Three players worth a look at (Not on last years panel)

Its very hard on new players being put through trails when they haven't the same gym work and training done as those on the panel. We are building from the bottom and I hope they bring in players like Shane Gillespie, Mark O'Sullivan, Andrew Tormey, that have potential, let them train at this level for a while and then see are they ready to step up. It will be good for club football in the county if the management are taking on players that played well for their club. I think a lot of people are sick of seeing the same faces for the past 5 or more yrs who have gone missing in big matches. It will be good to see others getting a chance. If it doesn't work out, fine but I would like to see more new players given a chance. We are in div 3 and players like the ones above should be well able to go out and compete against the likes of Cavan.

ClassApart (Meath) - Posts: 1200 - 01/11/2012 10:22:32    1290962

After my performance in the palace on Sunday night I reckon I deserve a call up.I let nothing past me,I was dirty in the tackle and showed a firm pair of hands when needed.I commanded the square afterwards directing people left and right of the bull.I showed my pace when the guards spotted me watering the flowers.And I topped it all off by scoring into the town goals.I left my calling card in the casino for Mick O'Dowd,it simple reads 'red even'!

boots96 (Meath) - Posts: 95 - 01/11/2012 10:29:06    1290967

This is what I'm on about, a player like O'Dwyer that has potential is thrown out in a Fitzsimons cup and expected to compete without having done much intercounty training/gymwork etc. Anyone with potential should be let do the winter training and then take it from there. But if Banty was going to club games he would see who is on form, a couple of our forwards that were very hot and cold this yr for club were the exact same for county. Brian Cody goes to as much club games as he can so he knows the form of players in club games as well as training and thats partly why they are so good. He doesn't wait around for a player to hit the form he had 2 yrs ago. We have too many players who have one brilliant game a yr. The likes of Tobin and Gilsenan played consistently very well in the league, thats what makes a top team, one that has players who generally play well week in week out.

ClassApart (Meath) - Posts: 1200 - 01/11/2012 10:38:20    1290972

boots96 Fair play you have passed the criteria necessary to be a Meath footballer. You should get a call very soon!

ClassApart (Meath) - Posts: 1200 - 01/11/2012 10:48:59    1290983

boots96

Sounds like the complete performance. fair play to ya lad.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6347 - 01/11/2012 11:01:57    1290994

Any suggestions on nightclubs,thought I'd spread myself around!

boots96 (Meath) - Posts: 95 - 01/11/2012 11:08:28    1291001

Daniel Queeney from Enfield should be called up.

Blackwater (Kildare) - Posts: 102 - 01/11/2012 11:13:06    1291008

I think Banty did attend quite a few club games, I saw him and/or Geraghty at many of the games I attended, quite often they were both at the game though not together....

Ex_Pat (USA) - Posts: 186 - 01/11/2012 11:46:14    1291029

Ex pat last year the sfc semi finals were a double header in navan & banty didnt bother to go. trapattoni goes to more club games then banty did

bobjaffacake (Meath) - Posts: 1400 - 01/11/2012 12:19:29    1291065

Maybe he'd seen enough by then and already knew who he wanted from Summerhill and Dunshaughlin....?
I'm just saying I saw him at quite a few club games at various age and level during the year and not always in the public gaze, GG likewise....

Ex_Pat (USA) - Posts: 186 - 01/11/2012 12:44:27    1291092

what the name of the navan o mahonys goalkeeper, i hear he is really good player, could be better than what we have so far

Sheenjr (Meath) - Posts: 40 - 02/11/2012 10:32:02    1291502

jake regan should get a call up after improving a sight in the past few years... if someone could coax paddy smyth into commiting to meath for a year it would be a welcome boost best footballer in the county bobby o brien for ratoath very talented footballer should atleast get a few games in the o byrne and league

srgt_slaughter (Meath) - Posts: 462 - 02/11/2012 10:40:17    1291506

Agree with Classapart.........Shane Gillespie very impressive in County Final, Andrew Tormey looked very sharp in semi-final and another player worth a try is McKeever from Simmonstown but these lads have to be brought into Meath training to give them as good a chance as panel already there. It would only be fair that they get an equal opportunity to prove what they can do.

castleroyal (Meath) - Posts: 57 - 02/11/2012 10:42:27    1291507

Jake Reegan from Navan is worth a try. show on sunday he is capable of perfoming at inter county level in my opinion.

burkeanimal (Meath) - Posts: 24 - 02/11/2012 21:03:14    1291866

what age is jake regan? i watch him twice this year and i was very impressed

bobjaffacake (Meath) - Posts: 1400 - 02/11/2012 21:17:51    1291875

I heard they were training in Tayto Park on Sunday not to sure how true this is though. Has there been any word of new players being called up to train or are they just training with last years panel??

no1fan10 (Meath) - Posts: 18 - 07/11/2012 12:22:18    1293955

I dont know who else has been called in, but I see Gallagher is gone, also, I am assuming that JCL is out too therefore there will be a panel place for 2 keepers. I suspect Paddy O Rourke is one, the other to be decided.
I think Mick O Dowd will prob give Harnan and O Sullivan a bit of a taste this year. The panel seems to be changed a bit with Mark Ward and Juicy not included, nothing against either player but maybe it will improve their game and spread to other team members that their place on the panel is not guaranteed.

tackleberry (Meath) - Posts: 324 - 07/11/2012 12:31:39    1293963

Osullivan and donnacha tobin are both gone to austrailia for the year so wont be around plus kevin reilly is out for the league

bobjaffacake (Meath) - Posts: 1400 - 07/11/2012 12:57:58    1293986

chris oconnor and mark ward getting dropped isnt to surprising! ward has suffered badly with injuries over the last 12 months. was recently at ballnabracky vs stmichaels and hardly recognised chris oconnor on the pitch far better defenders in the junior ranks.

brollysboy (Meath) - Posts: 46 - 07/11/2012 13:35:40    1294030

Is it just O'Connor and Ward that have been dropped? Anyone know of any new players that have been asked in?

ClassApart (Meath) - Posts: 1200 - 07/11/2012 13:55:27    1294045