Best of luck to the lads tomorrow against the dubs in navan

northsidegael (Meath) - Posts: 108 - 30/03/2012 10:07:30    1139796

hon the dubs

meathlad11 (Meath) - Posts: 54 - 30/03/2012 16:40:50    1140203

rath_togh

Why did he switch is it because he might accually get to play senior?

RossiesRock (Meath) - Posts: 369 - 30/03/2012 17:44:39    1140257

go n'eiridh on bothair libh

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1836 - 30/03/2012 19:57:05    1140334

Bad mood this morning...... This is headed Meath Minors 2012 lets keep it that way

glenny (Meath) - Posts: 1119 - 31/03/2012 09:15:09    1140428

Any word on the score between Meath and Dublin??

tonytookamotor (Meath) - Posts: 139 - 31/03/2012 17:13:31    1140618

Dublin won by 4 I think

RoylerKing (Meath) - Posts: 809 - 31/03/2012 17:31:12    1140628

Meath were very poor in the second half I thought. The worrying thing is that meath were close to there first choice 15 and I doubt Dublin were.

BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 1015 - 31/03/2012 21:29:35    1140832

Sounded like a good game... hard luck.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 01/04/2012 15:45:17    1141130

Jinxie-From what I know the McAntees are well worth their place on the county team and are good players. However, the fact is that the respective underage managers of our county teams have been guys with relations /sons on the team and that is not good. Furthermore the majority of players generally have been from the clubs close to or associated with the team management. This year the players appear well distributed around the county which has to be good. Everyone blames structures for our failure without putting some blame on selections,just look at the u21's being a good example.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 01/04/2012 16:39:44    1141188

Went to see the Meath Minors against the Dubs. It looks like we have the footballers but not a football team.
If you have a strong player growing up playing in a small club, he tends to do everything himself and if he is lucky enough to be selected for the county team he brings those bad habits with him to the inter county scene. If a player only passes the ball as a last resort you have a problem. Wallace had the beating of his man every time but sometimes he had to travel to the sidelines to receive a pass.I think the Management need more friendlies and every time these offenders are guilty they need to be told, if they persist they need to be taken off By the time we start the championship we need to be, slick, clinical and ruthless.

RoyalDiehard (Meath) - Posts: 48 - 03/04/2012 09:55:47    1142494

RoyalDiehard
Haven't seen the minors play this year so I cannot comment on other players. As a clubman I am very proud of Wallace but would opine that he takes his man on too often and rarely passes himself. What I am saying is that he has unbelievable speed and talent but has as much to learn as the rest of them re game plan otherwise he can be a bit predictable for the opposing fullback to mark.

rath_togh (Meath) - Posts: 740 - 03/04/2012 13:24:41    1142728

The fact is that too many players like Kennelly and Coogan carry their teams (scored 1-5 and 1-6 respectively against Clonard) and they need to realise that they play with better players at county level. Wallace is the same ,never passes the ball unless he's in a awkward position or under pressure. They don't work as a team and have relied on individual preformances to in their league games. It will be a different story come championship time. Why was Kit Henry not manager this year after he was under 17 manager, he knows a lot of the players from the squad last year and has no relations on the squad

seanieboy (Meath) - Posts: 20 - 03/04/2012 14:12:52    1142793

Congrats to Jason dowdall (clonard) who was part of the edenderry team that won the college final in croke park yes,he had a very steady game
and will hav gain great expierance for futhure games with the meath minors

royal1967 (Meath) - Posts: 294 - 08/04/2012 15:24:55    1145998

Fair play to Dunderry for coming back from 14 points against Clonard. The comeback coincided with Adam Flanagan having to come out of midfield.Once he was not in control in the middle, Clonard lost their shape and poscession totally.
On the question of Andy McEntee showing preference for his son and nephew for the Meath minors, my view is that those 2 lads more than deserve their places through their ability/fitness/attitude.

gaelichead (Meath) - Posts: 12 - 08/04/2012 20:40:42    1146582

Shane more than deserves his place, but we have a lot more wing forwards that could be looked at..

Meathgaa5 (Meath) - Posts: 339 - 08/04/2012 20:49:03    1146596

How'd it go?

Meathgaa5 (Meath) - Posts: 339 - 14/04/2012 17:05:55    1151759

congratulations to the lads, hard win to get in pearse, against longford, who are they up against next?

sticksandstones (Meath) - Posts: 55 - 14/04/2012 18:17:34    1151812

Anybody know the score of this one?

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 14/04/2012 18:50:11    1151840

Meath 1-11
Longford 0-11

Stillsenior (Meath) - Posts: 125 - 14/04/2012 18:53:58    1151847