Change Of Management? - 11 Like(s)
I would have welcomed a change in management myself. reasons.
We have gone back since 2019, in 2019 we peaked and where looking good,
In 2019 we gained promotion, and made the super 8s.
since that we have not beaten a Div 1 team and we where relegated. ( also we failed to get promoted) in a relatively easier group. Including super 8s in 2019 until now. I count we played Div teams 12 times league and championship lost all one draw Mongahan. After 5 years in charge the team is no more settle than it was in day one. The problems have been knocking about now for years, everyone is blue in the face talking about it.
Goalkeeping situation. is close to 15 or goalkeepers at this stage, its just a mess of Andys own doing he cant blame anyone else for that.
We possibly need a new full back that been kinda obvious for awhile.
Midfield is another problem that wont go away. We have not natural fielders ball winners inthat area. Harnan and Menton belong in the half backline. Thats the best positions, We are robbing Peter to pay Paul there.
Interestingly 2018 Meath played Tyrone in Navan, which we where unlucky not to win. since then Tyrone have gone on to play in a All-ireland and win one. It just shows the directions both teams have gone. When in 2018 we where about the same level.
All this accumulated in to the mess that we watched in Newbridge this year against Kildare. For me this is one of the worst performances I have ever seen from a Meath team. When Andy came in I was excited. he did steadily the ship, and we have made progress, but we have gone backwards recently. I cant see anything changing is year to change above problems that has dogged Andys time with Meath. I think it was a opportunity for some to come and try something fresh.
bobkarlgees (Meath) - 13/10/2021 13:08:21
Clare - 9 Like(s)
What complete waste of year. Andy was voted out by CB. But Andy would not go stayed on via club delegates who have no clue what is going on a close quarters. And are rightly more interested in the own club affairs than the Meath manager. Andy should have stepped away but no we wasted a year. A complete shambles. Hard to believe how badly we where setting up in defense. shocking, exciting years players Morris Hickey and Scully etc. who where making a big impact a few years ago. Not making team, confidence shot to pieces. Natural flare seem to coached out of them.
I feel sorry for Kegohan and Menton etc given up the last two years for the shambles they had to put up they deserved a lot better.
bobkarlgees (Meath) - 10/06/2022 20:37:34
Galway Vs Meath - 6 Like(s)
Replying To BigJoe14: "Who would you have selected as alternatives in Midfield yesterday? We are currently without three midfielders in Bryan Menton, Ronan Jones and Jack Flynn due to injury and Brian Conlon is only back from a shoulder injury. I agree that the two lads are not playing in their best position, but what are the alternatives? Give us some names, as you clearly know better than the management that are looking at every possible player that could play midfield in the county. Not two other players in the current squad that are available could have played midfield yesterday, other than the two lads who played yesterday. And I hate to break it to you, but the best players in the Meath club football, at the moment, are in the squad. So their isn't some superstars out there that haven't been asked in or given a chance. Anyone that is good enough to play is in their at the moment or has at least been asked in and have turned it down. A list of current club players not currently in the squad but would be good enough to be on the squad:
James Toher: Committed to hurlers. Nothing personal against management, as some would like to believe
Aaron Lynch: Will have to be called in, but don't expect anything different that what is already there.
Donal Lenihan: Left last year due to lack of game time. Would be good enough to play.
David McGowan: Has been in before, would be good enough to play again
That's about it folks. Don't mention last years Meath minors because they have not even played adult football with their clubs yet. Our best hope for finding new players at the moment is from the U20 panel. They need to do well this year, otherwise we will make no progress at senior level. Kildare won an All Ireland U20 in 2019, and have been extremely competitive at this level since 2008 when they reached an all Ireland final. Galway won an All Ireland U20 in 2020, Roscommon and were in an Ireland U20 final last year and Offaly won it, Monaghan Ulster finals, Cavan winning Ulster U'21s, Mayo won the All Ireland U21 in 2016, all teams we need to be competing with on our level, in order to get up to Dublin, Tyrone and Kerry." Yes, Jones and Menton are probably currently our best option, I agree. But Mc Entee is 5 years looking at the this problem. It was up to him to fix it. Mould a player into into a midfielder that can actually catch a ball. what are going do throw your hands in air a wait for John Mc Dermot to rock up ? Or set about solving the problem.
