Meath fifteen versus Dublin?

the joe show
you seem to think joe and cian have a divine right to there place weather they play well or not .tell me what have the 2 of them scored from play this year? and i have yet to see the opposition put 2 men on joe to mark him as you say

bobjaffacake (Meath) - Posts: 1400 - 14/07/2012 09:44:36    1216977

Bob joeshow is right there seems to be an agenda by a lot of posters on this site to have cian and joe dropped, hes not saying they have a divine right to their place no one has for that matter, but the reality is our full forward line always works better with joe inside and with the role that cian is being asked to play how would he get many scores. Personally i dont think he is the man for that role as he is a natural scorer and is way better when close to goal. I firmly believe if we had someone else to play that role and leave ward inside we would get a much bigger return from our forwards.

johnsee (Meath) - Posts: 389 - 14/07/2012 11:48:49    1217031

Worried that expectation is rising now and Meath will be watched again. Hope we go into game as firm underdogs and give the Dubs a right battle. Will be a right tough game for us

eldude90 (Meath) - Posts: 16 - 14/07/2012 12:06:48    1217046

ok cian has been poor but he's playing more outfield. i said in another thread he looks over weight and he does but he's still putting in a lot of work out the field. joe on the other hand came back form boston over weight and really unfit. the wicklow game he was ok and showed good leadership. 1st carlow game he was rubbish but the second one he improved and it brough him along. unlucky not to score cracking voley that hit the post.

Against Kildare he did play very well and deserves his final place. firness has improved as has the shot selection along with accuracy. 3 nice points and caused kildare problems all day. the curve for joe is going up not so much for cian but were better off starting him and having bray to come on as a likely replacement.

i don't know how reilly is but if he's not fullky fit start lenehin and if anyone in the backline most likely lenehin or shane isn't up to scratch bring him on. if he's fit to start then start him. i think the lads will be really motivated to set the record straight and win a leinster the begrudgers can't try and take away.

BettystownRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 3353 - 14/07/2012 12:51:59    1217067

I have to admit that I am one of those people who are waiting for the big performance, but maybe it is not going to come.. Banty is playing a 2 man full forward line with Farrell in the corner and Joe in the centre. I have watched the games over from this year and my opinions have changed slightly. The difference between Cian and Joe is that Joe is getting ball in scoring positions and isn't making the right decisions. Cian hasn't got great opportunities. In my opinion Cian should be playing where Joe is, when given good ball he is an excellent finisher and rarely misses in front of goals. I think Joe should be replaced by Bray who can play further out the field.

ClassApart (Meath) - Posts: 1200 - 14/07/2012 13:11:59    1217082

Certainly if anyone watches the games back (and please lose this notion that if you score from play thats all that matters) and you know the slightest thing about football you will se that Ward is obviously being instructed not to come inside the 45' and to play the ball in, which he does. Joe is a serious threat to any defence and to take these 2 lads off would be great news for Dublin. Bandwagon is now running away as regards new lads after one good performance, a lot will be learned Sunday week but all i want is to see progress, and i wont be on here slating lads if things go wrong. Feet on the ground and i personally would have Bray starting instead of Forde and Reilly at full back with Menton at centre half and Mc enarney at corner back.

Analyst (Meath) - Posts: 1508 - 14/07/2012 13:37:15    1217097

Yes and if anyone looks back at Championship games this year, Joe has had at least 2 goal chances in every game and has just blasted them at the keeper, he just panics in front of goal. Cian is a much better finisher and if he gets near the goals the ball is in the net. This among other problems needs to be addressed. And Yes people are getting far too carried away with the win over Kildare, we can't say this team is great until they prove that consistently.

ClassApart (Meath) - Posts: 1200 - 14/07/2012 13:58:54    1217109

alot of us would like menton at center half back but with mc enarney being the captain he has to start and he could not play in the corner hes way too loose and that would be a massive mistake to make putting him marking one of the dublin forwards,i think he can oly really play as centre half back. i see what alot of people are saying about cian and i think we probly would be better off just having the same forwards starting and then having bray, queeney, peadar and maybe gilsenan if fit as impact subs.

meathalltheway (Meath) - Posts: 789 - 14/07/2012 14:00:43    1217111

Thejoeshow

1216966 lads who are calling for joe and cians head

rematch the kildare game and see how often cian ward picked the ball up deep and either ran his man or let accurate ball into the full forwards

also see how joe attracts 2 men and got his 3 points along with setting up a handful of others

Watching Ciaran Lyng against Dublin he played a quarterback role, spraying passes around from midfield. The full backs were pulled all over the place. Cian Ward is one of the few playmakers we have on the starting XV, also one of the few players who managed to kick good ball into our full forwards. Problem is when he is being picked up by a back who can play a bit it means we invite attacks onto ourselves. I think he's playing too deep.

