Three players worth a look at (Not on last years panel)

bobjaffacake
You still have O'Rourke standing somewhere between 6'8'' and 6'9''. Nobody would care if you weren't on some sort of an arrogant war path all day. I think most posters here are huge fans and know a little bit more than you give them credit for.

For what its worth I actually agree with your views on POR not being up to it outfield. Even as a goalkeeper he had a massive kickout but given that he wasn't too brave or confident under high ball in a protected square I fail to see how posters, himself or Micko could see how he could be effective as a target man outfield in the white heat of championship football.

rath_togh (Meath) - Posts: 740 - 13/11/2012 20:40:18    1297306

Rath togh so you know more then me do you? fare play to you .it must be from watching all that junior football

bobjaffacake (Meath) - Posts: 1400 - 13/11/2012 21:02:22    1297330

If that's how you interpreted my post I can't help you.
Not one of your better days Dr. Bob. Pity because I'd usually enjoy you posts.

Thanks for the fair play. Its a game of inches. Junior is where its at. I'll miss it!!

rath_togh (Meath) - Posts: 740 - 13/11/2012 21:56:11    1297400

Regardless of Paddy O Rourke's height, at the end of the day its an insult to goalkeepers who have been performing well at club level throughout the year for him to get the call up. When was the last time he even played in goals?!!

Royaljohn (Meath) - Posts: 9 - 14/11/2012 10:46:11    1297462

As far as I'm aware, Stephen Cluxton, regarded as one of the best goalkeepers in Ireland at the moment, doesn't play in goals for his club. David Gallagher & Brendan Murphy don't play in goals for their clubs, Cormac O'Sullivan didn't play in goals for his club. I don't think it matters that Paddy doesn't play in goals for his club, by the time we get round to playing games in the new year, it'll be 3 years since Paddy played in goals for Meath so maybe things have changed. He was only 19 or 20 when he was playing in goals, very young and maybe we'll see a different player this time round.

Let's give Mick O'Dowd the benefit of the doubt and get behing his selection for now, we haven't even seen one game yet and people are questioning his decisions. I'm hoping that Mick is going to be there for the forseeable future, I'm tired of all the chopping and changing with management over the years.

rosscross (Meath) - Posts: 206 - 14/11/2012 13:02:54    1297548

Is there any of this years minor panel on Mick O' Dowds new senior panel?

RoylerKing (Meath) - Posts: 809 - 14/11/2012 15:15:26    1297667

does anyone have the full panel?

seasiderblues (Meath) - Posts: 354 - 14/11/2012 15:38:42    1297694

by the sounds of it justin carry lynch must be still on the panal

bobjaffacake (Meath) - Posts: 1400 - 14/11/2012 17:02:58    1297741

bobjaffacake

Id imagine so. One of the most bizzare inclusions in recent times.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6347 - 14/11/2012 17:09:44    1297746

Lads who do cormac rowe and darragh mcnamara play for??

Pat_the_lad (Meath) - Posts: 16 - 14/11/2012 17:18:06    1297755

intersting to see that the new lads Mick introduced (Rowe, Lyons, McNamara) were rarely, if even, suggested in this thread.

pati (Meath) - Posts: 80 - 14/11/2012 17:24:02    1297761

Rowe plays for Syddan and has been on the Meath Juniors for the last 3 years. Mc Namara plays for Drumbaragh and was involved with the juniors last year. 2 promising young lads with a lot of talent, interesting to see how they get on!

johnnytitelips (Meath) - Posts: 62 - 14/11/2012 18:12:45    1297805

No bob I think JCL, Eoin Reilly, M Ward and Chris O'Connor are gone.

Interesting that Dalton is on the panel and people said he wanted to play for Kildare.
And Newman is in! A lot of people were saying here that is didn't want to play or that he wasn't called into the panel! Sometimes I wonder are people making these things up for the craic.

Wasn't McNamara drafted into the senior panel for a while last year. I hope these lads are given a fair chance because there is a lot of potential there.

ClassApart (Meath) - Posts: 1200 - 14/11/2012 19:07:11    1297839

In my opinion, Paddy o Rourke shouldnt make it as a goalkeeper based on his ability to kick out the ball. A good goal keeper should be able to make himself big on a one to one attack which although o Rourke is a tall lad it is one thing in the past he had an inability to do. Also he was not confident under highball which is imperative for a goal keeper even more now than when he was goal keeper with the square ball rule changing since his inclusion.another thing I once stood behind the goals at a championship game against laois and remember paddy kicking out at an opposing player and got sent off while Meath where in a comfortable position which he let himself down and the rest of the panel. Now I'm not saying finding a goal keeper that can tick all the boxs is an easy task but I do think there are more keepers in the county with the ablity to tick more of the boxs tan paddy Rourke ie David Lyons or Marcus Brennan both men are fine goal keepers.

thebigjoeshow (Meath) - Posts: 63 - 15/11/2012 10:30:20    1298000

nicky judge from ballinbracky and rory maguire from longwood should be brought in

therealpmccann (Meath) - Posts: 57 - 15/11/2012 11:07:09    1298024

I personally think Mick O Dowd has chosen a few great players to include.
Cormac Rowe- Excellent temperment as a footballer, A Fit, young, versatile and appears to be a real team player
Darragh Mc- Said it last year, this guy is a class act, mark my words, if he gets a few hames on the meath team and bulks up a wee bit, he will be a regular on the starting 15, fact.
Best of luck to all the new comers in fact, think anybody I heard that was in, fully warrants their call, and anybody dropped off panel, likewise.

tackleberry (Meath) - Posts: 324 - 15/11/2012 11:48:56    1298059

thebigjoeshow

I agree with you about Paddy,but he had very good potential and if he was in sticks the last few years,he may have improved all-round

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 15/11/2012 11:53:29    1298065

Newman went to Boston for a while,it's not like he was in the country and declared himself unavailable

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 15/11/2012 11:54:37    1298067

7 or 8 of the meath panel were training in seneschalstown tonight and i think theres a couple of new faces

frogd60 (Meath) - Posts: 95 - 16/11/2012 20:24:25    1298871

There was a group training in Gibbstown too, not sure if it was Meath or Moynalty

drona (Meath) - Posts: 135 - 16/11/2012 20:44:28    1298881