Meath V Louth Leinster Final

Replying To latouche25:  "What's all this talk about being gutted nonsense. Keogan gave away the penalty and a number of frees. He is way off the pace as a defender highlighted by the way Lennon ghosted by him for the goal. Menton should have been called ashore before half time he wasn't at the races. The standard of Meaths play was awful unable to win a breaking ball indeed unable to position themselves to win the breaking ball is even more worrying. I think we only scored 1-1 in the last 15 minutes and we expect to win a leinster title some of the posters here need a dose of reality. Were a division 2 league team and played like a division 3 team yesterday. If Brennan couldn't see the glaring inability to win a kickout or a breaking ball then he's a buffer and not up to the job."
So that is your diagnosis and like the rest frustration. What do you suggest the structure of the next training session should be in order to try to continually improve which is the only realistic objective, taking account of the fact that RB is just a few months in the job. Robbie said a lot of work to be done,and i think we all agree. I think all supporters are entitled to offer constructive criticism also. Who would you have at midfield for example where you point a weakness beyond argument?

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1282 - 12/05/2025 13:27:38    2608817

Replying To latouche25:  "What's all this talk about being gutted nonsense. Keogan gave away the penalty and a number of frees. He is way off the pace as a defender highlighted by the way Lennon ghosted by him for the goal. Menton should have been called ashore before half time he wasn't at the races. The standard of Meaths play was awful unable to win a breaking ball indeed unable to position themselves to win the breaking ball is even more worrying. I think we only scored 1-1 in the last 15 minutes and we expect to win a leinster title some of the posters here need a dose of reality. Were a division 2 league team and played like a division 3 team yesterday. If Brennan couldn't see the glaring inability to win a kickout or a breaking ball then he's a buffer and not up to the job."
So you're saying due to a few errors yesterday they don't deserve any credit or reward for what they've put in for Meath over the last decade during arguably our worst period!? You're talking about people needing a dose of reality yet everyone here has called the game as it was. You're just a classic hindsight merchant that will slam a team after losing despite exceeding all expectations this year, and if we won yesterday you'd be the very one at the front of the line of the homecoming gloating about how great we are, do us all a favour and go follow a different sport and go be a dose somewhere else.

LowerHogan (Meath) - Posts: 69 - 12/05/2025 13:50:46    2608834

This level of criticism is unreal. Cynicism does not equal intelligence. Nor does over the top negativity with no constructive feedback. No posters getting ahead of themselves in recent weeks, despite an encouraging win over Dublin (you were quiet in the wake of that). But now one flawed performance and apparently everyone - posters, management, players - has been completely exposed. I've no doubt RBto win ball in the second half. But it's harder to fix a problem than identify it. I notice you haven't offered any solutions, only criticism.

Grow up and start thinking about things with a bit of nuance. Maybe look up nuance in the dictionary first though.

MeathAbroad (Meath) - Posts: 161 - 12/05/2025 13:53:20    2608836

So you're judging Keoghan and Menton on one game?what about all the years they have given and been shining lights on the team.Thats what we're talking about might be their last shot at winning major silverware with Meath.Two lads are roll models for all young kids and hopefully they stick around.

Proudroyal (Meath) - Posts: 345 - 12/05/2025 13:54:27    2608838

Meath did a huge amount right yesterday and have made huge strides since this time last year, but we still have a good way to go. Despite not performing to our best in the 2nd half and only scoring once in the last 20 minutes of the game, we were still a point up with five minutes to go, but a terrible refereeing call put Louth two up, and Meath could not get the ball back after that. The free given to Donal McKenny right at the end after Matthew Costello held him up fairly without fouling and yet a free was given and the game was over.