You mentioned Toher alot more have been tried Flanagan Rooney, Shane Mc Entee and others, all did'nt work out. I will say he is unlucky with Nash and Mc Bride in fairness, But Mc Entee failed utterly in this area. He had plenty of time find a solution and failed.
bobkarlgees (Meath) - 31/01/2022 16:05:24
Dubs V Mayo - 5 Like(s)
Correct. Players have duty of care. But so dose the referee. Connor Lane shouldn't be let near a game after shambolic effort yesterday. Purely on healthy and safety grounds.
bobkarlgees (National) - 15/08/2021 17:19:24
Tyrone V Meath Nfl Rd 1. - 4 Like(s)
Replying To lambofgod: "Look this thread started as a conversation on the Meath and Tyrone match and has descended into the most boring history lesson imaginable.
Now Furlong is entitled to write whatever he wants but maybe from now on it would be better to keep it to the Meath only pages instead of high jacking other interesting debates.
It would save is having to scroll through pages and pages of nothingness." All that scrolling... good love you. Put your feet up now, you earned nice cup of tea for yourself.
bobkarlgees (National) - 31/01/2020 15:07:14
Meath V Clare - 4 Like(s)
Replying To royaldunne: "Great worker but will Andy persist with the amount of clear cut misses??? He may start this game but unless he brings his shooting boots he could drop to bench." Well going by that assessment Shane Mc Antee should be dropped he missed 3 easy chances against Cork. One fisted opportunity.
bobkarlgees (Meath) - 10/03/2019 19:51:56
Meath V Carlow - 4 Like(s)
Replying To summerof09: "The goalkeeping issue must be addressed quickly. Meath should move heaven and earth to get Paddy O Rourke back playing for the county." Yes, lets get a lad back that walking away and had a pop at the players while he did it. That's the exactly the moral boast we need.
bobkarlgees (Meath) - 14/05/2019 11:46:41
Meath V Tipp - 4 Like(s)
Replying To Footnote: "Ok "the players are not there" but are we getting the best out of what we have, absolutely not!! Not sure yet what to say about the game tonight , much more disappointed than last week. But. One thing , what on Earth was the management at, taking off sean tobin in the first half, who was by far and away our best foward, yes he had got a knock but had told the line he was ok and was furious when he was taken off, absolute amateur hour!!!!" The management have got it totally wrong taking off Tobin a guy that trys he hardest and best every time he puts on the jersey. While others are stand with the hands on there hips. Its just plain wrong.
bobkarlgees (Meath) - 25/02/2018 09:13:29
Meath V Clare - 4 Like(s)
Replying To royaldunne: "I'll take a stab at team.
1 colgan
2 lavin
3 McGill
4 Ryan
5 j mcentee
6 keoghan
7 Gallagher
8 menton
9 s mcentee
10 campion
11 Brennan (if fit)
12 O'Sullivan
13 dardis
14 Newman
15 Reilly (last two years he has destroyed Clare )
If Brennan doesn't make it then slot biggie in and start tor.
McMahon isn't expected to be fit , o Reilly is a great worker and is unlucky to lose out on starting,
Still have McCoy, Devine ,o Reilly , etc all to come on." Here is where it's coming you dropped from the Clare game.
bobkarlgees (Meath) - 18/03/2019 13:06:45
Mayo V Meath - 4 Like(s)
Replying To TakeyourPoint.: "Do you think it will be the last time we see these lads? They where some warriors.
I don't think Cillian O'Connor got enough recognition for what he achieved last weekend, that was unbelievable when you think about it. To become the highest ever scorer in championship football is some going for a lad of only 27. He could well play for another 6/7 years and at this rate he would be out of sight. He might be the highest scorer for a long time to come." I wonder will the gaa have 6 minute video for Killian ? mmm...
