Meath v Derry

Ollie ... I just think that when he faces a very physical backline (with really tough man markers), it usually takes it's toll on him quite quickly. He may be very skillful but to my mind is a bit soft when the going gets really tough. In recent years (when actually playing) he has spent quite a lot of time moaning to refs (when failing to win frees, ala Robbie Keane), rather than just getting on with things and trying that bit harder himself.

UpMeath ... what players did in 2007 and 2008 is of no benefit to us now. This is 2012 and despite impressive seasons for his club more recently, he has failed to deliver, when given game time with Meath. He thrived at a time when there weren't really blanket defenses and sweepers to the extent there is nowadays, just one on one markers by and large and plenty of space.

GlasagusOr (Meath) - Posts: 1348 - 14/03/2012 14:36:35    1129341

why are people dismissive of a crack at promotion..?..with teams canceling out each other, Tyrone look the only certainities..we might even have the further chance of demoting Louth in the last game!

sob (Meath) - Posts: 492 - 14/03/2012 15:24:45    1129379

sob

why are people dismissive of a crack at promotion..?..with teams canceling out each other, Tyrone look the only certainities..we might even have the further chance of demoting Louth in the last game!

Louth will probably be demoted anyway before that game in Navan.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 14/03/2012 15:53:16    1129395

I don't know why Dalton isn't there,s I have said before we are playing both Menton and Burke out of position.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 14/03/2012 16:13:55    1129412

ziggy32001

1129412 I don't know why Dalton isn't there,s I have said before we are playing both Menton and Burke out of position.

Id agree.

And while Shane Mac made 6 his own last year, he's been very ragged this year. When I watched the Kildare game back I couldnt believe how many of their points came from lads running right into the centre and taking an easy score.

I think its time to try Menton at 6 and move Mac to one of the wings.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6347 - 14/03/2012 16:30:03    1129420

meath team for derry
1 gallagher
2 obrien
3 reilly
4 burke
5 mcanarney
6 menton
7 lenehan
8 walsh
9 meade
10 kenny
11 reilly
12 tobin
13 gilseanan
14 ward
15 bray
pity that the likes of farrell , collins , newman , brian sheridan and eoin reilly have all seemingly bit left out in the cold

stekhli (Dublin) - Posts: 3121 - 14/03/2012 16:39:48    1129433

stekhli

Farrell is on the panel as far as Im aware.

I think himself or queeny should be tried as an option at 14. Start Bray at 11 (where he's playing anyway), and at least when he's giving an inside pass he has a main target, rather than just lofting high balls on top of Paddy Gilsenan and Wardy.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6347 - 14/03/2012 16:49:24    1129445

oh ye forgot about queeney , he was very impressive at the begining of 2010 when he was stationed at full forward but hasnt got many chances since except in the hb line

stekhli (Dublin) - Posts: 3121 - 14/03/2012 17:11:07    1129455

My team vs Derry............
1.Gallagher
2.O'Brien
3.K.Reilly
4.O'Connor
5.McAnarney
6.Menton
7.Burke
8.Walsh
9.M.Ward
10.Tobin
11.S.Bray
12.Reilly
13.Gilsennan
14.Queeney (needs to be given a try here)
15.C.Ward

Who do you think should start

seamusmac (Meath) - Posts: 379 - 14/03/2012 18:02:07    1129488

Lads if Cian Ward wasn't the freetaker, would any of you have him in your team?

Coylers Elbow (Meath) - Posts: 1075 - 14/03/2012 20:02:21    1129619

No but he should be the free taker and we would be on 8 points now if he was. And on Quenny he's had gis chances but doesn't seem to play too well when he plays.

MeathHill17 (Meath) - Posts: 40 - 14/03/2012 20:41:56    1129668

There was a big crowd up in Galway from Meath so hopefully we will get a similar turnout as the Kildare game. A big crowd will motive the lads and they won't slack off as easy.