Points from the game

Positives:
- Sean Raffertys performance
- Ruari Kinsellas performance
- Strong purple patch in the first half
- When we were good we looked very good and were moving forward well

Negatives:
- giving away three goals in the first half cost us, and all three were completely avoidable. Penalty was soft but Keogan didn't need to put hands on him. Brian O'Halloran completely switched off for the 2nd goal and let his man cut in, and the third goal despite being a brilliant finish was unforgiveable to let a player run from the half way line straight through the center of our defense. Keoghan or Flynn needed to step across and stop him, do anything bar what they did.
- Couldn't win a breaking ball in the 2nd half
- Didn't run the bench early enough, don't think an Aaron Lynch type player was needed at the time he was brought on. We needed fresh legs around the middle, and someone to win a bloody breaking ball. Adam O'Neill or Ronan Ryan not featuring when a good few of our backs were under serious pressure.
- Sam Mulroy was allowed run the last 20 minutes of the game and was left free way to much. A player needed to literally stand on him for the 2nd half and he was let do what he wanted in the 2nd half.

Louth are a more battle hardened, physical and structured team than Meath are. We aren't any of those things yet but we are making progress.

Going forward we need to find a centre back and another corner back. Also Conor Gray and McBride need to be worked on be live options off the bench for the middle third

BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 1013 - 12/05/2025 14:46:26    2608872

Replying To Proudroyal:  "So you're judging Keoghan and Menton on one game?what about all the years they have given and been shining lights on the team.Thats what we're talking about might be their last shot at winning major silverware with Meath.Two lads are roll models for all young kids and hopefully they stick around."
Well said Proudroyal. Latouche25 is typical of a lot of posters on this forum. Would prefer to see Meath lose so that they can come on and criticise everybody, even two of the best and most dedicated players that have represented Meath over the last 15 years. You sometimes wonder is a poster like this related to somebody on the panel who cannot make the team ??

kingofclubs (Meath) - Posts: 346 - 12/05/2025 14:46:47    2608873

The long and short of it is if Meath even won 25% of midfield kickouts in that second half they would have won the game. No question, no doubt. We had enough lads to take points.

After the 3rd or 4th lost kick out in a row and without Jones to come in, Brennan should have reacted and flooded the middle with fetchers. McGowan and Gray should have been sent in to crowd the field.

And before people jump down my throat, we could have split midfield to the wings and made Louth work for ball. Irrespective of how little game time Gray has had (and I have been quick to highlight this to posters in recent weeks), it would have been a worthy gamble than watching us get cleaned out time and time again. Each lost kickout was just another dagger to the heart.

Management needed to have Plan B but it didn't materialise.

Royalio11 (Meath) - Posts: 793 - 12/05/2025 15:16:25    2608886

I think the criticism here of mention is unfair.He should have been no 6. He would have stopped the run through. If put midfield given he is in his thirties he would need the support of someone more mobile. Flynn was never a good tackler or one to set up movements. He might be a full forward as his catch is great. The manager is without the 2 main coaches and it shows.

Ashrules (Dublin) - Posts: 573 - 12/05/2025 15:38:51    2608895

Replying To GenderNeutral:  "Then you look at your bench and realise there's not much to bring in to solve the breaking ball issues - apart from possibly Ronan Ryan!"
Cathal Hickey would have been a very good option to bring on to help with breaking ball, he won a huge one late against Dublin. Think Robbie got a lot wrong, the same louth players who killed meath in the past killed us again, it points to bad preparation. Not sure why Jamie Murphy wasnt involved. Hes better than at least 3 players who came on yesterday.

Sheridan2010louth (Meath) - Posts: 233 - 12/05/2025 15:41:00    2608901

Replying To Ashrules:  "I think the criticism here of mention is unfair.He should have been no 6. He would have stopped the run through. If put midfield given he is in his thirties he would need the support of someone more mobile. Flynn was never a good tackler or one to set up movements. He might be a full forward as his catch is great. The manager is without the 2 main coaches and it shows."
It is safe to say I strongly disagree with either of these suggestions.

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 639 - 12/05/2025 16:21:08    2608920

Replying To Sheridan2010louth:  "Cathal Hickey would have been a very good option to bring on to help with breaking ball, he won a huge one late against Dublin. Think Robbie got a lot wrong, the same louth players who killed meath in the past killed us again, it points to bad preparation. Not sure why Jamie Murphy wasnt involved. Hes better than at least 3 players who came on yesterday."
Agree not sure why both Hickey and Ryan were not used. Adam O'Neill or McGowan earlier obvious choices for Menton and Duke around the middle too. All these changes should have been made no later than 55 mins. Several players were naturally gassed out.