bobkarlgees (National) - 18/07/2019 20:04:48
O Byrne Cup, Meath V Louth - 4 Like(s)
Replying To LeitrimRoyal99: "Right. That was a fairly big waste of time. 0 atmosphere. 0 intensity. Howling wind. Felt like a training game. Positives. Jack O'Connor looks very good and didn't look like a 19 year old. We used the attacking make pretty well and Thomas O'Reilly played well. Negatives no agression shown by our defenders, so loose. Sean Reilly and Jason Scully who are older than the other young lads and both panelists last year were both very poor I thought. Brian Conlon looked completely lost at full back and then his ball skills were fairly poor at midfield. Our kickouts weren't very good. Don't know if that was Yorkes fault or the boys out the field. He made 2 solid saves but need another game of 2 to decide. Hogan not on long enough to get a feel for. But let's see next week because it was hard to get a feel for things today" This post sums the game up perfectly no atmosphere 0 intensity right form start to finish Louth deserved there win should have won by only very poor finishing with at least 2 goal chances. Yorke did well to stop goal chances. Meath struggled to get there hands on the ball and when they did game it away cheaply. Waste of time going to game really. Maybe it's just a bit better than a traning session but only just. Robin Clarke I did well. Costello did ok in the second half he was nervous in first. Lynch and O'Connor where good. Nice to see donal leinhan back if he was only on for 1.30.
bobkarlgees (Meath) - 08/12/2019 21:13:43
New Meath Manager - 4 Like(s)
Replying To royaldunne: "Colm orurke rules himself out due in part to abuse Andy got. Will Malachy take it knowing the poison that so called Meath supporters spout. ?" Colm O'Rourke said he went for the job 3 times and is not going to put his name forward again. For the record. Via RTE.
bobkarlgees (Meath) - 14/06/2022 15:02:17
Congratulations Ladies - 4 Like(s)
Brilliant attachment to get in to final. absolutely fantastic well done all involved. I will be at the final looking forward to it. And best of luck.
Great time to be a Meath supporter Senior Ladies in the final, Minor ladies won the Leinster during the week.
Meath Camoige into intermediate All_Ireland semi final , and Minors football in a Ireland final tomorrow. Best of luck all.
bobkarlgees (Meath) - 27/08/2021 12:17:53
Change Of Management? - 4 Like(s)
Very poor league campaign, actually it was dismal display against kildare, coupled with the problems not releasing U20 players, it not a steadily platform to proceed in the future. Great display against Dublin, but ultimately the league promotion was a very realistic, but it never materialized. After 5 years in charge it was'nt all and all good enough.
bobkarlgees (Meath) - 07/10/2021 15:52:37
Kevin Mallon RIP. - 3 Like(s)
Sad to hear of former LMFM sports commentator Kevin Mallon passing over the weekend. Such happy memories and memorable commentary's. Some crazy games for Meath football the 90's, with Kildare especially. Condolences to the family. There is snip-it from of Kevins commentary on LMFM facebook page if anyone wants to check it out. I will share it hear but it may not work for all.
https://fb.watch/baanr3_rHt/
bobkarlgees (Meath) - 14/02/2022 15:15:18
Meath Vs Galway - 3 Like(s)
Replying To brian: "This is exactly right. The dubs get away with murder as the GAA won't do anything to their golden goose. No toher county would get away with the harassment of referees and officials.
Look at last weekend, James McCarthy punched a guy in the throat late in the game. Not even a card. If the roles had been reversed a six month ban would've been handed down and the typical dirty Tyrone.
This Dublin team are as cynical as they come and they'll do anything to win. They engineer situations to break the momentum of teams at the end of games. How many times do you see them drag down players in the later minutes and injury time. The main culprits are always Small, Fenton, Howard and Scully. In the league alone this year they did it against Donegal, Monagahan and Tyrone. 3 out of the five games. The worst thing is they don't need to do it. Their ability is unquestioned and they don't need to do it.
Wasn't it Small who dragged Murphy (who's no angel himself but he gives and takes in equal measures) down when Donegal were closing the gap and ruined any momentum they had. Referee sends them both off.
When we play them on the 14th you can be sure they'll do the same to us." Isn't it interesting that Micheal Murphy got sent of against Dublin a few weeks ago, and not against Meath. When he was doing the same thing. Seems like you can get away with more the higher profile you are. People talking about Andy Mc Entee complaining Meath black cards and refs given Meath a hard time.
You can see form the reaction why Meath get a hard time and bad calls from the refs.
Nobody cares,
Its not news if COS or Mc Gill gets a black card. But it is if Micheal Murphy of James Mc Carthy ( not picking on these just that they are high profile) until Meath starting getting to these levels nobody will care. Its a joke but its the way it is.
