What do you honestly think Meath can achieve?

I reckon we will be all Ireland champions in September. You heard it here first lads.

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1856 - 28/05/2012 21:26:54    1182403

see i was right i said relegation!

RossiesRock (Meath) - Posts: 369 - 29/05/2012 15:09:59    1182896

i think we will make leinster final against the dubs,after that god knows

bobjaffacake (Meath) - Posts: 1400 - 29/05/2012 20:08:00    1183188

Defo Squeaky bum time now for Meath.
As I went for in Jan we managed to get over Carlow maybe a little tougher than expected by drawing the 1st day and a slightly bit easier than expected by beating them a point a man last night.

I did put my neck on the line in saying that we will make the Leinster Final. I think it is possible........ all of Kildare do and will fear Meath espically after the drubbing we gave an under strength Carlow last night.

That game will help Meath along the way but really we should expect and demand nothing less as while we are Division 3 the gap to the bottom of Division 4 is huge.

Carlow where weak but despite having reseravations about Gillispie all the time.... credit where its due and he did handle Murphy very well last night. Banty (Evans) ironically brought on Byrne through neccessity and his interduction coinsided with Meath taking over. Not a coinsidence as it was evident from the first seconds he was on that Pedair was out to prove a point.

Fair play he has had it tough and has not hung the head and now has taken his chance when it came to him. Others in the same position have sulked.........

After Byrne came on the game changed and Meath won every break from that till half time and the game was over.

Joe and Wardy two of our best loved players have no form at all and need sit on the bench for a while Meade will come back it and maybe Queeny could be given a start. Burke is another worry the big spaces in Croke Park could be a problem for him.

I have gone for a win from way back v Kildare neck on the line now. Time for the Novenas.

glenny (Meath) - Posts: 1119 - 17/06/2012 12:48:56    1195949

It this carry on of blaming Banty when things go wrong, but crediting any good things to Evans the new fashionable statement? Banty can't win no matter what he does.....

CastleBravo (Meath) - Posts: 1741 - 17/06/2012 13:32:30    1195984

glenny

your talking about joe who set up 1-4 despite not begin near his best and cian ward who has had two cracking games especially first game where he kept us in the championship and linked the ball superbly last night?

Thejoeshow (Meath) - Posts: 687 - 17/06/2012 14:00:25    1195999

I think meath will beat Kildare. What I am about to say will have no impact but you never know. Kildare do well in Leinster every second year
2011- made the Leinster semi final should have beaten Dublin were very lucky.
2010- Louth knocked them out easily in 1/4 final
2009- Lost the Leinster Final to Dublin again were unlucky
2008- Think Wicklow knocked them out

please god theat form goes for meath and we beat them

butterfly (Meath) - Posts: 112 - 19/06/2012 14:18:05    1197820

7th Jan 2012

Honestly I think we will take Kildare and would take a League defeat for a Leinster Semi win which I feel will happen. Leinster Final against the Dubs I could never back against Meath .

Honestly mid table in League, One win over Kildare and a Leinster Final appearance is my wish list.

1st July

Honestly I am worried 7 or 8 point defeat on the cards but sometimes the cards can be wrong. Bad hand with Kevin Reilly, Fitness levels no where near Kildare

Some day we will beat them unlikely today

glenny (Meath) - Posts: 1119 - 01/07/2012 10:20:58    1205972

i said it on 28 May and will say it again.....this team can go all the way. No fear....

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1856 - 01/07/2012 17:49:41    1206444

well the way i look at it lads is if kildare had won today even by a point people would be talking about them winning the all ireland so why cant we dream

bobjaffacake (Meath) - Posts: 1400 - 01/07/2012 19:02:51    1206551

Me of little faith should have stayed away from the forum this morning. it was great to walk out of croke park today with a leinster final waiting as our neighbour slunk away early

glenny (Meath) - Posts: 1119 - 01/07/2012 19:14:12    1206573

We can rattle the DUB's,,,, after yesterdays performance,,, the whole country is looking at the Meath team and if we can KICK ON,,, YES WE CAN !!!!!!

BillyButlin (Meath) - Posts: 58 - 02/07/2012 10:11:30    1207079

I don't think we can beat Dublin just yet,I'll be happy not to get hammered and put up a really good showing the last thing we need is for Dublin to beat us by 9 or 10 and undo all the confidence this young team has built up.
I'd have been happy with an all ireland quater final at the start of the year and as it stands we're only one win away from that.

Regardless of the result in three weeks Banty has to be kept next year,he has brought in a lot of youth and is building a nice team, a new manager would just put us back 2 years in terms of the development.

BlackKettle (Meath) - Posts: 66 - 02/07/2012 11:06:24    1207133

A leinster win would mean a lot to Meath. Only won it twice in 11 years now and I think the players will want to put 2010 to bed. It would be seet for the fans too and winning Leinster as complete underdogs the whole way through is a lot more enjoyable than past wins when we were expected to win it from the start.

BettystownRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 3353 - 02/07/2012 21:20:31    1207890

My posts on this thread as the year unraveled:

BettystownRoyal
get to a leinster final against dublin.

BettystownRoyal
leinster final and all ire quarter

BettystownRoyal
Honestly I think we can make a Leinster final and if it was against Dublin well anything can happen the teams form going into the game will have no bearing on the result.

BettystownRoyal
I said a Leinster final and it will all come down to one big game against Kildare, the \Carlow game will further boost fitness and we will be positioned nicely coming in against Kildare.

I'm glad i kept the faith and a level head even after it went downhill in the league. I don't remember too many good league campaigns for Meath so I don't see why the majority of the county lost faith with a poor league campaign this year.

BettystownRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 3353 - 02/07/2012 21:26:18    1207893

honestly think yous are in with a great run this year ,your fire power up front is top class with farell ,ward ,big joe and stephen bray ,who do you mark ? think ward is more dangerous closer to goal as hes very impressive there ,and when reilly was brought in to full back meath never looked back ,your midfielders were great on the day leaving kildare fighting for scrapes ,tighting your defence and stick with banty

bisto kid (Cavan) - Posts: 492 - 02/07/2012 21:32:51    1207899

thanks bisto but Cian Ward doesn't seem very fit this year. His free taking is also poor. hopefully he will regain his form.

And best of luck against Kildare I heard the biggest cheer at your game was when the PA announced Meath had stuffed Kildare. I've nothing against them but I'd hate to see Seanie do well with them.

BettystownRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 3353 - 02/07/2012 21:50:24    1207928

yea no pressure on cavan i dont think ,were not expected to win anyway but id be happy to see a bit of fight from them , best of luck going ahead ,i think yous are back with a bang personly .

bisto kid (Cavan) - Posts: 492 - 03/07/2012 19:44:54    1208870

bettystown i have to disagree with you about wards fittness this year..to me he looks fitter than ever...last year he wouldnt have been able to track back like he did on sunday

srgt_slaughter (Meath) - Posts: 462 - 03/07/2012 20:26:26    1208903

Srgt- slaughter . I agree with you about Ward he covered more ground on Sunday than ever before in Croke park . He's never looked as fit and is moving with speed . The same goes for all the team they are moving with great speed . The speed Micky Burke moved at on Sunday was unreal . Is that fitness lad from skryne still working with them .

mmc (Meath) - Posts: 307 - 03/07/2012 21:00:34    1208942