Meath v Derry

Hey CLONDALKIN DUB, might i remind you that the last time our teams met in the championship that this group of players bet your lads to a pulp. I can't believe ye won an all ireland with that gang of brawlers.

CobraVengeance (Meath) - Posts: 46 - 19/03/2012 13:40:35    1132191

I'm only being realistic with yous cobra. Well we did and we will do it again this year mate cause we our the best.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 19/03/2012 14:37:07    1132248

Why are there dubs in here looking for attention?

Coylers Elbow (Meath) - Posts: 1075 - 19/03/2012 14:44:38    1132255

royalpainter

Ask any Meath fan yesterday about Cian Ward's display and they'll tell you he was poor. I think Wardy is a fantastic player when he's at his best but he is inconsistent. Yes I will agree with you that the delivery of ball into him was not ideal but even when he got the ball he didn't do a whole lot. And yes Cian Ward isn't the only problem. I don't think Tobin has the confidence for playing up front so if anything I'd have him wing back and swapping with G. Reilly or just bringing in Lenehan instead.

I think we're solid enough at the back and I liked the idea of putting Menton at CHB to fill that gap in front of the full back line. I don't see why everyone thinks that Burke got roasted..? I thought he hassled Bradley fairly well and forced him into kicking from awkward angles on a few occasions so I think his performance is being exaggerated.

And good man Clondalkindub.. thanks for your groundbreaking insight. I'm sure Meath football has made a breakthrough in the diagnosis of whats wrong with the senior team.. "Meath don't have the players".. yeah thats deep.

RoyalClass (Meath) - Posts: 790 - 19/03/2012 14:55:38    1132267

I would drop Cian Ward and put Bray back into the FF line.
Move Seamus Kenny to centre forward and get him on the ball.
He's been a peripheral figure in the last few games.

Coylers Elbow (Meath) - Posts: 1075 - 19/03/2012 15:08:02    1132281

I think Tobin improved as the game went on, latter stages of the first half anyway. If he is a wing forward he has the pace to get into scoring positions. He has shown he can finish too, some of the time.

I like Mickey Burke as a half-back (or sub) for his endeavor, not a corner back. How can you say he managed Bradley well. The Derry man won pretty much everything that came his way. We need backs who can get out in front of their man and win ball, not just shadow them because they are second to everything. So proactive rather than reactive.

GlasagusOr (Meath) - Posts: 1348 - 19/03/2012 15:16:04    1132292

I would drop Cian Ward too as I feel he only shows real appetite when we are playing championship football and preferably big TV games. Has he one eye on a media / pundit role (post playing career),While I'm not his biggest fan Brian Farrell is certainly more eager to make an impact on the IC scene once more. A hungry Brian Farrell is more use to the team.

I think if Stephen Bray is named at FF, he will just continue to drop much deeper anyway. Let Brayer be our CHF and then he can roam about more which is what he appears to like. Play a target man as FF whether Tom Walsh or the more mobile Jamie Queeney.

With Graham Reilly on one wing, then decide whether we want Tobin or Kenny as the sixth (defensive) forward.

GlasagusOr (Meath) - Posts: 1348 - 19/03/2012 15:35:45    1132320

Yes Stephen Bray likes to roam but did you ever count the number of shots he drops into the keepers hands, he has to be close to goals. As regards Cian Wards, he can appear lazy and uninterested at times but I feel we have to stick with him, place him beside a target man and make him first choice freetaker. S.Brays free taking has cost us dearly in some of the games to date. At the moment Seamus Kenny is living on reputation and needs a rest. For all his faults dare I mention the name Peadar Byrne who as a footballer is much superior to most of the half forwards we have played in the NFL.

Auldfella (Meath) - Posts: 472 - 19/03/2012 15:49:45    1132335

I think a FF line of Gilsenan, Queeney/Farrell and Bray gives us a good mixture of pace, work-rate, height and scoring ability.
Farrell was a pretty reliable free-taker too.
If we're going to pull the HF line back into midfield we need to play with 3 up front as out and out attackers.
Bray could play a bit deeper with the two lads inside him.

Coylers Elbow (Meath) - Posts: 1075 - 19/03/2012 16:01:15    1132349

Maybe with a three man full-forward line which includes a target man, Stephen wouldn't have to go for long range points. Is he doing so more out of a lack of options than anything else. If Paddy Gilsenan is our clever and classy corner forward, Brayer would be similar on the HF line. We are better served with one on each forward line. Both like to show for the ball. They could even switch around at times. Stephen will continue to roam and drop deep unless we have other credible ball winning and creative players on the HF line.

GlasagusOr (Meath) - Posts: 1348 - 19/03/2012 16:06:28    1132357

GlasagusOr

You can't expect any corner back to be first to the ball every time when put up against someone like Paddy Bradley. Name one other Meath back apart from say Kevin Reilly who could beat Bradley every time to the ball. The expectations of some people are incredible.

RoyalClass (Meath) - Posts: 790 - 19/03/2012 16:17:31    1132372

Stephen Bray should be told never to come back behind the half-way line.

Coylers Elbow (Meath) - Posts: 1075 - 19/03/2012 16:23:35    1132375

RoyalClass, I never said our corner back should get to the ball before Paddy Bradley every time, but 50:50 or 40:60 against would be a big improvement on what has happened in recent games. Davy Dalton is the player I have most faith in as a corner back. And I still think Caoimhin King is a very good reader of the game and might be more suitable to that position than Mickey Burke (who I like as a player, just not there).

GlasagusOr (Meath) - Posts: 1348 - 19/03/2012 16:43:07    1132389

Drop Cian Ward and we're f****d for frees.

BettystownRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 3353 - 19/03/2012 18:47:37    1132494

Without Harrington, agree glasgrus..caoimhin king back, Mickey Burke half back

RoyalSt.Pat (Meath) - Posts: 333 - 19/03/2012 18:55:05    1132506

Did anyone else hear Mark Ward shouting and giving out to Menton after he made a mistake? Bit rich coming from a player like him who never makes any stupid mistakes such as getting blocked down when you had loads of space or hand passing / kicking it straight away.

BettystownRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 3353 - 19/03/2012 18:56:33    1132508