an Mhi 99 ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 12/11/2012 19:51:39 1296713 Link 0 |
While some of my friends in NOM might very well take this as rubbing their noses in it, my intentions are far from insulting anybody. The question I want to ask is why NOM do so badly in Leinster club matches. I'm probably wrong but I cannot remember them ever winning even a first round match. Not all Meath champions have fared so poorly. Dunghaughlin got to an A/I semifinal and were coasting until Niall Kelly got himself a second y/c. Skryne got to the Leinster final in 2004 and unfortunately came up against a very strong Portlaois side without Big John as he was injured. Again in 2010 they did well and a bad decision by the ref at the end cost them. Tones were up against it when they played UCD which was for all intents an inter-county team. Incidentally my memory of that game was that Tierney was sent off after about 50 minutes or so. Walterstown of course played in two A/I finals back in the eighties. NOM had a great team in the mid to late eigthies and failed to win a match in Leinster, certainly if they did win any they were pretty few. How can a club like NOM win a championship so convincingly and go down so badly when they play outside the county. Someone stated that the Longford champions are a very good side. Guarantee you they get a hammering from Portlaois. In fairness to NOM I think that previous posts saying that the standard of club football in Meath is pretty low at the moment is correct. So much for increasing the number of senior clubs to 18. In my opinion there should be no more than 16 clubs playing Senior. Four of these should be regional amalgamations and the championship should be run off quicker. Not this on off situation you had this year which tore the heart out of preparations. The County Board has a lot to answer for in my opinion and they had a hand to play in yesterday's debacle as well. The real Árd Rí (Meath) - Posts: 990 - 12/11/2012 20:04:14 1296722 Link 0 |
They won there first round match in 08 against Westmeath champions 1-17 to 3 so your wrong there omahonysboy16 (Meath) - Posts: 67 - 12/11/2012 20:55:39 1296763 Link 0 |
The real Árd Rí - I said in my post on the other page I don't think O'Mahonys were up for the game at all, a few of them maybe but I think a lot of that victory had to do with the attitude and hunger of every Killoe player. Home advantage was also huge for them. I think the pitch in Longford is very tight and it didn't suit Navan. ClassApart (Meath) - Posts: 1200 - 12/11/2012 20:58:01 1296765 Link 0 |
how could u not be up for a Leinster club game... a total let down for Meath football sob (Meath) - Posts: 492 - 12/11/2012 21:12:28 1296769 Link 0 |
Have to say the comments re "team from Longford" is embrassing and at best extremely rude. Meath supporters are in cloud cuckoo land with these coments. Northmeathman (Meath) - Posts: 284 - 13/11/2012 14:05:30 1296982 Link 0 |
ziggy has donegal or kerry got the same resoures as dublin i think not anmhi99 (Meath) - Posts: 151 - 13/11/2012 18:32:40 1297214 Link 0 |
NorthMeathMan, that is the same attitude that meath folk had when the plot was hatched to oust Banty, because Louth beat us, we have a superioity complex that Louth have no right to be beating us...why not, the big headedness of some players supporters is dragging us down and acts as an incentive to the opposition. drona (Meath) - Posts: 135 - 16/11/2012 20:39:45 1298877 Link 0 |
SS6 (Meath) - Posts: 149 - 17/11/2012 12:37:06 1298954 Link 0 |
Was not on for a bit due to a bereavement of a close friend. royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 17/11/2012 16:25:50 1299015 Link 0 |
rath_togh (Meath) - Posts: 740 - 17/11/2012 16:45:09 1299023 Link 0 |
Club and County two different games. It would be like comparing AIL clubs to Leinster or Munster in rugby. hound (Meath) - Posts: 234 - 18/11/2012 17:40:59 1299321 Link 0 |
meath gaa is in crisis just as i predicted 10 years ago... we cant even beat a team from longford... sad sad times ahead therealpmccann (Meath) - Posts: 57 - 19/11/2012 17:18:43 1299894 Link 0 |
The only thing pmccann is that when we were one of the top Teams in the country our club Teams couldnt beat wicklow or carlow Teams either. johnsee (Meath) - Posts: 389 - 19/11/2012 19:29:01 1299994 Link 0 |
The only thing pmccann is that when we were one of the top Teams in the country our club Teams couldnt beat wicklow or carlow Teams either. therealpmccann (Meath) - Posts: 57 - 20/11/2012 12:18:55 1300228 Link 0 |
therealpmccann rath_togh (Meath) - Posts: 740 - 20/11/2012 12:44:14 1300245 Link 0 |
The realmccann dunshaughlin only ever won one leinster club title.its not like you to get something wrong! bobjaffacake (Meath) - Posts: 1400 - 20/11/2012 13:05:33 1300260 Link 0 |
Did dunshoughlin really win that many leinster titles, I know old age is catching up on me but I thought they only won one? royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 21/11/2012 10:58:45 1300774 Link 0 |
Lads, why are ye even respomding to therealPmcwum at this stage. Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6347 - 21/11/2012 11:07:26 1300779 Link 0 |
therealpmccann Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6347 - 21/11/2012 11:16:48 1300785 Link 0 |