MeathHill17 (Meath) - Posts: 40 - 14/03/2012 20:46:47    1129675

My Team
1.Gallacher
2.Menton
3.Reilly
4.Burke
5.Lenihan
6.Mc Inarney
7.McGuiness
8.Ward
9.Walsh
10.Kenny
11.Bray
12.Reilly
13.Gilsenan
14.quenney or farrell
15.Ward

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1176 - 14/03/2012 21:41:41    1129757

What bout eoin harriginton ?

royalpainter (Meath) - Posts: 874 - 15/03/2012 08:31:35    1129796

A win on sunday might give us the fizz we need in omagh and maybe we can unhinge tyrone as they are due an off day ,well maybe ?

royalpainter (Meath) - Posts: 874 - 15/03/2012 08:35:25    1129797

Coylers Elbow, in answer to your question, In my opinion Ward does next to nothing from general play so no without the frees he should not be playing. I said it years ago with my old friend ARD RI and he argued the opposite. He has great skill but from general play is extremely quiet at best.

I always wondered why Brian Farrell doesnt get the same game time as Ward and give him the frees. Again Farrell can go missing in games, but with a run off games this may improve. Ward is playing now well over 5 years and apart from one goal against Dublin when the match was over I cant recall a good game.

I know I will get a back lash but I want him to play well and I would imagine he is amazing at training which gets him in the team ahead of Farrell, Queeney, Joe etc but for how long and how many different managers need to see that in games he simply does not produce the goods.

Listening to him in the media I have to say also dissappoints me greatly, I for one would not have him in the panel.
Why cant we play 6 forwards who can score and work hard for the team, either pick Kenny and O'Conor as defenders or not at all. It's actually depressing watching Meath style at present.
I dont want my corner backs and half backs shooting for scores, I want them concentrating on the art of man marking, reducing scores, not giving away frees.
Watching Chirs O'Connor and Kenny either sitting in the hole or running around the backs will get us nowwhere.

How honestly can we expect a happy squad with such tactics, why would forwards of the likes of Joe, Farrell, Queeney, Newman etc hang around watching this, plus they know they are behind a man aged 39. COmplete madness.

Rant over!!

Northmeathman (Meath) - Posts: 284 - 15/03/2012 12:15:36    1129950

Northmeathman

I always wondered why Brian Farrell doesnt get the same game time as Ward and give him the frees. Again Farrell can go missing in games, but with a run off games this may improve. Ward is playing now well over 5 years and apart from one goal against Dublin when the match was over I cant recall a good game.

Really? I mean really? Obviously 4-3 in a game doesn't count as a "good game".
While I do agree that Ward can be very frustrating from open play, I do think he deserves his place in the team and to say he has barely had one good game in 5 years shows an alarming amount of ignorance.

Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1386 - 15/03/2012 13:15:54    1130012

Anyone remember back to the first half of the Kildare game in Croker last year when Menton was stationed a CHB. Kildare had to go to the wings to shoot and they were atrocious at it. At the start of the second half Banty for some daft reason sent Menton into the corner to mark James Kavanagh and Kildare were then able to work the ball to the middle and shoot ala the way they did it in the second half in Navan 2 weeks ago. Menton for CHB, strong, athletic and can actually tackle a bit. Lets start with Menton in his best position IMO at CHB.

Diego (Meath) - Posts: 1205 - 15/03/2012 13:30:07    1130022

Diego

Agree with you 100%

Ive said it yesterday (not sure if it was in this thread) that Shane Mac isnt commanding enough in the centre this year. Put him to the wing and put Menton chb.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6347 - 15/03/2012 13:58:02    1130049

Diego, You're correct, Kildare were forced down the wings in the first half in Croke Park last summer, particularly the right wing. If I remember correctly Johnny Doyle gathered the ball at midfield after the second half throw in and strode straight down the centre and scored the opening point within seconds as Brian Menton was stuck in the corner.

lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 3028 - 15/03/2012 14:04:12    1130055