Hoganstand.com Meath Senior Football Championship thread

Baker

Nothing happened to the referee on the way out to the car I was there and you are an absolute disgrace for suggesting otherwise. It was agreed by those there that not a word would be said to him but that he would be given an ironic round of applause. So why don't you say whatever you have to say?

rath_togh (Meath) - Posts: 740 - 08/05/2012 13:30:34    1167754

1st point, there is no 14 yard line , there was a free on the 13 metre line ,the goalie came of his line, hence not 13 metres from the kicker and ball, result penalty right call by the referee, may sound harsh but the rule is there in black and white, brave call by the referee but the right call,

baker (Meath) - Posts: 36 - 08/05/2012 13:40:13    1167766

ratoath should be fined for there behaviour after the whistle
it was a league match not a county final
it was the exact same thing the louth fans did
he told the players not to come forward or he would give a penalty, they did and he gave it
it was a terrible decision but still...

pootalk (Meath) - Posts: 63 - 08/05/2012 13:47:06    1167777

This thread is about senior championship not rules or penaltys

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 08/05/2012 14:14:34    1167801

baker

fair enough if that's the way you want to interpret how games should be reffed. I don't agree with you but won't argue.

The 'brave call ' was by you behind a username insinuating that something happened to the referee on the way to his car when there didn't. I was there, 15 Ratoath and plenty of Moynalvey lads were there together. You're clearly not from either club so
1) what do allege we did to him?
2) what were you doing at a div3 league game in Ratoath on a long weekend?

rath_togh (Meath) - Posts: 740 - 08/05/2012 14:24:56    1167818

dellboypolecat ah ah i missed you, we all thought you were gone ,

baker (Meath) - Posts: 36 - 08/05/2012 14:29:22    1167828

Pootalk

If you think Ratoath should be fined for angry things said at the final whistle fair enough, but none of us following Ratoath entered the field after the game and to say

''it was the exact same thing the louth fans did''?

The Louth supporters you speak of chased, man-handled and assaulted Martin Sludden, none of this happened the other night. Bar that line - which is a provocative one - is the only part of your statement I disagree 100% with.

rath_togh (Meath) - Posts: 740 - 08/05/2012 14:38:59    1167840

Pootalk

If you think Ratoath should be fined for angry things said at the final whistle fair enough, but none of us following Ratoath entered the field after the game and to say

''it was the exact same thing the louth fans did''?

The Louth supporters you speak of chased, man-handled and assaulted Martin Sludden, none of this happened the other night. Bar that line - which is a provocative one - is the only part of your statement I disagree 100% with.

no your correct, i should have said the players surrounded the ref louth style, no fans entered the pitch at all

pootalk (Meath) - Posts: 63 - 08/05/2012 14:43:00    1167846

rath--togh when your are reading forum open your eyes, what i was referring to was out in the car park after the game, not on the side line as you have said,

baker (Meath) - Posts: 36 - 08/05/2012 14:46:10    1167852

Your ok baker I have not gone anywhere you know as well you noticed. Top marks

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 08/05/2012 14:59:10    1167863

Jinxie, as stated already, the referee gave Moynalvey a penalty for the Ratoath keeper moving off his line for a 14 yard (or 13 metre) free which was to be the last kick of a 2 point game. Now again, while the referee was "technically" correct, never have I seen this rule implemented in such a way (technical foul in the small square) and neither did countless others at the game, both from Ratoath and Moynalvey. Once again I'll use the Kildare - Down AI semi final of a couple of years back when Kildare had a last minute 13m free. Several Down players were at the edge of the square when the free was taken yet no penalty was given. I doubt this was because McEnaney didn't know of the rule in question.

As rath togh intimated, what's done is done and Moynalvey got the win. But surely from now on this referee needs to apply this rule in every future game he referees in order to be seen to be consistant. I highly doubt he will though.

Baker, you're being very cryptic about this "incident". I didn't stay for long after as I had somewhere else to be after the game, but by all means enlighten me. Another thing, the fact that you've all of a sudden started posting here about this specific incident leads me to believe you're either the referee in question or are a close relative/friend of him. Would I be right in saying this?

Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1394 - 08/05/2012 15:03:00    1167866

Baker is probably the ref himself, Very harsh decision baker!!! very harsh . now i think someone said this thread is for Senior Championship
not Div 3 league games so lets finish this muck of debating about this game , im sick of readin it. . PS Harsh decision baker!!

lagoreX (Meath) - Posts: 223 - 08/05/2012 15:04:37    1167868

Baker's some craic all the same

rath_togh (Meath) - Posts: 740 - 08/05/2012 15:13:13    1167878

baker

1167828 dellboypolecat ah ah i missed you, we all thought you were gone ,

Thats a strange comment.

Its been an absolute age since Dellboy has graced us with his presence on this page. Most of the more seasoned users will remember him better.
But "Baker" has made 6 posts, all today, which would suggest he has only signed up today. But if that were the case, how would he know Dellboy so well?
Unless of course he's using an alternative account?

Or will we hear the usual, Im a long time reader, but never post until today?

Just seems a little strange

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6347 - 08/05/2012 15:40:13    1167915

Is dellboypolecat not a referee too?

rath_togh (Meath) - Posts: 740 - 08/05/2012 15:52:55    1167932

Whilst I would consider the award of this penalty as harsh in the extreme, there was a meeting organised by the Meath referees a few weeks ago to which all clubs were invited. I recall Donal Smyth, who presented at this meeting, clearly outlining this rule. The referees have obviously been briefed accordingly.

kingofclubs (Meath) - Posts: 350 - 08/05/2012 15:57:36    1167936

rath_togh

1167932 Is dellboypolecat not a referee too?

He is indeed. On the list of Senior referee's now too.

Only a matter of time before he's emulating his fellow county man Martin Sludden. Although hopefully not replicating all of his performances...

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6347 - 08/05/2012 16:04:30    1167943

Yes ratoath I am a ref and jinxie however I presumed everyone knows me so bakers comments are unusual to me because I even get comments from New posters on the main forum as well unless this poster has been here before under different name . Everyone knows me lol

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 08/05/2012 16:13:33    1167950

with 14½K posts you're probably his hero. He has your name on the back of his ref shirt. Do ye swap referee cards? Have you Tommy Howard posters and Mick Curley duvet cover?

rath_togh (Meath) - Posts: 740 - 08/05/2012 16:27:45    1167964

Ratoath I do not know baker to be honest . Now on the incident I heard bout it that is all and no point making comment on it until it has been dealt with by the correct poeple .though I am against abuse on refs to much of it happening ...

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 08/05/2012 16:48:30    1167994