For example when Damien Lawlor asked Vincent Hogan was Andy Mc Entee correct to complain about not playing the correct time against Mayo while Dublin got 9 minutes of injury time against Monaghan. Lawlor asked Hogan twice and, twice Hogan basically dismissed Mc Entee and said ref was correct play 9 minutes for Dublin.
This the type of attitude that is out towards Meath at the moment.
Nobody in Meath wants every decision to go our way that's not possible for any team. But it would be nice to rock to game and not be worried about the referee or for the ref to a talking point afterwards. it bugging the hell out of me lately.
bobkarlgees (Meath) - 04/03/2020 11:48:04
Meath vs Kildare 5th February - 3 Like(s)
Replying To oldsam_newsam: "I am fully behind Andy but he is far from perfect as are our players. I think the adulation towards Andy is what is riling some others on here.
I thought that Andy was really slow to replace Shane. Andy also went out of his way to have a go at the referee at half time when he should have been concentrating on his half time talk & changes. Anyone watching would realise that the ref was not the reason we were behind. By having a go at the ref there was an implication that Andy felt it was the refs fault that we were being hammered. One incident with Cillian O'Sullivan not getting a free which was turned around for the second goal was all we could really blame the ref for.
Keoghan was getting roasted but was showing some leadership going forward. He should have been swapped with Douglas or Power mid first half. Sheridan also was kept on way longer than he should have been.
I am not trying to have a go at Andy, it's his first real test and he has the pedigree. But the blind adulation is a bit hard to take after that performance." I was was roasted on here last week for saying keoghan is not a man marker and gives his man to much room by times and 10 secs into the game it was clear Killdare 15 netted without Donal putting and hand on him. Not Keoghan's day. today. Among many others etc.....
bobkarlgees (Meath) - 05/02/2017 16:59:28
Meath V Dublin - 3 Like(s)
I have a rule when playing Dublin. If you can say HONESTLY we are 3 points better than Dublin going into the game then your in with a chance. Because Dublin playing in Croke Park is worth at least points to them.
Honestly I think Dublin are probably 7 points better us, that's been a bit conservative.
So that's a 10 point swing for me. We are going to need a shed luck.
I think its possible. But unlikely.
the areas we need to improve in are well flagged:
1: Kicks need to improve beyond belief, I would actual take 50% if I got it now.
2: Cant afford a slow start. we cant see this happening we just love making things hard for ourselves
3: Midfield we need to be more competitive here again I would take 50% here again.
4: Defense We need to be ultra tight here. And the golden rule against Dublin NO GOALS.
And finally lets hope for a miracle. We are going to beat Dublin eventfully maybe not Saturday, Maybe not in the next year either but it is coming. We will beat at some stage. So why not Saturday :)
bobkarlgees (Meath) - 16/11/2020 18:33:41
Meath V Dublin - 3 Like(s)
Replying To brian: "I'll take my dose of humble pie and eat it. Well done to everyone involved yesterday. They got a lot of things right on the day but they're not immune from criticism either.
Positives
Meath fighting spirit on display - 11 points down and worked their way back to 3 points. Took an immense effort and everyone to a man put their shoulder to the wheel. Well done and let's see more of this
Meath aggression and physicality - lads hunted in packs during the second half, they smashed Dublin lads with tackles, bordering on illegal but that's what we need to see versus all the top teams. There was a spirit in them that's not been seen for years.
Meath pride - the row that broke out at 65 minutes, our lads got stuck into it. In recent years we've cowered away and let Dublin dominate us physically and almost intimidate us. Those lads finally said no, you're not doing it to us this time, they fronted up and didn't take a step back. More of this please.
Work rate - lads emptied the tank and more. You couldn't ask for much more.
Build up play - they worked scores and avoided getting swallowed up in the tackle. That's the style they need to adopt versus those top teams.
Negatives
Kick Outs - different keeper, same issues. Think after the first water break we lost 6/7 kick outs in a row and that was almost the end of the game for us. We couldn't proverbially keep it kicked out to Dublin. That's not to blame Harry Hogan he was a late inclusion (more on that) and your first championship game in Croke Park v Dublin...
Keeper change - If they planned to start Harry Hogan why not just say it. Colgan hasn't done much wrong tbf to him, so it seems odd they brought in Hogan from nowhere. His goalkeeping can't be faulted but Dublin broke his kick out with ease. He'll need to work on that but what a sight to see a meath keeper kicking long and hitting the opposing 65 a couple of times in a game.