Joe's doing fine. He's had to adopt his game to link up with the runners from deep. How often do we kick the ball in from the wings? Look at the way we're set up, Burke, Tobin and Mac all playing as running backs.

Ollie99 (Meath) - Posts: 442 - 14/07/2012 15:30:55    1217153

bob i would suggest you stop posting nonsense about starting queeney and rematch meath vs kildare and see how many men are around joe when the ball is sent in,

joe is creating chances for others. fact
he is giving farrell the room he is thriving on. fact
he's without doubt a leader in the panel and you can see him motivating the youngsters though out the match. fact

cian is dropping deep and picking up ball and linking half backs and half forwards
as shown vs carlow if he gets a sniff its going in
hes a true playmaker and is sending great balls into the corner for joe/brian

queeney has popped off the bench vs beaten teams and popped over scores when fresh vs lads that had been playing for 65 mins,

Thejoeshow (Meath) - Posts: 687 - 14/07/2012 15:48:39    1217158

i think joe is a leader and i do think he has to start but in saying that like hes not our only leader, kevin reilly is too and brian farrell. im really impressed with brian the way he has been able to step it up and get back to playing like he did in 07. in the kildare game joe had two chances to go for goal and missed both and both times farrell was near him and was unmarked and if joe had just looked around and layed the ball off we could have got more goals. after he missed both chances you could actually see farrell giving out to joe for not passing so i hope in these 3 weeks training that will be adressed with some forwards taking silly options, abit like forde too at times in the kildare game because against dublin we need to be trying to take every chance we get.

meathalltheway (Meath) - Posts: 789 - 14/07/2012 16:05:48    1217165

thejoeshow
tell me this,what will happening next sunday if brian farrell has a bad game or is held scoreless?meath have been too dependent on brian and graham reilly doing the bulk of the scoring.its all fine saying joe and cian are working hard and creating chances but at the end of the day its all about scores and im sorry at this level they need to been doing more.both have averaged 1 point a game for play in our four games so far(cian 1-1 joe 0-4).i thought joe had his best game of the year last week but if we hope to beat dublin cork or kerry we need more from the lads

bobjaffacake (Meath) - Posts: 1400 - 14/07/2012 17:59:25    1217260

yeah with joe having a good game against kildare hopefully he will continue to play better, he also looked alot fitter than he had in the carlow games.

meathalltheway (Meath) - Posts: 789 - 14/07/2012 18:21:56    1217285

so why then aren't you making the same point about damien carroll or alan forde?

and no its not ALL about forwards taking scores, there has to be creators there too, someone has to put intelligent ball and move defenders away in order to create the chances for scores, if you had 6 forwards looking to kick the ball over the bar all the time then your left with kildare scenario will buckets of wides

if your claiming they should be dropped on score to game ratio then alan forde and carroll would be first to go

Thejoeshow (Meath) - Posts: 687 - 14/07/2012 18:40:46    1217302

Joeshow
damian carroll has only played 2 games & has got 3 points so all ready his ratio is higher then joe and cian

bobjaffacake (Meath) - Posts: 1400 - 14/07/2012 19:08:32    1217326

joe has 3 in his last 2

and alan forde?

Thejoeshow (Meath) - Posts: 687 - 14/07/2012 20:18:21    1217392

TJS, what Bob is saying that if a player as experienced as Joe lines out as a full-forward he should be among the highest scorers on the team. Setting up chances is great but if your FF doesn't get quite a number of scores you will not win the really big games. He has had more goal chances than any other player on the team and has nothing to show for it. Peadar has had three chances and scored them all. Joe is great and we all think highly of him but he will have to show a cooler head and a cutting edge in front of goal. Otherwise he isn't the goal poacher he once was.

GlasagusOr (Meath) - Posts: 1348 - 14/07/2012 20:53:17    1217420

joeshow
as you well know one of joes points was from a 45.im talking about what he contribute from play but your right young fordes end product hasnt been great so far and i think mark collins was a bit unlucky to lose his place there.forde will only get better and has great pace and will win a lot of frees

bobjaffacake (Meath) - Posts: 1400 - 14/07/2012 21:13:25    1217446

i could be wrong now but did alan forde not get 3 points in the last two games aswell?

meathalltheway (Meath) - Posts: 789 - 14/07/2012 21:33:13    1217477

bobjaffacake

he is fast, but sometimes he can take to much out of the ball! he doesent pass to the man in the better position and he can pull out of tackles! but he does get us alot of frees! which i hope Cian ward does NOT take!

RossiesRock (Meath) - Posts: 369 - 15/07/2012 10:23:33    1217559