Pairc Tailteann and County Grounds

Well I'm fairness this committee are very much proactive in comparison to the latter . It's all bing done in accordance with practicality .
1 finish dunganny , move admin , meeting rooms , gym etc to there
2 rebuild terrace , dressing room , medical room , media room
( this allows games to continue as terraces will hold the crowds as revenue must still come in )
3 demolish and rebuild stand - most expensive phase
I think its a good strategy for us moving forward. .
So where did the money go ? Well all I say is the new committee have made serious blatant changes the most obvious ,tickets for all games , so now there is a paper trail and the day of hear say is gone . With that said I feel they are trying there Damdist to restore the trust ,that was broken for a long time between CB and the real supporters .

royalpainter (Meath) - Posts: 874 - 09/10/2013 09:51:39    1498240

Royaldunne, what I said yesterday wasn't directed in a personal way with you but rather all I heard from most people I was in touch with whether from my club who didn't attend our meeting where we voted on the different proposals put to us or people on here who were giving out about the proposals here and afterwards giving out that certain individuals are involved, specifically Noe; Dempsey.

Now while I disagreed with many decisions he was a part of from his time in politics I would be hopeful that he would be a good person to have involved on this committee. Liam Mulvihill is also on it and he has plenty of experience of being involved in development from when Croke Park was done. He is a man who will have great contacts and is very well regarded in Croke Park which certainly can't be a bad thing.

There is a short time-frame in which they hope to develop Dunganny which is probably very optimistic but I'd rather ambition was shown rather than things put on the back burner.

To specifically answer a point you raised about naming rights. I would not be in favour of this. Our county ground is called Pairc Tailteann and this is how it should be named. I would be in favour of supporters being offered the chance to perhaps give an interest free loan or donate money in return for a Pairc Tailteann pass.

jackhackett (Meath) - Posts: 773 - 09/10/2013 14:23:21    1498466

Jack my apologies for my rant. It really wasn't directed at you.
I just get tired of been described as not important just cause I not living in county anymore especially when I go to more matches than those that preach to me. And I'm not saying you did that.
Anyway again my apologies

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 10/10/2013 17:57:19    1499170

No hassle Royaldunne. I wasn't very clear in what I was saying initially.

jackhackett (Meath) - Posts: 773 - 10/10/2013 19:21:19    1499220

Lads plenty of time to kiss and make up over the winter..

The issue remains; is pairc tailteann being brought up and pushed into the faces of those in charge

Personally I believe that selling the terracing at the expense of advertising would bring in revenue..Along with the purchase a seat initiative.

Ball needs to get rolling on this topic. The place is a disgrace and people gey great pride in saying it. Outside supporters always giving out about it

Royalio11 (Meath) - Posts: 805 - 10/10/2013 19:42:35    1499245

Dont think exchanging naming rights for money is the way to go really. We have a fairly unique ground name and one of only a few in Irish. And on a pedantic note; 'Tayto Páirc' makes no sense in Irish, would have to be Páirc Tayto....

CastleBravo (Meath) - Posts: 1695 - 11/10/2013 15:50:31    1499588

To be honest I'd prefer if our county ground's name was in English but that's just my personal feeling. Anyway from a practical point of view selling the name is a no brainer, we need the money to do the work, we can't have it both ways lads.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 11/10/2013 17:06:09    1499629

Sadly castlebravo nothing has to make sense when it comes to making money, if naming the place 'Tayto Pairc' gives us a few extra grand and a stand that I can sit in and be proud of then so be it.

Crawley_JuniorD (Meath) - Posts: 211 - 11/10/2013 20:46:45    1499739

100% agree with Crawley and Htaem on this one. I'd rather be proud of my ground than have opposing supporters describing it as a dump. It can be called tayto park tayto pair with salt and vinegar terrace and cheese and onion dug outs.
I tell I'd hold a hell of a lot more pride in that than the dilapidated shack that we have in Irish or whatever. Beggers can't be chooser's. If we have to sell naming rights then I'm all for it.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 11/10/2013 21:39:47    1499769

shame redevelopment never acheived during the late 90s, and Meath doing well..alot easier to raise funds!..now, recession has hit clubs, families and general funds, so going to be hard to raise the revenue needed, especially with a project like the dreary stand in PT..asbestos and all that!

sob (Meath) - Posts: 492 - 12/10/2013 16:09:03    1499904

royaldunne

100% agree with Crawley and Htaem on this one. I'd rather be proud of my ground than have opposing supporters describing it as a dump. It can be called tayto park tayto pair with salt and vinegar terrace and cheese and onion dug outs.
I tell I'd hold a hell of a lot more pride in that than the dilapidated shack that we have in Irish or whatever. Beggers can't be chooser's. If we have to sell naming rights then I'm all for it.

Very well said royaldunne, listen I'm all for heritage and I understand that a lot of people may be annoyed if Pairc Tailteann loses it's name but unfortunately you simply can't let things like that stand in the way of progress. You clearly see the big picture and that's your main concern, well that's precisely my main concern aswell, I think PT is a complete embarrassment and it needs renovating instantly, the place is a shambles.