Free taking - Jordan Morris missed a couple of free's that were a killer in the second quarter. One straight in front of the posts was badly needed and was sent wide. We needed that to break Dublins momentum. Can we please get someone working with him on this over the summer or maybe allow Costello take over the free's. Costello's 2 45's along with 1 v Longford looked a lot better, there was a style and technique about him which he seems to have worked on. Fair play to the lad
Lack of subs - why the lack of running the bench? 1 change in the last 10 minutes when several lads were out on their feet. Fresh legs were needed.
Tactical cuteness - we gave dublin the ball for the last 8 or so minutes when we needed to score. We lacked the nous to pull them down or give away a free. Dubin will win a match 0-01 to 0-00 and keep the ball for 70 minutes if needed. You need to not allow them have the ball for minutes at a time. Look at the incident with McCarthy and Thomas O'Reilly, Dublin needed a bit of a stall and they got it.
Slow starts - Our slow starts are killing us against the better teams. We've given Mayo, Kildare and Dublin huge leads this year and clawed them back but never looked like winning. We're giving ourselves too much to do in the second half and teams could keep us at arms length.
Referee
Knew we were goosed from the moment i saw him appear. Meath don't have a great history with Cork referee's Michael Collins i believe was another one in the last 20 years who's screwed us over repeatedly. Look he got our penalty decision wrong. It should've been a penalty and black card for Fenton. Unfortunately those decision's rarely go against Dublin. Their penalty call was correct but Fenton shouldn't have been on the pitch to make that run and foul.
I don't think Dublin were ever in danger of losing yesterday and when needed they hit the accelerator again. They looked like a team with sugar in their engine in the second half and couldn't get out of stall mode until the end.
After the game I still have more questions than answers and have no idea where we stand. Was yesterday a 1 off from us or can we replicate it? I would hope it is the later but with 6 months until our next game it's difficult to say where we are. Why couldn't we perform like we this against Kildare. The performances were like night and day so again I'm not sure what is the real Meath.. And this is the quandry for me, are this team even sure of what they are capable off. When they want they can be a joy to watch but they're so infuriatingly inconsistent that it's hard to know what you'll get on a given day. Ultimately I can't decide if yesterday was the start of something or the last kick in this team.
I'm on record about how i feel about Andy McEntee, that hasn't changed and I'm realistic enough to say my opinion means nothing and he will be in charge for 2022, if he wants to be. If he can work on the 2 area's of kick outs and free taking for 2022 and the team performs like they did yesterday consistently there's no reason they can't get promotion back to division 1 and get to the super 8's but its about maintaining the consistency all through the season that is needed, not intermittent high spots.
I'm still sick to my stomach to have lost that match, losing to Dublin will always have that effect on me." Well we are not really shocked about the ref bottling the peno decision. We knew this before the game, happens every time v Dublin only difference it was a lot more oblivious than normal.
bobkarlgees (Meath) - 19/07/2021 13:32:43
Why are pundits taking it easy on Kerry? - 3 Like(s)
Replying To cuchulainn35: "Yesterday we witnessed a fine game in CrokePark... but the result ultimately fell on a cynical piece of work by Kerry, pulling down an opponent as he goes down on goal. Now the Kerry man did the right thing , took the black card and Kerry won the game...................BUT no analysis of this in the RTE studio.... Sean Cavanagh was near lynched for doing this in headquarters against Monaghan, Ciaran Whelan said it was against the spirit of the game, but last night said nothing, Spillane said no Kerry footballer would defend like that, while Brolly went on a whole campaign against the player...... Michael Lyster said at the time that people don't pay into games to watch men being pulled down rugby style.......
So has RTE lost the plott!!!!!!!!!!!!!" Philly Mc Mahon was doing some fouling also do you not agree ? he made some weird attempt to box a player. That could have been seen as attempt to strike in some refs books. Also James Mc Carthy made a dig at Donnchadh Walsh. Fenton should have got a black also. It wasn't all Kerry. I taught to be honest Dublin started getting involved in off the ball stuff, that they normally let go. Not like them. But there no attempt at all to talk about the cynical play the most of it from Dublin.
bobkarlgees (National) - 10/04/2017 12:43:02