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 639 - 12/05/2025 16:26:52    2608925

Replying To kingofclubs:  "Well said Proudroyal. Latouche25 is typical of a lot of posters on this forum. Would prefer to see Meath lose so that they can come on and criticise everybody, even two of the best and most dedicated players that have represented Meath over the last 15 years. You sometimes wonder is a poster like this related to somebody on the panel who cannot make the team ??"
I really don't care what a player has produced over the past 15 years. Menton wasn't around for the past 3 years and went missing for a time before that as well. We're talking about yesterday's game only and how they performed there. If you don't like the truth then that's your problem not mine. The facts speak for themselves we only had 5 scores and 2 wides in the second half that's 7 scoring chances. We lost 10 out of 10 breaks in the second half and only won 2 kickouts they are the facts. At a time when we couldn't get a sniff at midfield why was McBride not introduced at least he can field the ball and can run. Your command about being related to someone on the panel is rather childish and totally wrong.

latouche25 (Meath) - Posts: 553 - 12/05/2025 16:31:28    2608926

Replying To latouche25:  "I really don't care what a player has produced over the past 15 years. Menton wasn't around for the past 3 years and went missing for a time before that as well. We're talking about yesterday's game only and how they performed there. If you don't like the truth then that's your problem not mine. The facts speak for themselves we only had 5 scores and 2 wides in the second half that's 7 scoring chances. We lost 10 out of 10 breaks in the second half and only won 2 kickouts they are the facts. At a time when we couldn't get a sniff at midfield why was McBride not introduced at least he can field the ball and can run. Your command about being related to someone on the panel is rather childish and totally wrong."
I think Robbie should have made changes in the middle area earlier tbh.
Losing 10 out of 10 breaking balls is a red flag surely.
2nd half was very poor and Hogan was clearly under pressure with his kick outs.
It is not as if Meath dont have tall guys in the squad.
I was very surprised RB didnt make changes/switches to fix it.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4242 - 12/05/2025 17:08:06    2608938

Replying To latouche25:  "I really don't care what a player has produced over the past 15 years. Menton wasn't around for the past 3 years and went missing for a time before that as well. We're talking about yesterday's game only and how they performed there. If you don't like the truth then that's your problem not mine. The facts speak for themselves we only had 5 scores and 2 wides in the second half that's 7 scoring chances. We lost 10 out of 10 breaks in the second half and only won 2 kickouts they are the facts. At a time when we couldn't get a sniff at midfield why was McBride not introduced at least he can field the ball and can run. Your command about being related to someone on the panel is rather childish and totally wrong."
We lost 10 out of 10 breaks in midfield. most of these balls were contested by both sets of midfielders. It is our half forwards and half backs that should have been winning these breaks. Midfield is now 8 v 8 with the new rules. I rest my case.

kingofclubs (Meath) - Posts: 346 - 12/05/2025 17:21:19    2608944

Replying To Sheridan2010louth:  "Cathal Hickey would have been a very good option to bring on to help with breaking ball, he won a huge one late against Dublin. Think Robbie got a lot wrong, the same louth players who killed meath in the past killed us again, it points to bad preparation. Not sure why Jamie Murphy wasnt involved. Hes better than at least 3 players who came on yesterday."
Cathal would have been excellent at half back yesterday for the last 20 minutes. Very hard to bring in a lad who hasn't been involved for majority of the year so far. Look at Armagh with Rian O Neill, doing something like that could upset the balance that is already there.

UsernameInvalid (Meath) - Posts: 417 - 12/05/2025 18:03:20    2608960

Replying To kingofclubs:  "We lost 10 out of 10 breaks in midfield. most of these balls were contested by both sets of midfielders. It is our half forwards and half backs that should have been winning these breaks. Midfield is now 8 v 8 with the new rules. I rest my case."
I was in Navan a few months ago and seen yous roll over v Us. I had no doubt in the 2nd half when the crunch came that Louth would have the bite about them and your stat above proves it. Meath need a few demons in that team with a bit of character that aren't afraid of the crunch. How every Meath man sat for 70 mins and didn't leave a tackle on sam mulroy says it all.

monaghanmad (Monaghan) - Posts: 411 - 12/05/2025 19:56:19    2608994

Replying To Northsidegaels:  "Agreed, do meath people not realise how much people from Louth actually dislike us? They wouldn't want us to win a raffle let alone be happy for us after we beat them in a leinster final!

