.
From across the dyke, the worries seemingly are for Bannigan, Hanlon, McAnespie, and Dessie Ward. That's a serious quartet of players i fairness to them, so their availability will probably tip the scales either way. Woods was sent off in their last league game and faces suspension- he is more of a panel player but can cause damage. If 3 of those 5 are available suddenly Monaghan look strong enough but without they have no depth in the panel.
My hunch is that Monaghan are very tight lipped but have genuine injury problems. Rushing one or two back won't help them.
In that case, a Cavan team that taps into that age-old belief that our worst can beat Monaghan's best will prevail by an unexpected 3 or 4 points. They are brittle lads, we are Cavan."
I went to the Cavan v Fermanagh match and it was an hour or so of my life ill never get back , it would have been an average Senior B club match , a lot of mouthing from the Cavan players at each other . If Monaghan play anything like they did against Tyrone or Mayo they will win this at a canter.. Monaghan by 6

stoneygrey (Monaghan) - Posts: 213 - 03/04/2024 10:30:07    2535340