Like I've said before personally I never liked the name anyway and couldn't give a toss about it but that's just me , I don't expect others to feel the same way. But I do think that we should (and we probably all do) feel the same way about the state of the place, call it Tayto Pairc, call it the Boylan Bowl call it the Graham Geraghty Grounds etc etc I really couldn't give a monkey's, I'm just pleading to the Meath County Board to do something, do it now!

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 12/10/2013 16:36:59    1499913

I'm old school when it comes to the name Páirc Táilteann. The name Táilteann of course as every genuine Meath person knows goes back over 2,000 years and will forever be linked to Irish sport through the ancient Táilteann games. Mention of Táilteann has been found in ancient Greek literature when athletes traveled between the two locations to compete against each other. I'm also a realist and acknowledge that we might very well have to sell our soul to to upgrade and modernize what has become a bit of a dump of a stadium and what has been described in the recent report as "not fit for purpose". I feel ashamed as a Meathman that the illustrious name of Táilteann is demeaned in such a way as to have it on the current shambles that passes for a modern stadium. However the founding fathers of our county ground did choose well when they named it as they did. Indeed I wonder how many of the detractors who have posted articles about the name know anything about Táilteann or it's significance in Irish sporting history. The name will still be remembered long after all of us have gone and even after our very association has ceases to exist.

P.S. I subscribe to the decision made to modernize Páirc Táilteann in the manner recommended in the afore mentioned report.

The real Árd Rí (Meath) - Posts: 990 - 12/10/2013 16:39:02    1499916

There is no way should the name "PAIRC TAILTEANN" be changed..not for any money..its like selling your soul to the highest bidder..

sob (Meath) - Posts: 492 - 13/10/2013 14:17:44    1500139

Ah lads come on, don't be opposed to progress, the name doesn't matter too much, the state of the place is far more important.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 13/10/2013 14:58:44    1500152

Yeah let's keep the name and be proud of that DUMP. what the hell is wrong with tayto before the name?
Seriously lads. Let's take a step back here. Are those saying that the name has to be kept happy that we can't play Leinster matches there? That more than likely if we ever return to division one majority of home games will be in Croke park? If we draw Donegal home this year can you see gaa putting up with it in navan ? Or will it be a spring series in Dublin? Where do we say that we have to redevelop? At what point? When the place is closed and we have to share a new ground with Kildare and Louth somewhere on m50? . Meath cb does not have funds to develop this and HQ won't give us the money. I'm sure the original athletes that is named after were pragmatic and wouldn't care if tayto was included in name. Plus its a Meath company that gives huge employment locally and the kids all love the guy in the jacket. Don't be snubs. I'll say it again beggars can't be chooser's

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 13/10/2013 17:21:54    1500204

It is interesting how some folk appear to think that changing the name to a packet of crisps will solve all the problems of finance. A little bit of organisation; raise the money over time and deliver improvements cost effectively and we can have a stadium we are proud off. It is interesting how some folk are so quick to forget history. I would recommend that the guys who are so keen to change the name read 'The Struggle for Pairc Tailteann'. I am all in favour of moving forward but I am in total agreement with The Real... and SOB. Pairc Tailteann was once the best pitch in Leinster!

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 13/10/2013 17:47:54    1500221

Browncows I was once a slim athlet young man with lots of hair I'm now over weight and nearly bald.
Everything changes. Accept that fact. You say we once one of best grounds in Leinster. Well now we one of worst a many would say the worst.
No one has said by putting tayto in front of name will solve our funding but it will solve our grounds. Simple
Lastly pairc tailteann will still be in the name and no one is forcing anyone to put tayto in front of it. You can call it what you like.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 13/10/2013 18:15:14    1500234

Browncows I was once a slim athlet young man with lots of hair I'm now over weight and nearly bald.
Everything changes. Accept that fact. You say we once one of best grounds in Leinster. Well now we one of worst a many would say the worst.
No one has said by putting tayto in front of name will solve our funding but it will solve our grounds. Simple
Lastly pairc tailteann will still be in the name and no one is forcing anyone to put tayto in front of it. You can call it what you like.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 13/10/2013 18:15:52    1500235

Browncows

Great post. Well said.

We could be much prouder if we done it ourselves.
Stick a sponsor name on dunganny if needs be to finish that, albeit on a smaller scale, but I'd rather see we had the calibre of people within the county and co board to achieve this ourselves.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6347 - 13/10/2013 18:28:29    1500244

browncows

Pairc Tailteann was once the best pitch in Leinster!

I have to call you on that browncows, comments like that make me cringe, WAS is the only word in that little empty sentence which has any relevance in the year 2013AD. We can all look back and smile but how does that help the current situation??? the past is there to be enjoyed NOT lived in!!

Anyway, I'd love if we had the calibre of people in our CB to do the job aswell but we don't, that's the sad reality, and reality is the most important thing. We'd all love Croker to come in with the money or someone to make a massive donation without wanting to change the name of PT or better still it'd be great if money grew on trees but reality dictates the shots, always has and always will.

We have to explore the possibility of changing the name of Pairc Tailteann to have a stadium we can be proud of or at least a stadium which is up to standard. If we shut the door on reason for the sake of nostalgia then be prepared to watch PT crumble to the ground, I don't believe one word the CB says about PT anymore, they've let us down for long enough.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 13/10/2013 18:57:11    1500260