fiachra dolan meathlad11 (Meath) - Posts: 54 - 23/10/2012 17:06:09 1287168 Link 0 |
mark McCabe (simonstown) 50shadesofGAA (Meath) - Posts: 63 - 23/10/2012 17:19:09 1287180 Link 0 |
Callaghan the wolf tones midfilder will lord it come sunday, and if so he will be in the meath set up this year.... High_Roller (Meath) - Posts: 85 - 24/10/2012 17:02:40 1287729 Link 0 |
Callaghan has held on until Senior final to emigrate to London. He is moving to another London branch of bank he works with in Dublin. Althletics is his real passion im told, shame as he could have been a good addition to the panel. bruciebonus (Meath) - Posts: 58 - 25/10/2012 14:20:46 1288142 Link 0 |
Not so sure that is true re Callaghan, great potential he has without doubt, not fully appreciated by some within Tones set up apparently..... drona (Meath) - Posts: 135 - 25/10/2012 14:33:16 1288156 Link 0 |
DRONA, what do you mean callaghan isnt appreciated within the Wolfetones set up? thats a weird statement the week of a senior final! I have to laugh at the lack of knowledge of some posters on these forums. Callaghan is good friends with my son and from that I know he is not into athletics and he does not work in a bank in Dublin. he went to London earlier in the year in search of work and came home again. He and my son are planning to emigrate after christmas in search of work. He is injury prone so I can't see him making an impact at county level isTHIS4real (Meath) - Posts: 97 - 25/10/2012 16:38:25 1288245 Link 0 |
The fact thats its the week of a senior final is of no relevance, I know some of a few officals from Tones and thats the vibe, the world is full of differing opinions you know... drona (Meath) - Posts: 135 - 25/10/2012 17:08:57 1288277 Link 0 |
Not the vibe I've heard, he's a valued and well respected member of the club. Ex_Pat (USA) - Posts: 186 - 25/10/2012 19:16:55 1288377 Link 0 |
I think ye have missed the point on this one, i actually believe he should be brought in to the Meath set up as his potential is enormous, potential now i said, Pace when in full flight is superb. My point is simply that there are a lot of people who would not agree thats all drona (Meath) - Posts: 135 - 25/10/2012 20:00:35 1288402 Link 0 |
This site at times sickens me with the character assination on players and people from clubs. Alan Callaghan IS appreciated by his club, he IS appreciated by his fellow players and he is as committed as anyone I know. He has played some fantastic football all year and has looked after himself very well and as a result has remained injury free. This I add was in both codes. He played in the Intermediate hurling final last Sunday and was superb, 1 week before a Senior football final. Thats guts and committment. Wolfe Tones is a small rural club and is successful based on players like Alan who like many others have no work and are staying to play for their parish. I am not asking those who do not know him to praise him, just stop bashing genuine people on this site... MinorStar (Meath) - Posts: 294 - 26/10/2012 15:03:15 1288668 Link 0 |
I for one hope he has a man of the match performance drona (Meath) - Posts: 135 - 27/10/2012 08:21:27 1288869 Link 0 |
Well said minor star time drona should put a sock in it and keep his gripes to himself. We are way off the point anyway the question is about new players worth a try on the panel and there are a few from the inter and senior knockout games worth a go,I think ellis from donaghmore could be worth a try andrew collins deserves a trial as this was his first season back after looking quite promising a coupe of years ago before injury, and i would like to see mark o sullivan from moynalvey get another chance. johnsee (Meath) - Posts: 389 - 27/10/2012 11:02:11 1288896 Link 0 |
What gripes are they exactly ? drona (Meath) - Posts: 135 - 27/10/2012 14:23:44 1288949 Link 0 |
One obvious one who hasn't been mentioned is Dunshaughlins Cathal O Dwyer. Surely he deserves his shot. He may b small but makes up 4 with speed and strength ,, and a very accomplished marksman. And was voted Meath Hoganstand club footballer of the year last year. A consistent performer who always leads his clubs attack but isn't afraid 2 track back and give his defence a digout when under pressure. Could b a valuable addition 2 our attack or at least 2use as an impact sub when defences are tired. clemsa3 (Meath) - Posts: 1 - 29/10/2012 10:21:00 1289501 Link 0 |
Cathal o Dwyer needs to track back with that defence Dunshaughlin and would get run over at county level head4dblackspot (Meath) - Posts: 513 - 29/10/2012 14:56:20 1289622 Link 0 |
Cathal o Dwyer needs to track back with that defence Dunshaughlin and would get run over at county level head4dblackspot (Meath) - Posts: 513 - 29/10/2012 14:56:20 1289623 Link 0 |
69er (Meath) - Posts: 33 - 29/10/2012 19:30:11 1289772 Link 0 |
shane geraghty is worth a try in goals.has asafe pair of hands and a great kick out. stumpy663 (Meath) - Posts: 1 - 31/10/2012 20:38:56 1290870 Link 0 |
Three Players worth looking at that were not on the Meath panel last year I would agree about Cathal O'Dwyer and I think he was on the panel at the start of last year but got dropped for whatever reason I don't but I have seen and heard alot about him and he is a top player that deserves a proper chance. I think Shane Gilliose is another seems to be a very talented lad in the few games I have seen him play I think Stephen Corrigan from the Tones is worth a look one of the best midfielders in the county and he has played in well in all the games I have seen him play. I don't much about Shane Geraghty but we do need a keeper and so should be looked at if he is as good as people say I also think Marcus Brennan should be look at he is a great shot stopper and has great kickouts but maybe the height thing will go against him but we won't know until he is given a chance. Darren Hagan is another worth looking at probably has been one of the best centre backs in the county all year and he is very consistant. Andrew Tormey I am not sure but has the ability to do well. I think Kieron Ellis is another chap worth looking at he is very impressive from what have seen of him I can't think of any more at minute a know its more then three but there is plenty there to be thought about and at the end of the day we only need a couple of lads to have team that compete at the highest level come championship next year. ThickandTin (Meath) - Posts: 121 - 01/11/2012 09:30:39 1290930 Link 0 |
Yeah cathal odwyer was on the panal this time last year for the fitzsimons cup and i thought he played very well but banty drop him off the panal after that.people say hes too small but hes no smaller then alan forde or mark collins bobjaffacake (Meath) - Posts: 1400 - 01/11/2012 10:18:50 1290959 Link 0 |