Meath fifteen versus Dublin?

Somebody told me that Joe Sheridan picked up an ankle injury,now this person isn't very believable,but did anyone hear this?

Heard the same before the kildare game.

db9 (Meath) - Posts: 283 - 12/07/2012 21:12:23    1216209

hope the ankle injury doesnt slow him down

bobjaffacake (Meath) - Posts: 1400 - 12/07/2012 21:32:27    1216220

It was in one of the papers yesterday Joe picked up ankle injury Tuesday night in training. It also said Kevin Reilly hadn't resumed training yet either.

toon (Meath) - Posts: 247 - 13/07/2012 08:20:41    1216248

I wouldn't be too worried if Kevin wasn't training,he's fit enough,wrap him in cotton wool...

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 13/07/2012 09:49:36    1216289

1. D.Gallagher
2. D.Keoghan - To pick up - McMENNAMON
3. K.Reilly -To pick up- B. BROGAN
4. B.Menton - To pick up- O'GARA
5. D.Tobin - To pick up- A. BROGAN
6. S.McAnarney - To pick up- CULLEN
7. M.Burke - To pick up- FLYNN
8. C.Gillespie - To pick up- FENNOLL
9. B.Meade - To pick up - MD McAULEY
10. A.Forde
11. D.Carroll
12. G.Reilly
13. B.Farrell
14. J.Sheridan
15. S.Bray

Byrne to come on for Meade if he's not pulling his weight.

seamusmac (Meath) - Posts: 379 - 13/07/2012 13:35:42    1216526

seamusmac

Good team, though I'd rather Toibin on Flynn to nullify his option on kickouts. Cluxton seems to put alot of restarts his way.

rath_togh (Meath) - Posts: 740 - 13/07/2012 13:46:01    1216542

Yeh whats all this craic with Kevin Reilly, he should be either injured or not. There didn't seem to be a bother on him when he came on the last day, but it was strange he didn't do the warm up before the match.

ClassApart (Meath) - Posts: 1200 - 13/07/2012 14:21:56    1216577

Maybe he wasnt actually supposed to come on against kildare but he must have just wanted to because of menton getting injured and he was very annoyed about the whole dermot earley thing that had happened but he did look grand when he was on so its strange how hes not training.

meathalltheway (Meath) - Posts: 789 - 13/07/2012 14:42:30    1216606

i think he could train if he really wanted to but is afraid a small injury will turn into a big one

BettystownRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 3353 - 13/07/2012 14:58:23    1216624

i think he could train if he really wanted to but is afraid a small injury will turn into a big one

Yeh but surely if he went by the guidance of the physios/doctors like everyone else it should be ok, because we really need him against Dublin.

ClassApart (Meath) - Posts: 1200 - 13/07/2012 15:07:08    1216635

he's not lik mpst though. he's played by niggly injuries that have the potential to get serious if not treated very carefully.

BettystownRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 3353 - 13/07/2012 15:08:59    1216640

1. D.Gallagher
2. D.Keoghan
3. K.Reilly
4. B.Menton
5. D.Tobin
6. M.Burke
7. S.McAnarney
8. C.Gillespie
9. B.Meade (Byrne most likely on after 40 mins)
10. A.Forde
11. D.Carroll
12. G.Reilly
13. B.Farrell
14. J.Sheridan
15. C. Ward (Give him a chance he's due a big one, if not going well after 20 mins bring on super sub bray)

Byrne to come on as an impact sub most likely for meath or anyone else who has an off day at midfield or the forward line. The same with Bray having these 2 along with Queeney as impact subs is a huge boost. One thing we lacked in recent years is a bench with players who are just as good as the starting 15 and will come on to great effect being marked by lads with tired legs.

Anyone know what's the craic with Cormac McG? Is he just not playing well enough to get his place?

When we win, I'm nominating Banty for president and to take his thrown where the high kings of meath used to sit.

BettystownRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 3353 - 13/07/2012 15:16:01    1216654

Ok that is fair enough if thats the situation, hopefully he will be able to play some part against Dublin.

ClassApart (Meath) - Posts: 1200 - 13/07/2012 15:22:31    1216667

spot on bettystown, kevin reilly had an achilles problem before kildare, he is plagued with back hamstring and achilles niggles and if any of these go on him you are talking 12-18 months on the sideline, you just have to manage these as best you can

similar situation to ledley king at spurs, unable to train regularly but keeps fit other ways!!

agree with your team bettys! but also feel stephen bray should be in there but very harsh on anyone dropped, for once i can say I'm glad I'm not making the calls on this team at the moment, peader, bray, harrington, queeney all must be knocking down the door looking to play

Thejoeshow (Meath) - Posts: 687 - 13/07/2012 15:42:32    1216693

rath_togh

1216542 seamusmac

Good team, though I'd rather Toibin on Flynn to nullify his option on kickouts. Cluxton seems to put alot of restarts his way.
"

Yep. Also, I'd have Burke track Alan Brogan around the park. McAnarney and Tobin would drop back into coverage in front of the full-backs, sweeping up the long ball that Dublin love to feed their two target men.

Cian Ward has to start. One of the few players who can kick accurate ball into that full-forward line. He can rove around midfield and let it in early. A lot of our kicking was sloppy against Kildare, I'd start Bray at 11 and move Carroll out to 10 to address this. Forde and Byrne could be massive impact subs for us.

Ollie99 (Meath) - Posts: 442 - 13/07/2012 18:53:01    1216844

I hate this thing with Ward saying "He is due a big one"! Ye mean he is due not to have a bad game.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 13/07/2012 21:05:04    1216916

i dont think bray should start i cant see him being anywhere near match fitness after his injury. As for cian ward his talent is undoubtable i just think its more of a confidence with him so if he gets that issue sorted he will make a big difference to the team. The only change i would make would be bringing kevin reilly in for lenihan and with subs like bray, peader and queeny ( whos always good for 2 or 3 points) we always have the option to shake things up a bit if needed!

HungryMeathMan (Meath) - Posts: 22 - 13/07/2012 21:44:51    1216942

ziggy
i agree with you about ward,and i think you could say the same about joe

bobjaffacake (Meath) - Posts: 1400 - 13/07/2012 21:48:15    1216945

I dont think B.Meade should start . I'v never rated him as good enough now that we have a couple of options I would try one . If K.Reilly is fit to start I would play Menton at midfield along with Gillispie . Menton is a very good all round player , against Carlow in the 2nd game he showed how good he was carrying the ball and had great speed , hes a good catcher of the ball and more important can defend without fouling . With G.Reilly droping in around the middle Menton would also be the right man to give a little cover to the center back area our worst area against Kildare .

mmc (Meath) - Posts: 306 - 13/07/2012 21:49:25    1216947

lads who are calling for joe and cians head

rematch the kildare game and see how often cian ward picked the ball up deep and either ran his man or let accurate ball into the full forwards

also see how joe attracts 2 men and got his 3 points along with setting up a handful of others

these long term personal issues with 2 of our better forwards its laughable at this stage

Thejoeshow (Meath) - Posts: 687 - 14/07/2012 08:40:33    1216966