I would have said Wicklow might have been a banana skin a couple years ago when Micko had them at their peak.. but they've receded since and if we're doing anything at all we'd be beating them at a canter. Then Carlow in the following round shouldn't be too big an issue either, but then again I'm afraid we'll fall victim to another white wave as Kildare run us into the ground.. RoyalClass (Meath) - Posts: 790 - 07/10/2011 17:02:57 1048366 Link 0 |
Royalclass , i woulnt be bowing into submisson just yet , banty has plenty of time to prepare for that game ,Anyway i feel kildare or mcgeeney in particular are compareable to wengers arsenal,almost there ,not going to win anything, and they know it , he is the only option For them.kildare would rather be there abouts than in the doldrums of old . royalpainter (Meath) - Posts: 874 - 07/10/2011 18:08:33 1048416 Link 0 |
we may forget about the football we have no chance not even in leinster anymore, we will struggle to beat even wicklow this year meathman902 (Meath) - Posts: 33 - 10/10/2011 16:28:23 1049581 Link 0 |
Ah sure look it lads Wicklow and Carlow are bread and butter stuff for the likes of us, Kildare will be a nice little stepping stone and then 'the mighty' Dubs will come up against the real Green and Gold and by jaysus they won't know what hit them! Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 10/10/2011 17:29:30 1049657 Link 0 |
meathlad93, thats the spirit!!! "no competitive games in first 2 rounds of the championship", dont u ever wonder why other counties prefer even the bloody dubs to u lot, arrogance when ur kerry is understandable, arrogance when ur the worst meath outfit in 30 years is downright delusional!! see u next may townieee (Wicklow) - Posts: 261 - 12/10/2011 19:21:26 1051059 Link 0 |
lilywhitemagic (Kildare) - Posts: 1693 - 12/10/2011 20:57:52 1051120 Link 0 |
I see this game is fixed for Carlow at the end of May. Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6347 - 20/11/2011 17:11:15 1072504 Link 0 |
That's meant to be Tullamore. Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6347 - 20/11/2011 17:11:56 1072506 Link 0 |
I remember when Westmeath played Wicklow in Tullamore some Wicklow people werent happy, saying it was practically right next to Westmeath. i'd imagine they would think the same if we were to play them there, it isn't really at Wicklow's doorstep. Newbridge would be the ideal venue, but has been downgraded to only 4'000, so Dr. Cullen park it is. CastleBravo (Meath) - Posts: 1689 - 20/11/2011 17:29:55 1072516 Link 0 |
Tullamore or Portlaoise would make more sense. Had a look at both the Leinster football and hurling fixtures and it isn't as if there is a venue clash. GlasagusOr (Meath) - Posts: 1348 - 20/11/2011 17:46:28 1072529 Link 0 |
tullamore is in no way fair to wicklow supporters, portlaoise as bad. carlow was the only option with no suitable ground in kildare. even then dr cullen is a good hour and a bit from north east wicklow. its probably immaterial as morale within the county is fairly low, new manager may not be able to call on the counties best players due to usual internal politics. but sure we'll give it a lash anyway townieee (Wicklow) - Posts: 261 - 16/12/2011 17:03:28 1085321 Link 0 |
OK Tullamore might be a bit far for many Wicklow folk to travel to the game, but they cannot say the same about Portlaoise, especially when playing Meath. There has to be some give and take. But then is it a case that Wicklow followers aren't prepared to make the effort unless their games are quite close to home. GlasagusOr (Meath) - Posts: 1348 - 17/12/2011 14:45:25 1085475 Link 0 |
For anyone living in West Wicklow it is closer to Portlaoise than for Meath fans. lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 3038 - 17/12/2011 15:50:50 1085492 Link 0 |