ExPat you said there was no way they were going to find anything different,but sure they did with the Michael Murphy case,so that was a daft comment.And rightly so,he did nothing either and I would have been equally annoyed if his red card wasnt overturned.Im not just writing because its Brian Farrell,I am not a huge Brian Farrell fan,in fact Im not even a huge Meath fan.I like to see the game played the way it should be played,by the best teams who know how to play it.And as I have stated here,the GAA are well on the way to totally spoiling their own game.No wonder more and more people are starting to turn to the like of rugby,where you are allowed to contest hard and fair for everything,and common sense is used by players and officials. TheDogsBite (Meath) - Posts: 52 - 17/06/2011 21:29:12 959280 Link 0 |
Murphy didn't raise a hand so there was no question of striking. Coylers Elbow (Meath) - Posts: 1075 - 18/06/2011 10:45:14 959331 Link 0 |
farrell was wrong to react and there was a striking action but it does have a precedent with donnacha oconnor lightly slapping aidan o mahony on the face in the AI semi 2008, and omahony falling to the ground as if he was shot!! however the cccc saw fit to release oconnor for the replay of that semi final, why???? because cork have frank murphy and meath dont!! jackmeyhoffer (USA) - Posts: 150 - 18/06/2011 11:57:31 959364 Link 0 |
Well G--- just to put you in the picture I was born in Co. Louth but how lucky for me when My Family took us to live in Co. Meath when I was one year old so I really enjoyed been a Meath supporter (Growing Up) watching the Royals win the Sam four times I hope time won't run out on you before Louth win even a Leinster. scarraboy (Meath) - Posts: 70 - 18/06/2011 12:04:45 959367 Link 0 |
A few people here need to get the facts correct. Yes farrell did raise his hand as all players do throughout a game. But there was no strike, it is hard to even see any contact made, and if there is it is more of a push to boltons neck. Farrell clearly got struck with a stray elbow the human body reacts to this....however not with a strike. Murphy caught the cavan player with a shoulder in the face, accidental let it be said. If it was fair play both cards should have been recinded. I feel for Farrell for the amount oftime and effort spent training for the championship, to miss out on it because of a bad call by a referee. Anyway hopefully we can get over louth on saturday next, because there is definately a place for Brian in our forwards. An mhi abu. upmeath (Meath) - Posts: 92 - 18/06/2011 12:53:14 959408 Link 0 |
rosscross Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3747 - 18/06/2011 14:15:01 959471 Link 0 |
right lads as you know not a meath fan but that card is a sham and a disgrace that man has to sit out and watch a grudge match any player would die to play in it was a nothing foul not a yellow when football was a mans game.If we don,t get a grip on this silly refin we may stop or go on the field in skirts. mickeylinden (Monaghan) - Posts: 587 - 19/06/2011 09:55:52 959888 Link 0 |
as a true gaa fan [ not a meath man] i want to express my disgust at the way meath is being treated by croke park.the brian farrell issue and michael murphy is last straw for me.the last few weeks has shown how narrow minded certain officals are in our organisation.the offaly stand off with officals in county board .the list is endless.do the powers that be not realise that meath put in same effort and sacrifice every year as other countys.BRIAN FARRELL DID NOT DESERVE TO GO AND IS BEING PUNISHED FOR A DECISION THAT SHOULD HAVE BEIND MADE LAST YEAR. are we at situation that meath are going to have to win by 4 points every game?.hear it every day about meath and they get what they deserve and its filtering through to officals.i urge all meath fans to get behind your team and use this game to show the powers that be that ye can play football and demand fair play.hope ye get over louth and good run in qualifers. hurler40 (Cavan) - Posts: 450 - 19/06/2011 13:50:07 960061 Link 0 |
Lads look it all stems back to last year karma does funny tings, not in a million years was that a red card, but look there is plenty of strength in depth in the forwards department in meath.. richkid (Cavan) - Posts: 95 - 19/06/2011 14:00:47 960084 Link 0 |
In the grand scheme of things it was an extremely harsh decision by the referee to send him off for that incident, but once it got to CCCC level then there was only ever going to be one outcome, end of story. The incident itself was fairly typical of what you might see repeated in any club match up and down the country, week in week out, and was probably no more or less serious that any one of a number of similar incidents in the same game. The fact that the referee chose to act on it could be seen as 'petty in the extreme', and the fact that he chose to send him off for it would be seen as harsh by a great many people. Ex_Pat (USA) - Posts: 186 - 19/06/2011 20:17:34 960454 Link 0 |
good article on sunday indo by colm o rourke about brian farrell red card.at last somebody has balls to stand up to cccc. hurler40 (Cavan) - Posts: 450 - 20/06/2011 12:27:35 960798 Link 0 |
The thing is why were Michael Murphy and Dick Clerkin let off and not Brian Farrell. Does anyone know the official reasons for this? monkeyd (Meath) - Posts: 163 - 20/06/2011 13:00:55 960849 Link 0 |
Farrell's sending off was harsh but that's just the way it is. No point in Meath fan's cribbing about it. As we all have been told playing, if you raise your hand, you're running the risk of getting gate. MeathGael (Meath) - Posts: 37 - 20/06/2011 13:02:03 960851 Link 0 |
The only reason Farrell gets is suspension upheld is because of the leinster final last year. Come on, Dick Clerkin, Michael Murphy, Philly McMahon and Michael Shiels all got suspensions lifted. This is just amazing, but the meath lad who is up...throw the book at him! i feel very sorry for this meath team who will not get any 5050 decisions this year. But I feel Brian Farrell has been hung out to dry by the diciplinary chiefs. He is a very committed, honest, harworking player who does not need to have 6 months of his training thrown down the drain. Lets get behind him and Meath on Saturday and make this a long summer upmeath (Meath) - Posts: 92 - 20/06/2011 13:29:51 960898 Link 0 |
No point in complaining about it. Thats just the way it is, he struck the player and that was that. The moral of the story is, if your going to strike a player strike him properly and get the best values out of your suspension. NAIL_BAR (Meath) - Posts: 457 - 20/06/2011 21:53:55 961519 Link 0 |