Louth are going to do a leinster treble which is some achievement but I think we have a chance to build quietly on this team behind the scenes whilst there will be huge hype on the wee county. We beat them in the u20 final last year, they beat us this year and we have had far more success at minor level than them yet the way people are talking you'd think Louth have swept all before them at underage over the last 5 years.

Hopefully this young team can learn from this game, Cork and Roscommon are both beatable and a shot in the dark against Kerry, up thr royal"
You are talking nonsense about the so-called people of Louth hating Meath. It's a few small minded people like you from both county's that cause the problem if there is one ? I am from the mid-louth and have plenty of Meath friends and played for many years in both county's. You are obviously a bitter person and can't take a loss

clutch (Louth) - Posts: 12 - 12/05/2025 20:04:01    2608996

Genuine question...
Do you think losing those 2 coaches made a difference v Louth.?
Would their know how have made a difference in that 2nd half.?
Being honest, I think it probably did.

It is all what ifs now, I know.

Anyway, Cork & Roscommon are both winnable games.
Time to reset and go again.
One thing is for sure, play like they did v Dublin, and they will be fine.

Probably written in the stars that it would unfold the way it did for Louth.

Only a matter of time before Meath win Leinster..!

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4242 - 12/05/2025 21:11:22    2609008

Still on a high after dublin win tbh, we are making good progress. Louth hockeyd us last year by 10 points , an embarrassment. Beating Dublin in any year is a good thing, a 17 point turnaround against offaly and beating Roscommon (a div 1) side is signs of real progress. We couldn't find a decent freetaker in over a decade and that issue has been largely addressed, same with keeper.

Im not going to let a few dodgy decisions by a ref to derail my belief in this team. Given that we have dodged a few of the Ulster teams in groups which are normally our kryptonite i think we have a great chance of qualifying and blooding some the u20s in the process will only add to the progress.

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1822 - 12/05/2025 21:35:31    2609017

Replying To winatallcost:  "Agree not sure why both Hickey and Ryan were not used. Adam O'Neill or McGowan earlier obvious choices for Menton and Duke around the middle too. All these changes should have been made no later than 55 mins. Several players were naturally gassed out."
Well done to Robbie and all the players for giving us such hopes in the Leinster Final yesterday.
We have made really substantial progress already since last year and previously.
(Onwards and upwards, Lads, lets build on that performance.! )
Thank you to the players and management for getting us to a Leinster Final & being in contention with 5 mins to go.
The players have now witnessed for themselves, first hand, the generations of Meath supporters that are on their side.
On the day we weren't obviously as seasoned & 'big match' savvy as Louth.
Robbie and the players will have learnt a lot from yesterday's Final atmosphere and experience.
So, lets work on strategies and our options.
Thought Adam O'Neill did a good job versus Dubs and I was surprised himself and Hickey were not used at crucial times in the second half yesterday. Both big, experienced and talented footballers who could give you speed/tackling /possession/options for at least 20 mins.
Ah! its so very easy to be wise after the event on t'interweb !!!

Anyway, I think there is now, finally, visible evidence of potential success in Meath football again.
I believe it will require effort, ruthlessness, higher speed, improvement, accuracy, technical player & coaching expertise and maybe a bit more cunning,too !!.

Finally, btw,.. Meath GAA, this team management , Meath Supporters & and esp. Meath players, rightly deserve a proper modern Home venue and facilities NOW... in 2025.
And...after the large number of paying Meath supporters in the 65,000+ crowd at the Leinster Final yesterday, the powers in Croke Park and Dept. of Justice need to make €€€€€€ funding happen 2025 for Pairc Tailteann revamp ASAP.

So I want Every Meath TD & every Minister! to Work unrelentingly to get this bloody funding over the line NOW!!!

AnMhíAbú

meath1967 (Meath) - Posts: 57 - 12/05/2025 22:14:31    2609025