NFL opener - Meath v Monaghan

Don't think I'm been delusional there loyal actually most people I think agree that mcgeeney is doing a fine job at kildare he had virtually no experience before taking job and mcguinness had some but not much. Its a mute point as I hope banty will be successful and there will be no need for a change and yes I still firmly believe that on there some of our players are as good as any in country.

Now on to what this post was originally about. Our best team for saturday any news on who might be in and is there any truth in the rumor that shane orourke is back training ? Was told that today I doubt it but just wondering can anyone confirm or deny it?

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 01/02/2012 20:14:50    1103906

He's nit back in full training yet anyway.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6348 - 01/02/2012 21:06:49    1103939

Anyone else think that even though this is only game week 1 this is a match that we really have to win if we want to avoid another relegation dog fight because there are going to be plenty of very tough games ahead in this division and we really need to be rattling off wins at home.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 02/02/2012 10:37:05    1104064

Yeah we need to get off to a solid start.
We've two games in two weeks then a little break. Id really be hoping that we'd have 4 points at that break and we could resume the campaign after the breat with the shackles off so to speak.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6348 - 02/02/2012 10:59:26    1104082

You have nothing to worry about for Saturday lads. Monaghan are a shambles at the moment. Play a physically imposing selection and the game is yours

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1344 - 02/02/2012 11:13:52    1104096

Thanks for vote of confidence eddie but after the dcu game anything is possible.

Look let's call it as it is a win is vital yeah its only game one but there is a lot of tough games ahead both home and away. I said before if we could win 3 out of 4 at home and possible 2 away wmeath and maybe gway we will be in with a small shout of promotion. But if we lose on sat I actually think we will have a major struggle. So now lads and in particular management its time to **** or get off the pot. No more excuses. Deliver

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 02/02/2012 18:10:43    1104450

We seriously should be looking to win our first two games,and really we should,but why do I get the feeling we won't? Especially away from home our league form has been terrible. I have seen pathetic displays away from home in recent years,losing to Antrim and Tipperary,our attitude needs to improve especially on the road..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 02/02/2012 18:52:46    1104473

McGuinness was manager of the Donegal u21s before his run with them last year. McGeeney is an exception to the rule. Look at Pat O'Shea, Jack O'Connor, Conor Counihan, Mickey Harte, all proven at club, college, school or underage level before taking over senior sides. Aside from that, Geraghty never really stuck out as manager material. Prove me wrong in a few years but I would object to the idea that Geraghty is the man to the lead us back to the top. Quite a big call you make with very little rationale behind it.

As for Saturday, I get confident when the Meath fans doubt the Meath team, and I get worried when ambition gets the better of the fans. It's a good sign that many are apprehensive about the clash with Monaghan. It might lead to a spirited Meath performance or alternatively, everyone might be right to be worried!

Loyal2TheRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 4522 - 02/02/2012 20:57:50    1104562

The one thing that sticks out for me with geraghty is his passion for the cause and I may be wrong but I think he could transfer that to the players in a management role. He did very well in westmeath with the club now for life of me I can't think of name. But I think brought them to semi final again I'm open to correction on that. But as I had said he will make a great manager in future not at present and I seriously hope we won't have to look for a new man for a few years. But he is definitely heading in manager direction and I wish him well in it be it with us or another county.

I was getting worried there loyal that we weren't going to agree on anything again. But 100% agree with you on negative views on matches by supporters then we go out and play great, hopefully this one of those times

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 02/02/2012 21:14:58    1104575

I feel we'll win comfortably by 4-5 points. Monaghan simply not the team they were and heading for Division 3 this year or next. That's set us up nicely and with the Westies next round we could get some early momentum and let the banty bandwagon roll on. I will be interested to watch Banty on Saturday. Outwardly he'll be diplomatic but inside he must be dying to lay down a marker against his home county after the way he was hounded out.

seasiderblues (Meath) - Posts: 354 - 03/02/2012 08:15:31    1104636

Its a must win ,there too much riding on this for us ,banty has got at all costs to treat this game like a leinster final ,lets hope all the players are on form and a oppurtunity to unleash them against dcu wasn't wasted . LADS , LETS GET IT DONE!!

royalpainter (Meath) - Posts: 874 - 03/02/2012 08:15:44    1104637

Are there any rules which state a county must name their team a certain number of hours before their game. It really frustrates me going to a game but not knowing who is going to be playing where.

urizen (Meath) - Posts: 119 - 03/02/2012 10:12:39    1104700

Less than 36 hours to kick off and still no team yet!!

Diego (Meath) - Posts: 1210 - 03/02/2012 10:50:00    1104723

Ye wont see a team either lads.
Same last year. The team will be named just before the game.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6348 - 03/02/2012 10:52:02    1104727

A childish tactic which is disrepectfull to the supporters

royalpainter (Meath) - Posts: 874 - 03/02/2012 11:19:46    1104741

The program will likely have the team that faces DCU so,don't go by that either!

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 03/02/2012 11:23:41    1104744

royalpainter

1104741 A childish tactic which is disrepectfull to the supporters

As opposed to what most teams are doing by naming 15 players but starting completley different lads.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6348 - 03/02/2012 11:41:05    1104748

Lads why is it childish or disrespectful to the supporters not to name the team days in advance and how does it change your enjoyment of the game? Really?

For a start the team or management don't owe the supporters anything at all. It's an amateur game and they devote a ridiculous amount of their personal time to it, wanting to hear the team early is itself childish, what difference does it make?. Secondly professional sports such as soccer don't publish their teamsheets until 30 mins before a game, due to knocks that may have been taken recently, why should an amateur game be any different.

And why is it a shock every year this happens? Meath generally dont name their team until match day in the league. A couple of days before in the championship. Anytime it's named earlier there are changes to it.

Royality (Meath) - Posts: 32 - 03/02/2012 12:22:32    1104786

Doesn't matter when u name the team lads Monaghan are going 2 beat ya by a couple of points, always done the same when he wa Monaghan manager.
Should be a good close game so don't be 2 dishearten when you's loose, you's will have your annually game with Louth and the end of the league 2 relegate your neighbours and keep you's up and happy going into the championship.
Any see ya all there Saturday night looking forward 2 it.

Pukefootball (Monaghan) - Posts: 377 - 03/02/2012 12:47:58    1104804

Pukefootball. Don't see where you get your logic from. We are no world beaters by any means but then neither are monaghan. In actual fact I think we are a fair bit ahead of yous at min now may be proven wrong on sat but at this point I think that's a fair comment and just looking over forum most monaghan supporters think it will be a fight for them to remain in div 2. Again yous could prove us all wrong and if you do best of luck to yous. But as it gets closer I can't see banty loosing this one no matter what

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 03/02/2012 13:10:41    1104815